Smartuki – Smart ForTwo with Suzuki GSXR1000 superbike engine

smartuki_small.jpgPeter Bee, a Smart car enthusiast wanted somemore power out of his little Smart ForTwo. The original Mitsubishi engine in the Smart ForTwo made about 60hp, and through some tweaking he managed to get this up to 100hp. But it wasn’t enough for him.

He approached Z Cars, a kit car company specialising in putting motorcycle engines into cars. Z Cars had put Yamaha R1 engines into Mini Coopers. They seemed like the right people for the job. He also approached Phil Seton of Seton Racing, who provided a personally tweaked Suzuki GSXR1000 engine (stuff like Yoshimura exhausts, etc) which made a maximum of 180hp, screaming all the way up to 13,500rpm. The engine was mounted at the rear of the car. The result was called the Smartuki, a mash of the names Smart and Suzuki of course.

The Smartuki goes from 0-100km/h in 4.2 seconds, does the 400 meter dash in 12.4 seconds and tops out at 213km/h. There are two videos of this monster after the jump. The pocket rocket sounds like an F1 car on the track… enjoy!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 30, 2006 at 11:39 pm

WALAUEHHHHHH!! i like!!!!!! but dont think it wud handle well la.. hahaha.. smarts handle like crap..

• jet (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 12:33 am

hey, the ex proton ceo planned to use mv augusta m/cycle engine for future proton cars (small car); can you blame him now?

• raptorclans (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 1:43 am

omG… the car runs like an F1 racer… and it can drift!! omGG

• blazerSST (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 2:37 am

It's a remote control car you can ride in.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 4:02 am

Nice, but the car is too high, maybe it can roll over taking high speed corners

• daze (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 4:06 am

SHould be a perfect nice little cute car for city or carpark driving.

keke

anyway.it's nice

• neurra (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 4:13 am

wow.. there there, someone really proved the hopeless car could do wonders with an engine transplant.. i wonder how's the handling like

• aksMs (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 4:16 am

Wahh….good idea lah! Paul, how much does a Smartfortwo weight anyway?

• acbc (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 7:03 am

Wicked!

New SmartForTwo: RM 90k

New GSXR1000 engine + subframe assemble: RM 70k

Smoking a bunch of K-cars or 'Mat Rempits': PRICELESS! :)

• Paul Tan on May 01, 2006 at 7:40 am

curb weight – 740kg

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 11:05 am

Impressive, but God is it ever noisy. Needs like 10 or 20 silencers just for it to be road legal (joking). Fast it may be, I wouldn't want to risk my life in that huge plastic remote control-esque car thingie.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 1:10 pm

silencers? its not the exhaust that we're hearing…. its the high pitching sound of the engine revving over 10,000rpms… motorcycle engines SYIOK!

• silverfish (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 12:08 am

Holy Screaming Superbike Engine Batman!

Hmmm…gives me an idea. Stick that engine into a Smart Roadster, that would be stonkingly fast.

Now, if only I had the cash…

• HMMaster (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 3:10 am

no reverse gear?

• DAN (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 3:22 am

why dont try our pro2kancil , see how it is!.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 4:54 am

humm… i still prefer that engine in between my legs.

• dfendy (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 5:15 am

sound more like superbike, i like it

paul, one doubt we've seen on the video the wheel spin on its rear? originally FF or RR??

• Paul Tan on May 02, 2006 at 5:50 am

the suzuki bike engine is mounted at the back, and powers the rear wheels.

• lance (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 3:52 pm

Sigh… what's the point when the car handling is worse compared to a Perodua Kenari (Top Gear episode)? What satisfaction can a real driving fan have from a car that can't make the turn; even if it can smoke people on the straights (any person can hold a steering)… :D

• rexis (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 4:53 pm

Hmm seems like they hv tuned the handling, wheel seem mounted further out from the car, should increase stability. Anyhow, expensive toys.

• damion (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 6:11 pm

if it couldn't handle properly, i doubt it would be able to handle the tracks in the first movie…

it would've spun out somewhere along the chicanes or hairpins…

i want one of those pocket rockets!

where do i sign? :P

• acbc (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 2:58 am

Paul: SmartForTwo is RR.

• acbc (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 3:04 am

Refer here: http://frase.id.au/pics/smart_fortwo5_533.jpg

• dfendy (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 6:51 am

so if these car given more boost, surely can do wheely la? hah

• mr.nice guy (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 12:59 am

kecil-kecil cili padi.. :-)

• mr.nice guy (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 1:01 am

i like dat..

• torch_love_evo (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 12:39 am

now its worth RM90+………

• ALI (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 3:02 pm

what is the word with the smartuki and the TRX "who run this"?

• smartistas.com (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 2:26 am

That is really a excellent project, there is only a problem, in your article you write about the Smartuki, the Bee car, the one developed in England. But the video clips are about SmartDiablo, Arrepiado's car, a portuguese project developed by a freestyle rider. More info's about the second project can be found on the driver's official page ( www.arrepiado.com) or on the portuguese SmartCar community forum (www.Smartistas.com) some threads are (http://forum.smartistas.com/viewtopic.php?t=2686 http://forum.smartistas.com/viewtopic.php?t=1800 )

A big hug from the portuguese SmartCar fanatics

• obmhost (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:42 am

noticed all your comments. have you guys seen

http://www.smartuki.com yet?

it is the official UK site for the Kit, subframe etc. It features some video and pictures, it is being updated all the time.

hope this entry isn't too old.