2006 Dodge Hornet Concept

dodge_hornet_1.jpg

The Dodge Hornet Concept is a 5-door hatchback slightly larger than a MINI Cooper. It made it’s world debut back in February 2006 at the 2006 Geneva Motor Show. The Dodge Hornet Concept was conceived after meeting were held regarding requests from U.S. Dealers for a true entry level Dodge vehicle below the Dodge Caliber which retailed for about USD13,000.

dodge_hornet_2.jpg

The Dodge Hornet is a small B-segment car, but Dodge went for a sporty rally-inspired look instead of a cutesy look like the Nissan March. The front has Dodge’s classic cross-bar grille, and below it is an exposed front-mounted intercooler. Wheels are 19 inch open section wheels wrapped with 185/50/R19 tyres designed to show off the mechanicals, the large disc brakes and calipers. Showing off intercoolers and brakes are typical design features to make the car look like it can really really go fast. It reminds me alot of the Scion xB, a small car marketed under Toyota’s marque targetted at the younger car-buying market.

The engine propelling the 1409kg Dodge Hornet is a Tritec 1.6 litre intercooled supercharged 16-valve SOHC engine which makes 170 horsepower and 223Nm of torque at 4000rpm. This engine is the same one found in the MINI Cooper S, some Dodge Neon models and some Chrysler PT Cruiser models. This engine is mated to a 6-speed manual transmission. The Tritec engine was originally developed by Chrysler and Rover, and is made in the Campo Largo factory in Brazil jointly owned by BMW and Daimler Chrysler, which was recently bought by the Lifan Group. Performance statistics are 6.7 seconds for the 0-100km/h test and a top speed of 209km/h.

Cabin access is made easy using suicide rear doors which open backwards. The hood scoop is functional, it directs air to the engine airbox, basically a cold air intake device. The rear seats and even the passanger seat can be folded down to extend storage area, creating a sort of mini van-like storage space as seen in the photo below.

There were some rumours that the Dodge Hornet Concept could go into production using a Volkswagen Polo chassis, since there has been increased co-operation between DaimlerChrysler and Volkswagen AG. Chrysler’s been in talks with Chery, a Chinese automotive company which specialised in building small cars, and the Dodge Hornet could be what they will be building.

dodge_hornet_11.jpg

dodge_hornet_3.jpg

dodge_hornet_5.jpg

dodge_hornet_4.jpg

dodge_hornet_6.jpg

dodge_hornet_7.jpg

dodge_hornet_8.jpg

dodge_hornet_9.jpg

dodge_hornet_10.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cnc (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 1:10 pm

looks like alien's car..too futuristic!Probably will only look classy in their planet!

• Ah-Ba (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 3:15 pm

The more I look at it, the more I like it.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 3:29 pm

It looks nice in the photos but in the video its a bit unnatural

• city basher (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 7:09 pm

Hmmm. At first glance, it reminds me of the Suzuki swift. Odd!

• blazerSST (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 8:05 pm

The pilot's seats are nice.

• blazerSST (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 8:08 pm

Oh did anyone notice there are like fog lights are integrated into the side mirrors too?

Sorry had to post twice.

• torch_love_evo (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 8:22 pm

interior is cool……exterior sucks la….i like da suicide doors..

• Mac (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 8:33 pm

i think the price of this car in malaysia is around >RM100,000

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 9:18 pm

Wow i would like to have one of those, looks damn solid cool in silver color.

• assimo (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 10:36 pm

Hmmm…its was a good idea for Myvi owners…..hehe…

• i'm run (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 10:58 pm

Love the interior… Very nice..

• motorhead (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 11:02 pm

Whoa.. macho la.. awesome looks… awesome performance oso…. 170hp?? 223Nm?? fuyoo.. look like transformers oso…. this car is not for sissy… it is so masculine…. I am sure women wud say this car is ugly… but not macho man… I like the name oso.. Hornet!!!… cant imagine how much it wud cost if it arrives in Bolehland… trrw I want to apply AP for Dodge.. sure cant get one, unless u guys vote me for MP next election… hahaha…

Ps: Mr. Paul check this out…Turbo diesel bike is out… it called Neander 1400.. FC 3L diesel for 100km…

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:08 am

didnt know something that was so close to a Kenari can be cool as well. Anyway, the more rubbish the Americans put in their concept cars, the more dissapointed the end consumers will get when they finally get to buy a production version which when parred againts the concept car, will and definitely does, look like shit.

• raptorclans (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 7:02 am

WHOA! This car's totally wicked!!! I like!!! XD

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 10:01 am

ingolstadt – Not only production version can be different with concept car. NAP can make a lot of budget sub-compact into "luxury" car in our CarTaxLand. So, it is no surprising if some one got AP, imported as CBU then sale in Bolehland for RM 100K (USD 27 K). In other word, "double the prize but strip down half quality".

I got a friend send his car for repair and he is the eyewitness to the mechanic open and replace new Suzuki Swift glass and when ask, "this is requested by distributor".

• DAN (Member) on May 14, 2006 at 9:38 pm

is nice car .

it look 2 door car but perform like 4 door .

• acbc (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 9:51 am

It's a Mini Cooper S with muscle / versatility.

19" tires? Where on Earth are u going to get 185/19/50 series?

• mangkuk (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 4:42 pm

ugly

• ilmcrx (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 1:01 pm

so ithe inside is pertty cool but is it fwd or rwd or maybe awd? i also think that there should have been more stuff in the video, its like WOW a straight line! WOOO HOOO i can go straight and then there is a right hand turn, so now we can got straigh and turn right yes now we are getting there, Got any more on this car???