Brilliance Zhonghua Junjie

jinjue_1.jpg

This is the Zhonghua Junjie, China Brilliance Auto’s 2nd passenger car. The name Junjie means Triumphant Horse, or Winning Gold. The sporty mid-sized sedan was designed by the Italian design firm Pininfarina. It is built on a shortened version of it’s big brother Zhonghua Grandeur’s platform.

jinjue_7.jpg

The design cues of the Zhonghua Junjie reminds me of a BMW. Which is no suprise, as China Brilliance also manufactures BMW cars for the China market thorugh a 50.99-49.01 joint venture between China Brilliance and BMW AG. The company received technical assistance from BMW AG through the Zhonghua Junjie’s course of development. The styling also reminds me of Rover cars. Even though it mimics BMW and Rover styling, I think this is by far the best looking car to come out of China so far. Come to think of it, now the rear reminds me of the latest 2006 Audi A4. But I definitely wouldn’t mind driving it.

The Zhonghua Junjie comes with 4 engine options, ranging from an entry-level 1.6 litre to the top of the range 2.0 litre. All engines are supplied by Mitsubishi. The 1.6 litre model (99hp at 6000rpm, 134Nm of torque at 4500rpm) is the 4G18. Although the engine code is the same one in our Proton Waja and Mitsubishi’s Lancer 1.6 GLX, the torque curve seems different. Our Proton Waja’s 4G18 makes a peak torque of 140Nm at 2750rpm. The Zhonghua Junjie’s peak torque comes in at a much higher 4500rpm. It seems this engine is tuned for high-end power instead of low-end torque, which seems weird as a car weighing around 1400kg powered by a 1.6 litre engine should have the engine tuned for low-end torque to prevent the drive from feeling sluggish.

The 1.8 litre mid-range model is powered by the 4G93, making 134 horsepower at 6500rpm and 165Nm of torque at 5000rpm. The 2.0 litre is powered by the 4G63S4M. It makes less horsepower than the 4G93, which is a maximum of 127 horsepower at 6000rpm but it has a higher peak torque of 173Nm at 5000rpm.

There is also a more performance oriented engine offering called the BL18T. I’m not sure if this is sourced from Mitsubishi or someone else. This turbocharged variant makes 167hp at 5500rpm and 235Nm of torque across the 2000-4500rpm range. 0-100km/h for this model takes 11.8 seconds. The car weighs 1390 kg for the lightest 1.6 litre model to 1475kg for the heaviest 2.0 litre model. The 1.8 turbo weighs 1465kg.

jinjue_12.jpg

The car has safety features like automatic tightening safety belts when the car’s electronics sense a collission, and there are 4 airbags; two each for the driver and front passager to protect the front and sides. The car also comes with anti-lock brakes, electronic brakeforce distribution and something called electronic differential lock which I presume is some form of traction control.

jinjue_2.jpg

jinjue_3.jpg

jinjue_4.jpg

jinjue_5.jpg

jinjue_6.jpg

jinjue_8.jpg

jinjue_9.jpg

jinjue_10.jpg

jinjue_11.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 6:53 am

Nice looks, the exterior reminds me of Audi. Though for some reason, I really hate the grills-the way it splits in the middle. Looks oddly placed. Interior is simple, I thought there would be more from this nice looking car.

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 7:20 am

This car doesn't look too bad. Especially with the brownish paint. I suppose this is one of China's better carmakers?

The grill looks like a cross-breed of rover and bmw lolz

• cyrixMX (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 7:34 am

el cheapo L7 hahahaha .. if it costs below RM100k, I bet it will sell more units than our Perdana V6.

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 7:53 am

The exterior looks nice, even it reminds me of BMW, the interior looks okay only, the engine should be more than 200 hp, now, I can say this car looks fast… :)

• HMMaster (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:17 am

from the pic, the car look pretty much acceptable with the design and the features. not sure bout the built quality though…(which i think is important)

• xefron (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:24 am

wow…quite nice.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:27 am

i love only the headlights. nothing else.

• drM (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:38 am

i must say this one really stand out from the rest that ever come out of the communistLand. remarkably good looking design. even standing side by side with V6 also, it will win many hearts (money also). I got this deep feeling that this baby only cost around the same as our V6. but i'd sure spend mu rubbles on this rather than V6.hahahahah~

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:47 am

boleh tahanlah this car.. like BMW oso ok, since they joint venture.. why not tiru a bit… but still ve its own style… anybody knows how much it sell in china???..

• Jason (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:56 am

Good looking car. Seriously not bad but i dont trust Chinese air bags and crumple zone.

• Charger (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 10:23 am

The Japs must've hate the Chinese very much.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 11:19 am

By far the 'nicest' car that ever came out from China for me. Yeah, Beemer's DNA are very much visible all over the car. But, heck, I like 'em. I'm with you Paul. I wouldn't mind seen driving it.

But, that dasboard is plain ugly. Doesn't compliment the outer look at all. Am I the only one or is the dashboard are actually taken from a Rover? The interior need a serious re-work!

GT27 – I think 167hp is sufficient enough. I mean, if you look at the torque it produces, not bad actually. My dad's Citroen C5 2.0i only produces 143hp with 200Nm of torque @4000rpm. So, this Junjie is slightly better on paper, performance wise. ;)

This is interesting. Can't help but to wonder if P1 can design better looking Perdana replacement….

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 3:08 pm

wah, sure or not? from Dragonland? hard to believe, mate!!! On paper, one word, AMAZING, on paper that is.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 5:24 pm

Can't help but to take a second looks, NICE indeed.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 6:30 pm

from RM50K!

U can get 1 at china.

there are more advanced china makers coming up!

for RM100k, u get ACCORD/ camry/ cefiro!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 6:32 pm

Axxxxx p1.p2, G!

that make rakyat suffering"

• nuggyn (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 6:34 pm

thumbs up.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 6:59 pm

RM100k we can get 2 myvis in bolehland…not so bad…

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Damn I keep imagining a BMW placed side by side this car for comparison (the front end of the car). Just can't help it.

Looks good though.

The tail lights' cluster looks abit fussy. Nice bumper. The whole rear end reminds me of S4, too.

One thing you guys gotta agree with me – Those wheels really look good in their arches. Large enough, nice rims, sporty suspension set-up.

• tkuan18 (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 9:30 pm

Interior and exterior looks cool but the heart need to be pumped up a little more…

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 11:17 pm

Cool.. and i tot china made rubbish cars.. im impressed!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 1:23 am

they bought Rover platform (old-BMW designed)

so it's based on ROVER 75 model,

before ROVER go broke,

see, even British can't make CARS, without protection!

Rover sold their platforms to Shanghai, Najing auto,

before closed shop! so,

we're gonna see a lot of ROVER-look-alike in the market soon,

out from china.

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 1:57 am

hmmm…

Nice looking exterior (except for the @$$, looks wierd)

Interior also okok.

Performance wise, could be improved. But the turbo versions sounds nice.

Quality, tak tau lagi. As of now, the quality of Chinese cars have yet to be proven.

All in all it looks and sounds like a promising car, though that could change when i see the car in flesh.

• willy (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 2:57 am

What a beauty! Looks like Chinese car makers are give their Jap counterparts a run for their money. Maybe Proton should form a strategic alliance with China Brillianc Auto instead of this Mahindra or mahai?:)

• stevarac (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:06 am

Brilliant look.

QUALITY >> Hope not like my 3 months gone case VCD player. Ha Ha.

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:07 am

it is looks like a car outside but when it is made in China then it just only a 'Big Toy Car'. believe me China never intend to produce trustable product. they not even able to produce a pen that will last for more than a month. China products is far worst than our own P1 & P2. do you all agree with me? think again the goods(made in china) that you had bought, how long it will last and how its quality…???

• accordmania (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:12 am

you can put a (china)pen in your hand, when it stop function(ink dried up) in the middle of your work, you can just throw it away. but never put your life in this toy car, what will happend when it suddenly stop(jammed) in middle of highway…???

• damion (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 8:57 am

do not be naive to think that China does not produce trustable product,

that only shows how much you know of the capabilities of China as a productive nation,

ask yourself this question,

the pen and VCD players you bought that was made in China,

how much did you pay for them?

in this world, there's no such thing called CHEAP and GOOD,

such theories doesn't co-exist in any part of the world,

all first world nations included…

the only reason why the China made stuff you bought has dubious qualities are because of the morality of our very own Malaysia Boleh business traders that imports the lower grade stuff to sell to us Malaysians,

why? because of the profit margin..

but don't just blame them as such things only happens because of one case,

we Malaysians are darn bloody cheapskates who wants to only pay RM1 for a thing that's supposingly worth perhaps hundreds more…

and where's a market supply, such oppurtunists will always exist..

do not expect a RM4X VCD player to work as well as a RM1XX VCD player…

the quality will never be the same..

you get what you pay for, it's a fair world out there…

• sAgaLuve (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 3:13 pm

accordmania,

i think that was what the Americans/Europeans said about the Japanese back in the 1960s and we all know who's eating whose lunch now. The japs produce better cars, cameras, appliances and much more.

I guess the chinese carmakers are currently in their learning stages.. once they ramped up on their design skills coupled with their already well-known manufacturing prowess, they'll be charging of dragonland and start to eat you and everybody else's lunch. ignore them at your own peril.

If only our very own malaysian companies are that hungry instead of being cocooned in the "tempurung" of own making.

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 3:35 pm

…everyone used to laugh at the japanese 'tin cans'.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 4:16 pm

the whole car's not too bad, except those ugly rear lights… eek!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 4:51 pm

the points is

if we apply china car policy type here,

perdana should sell at RM50k,

while accord/ camry RM100K,

kancil at 10k,

• kendo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 5:13 pm

thus, NOW,

every motorbikers can drive KANCIL"

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 5:35 pm

the dragon has been awaken.. the car not bad though.. QC remain doubtful..

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:21 pm

where are the boleh-land car industry heading? Go back to fight against P2 with Sav-me? Oh please la. I am bored already. I wish P2 buys P1 and expand the boleh-land car industry to fight against the world! I think till then only my grandchildren can consider the boleh-land cars.

• gepochai (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:45 pm

audi head lights, bmw grill, and that rear lights look damn familiar. another copy cat car.

• renyeo (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:58 pm

I think this is the most modern Chinese car ever produced hence far.

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:55 am

i kinda like this car..

im sure people will stop and look at it if i park this car at the office.

look neat and exclusive.

P1 should look at this masterpiece and start working on its new perdana.

throw away the plasticky dashboard and pun a better one for new P1 cars!

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 1:46 am

i dont condemn China products tht much, as we all know, most of the gizmos we have r actually made in China. If u r using an Apple Mac, the computer is also manufactured in China, so does iPod. Heck, that sleek expensive Nike shoes you r wearing r made in China too!

The world doesnt recognize their motor industry yet, like the world did with the Japs many decades ago. Who would have thought that Japs r one of the world's leading car makers?

Taken into consideration that China has such huge production magnitude, i bet they can be as good as the Japs a decade later. But right now, im also being skeptic about their cars' quality, but i wont be making any pre-judging bashing w/o testing one out myself.

Design-wise, the car looks good, way better than our P1 outdated Perdana. I also dont mind seen driving it. I just hope the price is affordable tho.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 3:09 am

be prepare 4 the worst, PERDANA enchance version 4,5,6,7,8,9,….. and the list goes on like ROVER?

• synco (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 4:49 pm

I personally have a good impression about this Zhonghua car. Why?

I was in China for a biz trip last year. My company used one of the Zhonghua(i guess a higher range of this) taxi me from Tianjin to Beijing at night.

As you may know during night time the China highway is full of trucks. But this Zhonghua cruised me from Tianjin to Beijing with comfortable. I remembered i was falling asleep at that time.

Well i don't mind to have one if it open sales in Malaysia. The quality above par of our Proton. This is for sure.!

• waimak (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 5:24 pm

Except for the front grill and the tail light, the exterior looks nice to me, though it reminds me of a BMW. The interior is also nicely designed and simple and i think suitable for its category.

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:46 am

Its butt reminds me of the previous Civic ;p

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 1:46 am

looks fierce, looks solid, looks good and look like it has some "quality" in it. second car of the company? OMG.. our poton 2nd car cannot fight wif it and even poton's latest car also cannot fight… poton totally potong out…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 6:43 pm

looks damn good! the best about it, is that its something about the size of an Altis, but the proportions made it to look larger than life, its as if something the size of a 7 series, or S class. Nice job there chinamen !

• bernymum (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:01 am

I think it is a very good looking car and for the price, I think it is an excellent car.This is a very suitable car for families.(beggars)

• bernymum (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 11:08 pm

hello guys, nice work, suitable for a biology teacher.

• bernymum (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 10:23 am

the two backseats are suitable for people with no house

• seaman (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 12:33 am

im from Tianjin, China. i wanna buy a Junjie of Zhonghua or Elantra of Hyundai, but haven't decided yet. could you help me guys?

the 2 cars in the webs bellow:

Junjie1.8 mt:
    http://auto.sina.com.cn/salon/HUACHEN/junjie/junj… http://auto.sina.com.cn/salon/HUACHEN/junjie/junj…
    Elantra1.6 mt:
    http://auto.sina.com.cn/salon/bj-hyundai/bj-hyund…

• seaman (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 12:37 am

im from Tianjin, China. i wanna buy Junjie of Zhonghua or Elantra of Hyundai, but haven't decided. could you help me, guys!

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Hey Seaman. Junjie should be ok I think. But the current Elantra is better in term of quality. Say, go to the showroom and scrutinize them yourself. You should have the access of the Junjie, I don’t. Junjie’s exterior is quite good but the real let down would be the powerplant. Whatever your choice is… don’t drive it to the sea man. Cheers.

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 12:36 pm

such an ugly car

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 12:50 pm

China can make better cars compare to proton. Proton is around for more than 23yrs but still behind many autocar maker, Very sad !!!!!

• david on May 29, 2010 at 11:15 pm

just bot one in ghana and im really enjoyin it so much. keep it up guys. like evrything about it except the horsepower.

• dafuq on May 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm

its ugly..copy others(just like how u said to a proton cars)…even the front fender looks like gen2…and it also looks like the car came out in the year of 2000…(ketinggalan zaman)…since its 2012…for those who say this is better than proton…theres something wrong with u guys…