Customs CBU Vehicle Gazetted Price List

The following is the Royal Malaysian Customs gazetted CBU vehicle price list for alot of cars that are normally brought into Malaysia in CBU form.

pricelistpdf.gif

Please refer to the new National Automotive Policy tax rates for CBU vehicles to calculate how much CIF (cost, insurance, freight) car values will be after slapping on our exorbitant taxes. Here is an example of calculation for the Suzuki Swift, which is a CBU from Japan so I used tax rates for non-ASEAN CBU.

Gazetted Price RM31808
Add Import Tax (30%) RM9542.40
RM41350.4
Add Excise Duty (75%) RM31012.80
RM72363.20
Add Sales Tax (10%) RM7236.32
Total RM79599.52

Note that this does not include whatever profit the dealer slaps ontop of the price before selling it to you, who has to fork out ridiculous amount of money every month for the next 7 to 9 years for a decent car. Yes, I am bitter.

As I’ve said before, I do not see how this method will work out in the end as the way cars are sold in the foreign market are not so rigid. There are many many trim levels for 1 car model. And they all have different price tags on them. How will the Custom keep track of all the different variants, and will this price list be updated as often as needed? If it is this way, it would not be fair for someone bringing in a car with a higher trim level and someone bringing in the same model but having barebones trim (perhaps no leather seats and a lower end entertainment system) to pay the same import duty and excise tax. You’ll start seeing everyone bringing in the highest trim level for a car possible to take advantage of this little loophole.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 3:20 pm

So wat do they do for these taxes? to subsidise Proton? To buy BMW,Mersc for their own use? To build more roads and bridges? To reduce gasoline price? To improve public safety and reduce crimes? To improve public transport? Conclusion: Rakyat are being robbed!!

• Denniz (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 4:12 pm

45 BMW M5 Saloon Car 4999 239,125

Make that the selling price, we'll all be much happier. :D

• h2k (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:27 pm

Paul, i notice the price u took for Swift is the 1328 cc model which actually cost more than the 1.5(A) model which is sold locally currently…How come the price differential for a lower CC model? Better trim? Or something wrong with the Customs price list :P

• rexis (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:56 pm

to subsidise Proton?

– yes, they already said they will continue support p1

To buy BMW,Mersc for their own use?

– not really, some of them will prefer lembukini and fartlari

To build more roads and bridges?

– Please specify "Tolled roads" and "Cracked Bridges", and in this way, more daylight robbing none stop, and its easier then collecting taxes.

To reduce gasoline price?

– I think so, becoz they said that they are still subdizing our fuel, although i feel like i am a stupid duck when hear this.

To improve public safety and reduce crimes?

– Ermmmm, better say to improve newspaper sales by publishing eye catching headlines of who and who stabbed or raped.

To improve public transport?

– Actually i heard that they have this plan many years ago. And now they are still 'planning' to improve.

Since i mentioned above that i feel like i am a stupid duck, please judge my statements with your inteligence.

• Wai (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 9:33 pm

welcome to Bolehland, we need a malaysian version of V from Vendetta…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 4:01 am

wah…….this is just like a "sin tax"!!! Is it a "sin" if we want to own a decent car that happens to be fully imported? All these for the sake of national pride? at the end of the day, what pride are we trying to uphold here? Shortchanged and rip-off……

• sintiansai (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 12:57 am

zzzzzz…. I cant believe what I just saw from the pricelist.pdf. Mazda 6's actual price is RM45,000 but sold at RM150,000++ in msia. Honestly, I dont mind the import tax and sales tax which by calculation will add up to RM63000. By then, I rather buy a Mazda 6 than a so-called Wira "spatcial" edition…. imagine what the amount RM150,000 can do, after spending RM63000, maybe I'll get another Mazda RX8. Wahhhhhhhhh a dream (wont) comes true….

• digitalkl (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 2:01 am

so does this means swift will be much much more expensive now???

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 6:41 am

yes dude… more expensive than now. by quite a margin somemore.

easily achieved by tweaking the formula how the selling car price is calculated (this was highlighted very lightly by the media).

THEY tukar how to derive the excise duties, and of course THEY control the CIF value of each imported vehicle.

In reality, the 'reduced' taxes were just window dressing to konon2nya comply with FTA or whatever damn lies that THEY have feed the public through medias that THEY control.

Bolehland will NEVER EVER give the real people what they want when its come to car.

Why? Coz THEY and all their associates are making huge money inside out of this 21st centure necessity. $$$$ $$$$ $$$$, couldn't emphasis more.

Even screaming @#$$#%&*&*(^&*)( potong outloud seems to be seriously inadequate coz potong is just the face that the real people could easily see.

It not about potong, its about who gonna get rich in the end of the day and of course on every seconds until the end of the day.

• jigol (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:53 pm

wow…just now i know what is the price of the car..wow! damme mahal..Patut le AP people rich and us…lagi pooooor

• susan on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:49 pm

hi, i am studying in the UK and am thinking of bringing back a car to malaysia. i have the akta kastam 1967 CIF price list as well as an excel file that someone so kindly forwarded for me to estimate the cost of tax and total car price.

i would like to enquire if you know if there is an updated CIF price list, as newer models like toyota prius hybrid is not listed there. which body/ministry do i approach with such a question?

thank you in advance.