NAP After-Effects: Volvo slashes prices up to 7%

small_volvo.jpgVolvo Cars Malaysia has announced price reductions of up to 7% for Volvo cars in Malaysia. This translates to price cuts of between RM10,000 to RM20,000. The Volvo XC90 SUV’s price will not be hiked, even though under the new National Automotive Policy’s tax structure it was expected that most SUV and MPV vehicles will end up with higher price tags. These new prices are to be applied to existing stocks, so you can enjoy the new prices immediately once you step into any Volvo showroom.

Volvo will also be looking into exporting Volvo cars assembled in it’s Shah Alam plant, which was set up back in 1967. This makes Volvo likely the first premium car manufacturer to have set up an assembly plant here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lance (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 5:23 pm

This is good news indeed…

• karheng (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 5:25 pm

Read it in the papers today that they are not rising the price of the xC90. However I believe that prices for the s40, 60 and 80 will drop at about the 10k to 20k level. I think that makes the cars much more competitive.

Mercedes as well have dropped the price. The E240K has dropped a whopping 40k. However, you get the feeling that the E class will have to drop it's price somehow with the car becoming a little dated. Expect a new model to arrive in a couple of years but until then, the E240K needs to effectively compete with the BMW 523i and they are not almost similar in price, tho the Merc is still slightly more costly.

As i have suggested, the prices of cars dropping will be beneficial to the community because of the already high price of cars. The real price of cars are normally MUCH MUCH lower and Proton SHOULD not be given this form of protection anymore while I think Perodua is more than adept to handling this situation as their cars are really worth at the max of 20K only.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 5:46 pm

the best news i hv heard so far ……..

• Jay (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 5:56 pm

Slashing prices up to 7%. I think it's still low. Would be even better if it's slashed higher in %. Come on 7% ? The profit is still there ma. Furtheremore i think some of the models are CKD. So should have better prices. How much does a S40 / V50 cost in USA ? Same engine,power,drivetrain,comfort etc.

All kinds of duty & tax is still high, and i think can be lowered. Just my point of view.

7% is high ? – nope….can be better !

• tomlee (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:12 pm

Either they are satisfied with their current market share or they have not read what our DPM said. Toyota has done much better with a bigger discount. May be all of us should wake them up. Wise customer will make wise decision!

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 6:24 pm

if im not mistaken this car category got around 70% reduction in tax… 7% only what da point?.. but good news la to volvo fans out there… better than nothing.. ok lar…

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 8:33 pm

Gov expressed that still unhappy with the price reduction, yet, and waiting for next round of reduction. I think that they should decide at least how many % of price drop prior to cutting the tax.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

I think these words actually dedicated to P1 and P2 as TPM said this just after these 2 national cars announced the price drop. They did the smallest price reduction if compare to others. Obviously, G hope that by price cutting, P1 able to gain back d market share. Whenever G will care about how the pricing of other foreign car manufacturers?

Let's wait-and-see how the next wave of lowering the car price!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 10:22 pm

I don't think Rm 40K is really that much for a merc.Though you can buy a Kelissa for that money. And if the Government is not happy with it, than announce the expected % price cut. It should be the other way around, the government telling the price cuts not expecting company's to do it their own liking.

Like cheaper Rm 3K for vios- I think on a yearly basis, I spent more on petrol than that price.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 10:27 pm

for those who say that ur happy bcos volvo slashed their prices..r u guys going to go to nearest showrrom to order one????

i didnt tink so too! dats wat i mean that those price reduction dont matter to anybody…no diff at all

• shaif (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Well I got SMS from Proton reading, ' Proton cars-NAP Excise Duty Rebate-Limited 2005 stocks discount up to 6500 and 2006 cars discount up to 4400. Anyone interested?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 11:45 pm

No. Not intersted. Because when proton launches their "limited edition, racing edition, special edition etc etc" you get extra items in the same priced car which is still around that pricing area.

Its like Honda and their angpow schemes, or trade in schemes. Anyone wants to write to the papers about the government should annouce the expected % price reduction? I would support you all the way

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 12:12 am

Yes, I agree, they just face-lift the cars, slap on a new tag or two, some different rims, make it available in some new colors, and they call it this edition la, that edition la, when it's pretty much the same old car. It's just a marketing gimmick, a cheap and shameless one at that. And yes, if the prices of cars drop more, we will walk into a showroom and buy a car; been wanting to do so for some months now. Lotsa people wanna own cars, but they can't, because the prices were too high. It's a different situation now, better cars are available at cheaper, if still not reasonable prices now, that means the people DO have a more choices when purchasing cars. Think of how many people are closer to owning their first or dream cars now. Lower car prices will give the car industry a boost.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 12:45 am

BTW, does anyone wants to write an article in the paper about asking the government to release the real prices. Or are the car sellers thinks that people are morons since they are used to paying premium prices for the cars in the market.