Discussion Feature

I did some thinking on any enhancements I could do to this blog. I’ve noticed alot of people manually quoting each other during discussion.

A forum would solve that. Do you prefer discussing blog posts in a forum, or in this blog comments? If I moved discussion to a forum, every blog post would have a link to a thread in a forum and you guys could discuss it there. But having the discussion posts on the same page as the post like it is currently would be more convenient, and everyone is used to it.

What do you think? Also, what other features would you like to see added to this site?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 7:04 pm

dunno know la.. but sometimes we chat each other related to the topic.. by separating it wouldn't be fun.. but its a good idea to save space in each topic.. & discussion forum can let us make friends.. it is good oso…

• kody (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 7:05 pm

Paul,

no problem with current one. like it on the same page. only will have off topic when talking about things related to P1 :)

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2006 at 7:12 pm

I prefer same page too. But I want to find out what you guys prefer.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 7:13 pm

Paul, the current one is fine! of course a formal forum will serve the job better, however by then, your postings will not be as frequent as you need to constantly check on the forums, hell even moderating it. A blog is always times simpler and solves the problems faster, even loads faster. If there were a forum, i would not fxxk here and fxxk there cos these can easily reveal itself using search functions. In a blog, everything will just be hidden beneath the sands of piling posts and words.

hmm… a search function?

honestly, you can keep this, and start a automobile forum (a different taste from ZTH, and you would only approve registrations for those who passed an IQ test of 180 !! keke…. ZTH loads of crap talkers…. perhaps me too?

Anyway, my 2 cents. PaulTan is already a very prominent automobile industry guy here in Malaysia i guess. Whats that he couldn't do? keke

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 7:29 pm

I like the current arrangement, your blog become my favourite eventhough I am not an "automotive guy"! You respect people opinion without censure yet at the same time you are credible enough to tell anyone to respect each other by leaving out racial or other inflammatory issue(s). Thank for your neutral and respectable stand, ut any improvement, it shall be welcome.

There are many blog(s) out there try to be "smart" by become "moderator" or "hold other opinion to the lowest" as the "blog's verdict is final and the best", which eventually drive down the "grassroot level independent" opinions, therefore less visitors to that blog.

But I confident on Paul as what is the best for hi blog! TQ

• motorhead (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 7:51 pm

maintain the old one lah.. i see many of us r quite mature & smart.. somtimes off topic for fun only.. to make this blog cheerful…

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Maybe some of you have misunderstood. I wasn't suggesting a forum for the moderating features. I was suggesting it so it would be easier for you guys to quote each other.

• motorhead (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 8:10 pm

OHh.. guys.. extra forum?? Can we exchange info with our friends in the new forum??.. why not??.. i support!!.. come everybodi, lets support!! thx Paul!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 8:16 pm

Yeah, good explanation from Paul. anyway, as mentioned by motorhead, can we exchange info or any features that enable us to send info by email to any member?

• goingberserk (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 8:21 pm

As far as i m concerned, the current page looks fine and i hv no problems with it. I dont know abt the rest of u guys but i guess if Paul wants to add a forum, it's not of a problem to me. Anyway well done Paul !.

• GT27 (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 8:41 pm

Just use the current page, it is fine for me, No Problem.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2006 at 8:44 pm

ok. what other features would you like to see added to this site?

• pycazu (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 8:44 pm

I'd like to keep on with this. That's the unique of your site in blog form rather than forum arrangement. I hate to click 1-by-1 to read the topic based on its title, a summary page of all recent posts in 1 page save us some clicking time. :P

Of course that's some cons on a blog basic, u can't actually vote, rating the members, quote the comments etc… But, anyway, manually quoting other's comment just being fine for me.

ehm… anyway we're here living in a "democracy" country, can we choose to vote for it? How to do that, Paul?

• go_go (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:00 pm

perhaps a voting system whereby a topic is mentioned and users can only vote, not comments… (e.g. your dream car…) so, other users able to see the graphical results rather than just comments… but, keep the normal topic whereby ppl can point out their comments. just additional features….

other than that its fine by me… :)

• acbc (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:30 pm

Paul: A forum would be ideal but u better appoint some moderators to keep everything in check.

• nstystrw (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:55 pm

Paul, I would like a full RSS description in the main page, rather than just partial feed. This would be convenient for those mobile users who are always on the go

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 9:58 pm

If moderator come into picture, he/she shall have the following traits:-

1. Know how to agree to disagree.

2. Know how to tolerate differences of opinion.

3. To be accommodative to various arguments and deal with "conflict management".

4. Possess high degree of intergrity in respect of uphold fairness, open to critiism and "I will fight until the end of my life your rights of speech eventhough I don't agree with you".

5. Able to filter out only, and limited to issues like racial, obscent remarks, inflammatory statements or in his/her opinion constitute "mala fide" intention.

Who have these traits!

I personally do not welcome moderator, but we as user have to be "self-discipline" and provide objective view! This my personal opinion only, no offence ah, …….

• nstystrw (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 10:10 pm

Thanks for the comprehensive write up Joe Ooi, but i would like to add up:

6. Moderators that can write proper English

Paul, it would be fun if you could add smilies and emoticons :) :D

• Ralliace (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 10:43 pm

no need la, paul. just leave it as it is. it's all good.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 10:56 pm

ok i got it. Paul, start a forum, but behaves as an integrated part from your posts, maybe we couldn't access the forum as a whole using threads or topics, but through your posts, we'd enter the corresponding forum. This means at the same time we're just using it as it is, but the structure that underlies is a "Forum"'s hence we could have all the PM, QUOTE, da da da … da da da. …

hhmmm good good good. change change change…. then we can have all the "Buy & Sell", "Continentals", "d ada d a da da da ….. good good. and then Paul willl become rich. :D

• afor2 (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 11:21 pm

yeah!! then ppl will start shopping for cars online!! and..paul will definately get rich!! yay!! :P

• stephenstreets (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 11:44 pm

forums are like rooms for me

Its either your in the room or not

Its either there are 10 guys in 1 room or 1 guy in each room which makes disccusions more difficult to connect

If given preference i would rather read the blogs and comments like right now.

• motorhead (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 11:47 pm

add chat room pls.. so we can chat live.. of coz, members only…..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 11:54 pm

I suggest on ad hoc basis, Paul organize few gatherings at selected mamak store for teh tarik and roti canai to share our passions during this coming World Cup June 06. What a good idea! cost wise it is very affordable and we just share it together!

• HatukNgkau (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 12:31 am

i'd prefer a forum with the blog comments here disabled. all discussion will be done at a specified thread in a forum. also it allows better control and moderation for u, paul.

• honda_driver (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 12:45 am

forum. i think its better for you as well in terms of management. As Hatuk said, We still come to your blog to read the stories, but click on a link to a forum to discuss. No one will be able to create "new topics", but we can only discuss in a specifi topic thread, directly related to the story posted in your blog.

• rexis (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 1:09 am

Ah Paul heres my idea

As many mentioned above, i am pretty confortable to the current setting as well. Many people drive also still prefer manual gear la, so we really dun mind quoting in manual :p Anyhow adding quote function and reply function to the current comment system is not bad.

But the only thing is that viewing a page with 100+ comments could be tiring and easily lost. Why not like this? Limited to say 50 chars only, if more then 50 chars if will become a link and you hv to click it to show the entire content.

Example:

"Rexis said, May 3, 2006 @ 3:54 pm

Paultan.org'ers rox! Not only that, they are very…"

Click will pop up(or drop down) a new page:

So rather then pop in all 100 comments to a viewer PC, we can select the comments we want to read, can save you some bandwidth too Paul ^_^

• El Goodoo (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 1:10 am

paul, how bout adding a message board, or tagboard…

• aksMs (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 1:11 am

Forum? I like it the way it is right now. But what HatukNgkau and honda_driver suggested is good too, hence allowing you to properly manage your blog. How about do some polling? Either way, I will keep visiting your blog here from time to time to keep meself updated on the auto news. Besides, this your identity. This is Paul Tan. ;)

So, my opinion? A little changes here and there is alright to me. Bring it on!

Paul, that's very nice of you to ask your fellow reader before making any changes. I salute you, man!

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 1:19 am

It's your site Paul, do whatever you think is right. Personally, the current setup is fine with me.

• clark_kent (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 1:41 am

"go_go said,

May 3, 2006 @ 1:00 pm

perhaps a voting system whereby a topic is mentioned and users can only vote, not comments… (e.g. your dream car…) so, other users able to see the graphical results rather than just comments… but, keep the normal topic whereby ppl can point out their comments. just additional features….

other than that its fine by me… "

i second to this… LoL

• notorpkcuf (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 3:37 am

Paul, I'd say leave it as it is. Very convenient to navigate.

• dfendy (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 6:41 am

the current one was fine for me, but hey why not we make some changes?

it will be interesting.

i like Zongtwi a.k.a Speed Junkie said, its ur site…

• aesthari (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 7:08 am

Mm, I'd more likely post a comment here rather than posting in a forum.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 7:37 am

My Dear Host,

I do like the current set up, the problem is that I am too comfortable with it now. That's why I am quite reluctantly to accept something new although it may bring many benefits like what you said. Sound all too familiar, right?

That's the problem with our people here nowadays, too comfortable with the current state, reluctant to understand and adopt to new things which may bring great many benefits.

Actually, you are the HOST, you make the call. Do appreciate your thoughfulness in inviting our views.

Any rumours that P1 going to gulung tikar? NAP abolished? Ha ha…

• hehehaha (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 8:34 am

ahh… forum to leave thoughtful opinions… good good… one vote for forum…

• chris (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 8:49 am

Same page same page paul :D

• chanlman (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 8:49 am

I agreed with some of you but disagree with most you. Looking at this topic, more than 30+ comments. Some short, some few paragraphs/ bullet points. The navigation is easy but the set back is that user like me have to scroll and read one after another.

Sugestion, like one of you mentioned about, use a collapsible/ flexible text box to show only 50 to 100 chars per comment. Click on + to expand the full message. This would reduce the Page length to avoid touchpad (Laptop) users to scroll like crazy.

Secondly, The right-hand menu/ sub menu should be shorten and more organise. Again, we can group them with the collapsible method like above. Use more graphical menu like logo of car brands, christmas icons, worldcup icons, etc use your imagination to pretty the page. But please, maintian the professional look like now (red/ black scheme)

Forum is not a good idea as mentioned by many above. If Paul wants a system to quote each other comments, maybe just introduce a Quote Function or Quote Tag. As we all know, someone comments like mine is really long winded. When using quote, have to be flexible to choose / highlight certain sentences only. its complicated but can be programmed.

Keep up the work, Paul

• dip (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 8:59 am

yo, maintain like this better… easier to communicate :)

• ec (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 5:23 pm

Appreciated all your posts to this site. Just leave it as it is in terms of the layout.

• mangkuk (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 6:08 pm

i prefer the current one. so ez

• waimak (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 6:30 pm

I'm OK with the current format.

• shooter (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 7:19 pm

if it aint broken, dont fix it

• pendek (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 12:42 am

i like it this way

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 2:04 am

I check through some of blogs, I think this is good improvement in presentation of existing format:

When "Leave a Comment",

Create/provide one more row to fill in as "subject" on top of our name – "Joe Ooi".

So if my "subject" I type in as "Improvement in Feature" with numbering 1, 2, 3, 4, ……, later on type in all the comments.

In the list just appear: –

1. "Improvement in Feature"

Joe Ooi

May 4, [email protected] PM

So your page just appeared as above, anyone want to read the comment just click the subject – "Improvement in Feature" and the comment will appear. This will save space and maybe your storage and easy to scroll down.

Hope Paul Tan ocnsider this proposal.

Thanks

• mystvearn (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 2:55 am

I think I like the current version, BUT, if it has forum features such as quotes, smileys, etc it would be good.

Forums would only make everything cluttered and people will not know which is new and which is old news

• neurra (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 3:03 am

i like it as it is… but if u could make the windows adjusts according to the monitor's resolution, that would be better.. and RSS feeds too.. :]

• HMMaster (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 5:13 am

i think the current one is quite ok. just that the layout of the site maybe need some redesign.

• yientau (Member) on May 08, 2006 at 5:26 pm

I would like the current interface..paul, you rock!

• geminigeek (Member) on May 08, 2006 at 5:41 pm

if you think the manual quoting is bad, why don't you create a click quoting? it could be done via javascripting.

• stevarac (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 3:44 am

Present format is fine with me Paul.

Just bring on more topics that stir the emotion and call for intense discussion,

that will be fun.

Nothing better than an avenue to release some tension in our Bolehland otherwise known as " APs heaven & motorist Hell ".