Streamyx is pointless

Sorry for the lack of blog updates. TMNet Streamyx has been practically unusable for the past week or so.

I’m wondering, is the Energy, Water and Communications Minister Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik going to ask us to “change our lifestyle” and depend less on internet access, just like we were told when we complained about high fuel prices?

Never have I seen such widespread performance degradation before. Connections to servers that have local peering like racks in Netmyne and Jaring are also affected. So it couldn’t be an issue of international link. Submarine cable snapped again? Aliens kidnapped the DSLAM switches? Pet goat ate your router?

And you keep is in the dark about what the problem is. All I see on your announcement page is news about some e-mail server maintenance. Who in their right mind would trust their important e-mails to your dodgy servers anyway?

Are you pretending there is no problem and hoping we’ll all get used to this and stop complaining and everything will be alright again? Have you re-allocated funds for infrastructure upgrades into overseas investments and buying new Mercedes Benz E240 sedans now that they are RM40,000 cheaper?

This is just too darn ridiculous. Buck up you GLCs. How are you supposed to achieve your Key Performance Indicators? I do not want to “change my lifestyle” and go back to dial-up.

Related:
Bloggers pissed with Streamyx

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 10:16 pm

I’m in Ipoh, and streamyx sucks here too, my friends living in scattered areas are experiencing the same too.

• lotiman (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 10:36 pm

Staying in PG and the line is sux for the last 4 weeks
    Only this few days pick up. Always page not found or take too long to respond. Terrible.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 10:56 pm

well, I share all your pain too. Needless to say more. Just like the NAP, it’s a pain in the “you know what”.

• jasonle01 (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 11:01 pm

arrggg… TMNet is bad la… line is sux, customer service lagi sux. ask u call 1300889515 then u can wait for 20mins for them to pick up ur call. wat is the service is??? that is TOTALLY BADDDDDDDD service. somemore said 1Mbps, wer got 1Mbps?????? somemore always down. wat to do…

• Deodorant (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 11:14 pm

Hehe, Koreans and Japanese measure their Internet connections in 100+ mbps. To be honest though a good 1 mbps line is “good enough” for most users. Just too bad that Streamyx doesn’t fall into the “good” category.

• demio121 (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 12:01 am

I am in Subang and using 512k package. My speedometer test only return 300++ kbps. I call up TM asking them why my 512 only give me 300++ and the answer is 300++ is normal, its very good.

why is TM advertising 512, we pay for 512 and Tm only deliver 300++ and tell us that is the normal… in fact this is good.

Paul… if you want better, pack your bag. it ain’t gonna get any better.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 4:23 am

RM88/month

TmNuts always cheat us……

I understand your frustration…

• kucau (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 4:45 am

paul, report to mcmc

read this http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=26564…
    is there anything else we as a customer can do?

• d2z (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:26 am

Hey there Paul, heard thru the grapevine that only localized areas in the Klang Valley had their Streamxy affected. Anybody else in other states had their Streamyx go cuckoo too?

• emisaidi (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:37 am

I feel your pain paul… I've been testing my streamyx for the past week -> take a look (im in Puchong)

• emisaidi (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:41 am

oops forgot to paste my blog link http://halimisaidi.com/v3/content/view/18/2/

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:45 am

All well here. Upnorth.

• iguanaa (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:51 am

..eveything is in order down south…

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:55 am

fine here in sg long, kajang/cheras…

• Paul Tan on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:56 am

i'm in cheras too, definitely not fine here.

• NSDS3HvLDjJd (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:21 am

Screwed up in Kuching as well.

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:31 am

there is no competition……so TM can wait wait n sambil lewa onli……………they know other broadband onli in big cities……which is minority…..so they dun care.

the G should open the market n let foreign broadband companies come in n gives telekom a BIG SMACK in their face, wahahahaha……

• wolf1437 (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:46 am

Streamyx… Your one and only no choice, hated, over exaggerated super fast connection and CANNOT complaint Telco service in Malaysia. This is mental torture for citizens who need access online 24/7. Monopoly the market doesn't makes "you" superior after all.

• king (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:59 am

open market? dream…..dream….dream

• rexis (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Ohhhh, last time i use streamyx i name my desktop shortcut key as "streamyx sucks" but yet still i need to click on it everyday and pray hard to get the internet connection.

I have been tortured by streamyx since 2000 until i gave up to install any telephone line. Now i online using company line.

• chanlman (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:06 pm

guys, if you're interested in wireless broadband internet, hang on man… competition is coming up in mid-2006. of course, when it launch, only cover klang valley first.

• thecrash (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:13 pm

Use jaring maaa….. better than streamyx… less customer…. :p

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:32 pm

change lifetsyle …change also the G….

vote for less majority

• leechorwin (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:43 pm

I had created a blog posted my complaint letter to TMNET streamyx as well but they just reply with a standard set of respond mail ask us to check on our setting, setup and cabling.

http://planet.time.net.my/KLCC/chor_win/2006/03/t…

Actually they are hopeless, do not expect you get full value from the RM66 you paid. They alway screw up and give you thousand of reason to cover their fault. Why they never admit is their fault/bad service… is this the Asian culture??

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 6:27 pm

WTF ??? One of the main reason for me subscribe tmNUT Streamyx is for P2P. Now they have trottle down the P2P. Monopolistic can kis my big fat hairy ssss.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 7:03 pm

Its time for anti monopoly act!! What?? cannot?? This is Malaysia you r talking about.. monopoly is good, so we can feed the crocs… so we can give projects to those we like only… preferance is a big issue here.. so projects wont fall to oppositions gang & the needy…

ps:still maintain TMnet1515… 46.6kb only.. boleh la…

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 7:29 pm

WTF!! I've filed so many complaints to d sucking Streamyx Support and talked to those craps so many times, they just useless!!!

The problem started around last Wed till now, F*** O** it's already well over 6 days! But still they can't solve the problem.

FYI, my download speed quite up to par (70%) if measured from the crap Xpeedometer, but the real problem is on the UPLOAD. I tried to ping those famous DNS (eg: www.google.com, www.yahoo.com etc) and found that so frequent "connection time out", which mean the connection is unstable, and easily causing send out packets drop. U know wat? Those craps at TMnet only knew these after heavy complaints.

In simple words, solely download should have no problem, but when u want to send email, download using BT, (actually u're uploading at d same time) login internet mailbox… blah blah… It's just like waiting forever!

TMnet promised able to solve the problem within 48hrs but my problem

persist till now, it well excessed 48hrs. Really disappointed is the so-called "improved" customer service. If TMnet regard itself as utilitise provider similar to TNB or Syabas, then TMnet should take immediate action and biggest effort possible to restore the service back. Seriously they must think of how to compensate us. But u guess wat happened here, they even threat us they'll cut the line if not paying bill promptly, and they do this excellently, WTF!

But how silly is that TMnet keep pushing to have more subscribers down the street, resellers piled-up at everywhere. Further on to offer customers streamyx service crap as "low" as RM20.

• kody (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Wahlaueh…

TMnet really want to stop the P2P?? anyone can tell??

In Penang already have a company to offer 'FON' fiber optics network, min speed 2Mbps (future expansion to 2Gbps), monthly RM60… but now still not available for all & only by building base, e.g. N-park has the service & etc…

http://www.penangfon.com/

• rexis (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 7:42 pm

My COMPANY streamyx, 5 lines got 4 lines down, i call, they ask for my company name, fine, "…", no this is incorrect, "……?", this is incorrect, please provide your company full name, "…….#$^*?", no sir its not your company name…

"I am just the support team here and trying to report that our lines got problems here and 200 staff and 5000 students are not getting internet access for the classes and work, what the hell you need to verify my company name for? I got password and username here why u still need to verify my (f#$%ing) company name?"

"Sir, this is for security purposes, you must provide us your company name…"

So i have to let go this phone call to streamyx that i has waited for nearly half an hour by listening to their music. And have to listen music half an hour again next time i called them after i called up the top management ppl for the company name they used to register the streamyx account.

You know what, the company name i provided is actually correct, just i didnt mention then "Sdn Bhd" behind….. what the hell…

also endless time while i own a streamyx line last time, i feel like i know more then the call center people.

"Sir, please try…"

"No need, i had already did all those steps and you dont tell me to try that again"

• rexis (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 7:52 pm

"And also dont ask me to restart the PC, this is the server and should run for 24hours."

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:03 pm

rexis said,

April 4, 2006 @ 11:42 am

also endless time while i own a streamyx line last time, i feel like i know more then the call center people.

——————–

Absolutely agreed wif that, i got mad to answer those verification, self-diagnostic questions before get into the details. Definitely, I won't call them without any efforts from my side, wat they think of we're free got nothing to do and call them up to chat? OK, fine, the only plus point is most of them are polite, but absolutely helpless. TMnet seriously need to train them before answer d phones, we're paying the bill and not suppose to teach them on wat actually about the broadband service.

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:45 pm

pycazu, u got the point. tmNUT call center people is wayyyy too dumb. Except they are polite, yes.

• tomlee (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:21 pm

I am from Puchong, Selangor. Being affected by the poor performance for almost 2 weeks now. I heard from my colleague who lives in Pudu, KL is facing the same problem. He complained about 2 weeks ago. Till today not yet solve. Pay rm77 a month for a 512K package. I believe a 56K dial-up to Internet is faster than mine now! Useless Streamyx.

I have a feeling they dun know where is the problem. Thats why no announcement made. May be TMNet should send their team down south to learn from our neighbour country how they could manage and maintain their true broadband network, as high as 1.5Mbps!

Still along way to achieve 2020…sigh.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 11:46 pm

I also staying at Puchong, my Streamyx can't access for more than one month, useless, lifeless, motionless and yet have to pay RM 44.00. Somemore my area is under MSC, this location also cannot kaltim oledi lol, what to say for those outside MSC.

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:06 am

Yes, Puchong among the most serious affected area, i guess. Coz i've experienced the same problem by check the connection speed at different places. Sorry to say that u must learned some skills before doing complaining. What i mean is u must prepare urself for those standard questions like error code, modem brand name, dialer etc… Or else, sorry, u just wasting ur time, i shall say.

Further more, the problem seem never could be solved without go to Tier 2. U guess wat, u must wait for at least 48 hrs b4 wake them up.

Suck Streamyx! Change ur ageing server and cables b4 offer us "so-called" broadband service la!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:16 am

Last time call them so many time and give ref. no. but demand for deadline – they are "dead", as they can't commit it, I even have to "threaten" them and put into record that for the period out of service, TMNuuuuuuut can't charge me as they are in breach of contract by not providing the service! What the suck, TM Suck!

Regret to take up offer end of last year in which the basic RM 44 for 60 hours had been increase to 88 hours! What a gimmick and cheating!

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 3:29 am

As for ppl who are BT user and experiencing low DL speed..

Here's the truth.

"TMNUT isn't limiting the # of connections you can make..

It's throttling/blocking P2P packets through pattern recognition. No matter what port you change to, it'll still be the same. That's why utorrent, azureus and bitcomet implemented the protocol encryption method. To obfuscate the handshakes and packet patterns." –qoute some guys in lowyat.net–

'Jarang' also same implement the same sheet like TMNUT. Both rip-off ppl money.

This is mentioned in Azureus website. They published it officially.

If u can remember, not so long ago in news, TMNUT or a VIP (pirahh!) make statement that 80% of BW is being used by 20% user (BT user lah tu). so they gonna do something about it.

MoFo this ppl. every user should get what they pay for. e.g. if pay rm88 for 1mb connection, what wrong if use 88% of that all the time. kan within the 'service level', …bodo.. …, kan dah kena sebijik.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 3:41 am

my tm nut line will go on bumpy road like driving kelisa in the jungle LOLZ when the weather turns bad.. when it starts to rain.. DSL connection will lost and will reconnect back and dc again again and again until some 30 minutes after.. strange enough.. it only happen when weather is bad.. ZZZZzzzzzzzzzz…. i asked tm nut to check.. they said they recapped my line then changed my port but still.. PROBLEM STAYS.. tmnut rocks! sigh.. jaring wireless doesnt cover my area.. im in puchong..zzzzzzzzzzzzz

• imrik82 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:12 am

i pay 120 bucks every two months to play wow this online game and at peak hr u can forget to even bother to log in it is so slow that the same frame is displayed for 3-6 seconds… urgh i hate u tm net!

• E-Nabill (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:47 am

anybody here can email this forum link to top idiots in telekom??we all wil benefit…..although i havnt had any problem so far with my streamyx which to me,is SLOWER thana dialup…,bt wen i do,i know i wil go tro hell at the minimum…their 1300 number almost doesnt exist n if it does,wil take abt 2 days for their briliantly responsive staff to call back …i dowana talk more…im sick…

• suanie (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:56 am

Gunakanlah DIGI GPRS/Edge for ultra reliable light surfing.

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:12 am

suanie>>>

DiGi EDGE is not that fast by broadband standard but good enough to bust poor 3G performance and coverage.

• Mutant Tomato (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:03 am

Hmmm…. I guess I'm among the last few to be using Webbit… Surprisingly, I haven't encountered many problems with it… Possibly the only thing is it is slightly more expensive than Streamyx. But heck, I'd rather pay the few extra bucks and have peace of mind than to pay less and have a bullshit connection…

About those who spoke of Jaring, here's some of my personal experience. My Webbit modem died and I decided to try something new… I opted for the Jaring FLITE wireless service as my area landlines are Maxis….

All I can say is, the service is the biggest, foulest, festering plie of SHIT I have EVER come across! They promised 1MBPS connection. The stupid cunt at the KLCC office told me not to expect exactly 1MBPS but more of a "maximum efficiency" sort of thing. I was ok with that, assuming that I'd get at least 512k connection. Alas, all I got was approx. 15kbps connection! I kid you not…. And mind you, the signal tower is less than a KM from my house, with no obstructions in the line of sight. Their service reminds me of an old man trying to take a piss; it comes out in spurts, it takes FOREVER to finish and at the end, there's no satisfaction!

Thank god they had a 7-day return policy. I gave everything back and thought I'd get my refund straight away. Then the lardass at KLCC says it will take 30 working days. Fine, company policy I guess… Guess what? It actually took about 8 weeks!

When the cheque was FINALLY ready, the bitch calls me and she actually has the gall to say "Come can collect the cheque soon as it has a 30-day expiry period." WTF?!? KNNB-CCB!!!!!!!!!!! Take so GOD DAMNED long to return my money and then place all sorts of terms and conditions?!

SO my advice to you is, DO NOT under ANY circumstances, touch Jaring Wireless or go near it even!

• go_go (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:12 am

Optical Communication Engineering Sdn Bhd provides 2mb fiber optics broadband connection in klang vally… The monthly payment as low as rm60 but the fiber optics modem is a bit expensive…but worth a click…just have a look on their service… another alternative to TM

go to www.ocesb.com.my

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:38 am

go_go>>>"but the fiber optics modem is a bit expensive"

Can u please give some estimation of the modems price. Sounds good :D

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:43 am

RM450 ??? Wooow, Quite expensive. But i dont mind if the service is good. RM60 for the service. Do we need to pay for the line? Bcoz we have to pay monthly line to TM for Streamyx.

• go_go (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:25 pm

MyBoy said,

April 5, 2006 @ 10:43 pm

RM450 ??? Wooow, Quite expensive. But i dont mind if the service is good. RM60 for the service. Do we need to pay for the line? Bcoz we have to pay monthly line to TM for Streamyx.

I agree with you… if the service is better and reliable than TM, i dont mind to spen extra bucks… I think the modem is quite expensive is because the fiber optics technology is based on light… so, it requires special modem to intra-connect… im no expert on network technology, so im im wrong please correct me :)

About the line, i dont know whether we have to pay for it. according to the site, we dont have to pay extra line.. i dont know…

but it is pleasent to know we have alternative… rite :)

• Bio (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 6:10 am

As 4 me my line in puchong is ok although the speed cant reach 512 kbps but its consider "NORMAL" but occasionally line will dc n its fcoking annoying coz I 'm using my line 2 dl many many sh*t.

UR OPERATOR MIGHT BE POLITE, BUT THEY R HEL* DUMB LIK U

TM NUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• thespreader (Member) on Apr 30, 2006 at 2:25 am

i ve read all your complaints to tmnet streamyx service and this is my complaint.ive register for dialup56k but the speed is only28.8 .the fastest it can get is 31.2.i asked my friends and they say that you get that speed because your places is busy.and i want to tell that you all getting 0nly 300kbps+ because your broadband connection is optimized.for example like me,even when my speed is 28.8,i use many tools that can surfing downloading speed.if u all want to know more,please reply to this message.

• david (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 11:53 pm

This is the 4th Year, my customer been using streamyx. Lately, he had problem on connecting to streamyx, guess what the support ask you to do,

This is what my customer do, (recent happening)

1. First day, streamyx down, 11pm on 29 April 2006, doesn't bother, maybe the streamyx still on the upgrade stuff thing again.

2. Second day, still streamyx down, 12pm 30 April, 2006, call streamyx support, and this is what the support ask my customer to do,

Support : "Try use the modem connect directly without any router."

Customer : "Ok. I did that also."

Support : "What are thing comes out? Any indication?"

Customer : "Still blinking on the ADSL led, no connection"

Support : "Oh, might be some connection upgrade, why not you try again tomorow and see. If the problem still exist, then only you try report. Thank you."

Customer : Blur…wait for another tomorrow. ??

3. 3rd day, Streamyx still down, customer called me, use his modem on other place, no problem, can connect, even with his own pc. Thats confirm is the line at his house. So he made a report on the problem, 1st May 2006,

Support : "May i know what's the problem?

Customer : "Streamyx still cant connect, modem still blinking"

Support : "Oh, i can see you have called yesterday" (very good record)

Support : "I will try make report for you, but it will take at least 12hours to 48 hours to check your problems"

Customer : "What another day?"

Support : "Yes. as we need to ask our technical to check and investigate the problem."

Today, streamyx still down. :( bad bad streamyx service. This isnt the 1st time my customer is facing the streamyx down, previous record, there is a 1 month can't use the streamyx internet, and still need to pay.

2nd BAD : Since the day they announced that free upgrade for previous 512K to 1MB, until now, my customer still using 512K but pay RM88 /month(sucks)

3nd BAD : Even some Sales Manager walk in to a shop and ask to apply for a streamyx, they can still say this out, "Aiyo, now ah, all people 1MB already, no more 512k. All free upgrade." When i say, my customer still using 512k, he just say, cannot be lah. Sure 1MB, your customer must be mistaken." But when i told him, that customer is me, and i am using 512K now, he just keep quiet…. Sales Manager ????

Com'on, Malaysia Streamyx I believe you can do better. Do let other say your service sucks anymore, try improve on service, not just push push push and forget about the old Streamyx subscriber.

• zoula (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 1:51 am

HI Guys,

I understand our frustration (hmm… "our"?). Well many websites have been complaining about this, I have done that myself through many occasionas and I will continue doing that sadly here.

I have stopped calling tmnet's 1-300 number because it is pointless to make oneself's sick about what those clarks do; gathering information. They were saying that three were more than 400 staff doing the secretarial work.

There was a time when the automatic answering was saying our support is available from 7a.m to 12 p.m I just could not resist to tell them that 12p.m was the lunch time and not midnight. I think they spend more money in expensive commercials like the one used for the Malaysian Idol; you know the one where they sing is Broadband time … not I jst can't remember the lirrics.

I believe that the infrastructure is not ready and they are taking their sweet time to implement the network because they are the only ones.

Taking in consideration the price: RM88.00 + RM26.00 (for thoe who applied for a telephone line just for streamyx) = RM114.00/month for streamyx.

They might be blocking / throttling the P2P prgrammes becasue they have totally spoiled their scamming statistics; how often do you require a 1Mb/s speed when you just browse the internet without making downloads too often. It is the same scam used by the free email company's when they offer a 2 Gig mailbox. A minority fo the users would use it in full.

As long as Streamyx are the only ones around providing wired dsl, then it would remain as it is. Jaring has started also providing wired broadband, but it is very limited in terms of coverage area.

In other words, Streamyx sucks and it will continue doing so until a couple of companies start eating up their rice or the government stops backing them up.

I had personnally to re-set my email's password from the default one three times last year because they found it fun I guess to reset it backl to the streamyx default password. Not enough, they have now forced the companies to pay an additional 80% (RM145.00) to enjoy the same speed. When I asked why it was so costly, they told me that it was to provide a better support. Meaning that the rest of the home users are crap top their eyes.

I am just hoping for the best.

• el_flynn (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 10:25 am

I'm curious.

Streamyx is a shared broadband service right? Meaning that if there are 100 customers connected to one DSLAM, this should mean that the bandwidth will be distributed according to what those 100 users are down/uploading at some given point in time.

If all 100 are P2P users (throw Skype into the mix as well) who are continuously uploading _and_ downloading data, wouldn't that cause congestion? Not to mentioned the many PCs out there that have been 0wN3d and turned into zombies and spambots.

So anyway, I looked it up at http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/dsl.htm, for more info on how DSL works.

Just browsing through the site, I came across some choice quotes:

" ADSL is a distance-sensitive technology: As the connection's length increases, the signal quality decreases and the connection speed goes down. The limit for ADSL service is 18,000 feet (5,460 meters)"

"ADSL provides a dedicated connection from each user back to the DSLAM, meaning that users won't see a performance decrease as new users are added — until the total number of users begins to saturate the single, high-speed connection to the Internet. At that point, an upgrade by the service provider can provide additional performance for all the users connected to the DSLAM."

So perhaps the prevailing problem of bad connectivity right now can be boiled down to the following:

1) In its mad rush to do its part to raise the broadband penetration rate (and therefore claim some glory), TMNet is failing to run adequate checks to ensure that the distance limit is followed. After all, why bother explaining all the technical mumbo-jumbo, when another customer in the fold is another RM66 added to the bottom line…

2) In its mad rush to make more money, TMNet is just harvesting as many new customers as possible, without regard to their current infrastructure capacity and capabilities to handle the new traffic/customers. Perhaps they have an attitude of "Get money first, sort details out later…"

3) The increased number of users using P2P _is_ in fact starting to cause service degradation. This isn't too far-fetched, as we Malaysians don't really care about IP rights and piracy.

4) Security — I would assume that a large percentage of users our there use Windows 95/98/Me/XP at home with their broadband connection. And perhaps due to the vast number of unlicensed copies of M$ Windows out there, patches are not being applied. Tack on a casual approach to security, lax firewall policies and antivirus updates (unlicensed Norton what?)… all these add up to the many zombies, spambots and other nefarious badness whose only purpose in life is to infect other users and participate in DDOS attacks.

Anyhoo… it's so easy and convenient to finger-point and make sweeping statements. But who knows what the real Streamyx landscape looks like out there. Perhaps it's TMNet who are ill-equipped to handle providing broadband services. Perhaps its the Streamyx users who are contributing to the problem due to their broadband usage patterns.

All I know is that with enough blogs, comments, media exposure, public/political support, complaints, rallies etc. we can get TMNet to change. But if these problems turn out to be partly caused by Streamyx users' surfing/P2P/security habits, I really doubt those same tactics can get Abu, Ah Chong and Arumugam to change.

My 2 cents.

• hamkachan (Member) on Jan 14, 2007 at 12:26 pm

i play wc3 frozen throne singapore host kick me out from game and they said malaysia lag,i use streamyx……..oh yeah always sux

• limweiseng (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:38 am

To Telecommunications Minister
    Feedback on Malaysia broadband standard sent in October 2007.

Hi,
    Internet services provied by Telekom Malaysia has been down for the past week or so, different time in different area.

There are few problems I could see Malaysians are facing in relation to internet access. It is my honour if I could get your attention sharing the plights we are facing.

Many customers signed up for attractive Streamyx plans offered by Telekom Malaysia which tied them up for the next 12 months, 24 months or so. While both sides has their commitment to honour the contract until its expiry, the plans were taken up in view of excellent services pledged.
    Multiple downtime every year is not an expectation we can be contented with. Where expectation failed, customers should be given choices to uptake other services felt suitable but unforunately we are unable to terminate the current contracts.

With Malaysia’s aim to be an IT hub, it is wise to compare us with international standard of countries, where the Information Services are well ahead of others. Take OECD countries for example:

1) Their termination rates are low and even able to terminate current contracts with low penalty.
    Malaysia: We are fully tied to the long-term contracts with no option to terminate even with reasonable penalty.

2) It encounrages competition by forcing Local Loop Unbundling (LLU) to lower prices and improve services.
    (LLU :- will we split Telekom into three separate operating companies?)
    Malaysia: It is obvious Telekom’s been given the advantage ahead of others, has been in a monopolistic position and its arm’s owning the back bone of Malaysia’s broadband access infrastructure. Oher providers can only operate in certain area and region.

3) Continous improvement of services throughout year on year basis. Many OECD countries are offering broadband bandwidth of over 10 Mbps, some even over 30 Mbps.
    Malaysia: The top two most popular broadband plans – 0.5Mbps and 1Mbps bandwidth have been in operation for more than more than 7 years?
    (Even Thailand and Singapore way surpassed Malaysia at least 10Mbps)

4) Aiming for above 90% household broadband uptake by lowering prices and building infrastructure for rural areas.
    Malaysia : Where do Malaysia stand?

• devilinme on Feb 28, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Streamyx is only good for local surfing.

If u want to surf any oversea websites, I suggest u make yourself a cup of coffee or tea and wait long long.

I upgraded from 512 to 1024 and the performance seems to be worse!

Go figure!

• ongjosh on Apr 04, 2009 at 6:41 am

GO TO HELL STREAMYX!! Make Lim Pek Du Lan!! 3 Words for STREAMYX!! GO TO HELL!!

• pro streamyx on Apr 17, 2009 at 9:57 am

haha…If u all did not satisfied with Streamyx services, just :

1)registered for enterprise packages which u will get ur fixed IP that u will not share with other users

2)upgrade ur streamyx packages to 4mbps packages-u will treated as premier customer( but make sure that ur house is around 1-3km from the TM exchange)

3) go to the nearest TM Point and terminate ur streamyx account

4) registered for other ISP likes maxis, P1 wimax, etc

• arnold hooi on May 12, 2009 at 6:05 pm

i m currently working as customer representative (experimental purposes) of one of the Streamyx booth in Penang. I really can feel the hell of complaints and all sorts of dissatisfactions DAILY…NON-STOP! Btw, I m not a streamyx customer myself but (Maxis broanband)^^. I was hired simply because I am a Chinese, they cant communicate in Chinese…… … … well,gtg somewhere else for better prospects becoz its really crazy working here, and I HAVE NO IDEA why their services are so BAD!!!! I dun wanna have a bad reputation!

• Oscar Kapac on May 22, 2009 at 2:29 pm

Hi,

I travel a little bit everywhere in the world, and use Internet connections each time, to update my blog, upload pictures, check email,…

I'm in Malaysia since january 2009 now, and use Streamix every day. I can say that this provider is the biggest joke i have ever seen. Price are expensive, and the bandwith is really crapy and connection not stabile. It's like this every day.

I think that Malaysian governement should give other licences to run an Internet business to real professionals. Maybe with some competitors, they will realize how their service is near to zero, when they will see all their customers going away for something better.

My 2 cents.

Oscar.

• Frustrated being on May 30, 2009 at 1:44 am

[quote comment="240367"]Hi,

I travel a little bit everywhere in the world, and use Internet connections each time, to update my blog, upload pictures, check email,…

I'm in Malaysia since january 2009 now, and use Streamix every day. I can say that this provider is the biggest joke i have ever seen. Price are expensive, and the bandwith is really crapy and connection not stabile. It's like this every day.

I think that Malaysian governement should give other licences to run an Internet business to real professionals. Maybe with some competitors, they will realize how their service is near to zero, when they will see all their customers going away for something better.

My 2 cents.

Oscar.[/quote]

Hi Oscar,

Any 'competitors' are either sucky or alter egos of the same provider.

Why? Because that's how monopoly works here.

Hope I didn't squash your hopes too much.

Cheers!

• cute girl sad on Sep 12, 2009 at 11:20 am

call streamyx call center suck becoz their management suCks!!!!!!!!! not their call center agents..

• flyingfox on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:32 pm

The abuse extends to everything – including billing. I got a “normal” reminder phone call that my bill was overdue. warm and nice, no mention of line being cut. I paid on-line within 10 minutues and received e-mail confirmation from my bank. TM did not update the system and 4 days later, they cut my line, without any notice. When I called them and gave payment details, they said it will take up to 24 hours to re-open my line. The service level is slower than the Government Agencies! You can get an International passport in 1 hour, get black-listing uplifted in 2, get road tax in 10 mintues. TM/Streamyx needs 5 days to update!

Complain to the Multimedia Commission. Help break the monopoly/market dominance. These complaints are auditable, and will help other ISPs create competition. Believe in Change!