Drive-in massage parlours for North-South Highway users

Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu opened today Malaysia’s first drive-in “massage parlour” rest stop in Malaysia, situated along the North-South Highway. The “massage parlour” is equipped with automatic massage chairs. You know, like OSIM or something like that. It is hoped that these chairs can help ease the tensed muscles of drivers to reduce accident rates. The government plans to open another of these drive-in “massage parlours” this year.

Yes guys, you can get real massages here. Not the dodgy kind of massage. I can see some of you grinning now. I wonder who supplies these massage chairs. Such luck bestowed upon them, obtaining a government tender for road-side massage parlours. They’d better be comfy. I hope these public massage parlours will not end up in the same state as public toilets. It’s not known right now whether this service will be free.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• suanie (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 5:14 am

I am like, amazed at how money is spent this way. Kan we have more important things to spent money with?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:22 am

I am not too sure that I would want to waste my time with the chairs, unless they place it near the petrol station or something, while I wait for the tank to be filled and drink. The first thing I think we do at R&R is go to the toilets, not too sure about going to the chairs

• 88forex.blog.com (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:31 am

From what I saw from the TV when Samy Velu lauched this thingy, it just a normal shop branded OTO CARE . Yeah massage chairs there, you can try them and later those sales execs will ask you , not ask you, push you to purchase 1.

I haven't check it out yet, so this is just my assumption for now based on the TV footage.

• suanie (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:36 am

dont we have rights or something to oppose to this kind of shite?

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:36 am

anyway, its a good thing to add on the R&Rs. I remmber there was once in shopping complexes, we used to had these black massage chairs where u need to slot in coins (RM2 if im not mistaken) to get it operated. The feeling was nice, u got around 5 minutes for a round. But, well, most Malaysians, as we know them, dont appreciate anythin public property… just like public phone la..

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:03 am

Ah..ha .. just a massage chair, I thought something like Thai massage or foot massage would be great.. Machine operated, tak siok!

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:06 am

…how about asking Mr. Sammy to give us a SPA in the R&R..then we can have the true feeling of Rest & Relex mah…..

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:19 am

wow, massage………………..good…………hope it won't spoil so fast under heavy usage.

• drM (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 9:11 am

its good to have that kind massaging machine or what ever at R&Rs, but is that what actually we need? i think that thing – giving nescafe or milo at gas stations – really do the job. they can fill in the gas or stop for a moment and enjoy the free drink. i think its much cheaper to serve free drinks rather than placing those massage machines. i heard OSIM sell one at thousands of ringgit! pheeeww….opss are they did it again? spending our RM4.4 billion saving on fuel subsidy on those chairs/ crocked buildings/ 'scenic' bridge/ whatever.. haaiiyyaaaa….wonder what had gone wrong these days…

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 9:49 am

I give it 6 months…

either it will break down or nobody care to maintain it…

• auyongtc (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 4:12 pm

Reminds me of the RM 1 massage chairs around the cable car station at the foot of Genting Highlands – yeah, the ones that were supposed to beep out loud if you sit on it without paying for the service.

And then because everyone don't bother about paying for a massage (they just want a seat) and don't care about the noise generated, the supplier just disabled the beeping alarm and left the chairs there to rot slowly but surely.

Samy Vellu, your time's up la… get up from the chair and out of the Cabinet :p

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 5:34 pm

Semi Value, your times up!

hehe.."to ease the tense" is to lower the price of fuel..haha. Muscle tense is not as dangerous as mental tense.

• acbc (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Should spend the money to fix pot holes or expand the roads.

WHAT A WASTE OF PUBLIC FUNDS!

Next u know, the company supplying these chairs belongs to Semi Value or his relatives! WTF???

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:19 pm

To add to acbc comments,

Normally this kind of goods and services (in this case massage chair) supplier or company will approach the other party (in this case PLUS) to have some form of "agreement/MoU/contracts", either to rent a space for promotion or "tie-up" with profits sharing arrangement!

This is so call "synergy effect" – "the total sum is greater than the sum of individual units". For example, look at many junk correspondences, especially from banks, offering "freebies" such as handphone, gift, oversea trips, etc to entice potential customers to sign up for their credit card. Say the handphone supplier may utilize the bank customer database and in return give special discount on their products for bank to give up to customer as "free". Therefore, it is their "win-win" formula by offering "2 in 1" package to customers. So beware, never deceive by "freebies" in this market, nothing is free in this world!

Why Samy Vellu embroil in this matter! better get clarification or do some groundwork!

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:32 pm

I wonder who sponsored those chairs… Very unlikely private sectors will sponsor such thing. If it's the G, just another way of wasting our taxpayer's money. Bloody hell! MRR2 bridges belum repair, already wasted the money on something useless. Ceh!

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:35 pm

izudeen, you don't have to wait six months. I'll just give u 3 weeks! Most Malaysian don't have this 'kesedaran sivik' thing. I'd be suprise if it last for 6 month! LOL!

• chinomalayo (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 2:31 am

Welcome to Malaysia! Well, another spin-doctoring or "change subject" which our leaders are good at. Our government know the people are angry with price hikes etc. and so, they try to change our focus on supposedly "goodies" like lower car prices and now, the "massage" rest stop (satu lagi projek BN). I think our government should get their priorities right!