Updates on Satria Replacement Model from Proton Cars Australia

srm_100306_thumbnail.jpgGoAuto carries some news on Proton’s model timeline for the Australian market, which could give us a guideline on when models will be released on our own shores. Probably take off a few months to half a year from each Australian launch date and we’ll get the Malaysian launch date.

The interview also carries some specifications for the new SRM. Proton Cars Australia MD John Startari says the new SRM will use 1.6 litre Campro engines found in the Proton Gen2 and the Proton Waja Campro. The GTi version is not fully developed yet, but 140kW or 187 horsepower is the current performance target for the hot hatch. It will might be equipped with Eibach performance springs. The SRM’s design is said to take design cues from the Alfa Romeo 147 and the Audi A3.

Here’s the timeline for Proton launches in Australia:

1. Satria Replacement Model – October 2006
  2. Satria Replacement Model GTi – 2007
  3. Perdana V6 large car – 2007
  4. All-new Jumbuck utility – 2008
  5. All-new Waja – 2008
  6. Large people-mover – 2009
  7. 4WD wagon – 2009

I will have to begin following foreign automotive news more often from now on since Proton seems to like giving foreign journalists nice tidbits of information on future plans. Especially Australia and UK where Proton has relatively significant presence.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Hilmax (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 7:21 pm

Tengok, malaysian media left way behind(dianaktirikan) from update. WTH with P1 because that people refuse to buy P1 cars. 187 hp! that very high from campro. Dah siap CPS sekali?. Will looking forward to seeing GTI version in BolehLand.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Only 1 stupid car this year??

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 10:11 pm

not only the malaysian media, it's the whole nation of malaysia dianak-tirikan…

The malaysian "national" carmaker is launching their new cars first in foreign land before in home country, what kind of "national" company is that??

wats the difference from launch of a model from foreign company???

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 2:56 am

normal de la……………..if not, sumthg must be wrong!!!

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 7:17 am

Wait a minute…Paul did you mean a few months before or after? Kinda confused there. But I agree with you folks that the whole nation is being the anak tiri for Proton. I wonder why there are no new updates on the new model they are working on for the local journalist and for us. Or is it because our journalist couldn't be bothered with what Proton have? Hehe…

See the list in the timeline of launches that Paul give? I really have no idea that Proton are developing an Estate/Wagon and new truck!

Keep the news coming Paul!

• Paul Tan on Mar 27, 2006 at 8:46 am

few months before. proton would definitely launch things here first then only australia. so we take australia's launch date and shave a few months off.

• waimak (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:06 pm

When the first Honda Civic 2006 spyshot was posted, it was roughly 2 months away from its actual launch. This SRM, i just dont when its going to be out!

• nissan130Y (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 6:20 pm

just hope that the new SRM is a good quality product this time.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 6:26 pm

The new Jumbuck/Arena utility might be the Waja concept that we've seen recently… Could be 4 doors… just a maybe :D

• catborg (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 7:29 pm

better that way..

launch in malaysia first = you get blind bash ..

so just launch outside of malaysia..

if outside say PROTON is GOOD.. then sure lalang malaysian will say it good tooo.. because they dont have good analys mind.. (maybe)..

i think it's okay and normal.. not only proton did it before.. many of comapny using that kind of strategy too..

WHO CARE?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 10:28 pm

I agreed with catborg "WHO CARE?". Proton recently make more announcement on collaboration/alliances with foreign partners rather than new models. Maybe the Malaysian public at large already "DON'T CARE" what Proton say and they realized the market no longer interested in their "lip service". So logically, Proton may go oversea do bragging to attract attention! If that is the case, then it will become lughing stock!

• catborg (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 7:50 pm

i'am very interested last night about Proton CEO speech.

"saya lebih memilih untuk bersembunyi (duduk diam) .. Because in everything we speak out to public they will say all is BAD and NEGATIVE, even it's a good thing".

Jadi dia dapat privacy untuk buat dan jalankan plan2 dia..

GOOD… So why ask Proton Not to launch in malaysia first? It's all caused by all your BLIND BASH!

hahaha!!!.

Go proton goo… i like your strategy now!..

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 10:52 pm

I dont think it will be launched in Aus 1st, Proton is Proton but they aint that dumb. Thts only a launch date for Aus, like Paul said, we can expect an earlier date for Msia's.

Btw, some ppl have the point to bash. I drive a Proton, but i couldve driven a better car if it wasnt bcos of Proton being pampered by G. I got no airbags, no ABS, and i dont have to tell u how many time my power window rosak, and i spend more than a quarter of my sallary for it every month.

Whateva the new car will be, i just hope they r learning somethin from Gen2 n Savvy roof design.

• wc5be (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 8:54 pm

lol… SRM roof is much lower den Gen2. i've sit in it. Frt and Rr. if ur 170cm above, then ur head mesti touch bumbung. hehe…

unless, P1 wana do a major body change on dat.

Overall, SRM ok la by P1 standard. GTI powertrain could probably be CPS is they sort out the problems they r facing by in-time or is supplied n tuned by 3rd party, ie. Kleemann. hehe…

• gogocar (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 8:05 am

Good News…SRM is much better then Gen2. The roof is not low like Gen2. and is spacious….Sure better accesories then Gen2 for the 1st launch. Won't disapointed everyone. Please be patient…I believe is a good car from the photo it shows….waiting for the launching soon.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:19 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.