Proton Savvy Zerokit by Race Rally Research

proton_savvy_zerokit_r3.jpg

Proton has an R3 Zerokit upgrade for the Proton Savvy for those not satisfied with the zippy little thing in stock form. You can either purchase the Proton Savvy R3 Zerokit with the kit preinstalled from RM45,000, or purchase it as an add-on if you already own a Proton Savvy.

The full R3 Zerokit includes:

New alloy wheels – RM845
Front spoiler – RM670
Rear spoiler – RM680
Rear apron – RM590
Full-length skirting with carbon fibre logo inserts – RM370 per side

The bodykit is made from fibre reinforced plastic so you don’t have to worry about it cracking easily like most custom fibre bodykits. If you purchase everything at one go it costs RM1,980.

Dark titanium headlamps – RM490
R3 Performance Muffler – RM275
R3 Performance Spring kit – RM370

The R3 Performance muffler is supposedly dyno proven to increase the Proton Savvy’s power by about 4 horsepower, which brings it up to 78 horsepower from the stock 74 horsepower.

For more photos of the Proton Savvy R3 Zerokit, please view my previous post here. More details on the zerokit at Proton Edar.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rkaru (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 4:20 pm

I saw one behind me on my way to JPJ Padang Jawa the other day. Red, and the guy had added black to the grills right down to the bumper, ala Golf GTI. Looked kinda neat.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 4:29 pm

those kits sure makes savvy…………….savvier!!!!

• revver (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 4:35 pm

Fried Sawy with extra MSG

• xefron (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 5:04 pm

ermm…i hate savvy at first..but then.. i think i start falling in love with it when i tried it once.demmm the bodykit is nice.i saw one once.

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 7:12 pm

the rear apron look like a patch and go..

they could have redesign it as 1 piece or at least make the apron look like 1 piece…

The bodykit is kinda xpensive but the performance kit it totally worth the price…

• drM (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 7:50 pm

keep up da good work..perhaps proton should explore much more into compact car and make it much better.

we shouldn't be so sceptical about the future of proton. lets us pray that this is the moment they finally know what we want..

next, bring on the..well maybe 200bhp savvy? it will be ssaaavvviiieeeerrrr!

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 7:59 pm

yeahh.. savvy looks macho what.. at 1st many people bash it.. kutuk2.. just bcoz it looks different.. but when i saw one black savvy park outside, i know it will turn people heads… people will love it…i test drive it few times & AMT gave luxury drive.. and the body really hard… but i really disappointed with the back seat.. so cramp inside, almost touched my head.. i wud like to be more comfortable if somebody want to drive my car… & they should change the rear lamps.. not sporty la, not fit with its front look.. they should make it like new perdana sport rear lamps…. then i wud forget bout the back seat…

• syukur (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 9:59 pm

cun wat savvy with bodykits…

• HMMaster (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 10:21 pm

i think i saw one during the MMU's career fair.

• OvaBoost (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 10:29 pm

You could never felt in love at 1st sight with proton or P2.

It takes many many time looking at it…. or many many pimpin' + conversion to go along with it!

Bottom line, Savvy with Aerokit… AWESOME!!

• cyborgx (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 10:36 pm

so,what can we get from R3.. some slight mod and "special" muffler that produces extra 4bhp? lol,that's it.. from Proton's Race Rally Research.A division that is so BIG and it makes so little difference.

• Paul Tan on Mar 26, 2006 at 10:37 pm

cyborgx: this is not the proton savvy r3 its just a bodykit and a muffler only. wait for the real proton savvy r3.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 11:26 pm

i saw the red "golf gti" Savvy before… real neat.

yup paul, ur right, just an upgrade… wait for the real R3… but loving it anyways :D

• cyrixMX (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 11:33 pm

no campro savvy in plan? then we can have ssssAAAAAAVVVVYYY!

• cyborgx (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 1:19 am

oh, my mistake. :/

• acbc (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:02 am

I'm thinking of modding a W5M33 AWD gearbox with AMT parts from a Savvy AMT since the latter has it's gearbox on the driver side. Still looking for a write-off Savvy at local insurance junkyards.

Hhmm… if it really works, my Galant VR4 will have sequential shifters! :)

• Paul Tan on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:04 am

I doubt that gearbox can take a VR4's torque.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:31 am

R3 performance spring kit! Default springs are already hard. My car bumps no matter how gentle I drive on the speed bumps. I am not sure why would I want to make it more uncomfortable for my passengers. The way I drive is aggresive enough.

Can anyone explain to me:

Dark titanium headlamps – what does this do aside from giving a "dark" background to the lights?

New alloy wheels – Looks almost the same as my current alloy wheels. Can trade in current wheels?

Full-length skirting- aside from the "cool" factor, the way I see it, the bodykit hampers aerodynamics of the car. Or can someone prove otherwise? I would like to see that aerokit pass thru uniten "unharmed"

• vague (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:32 am

tu la … last time kutuk2. now see what happen. this is just like Karam SINGH worrior says "meludah ke langit dan jatuh terkena muka sendiri".

:)

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 6:09 am

The R3 Savvy looks nice, i have to admit it. I fell in love at first sight, but after having a bad time sitting at the back seat with my head touching the roof, the design flaw makes me buy another car instead. C'mon, im only 5f 7inch, even a Kancil offers a better height.

Performance-wise, this car's good, and now with the R3 kit, but gosh..can Proton learn something next time, altho most Malaysians r short, we dont want our head get banged whenever the car hit a road bumper.

Bad roof design, Good kit design. If u r bujang with no tall friends, then Savvy fits for u.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 6:47 am

i saw the real Savvy R3 infront of Times Square abt a week ago…

the interior look very nice..and it has alot of steel/aluminuim/chrome parts inside…it was two tone..red/black..n i mus say it did look like a good proper quality interior as wel….if its below rm50k it wil be a steal..

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 7:33 am

raptorclans, any plan to add this bodykit to your wife's car? Hehehe….

I saw a black bodykitted Savvy with a bigger rear spoiler a couple of weeks ago on MRR2 near Cheras. The owner goes the extra mile by covering the mould line at the back making it a smooth finish. It covers the odd looking rear light. Looks better. But, if only the handcraft is smoother. I wonder if it's the 'work-in-progress' blue Savvy that I saw on internet before this.

Paul, any news on when is the release of Savvy R3 full spec?

• darlingelle (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 8:44 am

if i'm not mistaken the savvy r3 zerokit is the whole package, including all the cun-cun add-ons. and for already savvy owners, can opt to buy just the bodykit for only rm1980 (according to the proton edar website). is it not the same with the proton savvy r3?

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 9:10 am

can someone show me the picture of savvy that looks like golf :P

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 4:22 pm

its supposed to be a bolt on and drive away kit i think, already sprayed in the correct colour for your car. so thats why it doesnt "blend" into the rest of the body. If a person wants to do that, you will have to putty, and respray which will incur additional costs and time.

i've seen quite a few savvy's with the kit. its nice and simple, not overboard. but i've also seen quite a lot of nice bodykitted myvvi's. if perodua launched their myvvi with a body kit option, i'm sure they would have made a killing. i'm not sure, but do they? i dont think so though.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:34 pm

for savvy fans or owners goin to be.. i need to remind you, savvy is not a low maintainance car.. i ve done some research… & guess what.. EXPENSIVE WOO!!, cant compare with wira or even kancil… savvy is affordable to own.. but to maintain in long run.. u need to prepare extra2 money.. or your poket will koyak.. check out in savvy club.. savoc…

ps: agree with triplesaber about the roof..

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 6:30 pm

aksMs, i'm still single… hehehe… ;)

nah… i drive an Alfa. still no bodykit, but slowly progressing…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 10:02 pm

What a body kits! look like nothing to do after losing to MyVi in term of sales!

What ever upgrade or extra feature Proton put in! Savvy will remain poor in sales performance!

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 11:12 pm

flizzardo said,

March 27, 2006 @ 1:10 am

"can someone show me the picture of savvy that looks like golf"

I have the pictures but I don't know how to distribute without exposing my email openly. Anyway, the bodykitted Savvy looks more complete especially the rear-end that somehow look naked without the rear spoiler. Style wise it is subtly more aggressive. Performance gain from the performance muffler would be most welcomed at that asking price. Definetely would help its poor sales performance with additional orders.

• acbc (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 11:28 pm

Paul: I'm not using the Savvy AMT gearbox… I just want the AMT components + the ECU. Gearbox will the W5M33 from a VR4.

Still no luck in getting a write-off Savvy AMT.

• catborg (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 2:32 am

sniff sniff .. *smelll blind bashers here.. snif snif* myvi? snif snif…

check out at www.savoc.net , many moded savvy in there.. i bet, u wont say it ugly anymore..

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:21 am

raptorclan, hahaha…my mistake lah…mistaken you with stevarac. Sorry dude! Hehehe….

Maintenance wise so expensive maybe because it's a Renault.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 7:10 pm

hehehe no worries :)

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 8:16 pm

"I have the pictures but I don’t know how to distribute without exposing my email openly. Anyway, the bodykitted Savvy looks more complete especially the rear-end that somehow look naked without the rear spoiler. Style wise it is subtly more aggressive. Performance gain from the performance muffler would be most welcomed at that asking price. Definetely would help its poor sales performance with additional orders. "

tracks can u pm me on LYN same name !

• wc5be (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 9:17 pm

to Cyborgx: R3 is not a big division! less den 30 staffs, plus less den 5 is really doing engineering works. d rest r marketers.

d kits and performance upgrade they produced are actually 3rd party works from japan. in another word, they r not doing any real tuning or engineering works. all are sub-con to nihon-jins….

to Paul tan: there wun be any real Savvy R3. it jus normal savvy comnibed wif R3 kits. hehe… P1 no much cashflow for niche niche project liao lo…. R&D spending scale down to rm 300mill +/-.

to cyrixmx: wat!!!!???? u wan a Campro in savvy? u wana be their puinea pig ah?? Campro is their 1st engine a.k.a. experimental project for learning. there's so much inferior engineering works in d engine. anyway, ur d customer. it's ur choice. anyway, there's plan to fit 1.3 campro in savvy, but not in near future. so patients…. wait they experiment well, den they will giv it a go.

yes, savvy is expensiv due to renault p/train unit. but if many customers bought savvy, P1 will localised d euro parts coz got economies of scale. if sales breached 40-50k. den 100% they'll go for it.

• Isamu (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 3:55 am

You can get a similar AMT transmission from half-cut Renaults (if you can find any). Renault ECUs can only work with the particular engine that it has been matched with in the first place. If you swap the ECU from two same Renaults, the engine won't even start. Having said that, there must be some way to bypass the ID.

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 4:56 pm

flizzardo said,

March 29, 2006 @ 12:16 pm

tracks can u pm me on LYN same name !

Flizzardo, so sorry that I don't understand ur message. What exactly do you mean by pm and LYN. I not familiar with the terms.

• notigal (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 10:20 pm

does proton ever realise wat they are doing actually?

• Euphoria (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 1:40 am

any info on the FC, reliability and any problems that i might encounter as the problem-sutera?

• Euphoria (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 5:41 pm

Hey i saw one this morning near Kelana Jaya, is a Malay girl who drove it. a red one, cool ;)