NAP After-Effects: Hyundai price drops

small_accent.jpgOriental Holdings Bhd has announced price cuts for Hyundai cars between 1.42 and 10.73 percent. Models affected are the Hyundai Sonata, Hyundai Elantra and the Hyundai Accent.

The Sonata’s price has dropped by 10.73 percent (RM13,555), down to RM112,780 now. The Elantra’s 1.6 and 1.8 models enjoys an overall price reduction of about RM4,400. The best-selling 1.5 litre Hyundai Accent, popular as an alternative to the Proton Wira now has been reduced by RM1000, or 1.5%.

These are CKD models assembled by Oriental Holdings. Hyundai CBU vehicles like the Hyundai Getz are distributed by Hyundai-Sime Darby, so wait for an announcement from them for the other half of Hyundai’s model offerings here in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kendo (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 8:53 pm

let's see what price for vios and city,

global fair price is only

RM60K!

• swarty (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:53 pm

i checked vios price at show room here, RM75-76k for low end model :(. And AVEO, they switched back to old prices to RM70k. I guessing all this new prices is more like discount price that already offer even before the current NAP thing.

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:56 pm

Wahlaueh…

VIOS & CITY ~60k…. 'MOH HOH NANG!!!' (impossible) in short term… i means this few years… remember new NAP still stated G wants to protect the pity infant(P1), If VIOS & CITY ~60k then ASCENT will more cheaper… then WIRA can 'tah pao'. P1 need to close down or go focus on oversea markets since cannot survive in own core markets.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:08 pm

accent alternative to wira??seriously paul , go drive an accent n see if u stil compare it to the wira….wira is miles beter to drive….

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:11 pm

the back passenger is way too narrow for accent………….walao……wira is more spacious than accent at the back.

• swarty (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:15 pm

P1 need to close down or go focus on oversea markets since cannot survive in own core markets.

What mean by "tah pao"? I guess P1 should have earn more.. just look at VIOS what is equipped and its original price. P1 don't even have such feature but price is so high, translate into to earning. Even then its lossing market :(.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:35 pm

woohoo, drop drop so i can shop shop

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:40 pm

Wahlaueh…

spacious wise may be WIRA is better…. but quality wise…any ASCENT owner can comment?? WIRA.. bad in quality…. sound proofing…. 'chit chit' sound….&…etc…. haha… expensive geinune parts.

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:45 pm

E-Nabill: of course the wira is better. i hate the interior colour scheme and general feel of the accent. too cheap. however it doesn't change the fact that the market likes it just because it's not a Proton.

• kancildriver (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 12:15 am

I drive accent. My brother drives wira. We always tukar2 for fun. My verdict……

wira:- feels like driving an assembly of numerous components.

accent:- feels like driving a one-piece car.

anyway historically, accent was developed based on lancer also. You can find some component match wira……… just that the built quality is better. only lacking thing is the plastic interior.

• kody (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 1:16 am

Wahlaueh…

kancildriver, thx 4 ur point of views. it is a bit better quality & also like paul said… it is not 'potong' product & worth a try. If i am a new car owner, i may go for ASCENT also. Already try 2 WIRA… one fr. my father sedan wira, one is my current Aeroback wira… Sedan is better free from back 'chit chit' sound. I dun believe it as my friend said Aeroback give more sounds at back of the car… now i really regret… to follow my friend advise. GO Hyundai!!

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 4:51 am

Yeah kody, go for hyundai… but dont buy 1st hand.. go & buy la 2nd hand.. very-very cheap… no 2nd value.. can get elantra for 40k…

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 3:57 pm

the hyundai 'accident' thats what jeremy clarkson calls it. its an ok car, but i wont buy it la. i rather buy a waja than an accent.

i heard too many horror stories from friends who buy hyundais. Mainly quality problems, and after a couple of years, they have trouble selling the cars, as the 2nd hand prices have really taken a beating.

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 10:53 pm

Some of the korean cars r good but the downside is low 2nd hand value. My bro in law wanted to sell his 2 year-old Kia Spectra but no dealer want it. Sigh, my wife just bought Atos.