How much will a Toyota Yaris burn your pocket?

small_yaris.jpgWe all know the Toyota Yaris is coming soon to our shores. There have been sightings of the little hatchback on trailers being delivered somewhere, and UMW Toyota has even registered the domain name yaris.com.my. But what’s important is how much will it cost?

I had a look at the CBU gazetted price list released by the Customs a while ago and decided to try calculating the price of a Toyota Yaris with Malaysia’s awesome best in the world ever taxes slapped on.

Toyota Yaris – RM41,000
+ import duty (RM2,050) = RM43,050
+ excise duty (RM32,287.50) = RM75,337.50
+ sales tax (RM7,533.75) = RM82,871.25

Toyota Yaris High-grade – RM42,500
+ import duty (RM2,125) = RM44,625
+ excise duty (RM33,468.75) = RM78,093.75
+ sales tax (RM7,809.38) = RM85,903.13

I’ve done the calculations assuming the Toyota Yaris will be a CBU from Thailand, not Japan. Of course, this does not include whatever profit UMW Toyota has to make from the sale of the car. So, how much do you think UMW Toyota will sell it for? And do you think our Toyota Yaris will have a Super-CVT transmission?

Related posts:
Toyota Yaris Hatchback Spyshots
Toyota Vitz (Yaris)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• edwin2 (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:46 pm

Dear Paul,

look a little confuse hare,

Toyota Yaris – RM41,000+ import duty RM43,050+ excise duty RM75,337.50+ sales tax RM82,871.25 = RM242,258.75

are u sure RM242k for yaris ? then I buy a BMW 3series at that price !!!

what U want to say was Toyota Yaris – RM41,000+ import duty RM2,050+ excise duty RM32,287.50+ sales tax RM7,533.75 = total RM82,871.25

happy motoring (and something un0happy motoring looking at this price)

• michly (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:47 pm

hai.. nvm lah .. stick with my Myvi.. ~100K for 2 doors car like this..hai…darn tax

• kody (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:48 pm

wahlaueh…

if this is a 1500cc then around 80k, may be ok lah… if 1300cc…..really need to rethink about it.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:50 pm

omG… expensive!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Are you sure your calculation is acceptable, I have benefit of doubt as it shall be same class with Honda Jazz which is price around RM 100K? Even at your calculation, the price is very prohibitive! NAP make all cars model become no value for money! What a joke!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:56 pm

Are RM 41 and RM 42.5 K gazetted price already marked up figure? Then further tax is imposed so that it catch up to RM 100K magic figure? What consumers benefit from this pricing?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:12 pm

i think the Yaris is too expensive to drive if it is priced at RM83k for a 1.3litre car. i rather buy a Honda City or Vios. i think the most reasonable price for this little Yaris should be around RM60k.

However, as a consumer's point of view, we have more choice now. Hope other car manufacturers will bring in more models for Malaysia market in near future.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:21 pm

When i was younger, i wonder why Hondas & Toyotas ve turn into luxury cars… but when i grown up & knew all this tax stuff.. actually gov who ve turned these cars into luxury cars… see how cheap they r…& how expensive they r sold… if Paul calculation is right..msia is fit to be in Guniness World Record for car taxes…

The world get smaller.. they cant keep fooling us around.. with poton around, people with use it as comparison.. & will stay as target for curses.. I remember Syed Zainal said he need to hide from people's critism..

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:36 pm

Joe, we never benefited anything form the new NAP. The cars never gone cheaper, local automaker gets more protection. And we could never get benefits from the new technologies introduced by other automakers in the world as we the consumers in Malaysia are slapped with high taxes for a fully imported models.

It doesn't matter if the this Yaris or Polo Bluemotion is recession-free car when a lot of us can only live to see it, not own it. I hate it when more and more foreign automaker came up with better technology that will suit our current "condition of living" but we only ended up being frustated by this stupid NAP.

Somehow, I think our current G are giving more bullshit than the past G. "Ubah gaya hidup" my ass!

• gepochai (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:39 pm

hey guys, i think what paul is trying to say is that the 82k price tag is after adding in the import duty, excise duty and sales tax.

i think a better way to present the formula is

toyota yaris

rm41,000 + import duty + excise duty + sales tax = RM 82,871.25

toyota yaris High-grade

rm42,500 + import duty + excise duty + sales tax = RM 85,903.13

• gepochai (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:41 pm

“Ubah gaya hidup” my ass!

AGREE!!!!!

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:48 pm

anyway, can see cannot buy………nvm, if they come here………

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Whats – "can see cannot buy………nvm", that consider "lucky" lol in this NAP Bolehland. There are many models you even can't see in our market! needless to say cannot buy…… also cannot touch & smell the interior.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:59 pm

RM40k = car, RM43k = taxes, RM80k = car loan, 50k = black listed car owners…

Msian for bank black list for gov sake, how patriotic.. careful guys… make right choices..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 9:19 pm

Motorhead, we believe every consumers can make realistic and right choice. Unfortunately, NAP & P1 seem to compel consumers make wrong choices all the time.

• rexis (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 9:32 pm

Gogogo malaysia tax! Yeahhhhh gogogo, go squezz the rakyat dry.

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 9:49 pm

Hey guys,Paul calculated rather conservative, that's not margin included,yet! U maybe even frustrated when the actual price announced then.

Am*** la tuanku, potong la cukaiku, rakyat-rakyat hamba ni…

• Dinozilla (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 9:57 pm

the best way to tell them how we feel is the next polling…..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 9:59 pm

they are pricing yaris as jazz,

meaning 100k!

in china, thai, jazz and yaris are considered

BUDGET.

for 100grand, U get 2 units!

Assssxxxx NAP, and national car project"!

• purity (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:05 pm

sik-chik-si-hong, hong-chik-si-sik… sik-pat-yu-hong, hong-pat-yu-sik…

sin jooi, sin jooi…sigh…

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:05 pm

hey Thai PM step down eventhough they won 57% from election…. maybe this should give warning to the current gov.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:23 pm

Hey guys….have you all check out the new interest rates for car loan? *Sigh*

• Profeex (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:59 pm

I do agree with pycazu. The price which Paul calculated is the net price dealers shall pay to UMWT. We buyers shall bare not only the excise duty but to include also salesman's commision, dealer's profit, transportation cost, unwanted accessories..bla..bla..bla…Looking at Jazz's CIF value which is lower than Yaris and the current selling price of Jazz, planning to buy? Think again lah.

Jazz iDSI RM38,487 (CIF) —> RM94,800 (OTR)

Jazz VTEC RM41,627 (CIF) —> RM102,800 (OTR)

Yaris Normal RM41,000 (CIF) —> OTR around Jazz VTEC

Yaris H-Grade RM42,500 (CIF) —> OTR might just below 110k!!

• Smartinvestor (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:05 pm

First we have Nissan Sentra with new facelift, then new facelifted Toyota vios challenges new facelifted Honda City, then Honda Civic's new Generation to match ToyotaAltis,but now Yaris will face off with the Honda Jazz……what is happening?? If launch b4 NAP, lagi worse… Prices ain't gonna be cheap, I can bet ya!!!!!!!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:08 pm

Joe.. yeah msian always make gud choice… lucky we ve P2.. indirectly they r toyota produce oso.. now P2 has grab poton's share & become no.1 for the 1st time.. this year oso i think P2 will stay no.1.. but P2 have alot to improve oso.. especially about solidness & quality issue.. not japan standard…

• kody (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:17 pm

wahlaueh…

WTF…again… our cars are more expensive with ridiculous taxes, petrol also high as compare we earn Ringgit Malaysia. useless G. My next vote sure go to oppposite parties other than BN. too dissapointed by current G.

We are a group of poor Malaysians, waiting G to suck out our blood… everydays work morning until night again n again… save some money buy better car… but not pay for the actual value of the car…. furthermore… petrol price hike….G said 'Ubah gaya hidup', petrol still 'cheap' … one day eat only once keep all your $$ n let G suck all from you… :) if the cars are really cheap near no taxes than the petrol hike still can be compensate… but now both also hiking to top… NAP just walking back few little steps to cheat us on the prices… too far away to benefit us.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:30 pm

Something a lil off topic….

http://www.star-motoring.com/research/review.asp?…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:43 pm

Fxxxx the car prices here!

• E-Nabill (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:45 pm

to say its way overpriced wil be understatement! i read in autocar that its gonna sell for abit less than 100k,which means UMW makes roughly 10k…in the end of the day…we all can lough our asses off for the price we pay for a small car…

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:48 pm

kody on topic what.. hes angry bout the price…

• blazerSST (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 12:07 am

My guess it will be around jazz pricing for the high grade and not much lower for the standard trim,which i think will be quite stripped down as well,which i think will have the general public goin for the myvi as usual.

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 12:23 am

Bfore the NAP announcement, Toyota salesman told me that the Yaris will be around RM105K. But now not sure coz the car is on hold as they need to calculate the new price for it.

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 12:42 am

You guys seem to miss the point.

Proton is THE root of all evil, without it, there wouldnt be NAP at all, plus those ridiculous tax & duty.

"The money they are going to save from the recent reduction in prices as a result of the National Automotive Policy (NAP) is going to be “lost” because of higher financing rates."

NAP is made to protect our national carmaker, Proton! and now you know why there are alot Anti-Proton on Internet forums.

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 12:43 am

I think the NAP is just something to "blind" the rakyat.. Reduced the car price by sooo little, increased the financing rate. Turned out, still the same old expensive car.

• nissan130Y (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:05 am

can ask everyone in malaysia, young and old, rich and poor, beautiful and ugly to stop buying our PI or P2 cars till they go bankrupt. then maybe the G will start scare of us….. just my point of view. hehe

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:18 am

change the lifetsyle

change the G

the current G is not "RAKYAT" friendly,

"RAKYAT" vote them but they everyday bloodsucking….

earn RM but spending in USD.

• go_go (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:42 am

nissan130Y said,

April 5, 2006 @ 5:05 pm

can ask everyone in malaysia, young and old, rich and poor, beautiful and ugly to stop buying our PI or P2 cars till they go bankrupt. then maybe the G will start scare of us….. just my point of view. hehe

Cannot la stop buying P1 & P2 cars… haha.. the best way to express this dissatisfactory is through vote…general election… rite? :)

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:43 am

El Goodoo>>>"hey Thai PM step down eventhough they won 57% from election…. maybe this should give warning to the current gov."

:) :) :)

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:49 am

P2 still relevan la.. they r doin bisnes only.. shareholders oso msian bisnesmen.. no khazanah share, i think.. at least with P2 around we can buy jap brand.. eventhough not jap standard, price not so bad oso, although spare parts quite expensive…. but can use oso.. less poblems.. like my ex850, no poblem for more 5 years, gud engine… in fact we need more partnership like P2… if poton ve gud product & partner, i wont curse poton so bad oso…

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:56 am

a bit off topic here…..if import thorugh company so mahal……import sendiri leh , how?

• skay (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:00 am

In the first place, will Thailand produce Vitz (Yaris)? It'll kill their Vios market share.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:02 am

Initial D…

Yes u can.. but u need to be a MP.. they will give u special AP… can import any car u want.. so start now la.. work hard & join politic & become MP… so start campaign for vote… if u in BN, i wont vote 4 u….

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:06 am

my guess, the end user price will be around jazz, mitsu colt price… so between 90k – 110k

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:18 am

another off topic, if i buy it overseas n i wanna bring it back? oso need AP ah?

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:18 am

actually, i think most of you are off topic. you should be discussing the price that paul has posted, in relation to the true situation on hand.

The reality is,

for a start, we already know we cannot avoid P1, or P2 for that matter, or even the NAP, rising bank interest rates, as well as the fuel price. These are in affect today, and they will not go away tommorow, or next year, and neither will the government.

I think we should be actually discussing how to live with all these things. We should stop complaining like raving lunatics because it solves nothing, and i dont think paul will want us to just go on raving and ranting about it and not even talk about the topic he posted in the first place. so…

i think rm90-100k for the yaris is more realistic.. umw will have to markup the price as well to make some money. For that money, and for such a small car, I wouldn't buy it la.. too pricey. even if i could afford it.. i'll get something else.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:28 am

i just booked a Honda City and luckily the dealer managed to give me the old interest rate of 2.71%. the new interest rate has increased to around 3.5% if not mistaken.. sigh… i can lost a few grand if i book the car late..

Car price drop but interest rate up, what's the difference? at the end, we as consumers suffered… like never ending story…

Viva Man Utd… hehe

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:48 am

hey, why the Renault distributor in malaysia did not introduce the Clio in malaysia… it's a very nice car..

http://www.whatcar.co.uk/car-review-summary.aspx?…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:48 am

the problem of these pricing is the

utterly high "exercise duty" that charge on all cars,

50-100% !

WTO practicing countries charge average 10%.,

that money are used to finance

governmental overstaffed, corrupted projects etc…

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 4:32 am

hondadriver

"i think rm90-100k for the yaris is more realistic.. umw will have to markup the price as well to make some money. For that money"

===========================

Urghh..Hello encik, realistic OTR price for Yaris is within rm65-70K.

=But current Taxland scenario=

'Jack Ess' CIF price + "Ahem" taxes = rm105K Yaris = blood-boiling rakyat!

Kindly refrain urself from using the word "realistic" in relation to car price in this loathable Taxland, OK?.

Be Real.

p/s: Mari lah beramai-ramai use Taxland instead of Bolehland coz Bolehland is not relevant olredi.

• ar (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 4:46 am

Heheh.

The G is already messed up big time.

So many problems Pak Lah faced nowadays.

He is old enough to lead "Taxland".

It's time to change our leader.

But certainly not from BN to be the leader~

Corruption, AP, Petrol hike, NAP, Ali Baba, ISA, OSA, AUKU, and many bullshits

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:29 am

yeah, i'm voting for the opposition – totally because of the stupid taxes. i dun care whether its DAP, or PAS or ADlL or whatsoever. no more blood-sucking, no more 'ubah gaya hidup', no more BN. theres only 'ubah the pemerintah'. i donno how well the opposition will perform if they happen to win, but its worth a try.. its for our future guyz.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:21 am

intermilan.. hahaha.. i really like the Taxland term… but give some face la.. many investors will stay away from Msia.. Where Paklah want to put face??

may be more specific like CarTaxLand..since our car taxes so absurd.. hahaha…

ps: Many cool friends here….

• swarty (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:26 am

I notice the been lots of guy [include myself] heartache over lies G throwning at us; talking big over NAP.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/3…
    –snipped

“We hope to see more reductions for the benefit of the people in line with the National Automotive Policy (NAP)”, he told reporters after flagging off the inaugural Felda-AAM Malaysian Rally championship in Bukit Goh near here yesterday.

The policy unveiled on Wednesday saw a reduction in duties and tariffs on imported and locally assembled passenger cars of between 20% and 40%.

— snipped

The second biggest purchase after the home is CAR!! The price is almost the same as a house in Malaysia and ONLY in Malaysia! That become more important since public transport sucks and getting even worst.

Guys, how did Singapore able to progress without issue crazy tax on cars?

• Maverickysm (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:43 am

The excise duty is almost the same cost as the car. That's how Malaysian had been taxed to pay for delinquency

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 8:13 am

aiya… 80 ++ …….. ++

___

this price for one or two?…

• antaras (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 9:21 am

Basically every Malaysians wouldn't buy local cars "IF" they have a choice. The big problem here is we don't have a choice. For the average Joe like me, owning a Honda or Toyota is a dream for me. It's achievable but u will have to work for it. So, before that happen, you'll have to turn to our blardy over-priced hero car. Launched during the 80s and 90s and STILL selling now as NEW car. OMFG!!! All the millions of ringgit(our taxes!!!) in R&D goes to their pocket and whatever left over goes to marketing strategy… sigh… what a shame…

In anycase, regarding the Yaris. Of course it's not worth it… it's a blardy small car for GOD FU**ING SICK!!! but if you look at our car prices here… tell me which car is actually worth it's price tag? NONE!!! So, in the end we turn our head back to the 80s and 90s technology hero car. Again, not much of any choice for us. If I have the dough, I've long kissed my satria goodbye. oh ya… Waja Chancellor can suck my di*k… just my 2 cents worth of babling… ;)

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 9:57 am

motorhead,

CarTaxLand more accurate, But Taxland more umphh and shorter to type. Hehe..

…the investor.. (car investor) run away already. NAP finally confirmed G ugly face. Pity us the rakyat kebanyakan..

look la RMK9, market not responding still. sluggish outlook la Taxland ini.

• Mac (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 9:58 am

y must tax so high…

petrol high ,tax high,living hi,income tax high…

semua makan duit

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 3:28 pm

intermilan , please read my posting before you comment on what i've said. i'm talking based on the reality of the situation we face today living in Malaysia.

The realistic price that UMW will sell the yaris, in my opinion, will still be between RM90k-105k.

to expect to actually see a yaris on sale at rm65-70K in malaysia today, is a dream..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 4:38 pm

Axxxx

oldman who rolled out

national car plans.

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 4:42 pm

intermilan said,

April 5, 2006 @ 8:32 pm

"Urghh..Hello encik, realistic OTR price for Yaris is within rm65-70K."

Intermilan, it's sad that that you are being unrealistic about the current policies in Malaysia. Try changing that the next you vote or perhaps packed up and leave our country. All of us are sour with the new policies but we still have to cope with it. Don't tell me you are one of those who believe in public demonstration thinking it would benefit the country. Everyone, stop crying over spilt milk.

I fully support what honda_driver said whereby the realistic price that UMW will sell the yaris will still be between RM90k-105k. It is only sensible that Toyota would priced the Yaris within the range of Jazz. Stop dreaming get back to work and make a change for the better.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:27 pm

REDDEVIL said,

April 5, 2006 @ 6:48 pm

hey, why the Renault distributor in malaysia did not introduce the Clio in malaysia… it’s a very nice car..

Yeah it's a nice car, but don't forget the car price maybe too high for us. Look at the SmartForFour car, it's 1.3L variant price is around 100K so it might probably be around that region too.

• go_go (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Toyota Yaris definately a good car… but the price is far beyond reason… If i ever afford to have it, i might not consider… Even have NAP also the car price still high… better i simpan duit beli rumah… hahaha… Taxland… haha :)

• shaif (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:47 pm

I support you honda_driver as that we have to face the reality in here. We can talk all night long about the riduculous taxation scheme, but back to reality, we have to face it. It make people sad but thats reality man. Like old man saying' like the dogs barking at the hill' (seperti anjing menyalak bukit). the hill will never moved and the dog will exhausted. Its reality only in Bolehland.

• altis_fan (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 5:52 pm

If the price is close to 100K, then better buy altis 1.6, why pay more to 1.3?

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:03 pm

Aiseyy.. whats wrong with express our dissatisfaction & feelings??.. Ok what.. let them be la.. at least it give a little pressure to gov.. or some pressure for poton to improve what…. dont say bising2 is not necessary… if Syed Zainal went to this web, he can see our point.. so he has no choice but to improve.. pls go and read the star today la.. he heard all the negative critisms all right.. from where?? may from here.. who knows…

The fact is our car tax not relevan in our reality life 2day… the world is watching us.. they know oso.. thats why poton cannot sell outside,.. the Japs oso disagree with our market discrimination…. forget la want to be auto hub.. rubbish!!!

• CarCar (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:03 pm

For 80++k, i'm able to buy new Vios….way better than Yaris….STUPID Pricing!!!

• go_go (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:04 pm

altis_fan said,

April 6, 2006 @ 9:52 am

If the price is close to 100K, then better buy altis 1.6, why pay more to 1.3?

totally agree with you… y we should pay over Rm100k for 1.3 car? It is not toyota, its the damn tax making the price over reasonable level… Yes we have to face the reality and try to adapt to this matter…

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:16 pm

Actually the Yaris is better equipped and normally higher proved than the Vios in foreign markets… so it's doubtful it's gonna be any cheaper :(

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2006 at 6:23 pm

The Toyota Yaris is a proper Toyota. I always think the Toyota Vios is something Toyota came up with for the ASEAN market… don't you all feel the Vios feels abit cheap?

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 8:18 pm

its fine to express your dissatisfication.. but i think its already tiring and boring to see people continuously talk about what we cannot change. "Close Proton", not going to happen.., "Change Govt", not going to happen, "Vote pas, or DAP..etc" will petrol prices come down if they take power? i dont think so.

back to the actual topic.

yes paul, i agree. the vios is a budget toyota, built for this region. and it does feel cheap, for a toyota. but at least, its allowed more people to own a new toyota.

but i'm pretty sure there is a market for the yaris. and people will buy the car. look at the mini, at rm170-190k for a tiny car that sells for 12,000 pounds in the uk. or a smart at over rm100k, and is supposed to be a cheap budget car in europe. there will always be buyers who want something different, and who can afford it.

• revver (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 8:38 pm

why must u got bored with people's wright? rediculous! u got ur own and they have theirs. if u still like s**cking the G a** then carry on. why must u stop them from doing so. people are no longer blind nor deaf or dumb. Tax has been sucking people blood too much. Most already dried until they cant even lift their hand. Back to reality? Of course they r talking about the reality and u r the one who keep on dreaming. or else u got some ' coffee money' from the G to keep ur mouth shut. Pathetic!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 8:51 pm

honda_driver said,

April 6, 2006 @ 7:28 am

This is my personal opinion only.

honda_driver – intermilan , please read my posting before you comment on what i’ve said. i’m talking based on the reality of the situation we face today living in Malaysia.

Joe Ooi – If we talk on reality, then timing should take into consideration as well. Then both of you (honda_driver & intermilan) are totally right, the only culprit and the verdict are the wrongdoers are P1 and G (NAP). Look at intermilan comment can be sum up as reality on future "reality" (beyond 2010 scenario in which G have to embrace open market as G have already signed AFTA, WTO, others FTAs, etc.). Honda_driver is relevant and applicable i today market situation.

honda_driver – "The realistic price that UMW will sell the yaris, in my opinion, will still be between RM90k-105k."

Joe Ooi – This statement is applicable for current market condition under "car Taxland"

honda_driver – "to expect to actually see a yaris on sale at rm65-70K in malaysia today, is a dream.."

Joe Ooi – Yes, today it is a dream to see Yaris price at RM 65 – 70K. "We must have a dream, then only it can become reality in future".

shaif said,

April 6, 2006 @ 9:47 am

shaif – "I support you honda_driver as that we have to face the reality in here. We can talk all night long about the riduculous taxation scheme, but back to reality, we have to face it. It make people sad but thats reality man. Like old man saying’ like the dogs barking at the hill’ (seperti anjing menyalak bukit). the hill will never moved and the dog will exhausted. Its reality only in Bolehland."

Joe Ooi – We have to face this taxland for today doesn't mean we shall suffer and burden with it for forever! With today modern technology, at least to a certain extent, we can prove the Malay proverb "seperti anjing menyalak bukit" can be "alter" or not applicable in this case. Chances for rakyat/consumers voice to be heard by G to change P1 and NAP is likely impossible, that is we have low chance of make changes by "bubble up from bottom" approach, or in other word, to make "Thailand style" approach.

However, we shall not give up hope as other method – "Top Down" approach, that is our G signed and committed to WTO, AFTA, others FTA will consitute a "high intensity" force like "machine gun support by big cannon spraying out all kinds of bullets and carry out carpet bombing flatten everything (P1 & NAP)on it path left no stone unturned!" Therefore, after 2010 onward, we as consumers are not burden by and free from taxland "Domino Effects" – blood sucking P1, overprice cars, bad quality, unsafe car, additional insurance premium due to higher price, irritate by malfunctioning components like power window, creaking sound, etc.

Once big fat crocs, P1 & NAP are gone, we will free from the above-mentioned "encumbrances". At that time (likely after 2010), those who can afford 1.6L Waja will be able to buy 2.4L Camry at a price sligtly higher (less than RM 8K). We can enjoy the benefits of "multiplier effect" – bigger car, bigger cc, safer car, more confort, improve our Purchasing Power Parity (PPP), less headache on component mulfunctioning, less insurance premium (due to lower price), perhap less road tax as the rate no longer base on cc, but base on categories (small, midsize, luxury, SUV, MPV, etc.).

G also can increase the current highway top speed NOT from 110 Km/H to 120 Km/H, but can increase to highway international standard design speed, if UK is use as an indication, it is 170 Km/H for three (3) lanes and 140Km/H for 2 lanes (at that time our road are free from P1 unsafe cars). Ultimitately, we as a consumers enjoy the fullest not only for quality car at value for money, but also can afford (that suppose is our right but rob of by P1 & NAP) to enjoy the luxury and comfort as well as travel at higher speed at highway. In economic sense, especially say for logistic commercial vehicles, lower speed at highway also mean lost of time, which equal to loss of productivity and increase i cost!

We must have a dream for future, which is "REALISTIC" and can become "REALITY" in the very near future, beyond 2010 (don't give up hope, keep sending your comment in this blog).

• skay (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Paul : I agree with you. We had to customise it ourself after purchase for better performance you know.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 12:31 am

yeah right on paul. the vios is sort of an ASEAN car, like the previous model (not sold here), so it's sort of lesser if compared to the other models

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 12:41 am

Agreed with Paul, Vios is sub-compact design for Asian market. Consider as low price budget car, the predecessor (previous model) is market under "Soluna" in Thailand!

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 12:44 am

its easy to talk in a forum.. we just type whatever we want, and hit submit. its fine to have an opinion, but to keep giving the same opinion, in all the different topics, on the same website, is a little tiring.

if Paul says,"lets discuss yaris pricing", lets respect him, and discuss yaris pricing. If he posts up a topic on, "is the govt doing a good job?", then lets post the relevant topics there.

anything wrong with that?

• spaceMonkey (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 1:21 am

whoa, i love tat u hv info of the new Yaris waaaay before the press release and all tat jazz. i love the design but to think that it is gonna cost so much is a little … too much… because i hv recently read it online that Yaris is suppose to be an economical car.

whatever it is i hope it is not too nice and not too cheap cos i just got a swift. :P

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 1:49 am

honda_driver – "if Paul says,”lets discuss yaris pricing”, lets respect him, and discuss yaris pricing."

Joe Ooi – Of course we would like to stick and focus to the main topic, but sometime thing related to one and another. Say for example how P1 and NAP affect pricing, how it affect consumer satisfaction, etc. It can be price comparative analysis, PEST (Political, Economics, Social, and Technology) analysis or any constructive argument that directly or indirectly related to it. All this can't be ignore if we want to exhange ideas, info, and have "bird eye view" on subject matter under discussion.

It is OK to speak up on any matters especially within car industry as a whole, that doesn't means it is out of topic or disrecpect to Paul! I strongly disagree with your opinion that we post comment other than "Yaris pricing" is tantamount to disrespectful to Paul Tan. Anyway, Paul may have and reserve his own opinion!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 3:00 am

actually,

malaysian need only 2 major basic car models

1- Myvi1.3 at 40k with abs, airbags…

2- something like vios/ city- turned into national cars,

price at 60k with abs, airbag.. (waja lets us down!)

these 2 major models will capture about 300k units market here.

the rest are just additional choices…

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 3:53 am

Yaris at RM85K hm.. whos gonna buy it? not mention 100K is ridiculous for 2-doors hatchback imo.

(and Joe ooi.. let honda_driver mumble all he wants)

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 4:19 am

Thanks Joe Ooi to explain the 'just' reality concept in details .

Sad to see ppl terpedaya with the current unjust reality in Taxland automobile market.

Defend it somemore…

4-0 to the spin doctors in their case.

Hope counter explaination given could be beneficial to them.

A just pricing is what we looking for.

Before AP issue, Car importer & dealer rake profit big time and to certain extent, customer benefit sikit2 too, but G loss due to rampant underdeclare practice.

Some spin doctors cucuk the issue, many rakyat kebanyakan who might not see the whole picture attack the importer & dealer and AP Goddess.

But this is just the spark some elements (in G ?) is looking for in brought up the issue in the very first place.

Fast forward, Now G would most probably win big time (tax rate down but tax value up due to higher CIF & tax on tax), importer & dealer look like kena tiao & in dilemma, but it is we, the rakyat kebanyakan (i presume all in here are), who want non-Asean CBU car, who are the real big loser.

In the end, desire of most rakyat for just pricing (Price vis-a-vis Quality) is not only not realised but was blown further away.

Now,

Some ppl give up the hope and dreams that they have.

Some rested it for a while. For now, Sawi pun sawi lah they console themselves.

But some ppl continue to harbour their hope and dreams. They would not let these get snatch away by those spin doctors you see.. Bravo to this ppl.

"HONDA – The Power of Dreams". Ring any bells?

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 3:48 pm

so who exactly is this person, maybe you should make it very clear?

"Sad to see ppl terpedaya with the current unjust reality in Taxland automobile market.

Defend it somemore…

4-0 to the spin doctors in their case."

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 4:29 pm

cyborgx said,

April 6, 2006 @ 7:53 pm

"Yaris at RM85K hm.. whos gonna buy it? not mention 100K is ridiculous for 2-doors hatchback imo."

Paul Tan posted a 3-doors hatchback picture. However, if you read a previous posting, you would have notice that there is a 5-doors hatchback version available which is most likely the version that UMW would be bringing into Malaysia. Now, what do you think of the price then? Jazz sold fairly well for cars in its category considering its steep price so Yariz is expected to emulate its sales performance and improved it further.

• raverus (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 6:24 pm

THANKS G!!!! NICE TAX, WONDER HOW THE TAX MONEY IS SPEND………..WONDER…….MAYBE BY BACKING UP PROFIT LOSING P1? MAYBE……….WHAT A NICE WORLD………..I LOVE YOU G……………YEA RITE.

• kay164 (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 1:23 am

Hi guys…Think on the bright side…with a higher price, its a mark of status to its owner..do all of us have to own a merce or beemer to be considered as wealthy??how many times do u heard "whooaa!!ure driving a Honda??!!"..just imagine if the price is low==>"eh..u have a honda??its exactly just like my cousin's still in college..even the same colour"…ehehe..just my two cents..;)

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 5:12 am

I find that we are too price sensitive in discussion. This will hinder us to view things from different perspective. Usually, when car launch we should also discuss stuff like terget age, car response, handling, engine, fuel consumption, new spec and features and a lot more.

But a lot of the time, we always first to criticise high price, G, tax and etc. Nothing wrong with these comments, but juz the culture here.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 7:51 pm

Thanks to Malaysian protectionism, we'll never be able to own nice cars without losing our arms and legs. Proton & Perodua will ALWAYS be pampered by our beloved government. Live the UK and you'll be served with a wide variety of nice cars to choose from. And the best part is that you can actually afford them. A 1997 Toyota Prado 3.0 Turbodiesel for GBP5,000 – around RM30,000-RM35,000? A brand new Mercedes-Benz E-Class for around GBP30,000 – compare that to its Malaysian price tag…

• That is a very good car compair with Myvi, No way is that expancive… all this is done by stupid malaysian..

• Do u guys know what is call Quaility??? malaysia cars don`t have at all!