Possible Tata Indica local assembly

small_indica.jpgTata Sons Executive Director Alan Rosling says Tata Motor is looking at various markets including Malaysia and is likely to set up an assembly line in Malaysia to assemble Tata passanger vehicles like the Tata Indica here in Malaysia.

Tata Motors is in talks with DRB Hicom which are already assembling Tata commercial vehicles here in Malaysia.

The Tata Indica is a small city-going hatchback that has enjoyed success including a partnership with Rover where Rover rebadges the Tata Incida under a Rover badge. It’s a 995kg car available with a 1.4 litre turbodiesel or a 1.4 litre petrol engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:30 pm

i do not really have any high hopes for indian cars. Not to be chauvanistic or anything, their cars usually have good fuel consumption but in terms of design, perfomance and elegance, they are way behind. Before i get full load of lectures from other commentors in this forum about the success of tata, etc, mittal etc. it etc..bollywood etc, i just do not feel their presence here raise any level of excitement or even in my case, expectations. sorry tata.. it ta-ta from me! :)

• kody (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:08 pm

wahlaueh…

it seen like so many cars are coming to our bolehland… but we still suffer the high car price & limited choices due to the sky high car prices. Thanks to P1 for this. only when we own 1 of these then we will know how well the quality is… not enough $$$$ to try out…. :) so also say ta-ta lah…

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:24 pm

it uses what engine ehh?.. rover? rover tech?.. no much info on specs la… donno what to komen…

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:10 pm

wow (just a small wow), i know nothing about indian passenger cars. how are they doing? they manage to built rockets and nuclear missiles, right?

hoping to get more infos from other sifus..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:20 pm

More models come in, more choice for us! more competition means better bargaining power for us. Appreciate if Paul Tan have this car specs for us to view. Any info on indicative selling price.

• mrromeo (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:33 pm

Tata has started re badging diamler benz way back in late 1980s. They were the local assembler for Mercedez benz under TELCO and partner for Mercedez Benz(Trucks, Tempo Traveller etc). Their first line of product was TATA SIERRA and ESTATE. TATA ESTATE is just the same as BENZ ESTATE way back in 1990s. SIERRA is a TWO DOOR SUV.(I promise, I have never seen such a model in anyother countries b4). And Tata indica (Indian Car) is basically targeted for Middle income group in INDIA. I have ride in that car(diesel) when I went to INDIA. Its a decent car compared to proton. (similar to Fiat PUNTO). Durability and the car toughness is the plus point, built especially for the rural roads in INDIA.

3 years old car with the Indian Road Condition, I didnt hear any rattling sound as what i used to hear in Proton. They have diffrent variance in Indica based on the buyers budget and taste. But one thing, u can feel the touch of benz in each and every car models they produce.

So lets wait and see lah.

But I have been waiting for INDIGO.. It is a POOR MAN'S MERCEDEZ in INDIA.

http://www.tata.com/0_products_services/homes_ind…

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 12:04 am

To outspoken,

I'm sure u'll be regret that spoke out such comment before u actually been to India.

Let's talk about Tata first, it virtually the giant company in India that cover every aspects of economy in India. Their product widespread from as small as food plate to huge scoop machine. OK, maybe its passenger car design and elegance somewhat quite bored, but i'm sure that definitely the quality wise much better than P1. Those small Tata Indigos bull around the loopholes filled road without "chit-chat" sound, plus having good FC.

I must say P1 must fail if going to india on whatever aspects, price, quality, reliability etc… Don't even worth to give it a try. But, maybe should dump Savvy there for them to taste it.

OK, look positive on new cars come in, giving us more choices plus putting pressure on P1 and P2.

Hey Paul, but NAP should oredi not allowed new CKD cars come in, right? Why they still able to do so? Just wandering…

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 1:56 am

Sigh Tata cars, might as well buy second hand Honda City i-dsl type. Newcomers production will lead you to regret for spending you blood and sweat money on it. (for those who has passion for driving)

• kendo (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:01 am

more are better,

india. china,iran, russia car makers,

all are welcome,

G shouldn't do any "capacity mgt",

that is not u business, to protect the cronies players.

Thus, all the "m'sia motorbikers", risking their lifes at highway,

((why don;t they demo and protest to G, ramai-ramai??)

can also

BUY truly cheap cars,

price at RM10-25k,

just like , Aussies, CHINA now!

• z350 (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:27 am

no point for all the car makers to come here in our country as long as G are still protecting the LOSER. Mind as well put their investment in some other asean countries like vietnam, myanmar, loas… (help the poor nation)

price at RM10-25k… hehe… i think til the end of world u won't get this price for sure…

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:46 am

what's wrong with bikes? U cant blae all bikers just because of a handful of mat rempits. Bikes are cool, and only those with balls can ride them.

Boring people drive boring cars. Riders are never a boring lot.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:52 am

Yeah…whats wrong with bikes?? Rich people oso bikers what.. Yeah chris only boring people drive.. Yawwnnn!!! felt asleep many time when i was driving…

motorhead got 2 bikes!

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 6:15 am

Motocycle are cool, as long as u ride it safely on the road, the feeling is totally different from driving a car. but i like to drive my car with different style. I m a car maniac…..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 6:20 am

I pity motormikers,

that are risking their life at motorway,

due to Axxxx-government's poor road system,

and, beyond reach,

EXPENSIVE car price

• faizazmi (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 6:28 am

Hi kody,

udah la tu, asyik kutuk proton je.busan..semangat aa sket

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 6:58 am

haimehh..

Kody, car drivers dead oso u know… u better drive carefully…

• toyowira (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 8:46 am

any info how much will this tata indica cost in m'sia ?? , will it fitted with air-bag(s) ?…

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 9:39 am

its a well establisbhed company in commercial sectors..their trucks and buses are workhorses and doesnt breakdown so i bet thier cars are just as reliable…i feel more confident in tata then say geely or dacia cars by comparasion

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 2:02 pm

I saw from the Tata website, the spec for the car is 1.4 L, 53.5 PS @ 5500 rpm, 85 Nm @ 2500 rpm. It seems like the engine is not very efficient, the ps should be more for 1.4 L car. However, the design of exterior and interior still okay.

• Jason (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Hmm, Tata interior usually outdated design. They are better than the Chinese cars but then again i wont buy Tata also, if had money to buy a new car.

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 7:09 pm

i guess it all deend on what package you want.. this tata might have a good FC, but "mere-under average" performance. but hey, you can't drive around a ferrari and expecting fc of a kelisa? i still stand in my view that Tata will not be succesfull, just look at chevy here.. a rebadge daewoo… tata is worst, a rebadge paper box!

• nkhhenry (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 11:26 pm

What!!! India Car?? China Car?? Tata, Cherry, Geely, Dadi, M&M, ChangAng,…..what ever country car coming in to Malaysia….. sure P1 "Mati"!!!

How?? G i think cant do anything now cos Afta & WTO issue!! unless P1 really cut down cost price & improve quality with brand new model…For the past 20 yrs do nothig & now "baru nak start"…susahlahhh macam ini!!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 15, 2006 at 4:12 am

well saw this car before not bad…..

• rahulhunt316in (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 12:25 am

well i`v used indica myself… and its an excellent car… decent pickup good speed… those who say its not good… mind you its beaten the likes of Fiat Palio.. Hyundai Santro… suzuki wagon R, alto, Accent, ford ikon, so one cant count out indica…go ahead its turbo diesel is more than a match for its petrol counterparts and great fuel efficiency… take a test drive

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 4:04 pm

eh the indica's that citirover car right? i heard it got really poor reviews…

• torch_love_evo (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 4:39 am

don't ever under estimate anyone….i have been to india last year n u cannot even emagin our proton to handle they're road conditions…i am 100% sure a new car will look 5 years old imean malaysian made proton nor perodua, i m not critic our brand but just comparing malaysian's and indian's….

i think its posibble la…..i m just worried about the quality..for example, sudenly the power window jams…something like tat…

• jtshin (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 12:33 am

Hehe… India can't race on roads so no need big power for their vehicles… even a turbo diesel version for Indigo only produces 68hp… hmmm… but I think the quality is still there… nv know… tata got more than 20 models produced… n the Tata group… can't imagine… congomolate… visit www.tata.com then u can see the group's business… fuh…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:11 pm

Success in the UK? The CityRover (or more fondly known as ShittyRover) suffered extremely poor sales in the UK! Ingredients for a nasty car: tasteless design + horrifyingly cheap materials…