3 hatches, a minicar and an MPV

3hatchbacks.jpg

This month is actually a pretty exciting month for the Malaysian automotive industry even though news seems slightly dead for the past week. But you know what they say, it is always the calmest before a storm. We have 5 car launches this month. One has already been launch, that’s the Naza Sutera. Two from Toyota, another one from Naza and hopefully Proton will be launching the Proton Satria Replacement Model this month too. Then we will be able to see all the cars in full glory at the end of the month at the KL International Motor Show 2006.

small_wish.jpgMotor Trader has a teaser on the two new CBU Toyota cars that will be revealed tonight (May 16) once the press embargo is over. From the teaser images, it’s confirmed that the two new Toyota CBUs will be the Toyota Wish and the Toyota Yaris hatchback. The Toyota Wish is an MPV competing with the Honda Stream. So far there are 1.8 litre and 2.0 grey import versions on the market, but it’s not known yet whether Toyota will be offering both models here or one of them through official channels. We’ll know tonight I guess. The Toyota Yaris hatchback is offered internationally with 1.0 litre, 1.3 litre, and 1.5 litre engines but it’s mostly likely that we will get the 1.5 litre model. From the spyshots that we’ve seen so far, I think it’s the 4-door model, which will put it in direct competition with the Honda Jazz, both being 4-door CBU hatchbacks.

As for the other Naza car, the Naza NX-02 will be launched tomorrow night (17th May 2006). More details on the Naza NX-02 after the launch, including it’s official name and specifications, and most importantly price.

Now we come to the Proton Satria Replacement Model, let’s hope it launches in time to be showcased at the KL International Motor Show. It should be very soon, anytime now! There you go, one K-car, two 4-door hatchbacks, one 2-door hatchback and an MPV for the month of May 2006. Any car I missed?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:30 am

Any indicate price for these cars yet except Sutera ?. Toyota probably will cost a bomb. As for Naza.. think it was announced recently at 6X,XXX. Then what abt the SRM ?.

• Paul Tan on May 17, 2006 at 12:33 am

The SRM 1.3 and 1.6 will likely be slightly cheaper than it's Gen2 1.3 and 1.6 brothers.

Gen2 1.3 Auto – 49,888.20

Gen2 1.6 Manual – 55,074.50

Gen2 1.6 Auto – 58,152.50

You can estimate from there.

• ak03 (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:41 am

the price for toyota yaris is already out. check out toyota's website, toyota.com.my/yaris.com.my

• lomotus (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:50 am

Yup.. Price for WISH & YARIS are already on the toyota homepage.

Yaris: 1.5G RM92.8K

1.5S RM98.8K

WISH: RM156,900

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:57 am

But at Langkawi Toyota Yaris selling at RM 55.2K, a different of approx. 43 K ++! WTF, NAP really force consumers to make "patriotic contribution"!

• ikmal (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 1:16 am

for SRM. i got this news from my sales person.

they going to 4 variant.

1.6 higline n 1.6 standard

1.3 standard n 1.3 low end

the price will start from 1.3 low end manual which is around 42k-45k n top with 1.6 highline auto with the price is 50-52k.

the highline is same accesories with gen2 highline. come with dual airbags, abs, ebd.. etc etc.

they going to launch either on 18th or 20th.

n they do come with the bling bling rims !!

• goingberserk (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 1:28 am

Thks guy for the info. Didnt noticed earlier on toyota website that price for both wish and yaris had been released. Anyway wud certainly be interesting to know the actual price and full spec of SRM. So wht the hell will happen to Waja or Gen 2 ? Satria aint selling anyway.. Looks like it is completing against its brother.. wtf !!

• hamsaplou (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 1:59 am

paul , you mention gen2 price all are before the

NAP

• hamsaplou (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 2:01 am

paul , the price of gen2 u have mentioned

is before the NAP!

• wisdom_bin (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 2:28 am

i like srm but when is they going to release it..we cant blame them for not releasing it as they were just testing the car and we are the ones who are eagerly spying on them..

• afor2 (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 2:39 am

SRM..dimanamu?!!!! Kluarlh segera!! :P hopefully, the 'lateness' of the launch is because they are testing the car, so that it'll be up to standard… a testiment of the new CEO, that he'll make quality cars..(yeah rite) hahahaha… bolehlah kowt..

• dfendy (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 3:33 am

i saw yaris/vitz during trip to penang last wednesday, saw it on the truck park @ R & R, but damn my bus too fast cannot take picture, its a nice cute car, hmmm… due to CBU damn RM92K

• johanbey (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 3:39 am

why proton never release sport version of their models along with the main launch, look at yaris, swift, you always have an option. do they still think this will generate more sales? and cant they cant release manual and auto at the same time? whats the point of holding back and let others snitch your customers? lets just hope the SRM wait is worth the money.

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:00 am

johanbey, here is the real deal. From a manufacturer point, they can come out with sport but then how many volumes can be sold? That is why there is always R3,Mazdaspeed,Mugen,TRD…etc exist. In order to modify ur car legally and yet factory style! (OPTIONAL)

I wish to see more cars coming out from other manufacturers this coming KLIMS. Wat do u think our local manufacturers will come out with?

• sewell (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:02 am

Come on PROTON ! don't always release late !!! don't like last time lost the arket share to MYVI… i want to see you sucessful !!!

• amir (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:09 am

i wonder what will be the name of the SRM…..maybe Proton tuna or tuala….come on la proton u r no longer a national brand , u r exporting to other "NEGARA"…..give it cooler names la…..for example Proton Neutron…anything like that la….and please we need cool interior…..don't make it look like recycled plastic taper ware…like in savvy….it really sucks…like SEWELL said, i want to see you sucessfull…actually we wan't to see u sucessful…

• intermilan (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:15 am

heard SRM will launch mid May also..

the SRM will use CAMPRO.

The CAMPRO had been re-tune to deliver max power at lower rpm (more pick-up) compared to earlier version. also heard the horsepower is more than 126bhp. that is pretty tight for a 1.5L engine. we'll see whether true or not.

• amir (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:28 am

from the three car above i like SRM the most…..its damn cool…n wish the interior will be cool also…hate damn plastic tupper-ware look in savvy…

• xefron (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 5:04 am

owhh i hope the SRM will less than 45 K….owhh god plzz….

• ikmal (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 5:40 am

they going to launch 4 variant of SRM

1.3 low line

1.3 standard

1.6 standard

1.6 highline

the price will start from around RM42k – RM52k

launch date, either 18th 0r 20th of this month.

the highline is like highline gen2

btw, they using the Bling Bling rims !!

• stephen_ksf (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 6:42 am

Proton insider update..SRM launching on the 18th. price confirmed lower than Gen 2 but exact price remained unknown. 1.3 and 1.6 campro engine variant. colours available blue, grey, white, red and orange.

• mits27 (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:06 am

Toyota yaris is cheaper then Honda Jazz a little bit. 1.5G is a good buy comes with standard driver and passanger airbag, with more power compare to honda jazz i-dsi, but I think jazz has more interior space compare to yaris.

• tantan (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:08 am

Toyota Yaris price out already, its going to be higher than expected to be..

For;

Yaris 1.5G version – RM92,800.00

Yaris 1.5S version – RM98,800.00

• happymeal (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:41 am

yaris is from thailand rite, so its subjected to lower tariffs than if from japan.

what about jazz imported by Honda Msia? are they from thailand too? last i heard the jazz is only made in japan.

yaris 1.5g in langkawi – rm53k

jazz idsi in langkawi – rm60k

yaris 1.5g in pen. – rm93k (rm40k diff)

jazz idsi in pen. – rm95k (rm35k diff)

i thought the tax savings from ASEAN countries will be much more substantially…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:52 am

stephen_ksf – I heard from P1 insider SRM is a "cosmetic change" to head and tail lamp. interior, bumper and still use back existing Satria body. Howe true is we can be confirm when SRM is launch! If it is true, "habislah", don't need to see anymore!

mits27 said "Toyota yaris is cheaper then Honda Jazz a little bit"

Let me rewording your statement to reflect more accurately on the pricing of Yaris and Jazz:-

"Both the Toyota Yaris's price is "very high" and Honda Jazz's price is "much more higher"! In term of pricing, both don't have value for money but if you die hard fan for this model, then it is entirely your decision. Your money – nobody can tell you what to do.

tantan – You mentioned on copyright to your website. Are you go to Dayabumi 32nd Floor to register it? If not then you have to do so as the registration cost you RM 250.00 only. About your personal particular, let not disclosed too mny detail – prone to personality theft – Your full name, DOB and address is enough for that purpose!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:07 am

What I know both Yaris and Jazz is CBU from Japan.From Thailand is Vios.

• kanasai (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:27 am

i m sure the SRM and Naza 206 will be the direct competition for this year between brothers of Malaysia. Last year is Proton Vs Produa… Produa WIN!! this year Proton Vs Naza… hmmm, wonder wut's the result would be.

But last year, Myvi is like 10k more expensive than Savvy, yet still produa can beat proton like pancake. Now i believe Naza 206 will be 20k more expensive than SRM. It will be tough for Naza, but lets us just enjoy the show.

Anyone wana bet? LOL… this is better than World Cup… hahahaha

• gowin (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:29 am

Toyota yaris finally come out…..last time people said about RM 100k, now they sell below that price, but still expensive!!! Why don't comw out E spect…cheaper

• stephen_ksf (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:49 am

Joe Oi – yup u r correct. i've been told that SRM is actually a facelift (both exterior n interior) from the current satria platform. interior very current iswara-like…so i think it's the same as the spyshot which was shown earlier on by paul. anyway, i oso think "habisla"….another P1 production… :D well lets wait n c la…jz few days more

• kanasai (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:54 am

after viewing the thai's peugeot website for it's 206 commercial ad, i think Naza 206 will be the top model for it's class.. it will be a hit!!

(http://www.peugeot-th.com/)

ohh.. man, i would def want to test this car…

this have convinced me that SRM would most probably like Savvy case senario where it faces heat competition… not only from Naza 206 but Sutera as well..

I wonder proton have learned it's lesson from Savvy case or not… lets see how far Proton have grown… just see ….

and i too love to see what sort of Monster will proton put up for it's SRM ad…

• wisdom_bin (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:10 am

stephen_ksf, r u really sure that it wil be out this thursday? i hate to have hope growing and finally frustrated as the rumours r not true..

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:11 am

i think the stream is a cbu from indonesia like the odyssey…the onli model thats made in thailand by honda is the 3.0 accord i think….

• Tracks (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:36 pm

SRM is definitely not using the same chassis as the current Satria. It's taller, bigger and wider now. Anyway, it would be launched this coming Saturday, 20/05/2006. Interior nothing spectacular but an improvement over the current Gen2. Exterior look good as well and not so controversial as the Gen2 especially the rear end. 16" rims are standard with 195/50R16 Continental SuperContact rubber and all around disk brakes. Overall a fantastic package IMHO.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 6:15 pm

Here's my 2 cents;

SRM should be using Gen.2 Chassis coz P1 only has 3 platforms. Which are A (small cars i.e Savvy), B (medium cars i.e. Gen.2, Waja, SRM) and C (larger cars, i.e NEW V6???)

p.s. Honda Jazz from Thailand lar…

• KY (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 6:51 pm

Banyak mahalnya. Not to mention the funny name. nyaris nyaris nak ketawa. :P

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:36 pm

JAZZ now CBU thailand FIRST BATCH yes CBU Japan 1.4cc.Accord 3.0 Also Thai,Oddessey Also Thai.

Yaris,Vios Thailand.Wish also(correct me if I'm wrong).

All Chevrolet(DAEWOO).Thailand

p/s Just tested the Caldina GT4, NOT ONLY ME HAPPY THE SALESMAN ALSO..because only can test drive with potential buyer.hopefully can drive around with my daughter in it.fun for family super power for daddy.:-)

• dino (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:51 pm

PAUL….4 Hatches!!!where the damn cute swift 2006?? and 2 MPV…the cool Mazda 5!!!

• abe (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:04 pm

compare with all models..

the SRM looks plain on the bumper..

rumours..

next year or next-next year, proton mini-mpv after the wira/iswara stock habis.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 8:18 pm

abe – better to pray for P1 close shop or foreigner take over by next year or next-next year is more realistic.

• narrowband (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:17 pm

I wonder how Proton can ever "stock habis".

They're still producing the PROTON SAGA ISWARA goddamnit.

Joe Ooi, close shop or foreigner take over? *That* itself isn't realistic – cuz it's not gonna happen. Haha.

If you play Starcraft, type "power overwhelming" and you'll realise you're playing like Proton.

• abe (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:53 pm

Comment by Joe Ooi — 17/5/2006 at 12:18 pm

abe – better to pray for P1 close shop or foreigner take over by next year or next-next year is more realistic.

i never pray for that, wasted. even wira SE also very hard to sell. proton have sell it to the 4th world country to clear the stock..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:55 pm

narrowband – Never ever can clear stock as P1 still produce and stockpile "Milo Tin On The Wheel".

Close shop or foreigner take over is "realistic" but G make it "unrealistic" – So force us to make "patriotic contribution" in this CarTaxLand.

• anas_edi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 11:48 pm

HMMMM…………….

• mystvearn (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 3:19 am

If its not using the same chasis as the current Satria, then the current gen2 but with no extra doors? Meaning a person of 170cm will suffer sitting at the back.

• wisdom_bin (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 4:35 am

now, is it 18th May or 20th..? or neither one of em..?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 11:59 pm

narrowband said,

May 17, 2006 @ 2:17 pm

I wonder how Proton can ever “stock habis”.

They’re still producing the PROTON SAGA ISWARA goddamnit.

Joe Ooi, close shop or foreigner take over? *That* itself isn’t realistic – cuz it’s not gonna happen. Haha.

If you play Starcraft, type “power overwhelming” and you’ll realise you’re playing like Proton.

Proton can close shop..because human start it so human can close the company. This is not a God act. Why you people make like 'overpriced jointly cheap moving metal Proton" so superior.

remember nobody is perfect so with Proton it can be open for sure it can be close down.

• stephen_ksf (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 3:34 am

P1 insider update…SRM launch postpone to one of the weekdays next week due to PM not free…so wait till he free next week…no PM no LAUNCH….. :D

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 6:05 am

yaris is a cute car…really nice…n better than jazz…but too priceyla…compare to swift…one of the best in its class…n cheaper too…

hope fully srm will better than other protons….i heard that campro engine in gen 2 is underpowered…is it true??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:27 am

"hope fully srm will better than other protons…."

If SRM is better than other protons…… then no hope oledi. Iswara is "Milo Tin On The Wheel", then SRM is "Tissue Box On The Wheel"………crap, I heard from P1 insider SRM is use back Satria body with "cosmetic" upgrade only. Idf it is true, what do you expect!

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 8:12 am

really???…what a crap…using the satria body…s**t…y they are so malas???they dun hv an intention and hv motto to produce a really good car…they know if they produce a junk car…still hv buyers…and the price is cheap than others…stupid proton…bler nak sdar???

• raptorclans (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 12:17 am

the SRM is a new car la… haiyo… it's so obvious from photos, the wider, bigger body. and I've chased it once, seen it up close… and yeah our family has a satria, we know what satrias look like ;)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:29 am

raptorclans – cannot be lah, Proton now "divorced" oledi with Mits and still not "remarried" with new partner. Impossible P1 can get bigger chassis for SRM. P1 either use back Satria chassis or adopt Gen-2 body but 2 door only. Look at Paul Tan spyshots, I bet it is Satria body! May be when you chased SRM, your eye-ball "over-focus" until SRM look big lah…………

• mits27 (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:46 am

Joe Ooi,

"mits27 said “Toyota yaris is cheaper then Honda Jazz a little bit”

Let me rewording your statement to reflect more accurately on the pricing of Yaris and Jazz:-

“Both the Toyota Yaris’s price is “very high” and Honda Jazz’s price is “much more higher”!"

Please don't offend, I compare the car in the range of yaris and jazz, that's why it is okay to say yaris is little cheaper than jazz. Every one know, malaysia car price has one of the most expensive car price in the world. Because in reality, the yaris and jazz should be around 40k to 50k.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:51 am

mits27 – no offend also, refer to my comment from economic perspective in above posting – Toyota Yaris 1.5L

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 8:17 am

mits27 – This is my comment from economic perspective, no offend just to share info.

Joe Ooi said,

May 19, 2006 @ 1:35 pm

raybrig85 – OK lah just to share knowledge with you.

“Cheap or Expensive” is layman jargon or daily use by aci-asuh, ah-chek apek at pasar selling and buying daily essential like fish, vege, rice, etc. This is so call “pasar language”.

So, now I try to explain in proper context, that is from economic (theory) perspective: –

“Cheap” or “Expensive” is “extreme obsolute measurement on opposite side” of prices in term of “minimum” and maximum”. “Cheap” may be goods and services available in the “mass market” which is affordable, perhaps on a daily basis. For example a glass of Chinese tea or plain water say at 30 sen is “Cheap” and almost affordable to everybody in the market. So what is “Expensive”? Say Airbus 380 Superjumbo 550 seats may cost more than RM 1.20 Billion a piece is consider “Expensive” as it is “nich market” which few corporate aviation client can afford it. “Cheap or Expensive” in proper economic context, is inappropriate or shall not be use in “comparative analysis”.

So comeback to your case, Suzuki Swift, Toyota Yaris or Honda Jazz is not even consider “cheap” at around RM 40 – RM 55 K if you can get it directly from factory without go through CarTaxLand. Not every body can afford at this price range and it is not the “cheapest” good and services in the market like Chinese tea.

So, in proper economic context, use of term for price comparative analysis are “Low or High Price(s)” is more appropriate to describe the relative price of goods and services, albeit “fair price or value for money”

= cost + mark up = price.

Mark up shall refer to prices operate under “free market rate” in which there is no “INTEFERENCE” (i.e. NAP) by external force to distort the Supply and Demand curve.

For comparing these three car under CarTaxLand,

More proper statement is Swift is high price, Yaris is higher price and Jazz is highest price.

If you go to Langkawi, where the price mechanism is operate under free market (”tak ada kacau dari NAP”).

Proper statement for these 3 cars is Jazz is low price, Yaris is lower price and Swift is lowest price (assume they are at same class and similar specs).

Walaueh, give you economic lesson ah,…. he, he, he…..

Anyway, nothing is disagree with you but just to share knowledge. I all the way same with you pertaining to NAP – is “patriotic contribution” lol.

“cheap or expensive” or “low or high price”, aiya, as far as you, me or anyone understand is OK loh, we don’t talk to Soro, IMF, World Bank, WTO mah,……

So to add more, there is no "right" or "wrong" in respect of "cheap/expensive" or "low/high prices", but as a matter of appropriateness. Also, what language u r talking, "pasar/marketing" or "economic/professional". However, there always "overlapping" as no clear boundary among them. But with this basic understanding, u have better way to assess whether the goods and services is "under or over price".

Let give one more example in our daily life. When come to "MEGA SALES", or some players in retail sector term it as "price war"! How true is true, let us assess on economic perspective of "low/high prices".

"BIG SALES", "HARGA RUNTUH","CHEAP GET CHEAPER", "LOWEST PRICE", "PURCHASE WITH PURCHASE", "DISCOUNT UP TO 70%" etc, etc.

The reality are these hypermarket or supermarket still make profits as shown in their annual report, except some mid or smaller players "swallowed" by bigger player(s) in this dogmatic fight market.

The profits contributing factor(s) may include but not limited to the following: –

1. Hypermarket make profits not only by selling goods or products, but many products shown on shelf is actually supply by supplier and they have to rent the shelf to display their products – rental income.

2. All wastage bear by suppliers, either due to damage or theft.

3. They sale in big quantity and have achieve economy of scale in term of pricing.

4. They have a credit term which is very favorable to them at the expense of supplier – "interest free' perhap up to year to roll supplier's money.

5. Any promotion – all at the expense of supplier or manufacturer (perhap do at no profit or below cost) without affect their profit margin.

6. Some discount up to 70% – OK this is what I want to discuss. This is not a normal free market pricing mechanism – cost + mark up = profits, but may on the following: –

– Dumping price

– Clear old stock

Normally "new arrival" have no discount or normal 10% discount only on textile merchandise, the profit on this item normally average is 150%. So any shirt sale at RM 100.00, their cost is RM 40.00. So 10 shirt, they sale 8 at RM 100 and 2 at RM 30 (70% discount), Total turnover = RM 860

Profit = RM 860 – RM 400 (cost) = RM 460 = 115% (average)

So, the product is basically sale at "clear stock/dumping price", still consider lower price by consumers perspective. So, in true sense, this case is neither "cheap" nor "lowest price" but is a dumping price. ALL MEGA SALES IS DUMPING PRICE STRATEGY!

For our P1 "Milo Tin On The Wheel" – Iswara, the pricing is still "high" considering it is outdated and protected under NAP. Furthermore, the R & D cost should be recovered long ago by Mits, but P1 is "Moral Hazard" and still selling at this price knowing very well that our consumers is "captured market". This is not "cheap" but actually still consider as "high price" product. Therefore, we can fairly say P1 is suck!

SORRY LOL ……, SO LONG YET OFF TOPIC!

• mits27 (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 4:25 pm

So, Joe Ooi should I use yaris is cost less than jazz?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:14 pm

mits27 – This is your personal decision and your money. In term of brand, I prefer Yaris (latest model as well) and have to prepare to make huge "patriotic contribution". What I can said is all Yaris, Jazz and Swift is "over-price to the maximum". It is ridiculous even "strictly products comparison in term of size" – compare to Innova 2.0L, Hilux 2.5L and Naza Ria 2.5L so "big and tough", powerfull, muiti uses yet same price range? Of course different is FC. Anyway CarTaxLand is to blame by come out with GILA2 and FUNNY2 prices yet is sucking thing in our auto industry.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:55 pm

mits27 – In term of cost, MyVi is better option. Just because of CarTaxLand make M'sian consumer perception P1 is lousy (generally is true) car but not necessary all imported car is good. If say Perodua rebadge Yaris and "Myvi" is imported as CKD by Toyota, then price at RM 100K, most likely you will make same analysis to compare with Jazz and Swift – "IMPORTED" mentality.

Back to basic again, the money is yours, you may come from filthy rich family with big excess of money "no where to throw" and treated Yaris/Jazz as another family "pet" to play with during free time, then it is OK. If you need to get 9 years car loan in order to get this car, financially is not advisible as mass production car (with exception of super luxury like Rolls Royce) is consider as "consumeable" goods which is depreciate over the time. Somemore car look like similar to fashion world in term of "latest trend", for car is "latest model". As a rule of thumb, I personally feel not worth it if you buy car with loan tenure longer than the model "life-cycle". For Japs car, they change model 4 or 5 years. So your loan shall not more than 5 years, otherwise your mentality may think that you still pay for "old model" car after 5 years. Anyway this is my personal opinion, no offend. "Opinions" wise, hair same blck, but mind "thousand x 1,000 variety". Make your own decision as what is best to you!

• raptorclans (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 12:26 am

lol… i get wat u mean joe ooi…

yeah d SRM does look awfully similar to the satria, but actually if look closer the back quarter window isn't really the same shape (hint-size in relation to front window) btw it's a shortened GEN.2. anyways… waiting n waiting ;p if they launched it accordin to schedule 2 years back i'd be drivin it now

:)

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:03 am

does anyone know is it a new chasis for srm or still using the satria chasis??

• abe (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:33 am

i heard that campro engine in gen 2 is underpowered…is it true??

correct . gen.2 is underpowered in low rpm.. the power just enough to move car. in case , suddenly u full release the clutch pedal the engine will stop. so, the car will not jerk and hit the front car. save ur money, time and "NCB" insurance. good car right?

need more power?.. push more the gas pedal, till you get the full 110bhp!

anyway go to proton edar/eon and test drive the car b4 u buy.good luck.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 7:16 pm

ok abe…thanx for ur info…