Naza 206 Bestari In-depth Review

206_bestari_1.jpg

[ LATEST UPDATE: Naza has updated the Naza 206 Bestari for the 2008 model year. Click the link for more information! ]

I remember falling in love with the Peugeot 206 a few years ago when I was in college. There was this blue one parked in the college parking lot belonging to some lucky girl with generous parents, and every time I walked up to the college entrance I would take the opportunity to admire it. It’s a sporty little hatchback, and the addition of the air vents on the hoods did wonders to add to it’s sporty look. Although Peugeot has released the 207 recently, the 206 still remains in it’s portfolio, serving a different market segment. Now Malaysians have the opportunity to experience the Peugeot 206 in CKD form, with the launch of Naza’s latest car, the Naza 206 Bestari, previously known by it’s codename the Naza NX-02.

[ Click here for Naza 206 Bestari Test Drive Review ]

206_bestari_2.jpg

Exterior

The Naza 206 Bestari 1.4 is a B-segment 5-door hatchback based on the Peugeot 206 1.4. In Malaysia, other examples of B-segment cars are the Proton Wira and the Chevrolet Aveo. The Naza 206 Bestari was developed to fill in the gap in the RM60K-RM70K segment of the B-segment car class. This area used to be dominated by cars like the Kia Rio before tax rates increased the pricing of the Kia Rio and the Hyundai Getz CBU.

206_bestari_3.jpg
Naza did not touch the exterior design of the 206, their reasoning is too many cooks spoil the soup as it is already a great product. So much for my photoshop.

Unlike the Naza Sutera which was revamped quite significantly for the local market, Naza’s decided that with the Peugeot 206 it was already a very good product, so no significant re-engineering was required. The car is almost similar to the original Peugeot 206 with the exception of the lion logo being replaced by the Naza logo. The car looks very feline, as with most Peugeot cars. The car is equipped with nice 14” aluminium wheels wrapped with 175/65/R14 tyres. The wing mirrors are powered, and can be controlled from the inside of the car. The air intake on the bonnet however, is not for a cold air intake.

206_bestari_7.jpg
Nice 5-spoke alloy rims

206_bestari_4.jpg
The Peugeot TU3 engine

Engine

The Naza 206 Bestari comes with a 1402cc Peugeot TU3 engine. The multiport fuel injection SOHC 8-valve engine provides 74hp at 5500rpm and 120Nm of torque at a low speed of 2800rpm. For the moment, the car is only offered with a Peugeot AL4 4-speed automatic gearbox with adaptive and sequential control, which Naza says is a Porsche Tiptronic System. There will also be a 5-speed manual transmission in the future. The 4-speed tiptronic gearbox has adaptive control, something like the Waja 1.8’s gearbox or the Toyota Vios Super-ECT where it senses situations like hill descents and downshifts to help with engine braking. The gearbox also suits itself to the driver’s behaviour, changing gears at different RPMs according to the driving pattern. This engine and gearbox gives the Naza 206 Bestari a top-speed of 160km/h for the automatic and 170km/h for the unreleased 5-speed manual version.

206_bestari_5.jpg
The Peugeot TU3 engine torque curve

Other than the manual auto mode, there is also a sports mode with sportier gear changes, a snow/mud mode in which the car starts on 2nd gear to prevent traction loss on slippery surfaces, and a manual mode which is the tiptronic mode. In tiptronic mode, the driver shifts the gateshift to the M selector. Then he can shift the gears up and down sequentially by pushing the lever up and down. If revs drop below 1000rpm, the gearbox automatically downshifts to first gear to prevent engine stalling. This is actually something new to the 206 in Malaysia as the original Peugeot 206 was only offered with a normal 4-speed automatic gearbox on our local shores. Naza brings us a Porsche-developed 4-speed tiptronic gearbox with the Naza 206 Bestari.

Although the Peugeot 206 originally had 1.6 litre and even 2.0 litre models, Naza’s market surveys showed that fuel economy was an important criteria for buyers looking for B-segment cars in this price bracket, so they decided to go for the 1.4 litre model which is fuel and road tax saving, but provides ample torque for a smooth and not “out of breath” drive.

Suspension

The Naza 206 Bestari uses pseudo-MacPherson struts with a decoupled anti-roll bar for the front, and a trailing arm rear suspension. The shock absorbers are pressurized with nitrogen gas. Both the front and rear have 18mm thick anti-roll bars to help with the handling.

206_bestari_8.jpg

Interior

The Naza 206 Bestari has a dark coloured interior, something that suits it’s sporty image. I am not a big fan of cream interiors. Seats are semi-bucket seats, nicely contoured to fit your body. The car is equipped with power windows on all doors. The center dashboard area has manual aircond controls which are arranged in a simple and easy to use layout. There is also a grey Clarion FM/AM/CD player which looks kind of bland to me, but buttons are arranged in a functional and easy to use layout as usual. Sometimes simplicity is beautiful, but maybe this is slightly overdoing it. This player pipes sound output to 4 speakers – two in the front doors and two tweeters located in the wing mirror brackets. CD player functions can also be controlled from a small stalk under the steering wheel, so you don’t need to take your hands off the steering wheel to control your audio system.

206_bestari_9.jpg
Three spoke steering with Naza logo in the middle

206_bestari_11.jpgThe steering is a three spoke design, and most three spoke designs look pretty sporty. I like it. The steering has a Naza logo on it, surrounded by a silver ring. Power window buttons for the front windows are near the handbrake, while power window buttons for the rear are on the back of the center console arm rest area.

There is ample storage space everywhere, and the glove box is sort of clever. It has special compartments for a pen, two cups, and sunglasses. I assume the two cup holders are there for the driver and the passenger, but I think it would be slightly hard to open the glove box to actually put your cup there if there was a passenger sitting on the passenger seat.

206_bestari_12.jpg
Nice touch with the cupholders in the glove box, but is it really practical?

206_bestari_storage.jpg
Plenty of storage space in the Naza 206 Bestari’s interior

206_bestari_10.jpg
Nice dashboard meters which are really clear in the dark

206_bestari_20.jpg

The dashboard meter console is what you will be looking at most of the time. From left to right, fuel, engine RPM cum temperate, speedometer, and gear indicator. The gear indicator is an LCD screen showing what gear you are in, which is a must for the tiptronic operation. At the top is a multi function trip meter, which can show you the amount of kilometers to your next service interval. The center of the dashboard also has an LCD screen showing you the date and time. I’m not sure what other things can be shown. I did notice something strange though. In the PR images (the interior images used in this blog post), the area near the center LCD panel has two buttons, a hazard warning light button and a door lock button. But in the actual car pictured below, there is only a hazard warning light button.

206_bestari_19.jpg
Hazard warning light button is located at an easy to reach place

206_bestari_6.jpgThe gate shift looks very upmarket as it is usually available on premium cars only. Instead of a button you press to unlock the safety feature of the automatic gearshift, you just shift it diagonally through the gates. From D, if you push left into the M selection, it activates tiptronic mode. Push forward to upshift and pull backwards to downshift.

Safety features

The car has dual SRS airbags, one for the driver and one for the passenger. The fuel tank also has a safety feature that cuts off fuel supply whenever an airbag is deployed or there is a strong deceleration. There is anti-lock braking system for the automatic tiptronic version which is the one launched now, but the future manual model will not have anti-lock brakes. Brakes are 247mm discs at the front and 180mm drum brakes at the rear. The car also has Electronic Brakeforce Distribution and Emergency Brake Assistance.

Build Quality

I had ample time to look at the car’s quality of fittings and I must say I am impressed. Everything feels solid and very well put together. Dashboard materials feel good, steering feels nice in my hands, the doors do not take much effort to close and feel solid. The seats are comfy. I like the contours of the semi-bucket seats. Buttons do not feel cheap and flimsy. This is what I like about European cars, the interior has a much different feel than Japanese cars. And I like that feel.

Colour Options

The Naza 206 Bestari comes in Midnight Black, Quartz Blue, Quick Silver, Racy Red, Aegean Blue and Svelte Grey.

206_svelte_grey.jpg
Naza 206 Bestari Svelte Grey

206_aegean_blue.jpg
Naza 206 Bestari Aegean Blue

206_racy_red.jpg
Naza 206 Bestari Racy Red

Price

The Naza 206 Bestari will cost you RM68,888 on the road with insurance for private registration. This makes it pretty competitive as it is cheaper than it’s competitors like the Chevrolet Aveo and the Hyundai Getz. The Peugeot 206 is a great car, and Naza has provided us with a nice alternative at a cheaper price even though it’s pretty much just a re-badge. The Peugeot 206 is Peugeot’s best selling model and it’s engineering and technology is proven. The Naza 206 Bestari comes with a 3 year or 100,000km warranty, whichever comes first. I’ll end this blog post with somemore Naza Bestari photos for you to enjoy. There is also a sporty concept version called the Naza Bestari Sport Concept.

[Click here for Naza 206 Bestari Test Drive Review]

206_bestari_13.jpg
Nice contoured seats to support your body

206_bestari_14.jpg
Rear space. I could sit in it, although it wasn’t anything too fantastic. This is a small car after all.

206_bestari_15.jpg

206_bestari_16.jpg

206_bestari_17.jpg

206_bestari_18.jpg

[Click here for Naza 206 Bestari Test Drive Review]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• accitzone (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 8:30 am

would give a run for B class cars. i m really impressed with the gated gear shift. oso got + and -. but if got steering shift pad wud be better….. but at the price, gated gear shift is sufficient.

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 8:50 am

Steering shift pad would cost a lot, I think not much company knows how to make it.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 9:06 am

Looks absolutely sweet. But I'm wondering why didn't they take out the heater and put in a properly cooling air-conditioner

• ak03 (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 9:09 am

wonder how come that this car get a very cheap price tag? which tax structure that this car belong in?

• acbc (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 9:49 am

First thing on my list… upgrade the brakes from the 2.0 model. Drums are not for me. Yucks!

• happymeal (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 10:41 am

the emblem on the steering wheel pratically destroyed the whole interior. gosh it looks awful. makes u feel like taking a screwdriver n pull it out!!!

wonder if they will have a premium model… bigger engine and painted door handles n protecting stripe. non-body coloured door handles really look cheap.

• happymeal (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 10:48 am

dude… i think the airvents on the bonnet is NOT just for show. its the intake for the 'outside air mode' for the A/c blower(instead of recirculating). Regular cars have the intake grille at the wiper area.

The ventilation system (air-con standard on XT and GTI) is fed by air taken in through a pair of bonnet vents and includes a fine particulate filter.

source : http://autoweb.drive.com.au/cms/A_51664/newsartic…

• Paul Tan on May 18, 2006 at 10:54 am

thanks happymeal! edited :)

i asked naza on upcoming plans, there is no plans to offer a larger engine but there are plans for a manual transmission.

• xefron (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 1:13 pm

hehe if i got one…first thing to do ..change the rim and add bodykit ..walllaa..not to forget the peugeot emblem back to its front grille! :P

• mits27 (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 3:55 pm

It is really nice from both interior and exterior, like the dark color seat, really sporty. Compare to proton, the design is just wooo.

• chris9938 (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 4:06 pm

i love the gear….

• kendo (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 4:48 pm

WELL, wihtout these types of CRONIES players,

with RM 50K,

we get

JAZZ, YARIS…

(i will go for Myvi still).

Esp. it is PHASE out OLD model,

By PEOGEUT!

• lance (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 4:48 pm

I'm impressed. Would vote for the Sport edition to be put into production. Congratulations to Naza.

• kendo (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Essentialluy it is CKD,

I doubt NAZA

press any STEEL parts here, at all.

In the name of National cars,

to make EASY Money.

NAZA call sell it at RM50K,

not 69K!

and make good money!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 5:17 pm

Naza, well done.. please bring more european cars into malaysia.. won't mind if it is naza re-badged as long as the price acceptable… hehe.. hope 307, 407 will be followed soon… let's our malaysian have the opportunity to drive quality car with reasonable price…

• pycazu (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 5:53 pm

Woh! Naza launch 2 new models less than 3 months!! Although these are just rebadge cars, but still worth a praise. It's not easy to get all the resources to work on 2 projects in one time. Well done Naza, although i hate to say this.

This car just come to my taste, hatchback with 4-door, tiptronic, nice interior trim and look, acceptable price tag etc…

Proton once again lagging competitor to launch new car. Definitely MYVI beat SAVVY story repeat again on SRM (Not..Not.. to hatchback but 2-door only).

• drkhrs (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 6:18 pm

Nice looking car with an attractive price! Wonder what is its FC?

• goingberserk (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 6:36 pm

Looks damn nice. Anybody test drive yet. ?. A good buy but gotta change the rear drum brake into disc and can the air-conditioning system be changed ? Let say just take out the heater ?. Will that be possible. As for emblem and logos.. probably leave it though… dont want to upset the Naza SC….. hehehe.

• sewell (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 6:42 pm

well i think this is a great car and great money. dunno how long will it take for deliverly? BTW anyone have the actual price list?

• goingberserk (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 7:01 pm

its 68,888 OTR including insurance. Its listed Paul's blog if u havent notice it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 7:34 pm

So to be more respectable and precise to describe Naza position. It is better to put forward idea on "selling tune-up car" or "assembling tune-down/flat car"! Naza Bistari, Sutera, Ria, Citra, Sorento, etc all are "tune-down/flat cars", not "rebadge", "ah beng" or "R3" cars.

• vin_ann (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 7:50 pm

i wish i have the power to own it… just graduate, dun have much economic power…

only can aim at low end car… >RM40K

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 8:14 pm

vin_ann – So aim for entry level, Sutera lah.

• rosdi (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 8:41 pm

For some strage reason, the word 'Bestari' sounds too much like 'Bastardy' to my ears…

Dont take me wrong.. the car looks superb, if I am looking for this kind of car right now, this one would be on top of my list.

• suva (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 8:44 pm

i should have waited a while longer before changing my car. Naza 206 looks good and the price is affordable given its european background. saw the car and just waiting for test drive vehicle to be available. not sure whether any of the dealers have test drive vehicle. any idea?

• rexis (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 9:41 pm

Wow… tiptronics?! Amazing, appaulse to Naza. By next year when biofuel come out, wonder they will consider bring in some diesel model… :D

Wonder how the driver seat can fit a 190cm guy like me.

• hctiu (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 9:47 pm

:-)

nice hatchback

1.4L engine . Hmm…

• narrowband (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 10:10 pm

Good for Naza, good for the nation, the people, and the local automotive market. A very relevant car indeed.

• DAN (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 2:38 am

so which 1 have to buy, Toyota yaris, naza 206 o pro2 mivy??? in term of it!!. any 1.

• demio121 (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 2:48 am

i thought its a nice car. The price, in Malaysia is very competitive. The spec is impressive too.

One thing i don't like is the name. Bestari… sorry but first thing that come to mind when i heard the name is curry powder (dunno why..!!!).

• intermilan (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 4:01 am

if compare directly with its competitor (Getz, Aveo) on features, look like the two are beaten hands down.

Both car distributors must be preparing to banging their head to wall right now.

let put potong srm aside as to compare potong and peugeot (aka naza) is a bit unfair to potong. believe srm will offer engine with more bhp, but lets focus on the overall package.

i dont know how naza manage to convince peugeot to give this car accessories / features that not only on par with its ori sibling (all features of ori Pug 206) but exceeds on certain area. The greatest is the tiptronic. even the higher spec Pug206 1.6L don't have that!

the chrome gear knob, colour coded side mirror (originally, this is only for the 1.6L, so you can differentiate them), 206gti front bumper, etc etc..

all for rm68,888… OTR somemore…

FYI, ori pug206 1.4L like this cost rm89K before NAP. The price with NAP, should be higher (but surely they don't bring in new batch for a long time already).

rm89K minus RM68,888.. that's translated to reduction of rm20K or 22% for a car that is offering more goodie that the original.

made your own judgement. but on paper, the overall offerings is mouth watering.

the engine betrays the sporty looks thou.. thanks for that! if not srm tak boleh cari makan..

as from the rear drum… 74bhp enuf la using drum… wat for disc? drum still sufficient to handle 74bhp.

• motorhead (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 5:10 am

Ok la this car… I m looking forward to c the manual version.. hope the price will be lower… peugeot.. hmm… I really worry about the maintenance… my fren has a Peugeot.. but left idle, since he has no enough money to repair… trade in oso no point.. u know why.. not so many pomen can repair oso…. I know one workshop in ampang can repair conti cars… but hope this car sells good… so many on the road & make the spare parts more available.. kalau sales sejuk.. no point la… price oso doesn’t help much… good luck la Bestari… Mamak Bestari… can drink teh tarik in Bestari…

ps: Naza car’s names suck!!! I think their target market are kampong folks or pensioners..

Sutera la.. Bestari la.. what da heck?? Better put Naza’s AWANG or SARIPDOL…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 6:15 am

i agree with u motorhead..naza car's name suxx…very kampong name…y they didnt put a better name???sound like bengong la estari…skolah bestari ka ni???

• kanasai (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 6:18 am

motorhead… just because there is nothing bad about this car, please do not bash it's name la… i think Naza is really trying hard to make this car acceptable in the local market. That's y it uses Malay names or Local Names…

This car def looks great!! way too better than Proton. hmm… plan to wait few more months to get review of this car…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 6:40 am

I think Bestari is not suitable as well – Better put "Clever" or "Intelligent", ha, ha, ha …… aiya dono how to suggest oso loh. Anyway this 2 suggestions is better than Chancellor lor…….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:02 am

Or English version for Bestari = "BushTony", u all know who is both of them mah.

• intermilan (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:16 am

they such just stick with everybody fav "Naza 206"

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:50 am

Based on the assumption that we get 206 in 2006? In 2007 we shall be expecting ???

No complaints about the Naza Bestari (Sounds like Bestiality) Opps.taboo…sorry. Only thing is that the price tag of 68k will scare the hell of the living daylights out of many of us. It should be selling about 58k, what naza needs to do is to reduce their profit by about 5k and peugeot to demand less the same amount from naza. Then 58k should be achievable….

was having an after work teh tarik with a fren, told him about the naza 206, he was surprised when i told him 206 selling for 68k, he is driving an avanza, from the conversation, i do believe vios, city, aveo and the likes buyers may need to think thrice after knowing the 206 by naza.

Wonders how much is peugeot getting from naza for every 206 rolled out here…

naza should approach vw and start selling cars like:

1. polo 1.4 for 50k a.k.a. naza bororia…(sound weird though..especially if u r hokkien)

2. jetta 1.6 for 70k a.k.a. naza yedaria

3. golf 1.8 for 90k a.k.a. naza kolfia

4. passat 2.0 for 110k a.k.a. naza basaria

5. beetle 1.4 for 80k a.k.a. naza bituria

6. touran 1.6 for 100k a.k.a. naza tulan (sound even weird especially if u r a hokkien)

name a bit weird but who care as long as can sell. Naza, if you manage to pull off this coup i can bet 50% of the market share will be yours…shiok sendiri only…go night..folks

• vin_ann (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:50 am

wanna know whether the spare part also will be cheaper? n is locally made?

is it high maintenance cost is expected ? o the opposite leh?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:55 am

spending half an hour typin and sent but the comments disappear…frustrated

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 3:08 pm

it's there!!!

• dfendy (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 3:52 pm

for me was ok if re-badge originally on europe car, unlike that sutera originally hafei,

found on the http://www.peugeot.co.uk/ the 206 FC was:

Urban Drive : 8.9L/100km

Extra Urban: 5L/100km

Combined Drive: 6.4/100km

• kendo (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 5:03 pm

what a KAMPONG name!

for those buyers,

go and change the

NAZA badge too,

too kampong!

put back

PEOGEOUT LION premiere !

(anyway, 206 is CKD Loophole game,

abuse by idiotic CRONIES ,

to make EAST money!

FOR

Miserable rakyats!

• kendo (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 5:11 pm

for 69K,

running as PEUGEOT206,

with ABS. airbag,

hopefully,

will pressure

80K+ range

GREEDY vios, city, jazz, yaris, sentra

and Fxxxx

potong/ dua….to dump STOCKSSSSSS!

when is naza RM 80K 307 coming up ?

• carist (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 5:53 pm

MYVI 1.3 OR NAZA 206 ???????

Hi..i really need your opinion to make up my mind.

I know the waiting period for Myvi is 5 to 8 months (according the sales person i asked via phone) and i dont think i can wait that long…and seem to me that Naza 206 wouldnt take that long eventhough its price is around RM20,000 higher than Myvi (1.3 Auto).

I've already compared all the spec, engine and dimension between the two cars…and i know Myvi is good value for money in term of HP, torque, fuel consumption and probably the accelaration.

So now…if you were me…which car do you choose? please help…should i wait for 5 to 8 months to have Myvi? Does it really worth to pay RM20,000 extra to have a european car feeling?

• rootmy (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:02 pm

The Naza 206 Bestari comes with a 1402cc Peugeot TU3 engine. The multiport fuel injection SOHC 8-valve engine provides 74hp at 5500rpm and 120Nm of torque at a low speed of 2800rpm.

still using SOHC engine with expensive price. very SUCK la NAZA.

still using OLD TECHNOLOGY.

NAZA

Licensed By KIA

NAZA

Licensed By Hafie Lobo

NAZA

Licensed By Peugeot

• rootmy (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:06 pm

the name maybe NAZA bestardri

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:12 pm

REVIEW: BOLEHLAND P1 CODES – "BIZ PLAN", not Europe Holyland "Da Vinci Code" ah…..

Code 1: VW + P1 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P1

Applicable after 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

Code 2: P1 > VW = GOOD!

Applicable presently up to 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

Back to topic, VW invest 42 Million is based on their expectation on Code 1, but and at the end, P1 back up by NAP want to maintain Code 2, then the proposed alliance failed.

We can hypothesize that P1 negotiation with so many manufacturers (past, present and future) will doom to fill if both parties have this 2 mutual exclusive codes!

So Code 1 and Code 2 applicability is in relation to different timeline! One for current and one for future! P1 still can use Code 2 with NAP backup for its present short term survival. If P1 want to look for future long term survival, then they have to learn to embrace Code 1.

REVIEW:

Any probable that Code 1 & 2 can synergize if third party replace P1 roles?

Say the 3rd party is P3 = Naza

Code 1: VW + P1 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P1

Applicable after 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

So the variation, Code 1a: VW + P3 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P1

Code 2: P1 > VW = GOOD!

Applicable presently up to 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

So the variation, Code 2a: P3 = or

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Continued

So the variation, Code 2a: P3 = or

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 7:24 pm

Sorry the above comment appear partially only, I hope Paul can remedy it.

• carlover (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 8:08 pm

Designing a good car takes a lot of experience and money (Peugeot spent 6.3 billion francs to develop the 206) and if it is possible to use that design, why not use it and give customers a properly-developed product rather than one which spoils their ownership experience? – taken from Chips Yap, MotorTrader.

Now dont u think Naza is a smart player in the automotive industry? Why spend more on the design when Peugeot did theirs already.

Just my personal opinion. Btw saw the SRM, and guess what? Alfa Romeo 147 replica! and it has a center exhaust like SAVVY! which i dislike.

Okie hahah just thought of sharing my opinions

Proton Boleh! Naza Boleh! Malaysia Boleh!!

• ttoy (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 11:10 pm

too bad !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOHC engine………… sucks for this type of car.

1400 cc ?? at least has 100hp to 110 hp.

i don't think it'll remain fuel efficient in the future.

• motorhead (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 11:11 pm

Kanasai,

Just because there is nothing bad about this car, please do not bash it’s name la…

Bcoz the name is so bad, that’s why I bash la… why?? Cannot meh?? But if u see, I did say this car is OK at the beginning… anyway, dun so proud of this car la… in term of performance not so good after all… Savvy oso can produce 74hp & its only 1.1L.. only its tork a bit lower than 206… but remember this NAZA 206 is 1.4L, max speed for savvy oso 170kph.. & with 50k gen2 1.6 have disc brakes all wheel some more.. so still nothing bad to say about this car?

Ps: but its your money, spend it as u wish…. i will visit NAZA showroom trrw..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 12:13 am

dear motorhead ,

which NAZA s/room are you visiting? I just receive invitation from NAZA kg baru. got some launching/special int rate/test drive/freebies. also tomorrow.

and also Toyota s/room, yaris,wish launching and ALTIS FACELIFTED. anyone have the latest pic of Altis facelifted 2006.

p/s enjoy your visit tomorrow.but dont tell NAZA groups never recive back up from the G..they have the most numbers of AP's …that is a lots of money.

• demio121 (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 12:33 am

SOHC ke, 75hp ke, 8 valve ke… it doesn't matter. what is more important is the car meets the user's need.

Only 75hp…but the torque peak at 2800rpm which is good for our traffic jam road. how fast can we drive with our traffic clog road.

this 206 is not design to be a sport car. so even if it does have a 200hp engine, its gonna be dangerous to go that fast. someone said the top speed is 170kmph… the fastest we can go legally is 110kmph… you go faster its against the law. also how many of us does drive up to 170kmph???

the Pug 206 glup 6.4l/100km. that is not a bad figure. in times like this, this helps.

my point is, its ok not be have a powerful engine. its ok if its already 6 yrs old technology. what is more important to do give the buyer what they want and do it with quality.

At RM69k, 206 is giving us load of safety features never seen before in most cars under 100k in this country. Now that is something encouraging.

• demio121 (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 12:43 am

En. Naza, can you consider these in the 206 Bestari?

1. Digital air-con control (the Pug 206 GTi has this)

2. Headrest for the rear seat (just like Pug 206)

3. can i ask for an arm rest…??? d least like those in City

• sewell (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 4:04 am

just visit the Peugeot showroom. i feel that the cabin is quite small compare to Myvi. also i have noticed that the master break pump is located in the left (which normally car have it in the right) will the break can function well compare to the right handed located master break pump? what i know is our previous tiara master break pump also located in the left, people are complaining the break function are not well.? any comment please.

• motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 4:40 am

mycarstolen..

I will go NAZA showroom in cheras… near PGRM.. beside badminton court.. but I don’t expect too much la.. bcoz we ve seen this car on the road before.. a few la… but I want to see more on quality and built….

demio..

U dun understand motorheads.. & u dun understand what is it to be a real motorist.. if u like under power cars.. That’s your problem… you have no guts?? Oso your problem.. but let me tell u one thing.. to have powerful engine doesn’t mean just for speeding.. Doesn’t mean that you want to go 170kmp all the time… but most importantly we have more pick up to take other cars & your car will be more responsive for safer driving.. More power means more control!!!… to be legal or not that’s up to individual.. if there’s rich people doesn’t mind to pay summon for speeding, why not?? They make contribution to the country oso, RM150 for speeding satisfaction.. ok what??.. for instance, when is the last time u saw Ferrari’s drivers in Malaysia maintain speed at 110kph?.. I saw one in Kuantan highway, even my eyes can’t catch up….

Can you dig that???

Ps: I can elaborate more why we need powerful engines.. But don’t want to waste my time with some one who doesn’t understand about cars like u…. but if you are a lady, never mind la… I can accept your comment…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:22 am

motorhead said,

May 19, 2006 @ 3:11 pm

Kanasai,

Just because there is nothing bad about this car, please do not bash it’s name la…

Bcoz the name is so bad, that’s why I bash la… why?? Cannot meh??

Joe Ooi

OK lah. OK lah, ……. so Bistari look like kampong name and mamak restoren or sekolah Bestari, etc, etc. So put English name – "BISTRO", "so how motorhead agree with me for better name or kanasai in the opinion I am same boat with motorhead carry out bashing…………." he, he any comment from both of you?

motorhead – "…. but if you are a lady, never mind la… I can accept your comment… "

wah you "double standard" ah in your comment, lady never mind oledi, "jealouslah" ……….. "so next time you don't agree with me, I say I am lady……. he, he …….

Back to biz, today (19/05/06, 5.00 PM) I went to Naza showroom at Menara KLH in front of LDP at Puchong. Hafei Lobo @ Sutera look spacious then Savvy but interior finishes very leceh, look soft as well. If Iswara is "Milo Tin On The Wheel", then "Sutera also soft like "TIssue Box On The Wheel". Personal opinion is let other buy and see how this car in term of practical and any unecessary mechanical problems. For Bestari, I feel the interior is decent but space wise "not so spacious", maybe due to my over 80Kg weight. However, it is a good buy in relation to price under CarTaxLand.

So motorhead and mycar_stolen, both of you should put in your comment after visit NAZA showroom.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:31 am

In terms of sedan, Peugeot cars are not meant for back seat drivers except for 607, we were very keen on 407 but the legroom at the back really limited.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:46 am

Agree with NeedGoodCar, 5' 13" ……. like me, try Bestari back very limited like MyVi or Satria. But most of car for all brand don't have spacious legroom for below 1.8L or so call sub-compact and small size car. However, Bestari really have to squeeze in if front seat is move to back maximum, maybe me 5' 13" also lah…….

• demio121 (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 9:10 am

To motorhead,

you have a point about the overtaking but when you are driving a car with 75hp, you should know not to overtake without safe distance.

one more thing, i don't understand why when you don't agree with me, you gotta label me gutless and woman???

This is a free country, yo can call me whatever you want but i won't be drag into a name calling session with you.

Again, this car is packaged likely to be a city commuter not one for Fri nite thrill ride. There is a 206 GTi for that.

• intermilan (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 9:45 am

this is a small car. dont look for space too much.. want space get yourself avanza lor.. Bestari less suitable for tall or big people. but dont worry tall or big people, avanza is readily available.

this car 1.4L@68K indicate clearly Naza want volume. Wif volume only then can all hell break loose. baru la the 'chain-reaction' could happened.

We all know 206 were offered with either more lament and more powerful engine. the petrol engine at EU ade 1.1, 1.4, 1.6 and 2.0 (136bhp) & 2.0 (180bhp). but if naza offer 1.6 & 2.0 engine, nanti harga kereta Bestari sure naik tinggi, susah la nak dapat volume. Profit is the first priority here. Who blame them should also blame all car makers or better still, all businesses worldwide.

For anyone asking for power car, obviously there is only the SRM for you (given the price band).. Heard the 1.6L engine got >126bhp. Syok lah. That is more powerful than Satria Gti tu…Forget this weak Bestari. Go get yourself a SRM, can pandu laju-laju and potong-memotong jika perlu and be happy with it. Sure disc on all wheel to increase the safety for the racy driver. Braking sure good then. Bestari ni rear got drum brake saje. Dangerous lah.. buang karan only the 2 airbags.

For anyone who want to give some more comments abt this car, go visit the car first la…and thencome back and give la balance and unbias comments. a lot of ppl read your comment. u should know this.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 10:31 am

frankly if we compare it to da compettion..like myvi for example..it doesnt have much goin fer it,..firstly….for a person thats not good in car mumbo jumbo…..the 8valve 1.4 spec is a real turn off…coz its a general thing thats more valves mean more modern coz i have asked most of my frens includin girls and 90% find it so dated and start thinkin about thier dad's old ford lasers and stuff….myvi on da other hand has 16 valves and valve timing control and the famed japanese reliability…..secondly its da price…i feel 67k is a tad to high even if the manual overide feature taken into as we all know another local car has that too and its way cheaper…..i loved the 206 no doubt and would love to see it do well but its come a bit too late and to dates for us malaysians…..and the bestari thing is hugely annoyin to everyone i know….if it was 55 or less its a difinite fer me….but like i said….i dun see it makin sales after the intial rush..i would surely bet on that

• motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 5:12 pm

Not double standard lah.. but if you see aa… when a lady want to buy a car.. they never bothered about the engines.. hp ka?, tork ka?, power ka?, FC ka?, fuel injection ka?, SOHC, DOHC ka?.. they never asked this kind of questions.. janji cantik in their eyes, kira oklah..Baguslah ini kereta.. and furthermore, when we are driving, if they sit beside us, they used to say this.. “Bang, bang.. slow la sikit..” sometimes they say it on the bed…. And they used to say this.. "Abang, 110 je…"

Got it?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 5:55 pm

OK lah,noted your comment, you are not "double standard" but lady "lower standard" expectation also never mine for car, as far as it is cantik.

• jules (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:32 pm

I really agree with SoMeOnE, the car is really overprice and it is from the 90's design. Do we need the tip-tronic gearbox…alamak ..with 75 hp only.Furthermore Naza’s said that their market surveys showed that fuel economy was an important criteria for buyers looking for B-segment cars in this price bracket, so they decided to go for the 1.4 liter model which is fuel and road tax saving. Maybe use the normal auto without the tip-tronic and cut cost and therefore a cheaper Bestari.

• motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:37 pm

As for me, 4 criteria’s you need to look on a car: –

1.Performance

2.Space

3.FC

4.Price

Which ever come first is up to you.. Some prefer Space for 1st option, like Avanza… Some prefer expensive small car like e-for2… Myvi almost suit the standard above… But I dislike the soft body..

ps:That's motorhead's standard…P.S.F.P

• motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 10:20 pm

Ok.. seen it oredi.. well, as I expected quality and built is good… interior & exterior is very solid… no doubt it can stand for 10 years…. I guess this car is heavy.. Definitely heavier than satria.. now I understand why it needs more than 15 seconds to reach 100kmp.. if fully loaded maybe more or it might never reach 100kmp especially on Karak highway.. And if fully loaded, I guess this car will suck petrol like hell.. With this kind of solidness 206 sure need more power, 1.4L barely can move..

They said..

“so they decided to go for the 1.4 liter model which is fuel and road tax saving, but provides ample torque for a smooth and not “out of breath” drive”

Well, bullsh*t.. I guess it is bcoz this is the cheapest engine they can get for this car (engine is the most expensive part).. and with this price tag they can create more profit margin… it just business…

Conclusion is, good car fitted with poor engine….(our pre historic proton saga have 12 valve, Yamaha bike LC135 have 4 valve in its single cylinder) but may be the engine is easy to maintain… don’t know yet….

• Paul Tan on May 21, 2006 at 1:53 am

motorhead: 120Nm of torque is not too bad really, the Waja 1.6 with the Mitsubishi engine has 140Nm of torque at 2750rpm and the Waja is a heavy car as well. It's really not bad on the highway at full load. Sure it's not sports car performance but acceptable. So the Bestari with 120Nm at 2800rpm should feel only slightly out of breath compared to the Waja.

even the new Peugeot 207 uses this engine for the 1.4 liter model.

• motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 5:23 am

Yeah, I noticed, quite high tork at a low rpm… hmm… roaming at medium constant speed can save fuel… not for high speed for sure, like gen2.. Built for long distance at high speed..

But Paul, did u try the doors?? Why the ankle feels a bit stiff when we swing the door??.. Is it purposely made like this?? Or the other Peugeot like this oso?? What is the purpose??.. I think my little daughter wud have problem to open the door… plus, the door quite solid some more… I respect the solidness.. I hope more of our national cars will be more solid, Savvy is a good start for poton.

Ps: Looking forward NAZA 206 manuals… when arr? Hope it will cost below 65k…

• abe (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:10 am

Is it purposely made like this?? Or the other Peugeot like this oso?? What is the purpose??.. I think my little daughter wud have problem to open the door… plus, the door quite solid some more… I respect the solidness.. I hope more of our national cars will be more solid,

waah..lots of inquiries. meh. the naza people should answer the question. anyone here.?

Savvy is a good start for poton.

agree.but bcareful of ur spellng. forgot to type"R". or u want tu add "G" at the last space..heh

• jules (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:12 am

The auto should have been with the 1.6(at the same price) and the manual with 1.4. I think if you see the 206 in europe, especially in the UK (taken from UK Autocar) the 1.4 only come with manual only. The auto is not being offered at all. If it was 1.6 (16v version)with auto at this price then I would consider buying it… also go to Cycle & Carrige and buy the Peugeot badge and stick italso haha! I think a few owners would do this. THe badge area looks exactly like the original 206.

• calvin (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 12:58 pm

I doubt if the price of Bestari 206 of RM68.8k is "good for value" and is "strategically priced". An authorised sales person had stressed to me that the price would be around RM60k, not even RM65k, in end of March – early April.

It gives me a feeling that the management has made a final increment in the price after it received overwhelming queries and reaction from the public. Although the price has been about RM14k lower than the previous imported Peugeot 206, the price of RM68.8k is still of a burdening height that would scare off many potential buyers, especially when one realises the huge amount of maintenance fees needed at later stages after one owns the car.

Perhaps the strategy of Naza is not to make Bestari as popular as Wira or Gen.2, but instead, to market it as sort of a prestigeous car, and that would maintain the status of Peugeot 206 as a car capable to be owned only by the minority?

If the price would be fixed at around RM55- RM64 range (depends on variation in models such as auto/ manual/ sport, etc.), then I would say it is a value buy car! After all, it is just a small car compared to Gen.2 and Wira, which are priced around the range of RM50-60k only (not to mention the low maintenance fees)!

The price is no doubt kind of a dissapointment to many Peugeot 206 enthusiasts. Hope that the manual Peugeot 206 will be priced lower than RM60k, which I think is reasonable coz without the Peogeut 206 auto gear, it would be only half the fun of owning a Peugeot 206, wouldn't it? :-/

Another thing. I haven't seen the body and paint of Bestari 206. I hope the quality remains as good as the Peugeot's. Otherwise it would be another huge dissapointment!!! Arghhhhhhh….!!!!

>.

• calvin (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 1:36 pm

how come my comments did not appear?

• calvin (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 1:48 pm

carist:

From your comments, I would think that you already have the answer: Not worth it.

Peugeot 206 is a car only for enthusiasts, or people who can afford it. Another thing is high maintenance. That's why it is a rare car.

Bestari wise, price reduced about RM1.5k to RM68.8k, but still this price I guess won't make a big impact in the local car market. Maintenance wise, I have little idea of whether it will be cheaper compared to Peugeot 206.

• calvin (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 2:36 pm

I agree with SoMeOnE; the price of RM68.8k is way too high. Even if it is RM60k, it is still not a comfortable price. I really like Peugeot 206, or even can say "crazy" about it. If it is priced at RM55k, I would definitely choose Bestari rather than Wira or Gen2 or SRM or any Proton cars… (Toyota and Honda out of questions).

I have been waiting for nearly 1 year for this Bestari. Finally it is for sold. But, to my dissapointment, I am afraid most probably I will go for other cars rather than Bestari because I don't think it is good for money.

I hope the manula version will be around RM55k or less… without taking away the attractive features of the auto version (such as the available exterior body color, air bag, power window, etc.)

• calvin (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:36 pm

y all my comments didnt appear? filter or something?

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 9:07 pm

hope they will comeout with the manual version…automatic or wutever is not suited with the 1.4 engine…underpowered u know…mkn minyak byk tu…

• scudracer (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 9:39 pm

Even the current Civic 1.8 is SOHC, and the i-DSI engines are all 8-Valve. It depends on the application and the desired usage. The smaller the engine, the more important low end torque is. The best compromise would be to use a 16-Valve with variable valve LIFT! This is not the same as Toyota's VVT/VVTi, mind you.

At lower rpms the smaller the intake area, the higher the velocity because Q = volumetric flow rate remains about the same (amount of swept volume in each cylinder x time). Q =Av where A is Area. So, less area = higher velocity. Higher velocity has always been known as a prerequisite for good low end torque.

In Singapore the i-DSI is preferred over VTEC versions of Jazz and City due to its better low end drivability in town. The disadvantage is 8v engines usually dont perform as well as 16-Valvers at high RPM, highway runs. In town driving u won't notice a difference, and probably would feel the 8v is better!

But then again, Malaysians always want more right? Big Mac meal LARGE, BIGGER BODY (Camry and Fortuner and the new dinasour size Hilux). For your money, you better go test drive the real thing and decide for yourself before plunking down ur $$$.

• motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 11:25 pm

Yeah.. agree with u calvin.. i oso think the price a bit high… below 65k ok lar… & below 60k for manuals.. but i really scared about the maintenance.. i like the solidness.. but maintenance really makes me worry.. i might go for savvy, since it quite many on the road now.. but savvy too small.. this 206 is ideal for a small family like me… the space is enough..

ps: any peugeot owners here? pls share about your maintenance experience…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 2:08 am

motorhead said,

May 21, 2006 @ 3:25 pm

"but i really scared about the maintenance"

that is wut all of us think about continental cars…okla…mbe all of us think dat continental cars like peugeot,citroen,alfa romeo,renault and others a car dat scary to maintain…hard to find spare part…actually it is not nowadays…if u know where to find the workshop which specialist in this kind of cars….it is no problem for you…and to be honest…not all the spare part are expensive as u thought…mbe certain thing….some parts are cheaper than our national cars like proton or perodua….

it is not hard to maintain those cars as long as u really care about the cars….not jz bantai je gune that cars…it will alrite for u…me…own the continental cars…still…got no problem with it for a long time…at the same time…im using national cars too…compared with both…my national car gimme headache than my continental cars….dun worryla….nowadays…continental cars is not same as before…easy to find spare part and easy maintain la….as long as u care about the car and not bantai je that car….mmgla susah nak maintain centu…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 2:09 am

s**t…it is not appear at the screen…gosh…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 2:29 am

motorhead said,

May 21, 2006 @ 3:25 pm

"but maintenance really makes me worry"

dats all of us are thinking about….maintenance of continental cars…citroen,peugeot,alfa romeo,renault,fiat…bla…bla…nowadays…it is not like wut ure thinking of…easy to maintain…easy to find spare part…as long as u know where to find a workshop that specialize for these car….

it is not hard to maintain…as long as u dont bantai je that car…mmgla ssah nak maintain centu…i think all cars are same…if u jz bantai je….it is hard to maintain…mine…own a continental car for many years…still got no problem wit it…in fact…ive own our local car too….but..alwiz gimme headache…okla…maybe u are saying dat the cost of the spare parts is high…not all…actually some parts are cheaper than our local car's parts….that is the truth…dun worryla…i think this car is easy to maintain….maybe u hv to start surfing the website of peugeot's forum…wit that…u really got a lot of info u wanna know about peugeot cars….in fact…me too join my car;s forum where ive got a lot of info…and the most important thing…u can know which workshop u should go for ur car…which shops offer a good price for ur car's spare part…and alot…try la…jz my opinion…mbe can help u a bit…

• zealot (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:48 am

My spouse owns a 206 XT (TU5JP4 engine). what i can say about 206 is it is really good in their built quality and doesn't feel cheap. I would say the design is still 'up to date' compared to other cars in the same class. Can't comment either about the spare parts because the car has never been repaired since 1st day (Dec 2001) of purchase. The only thing that i find annoying is the braking noise from the rear disc brake. Everything else is ok. Hope naza will get their hands on the 206cc, hehehhe…here in aust is really expensive.

• mtay (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:34 pm

Paul Tan said:

"I remember falling in love with the Peugeot 206 a few years ago when I was in college. There was this blue one parked in the college parking lot belonging to some lucky girl with generous parents…"

Paul, were you in Sunway College? We could have been admiring the same car…

• topgunthang (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 9:57 am

anybody saw the advertisement for the 206 few years ago featuring an indian theme where the indian guy asked an elephant to crush a car to look like it. then went club-crusing in it with bollywood music??

bloody laughed my head off.

yea design still looks up to date.

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2006 at 1:38 am

mtay: no i was in help institute.

• pix0 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 9:30 am

Hmmm… it seems that the position of the spare tire doesn't quite bother most of you guys here =P I think potential buyers( especially the female ) should take into considerations that the spare tire is actually placed underneath the car! Which makes changing a flat diff, as a benefit of doubt… it could be easy to remove but i didn't actually try, didn't wan those sales guys in NAZA to run after me in KLIM =D

i noticed that nobody reply about the enquiries on comparison with MyVi, i happen to be another one considering these options and my MyVi will be arriving soon in 1 month's time. Should I consider a switch and loose the RM1k booking? =(

• pix0 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 9:56 am

oh ya, nearly forgot…. i'm not as sure bout this as with the spare tire. Can anyone confirms that you actually need to use the car key to open up the fuelling door( not too sure bout the name of this part… but u guys know wat i'm referring to, rite? )? If so, any reason behind doing so? Very likely its something to do with safety rather than it being a 6 year old tech, hor?

Paul, great job running this site! Thanks!

• arishine (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 8:40 pm

does anyone know when the Naza Bestari is available for a test drive?

• kt71 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:03 am

anyone knows the offical website of car?

• leem1974 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:42 pm

Its a good car thou! My wife just bought a week ago for our second car…..low fuel consumption….(its a small car anyway) …good performance….the only thing I dont like is the doors…you have to slammed quite hard to to close the doors…other than that maybe the logos….he! he! he! maybe they can design much better logo than the current one!!!

• pix0 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 8:30 am

the official website for the car? http://www.nazacorp.com.my/

• kt71 (Member) on Jun 18, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Thanks pix0. Yesterday i went to the showroom near my place, and found out it's not as good as i thought for a car ~ $70,000.

About the interior, a really big red karipap hazard swith placed on the centre of dashboard, and this red karipap is shaky a bit. Do they think the driver is blind? The chrome quality on the gear knob looks inferior and childish. Compare this with Jap's chrome and you know what i mean. The door knob shaky around its hole. The steering wheel is plastic, again, cheapness is felt here. If you poke your finder to the upper area of the side column, you will notice poor workmanship where pieces are loosely fit. Space is tight, but OK since this is designed to be small sporty car.

About the exterior, nice design from 206, luckily they never touch this or else…..I suspect they used thinner steel on this Bestari, since door feel is light and and if you knock at any body area, 'kok kok kok', looks thin. I felt the Peugeot 206cc before, its totally different. The 4 nuts on the each alloys wheel still has red paint on it, funny it goes to the showroom like this. Body paint is good.

You must really open the front bonnet to really discourage you from buying the car. 'Twing' and the front prick open just like you open the can of Milo. Oh, my goodness, many hard and cheap plastics found used. Wonder how long they can last under the hot engine and our hot sun. Inside you will notice how puny and obsolete is the engine. Are they the last few batches of engines that Peugeot wanted to clear stock? That's what in my head. Basically the engine compartment screams 'yucks'.

Never test drive it yet, but for ~$70k to get the same Protonism thing, better buy MyVi.

• whodz (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 6:42 pm

After over than a month launched never seen it on the road. I thinkla, those who bought it will change the original logo to puegeots'. That's why never seen it(Naza Bestari). Please, bloggers tell here, have you seen it on the road?

• fadzlims (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 7:11 am

Got my 206 a month ago. Love it at first sight and decided to buy it in less than 5 minutes (no intent of buying a car when walked into the showroom). It came without the air bags fitted yet, but for some logistics reason, I insisted the car delivered.

The first ride is to PD and I noticed the tires are too narrow as it started to get wobbly hitting 130.

I changed to a 15" Falken Azenis two days after. I had only 2 choices of rim as the bolt holes are 108 instead of the more common 110 or 100. The original tires & rim did not sell for much though. Just enough to cover few friends teh tarik!!! Then on handling is great. Naza should've used wider tire in the first place.

Before that, on the way to the tire shop, I noticed there is some strange sound under the hood -clunking sound – maybe drive shaft or absorber whenever I go over the speed bump. Went to a service center in Cheras but the mechanics were buzy with a lot of Suteras and said it will take some time to repair it. Since I had to shoot to Terengganu that night, I just went home without any repairs.

I floored the car on the LPT and got 150. I guesss because of the full load I had I did not get the advertised 160 but the handling is still damn firm – made me wished Naza had come up with the 1.6 engine instead.

Three weeks after, I got the air bag fitted by the Naza plant staff from Gurun. They came all the way to Kuantan. Thank you guys!

The strange sound I mentioned earlier- they got louder every day. I took the opportunity to ask about the strange sound but they were not able to help. I also noticed that my dash dropped on the right side. They tried to bring it up but to no avail. Besides that, there is a bolt under the gear knob console that was noisy & loose but I couldn't tie it back in. They said they will report it and have somebody contact me – but no body did after one week.

So I left my car at the dealer in Kuantan to get it repaired under the warranty. I only picked up the car 4 days after as I had to go to KL. The cheif mechanic earlier said on the phone everything was ready & okay. As I arrive he was eager to hand me my keys and said it was only loose bolts that making the sound. But when I inspect the car I noticed the dash still dropped. The loose bolt under the console was not noisy as it is no longer there! When I ask the mechanic, he said he tied a bolt from the inside and lined it with rubber so I could not see it. As for the dash, he said there is a bracket that is bent and they need to order the part from Naza and I have to come some other day. I know this guy is bluffing as he was ready to hand me my car saying its okay earlier. So what to do.. just go back hoping he has fixed the sound over the bumper. On the way home the sound were gone except for when turning at certain angle – there is a sublte sound. At least they did something here.

To add to my disappointment, the car had an extra 200km mileage and the feul tank was very-very empty. It was half full when I left it!! I guess this can really attracts someboby to have a test driving session over the weekend. Whatever..

The frustration did not end there, the sound when turning became louder each day and it only 4 days after I picked it up. This is irritating as I know something is really wrong and I fear if the thing will fail during driving. Worse, I don't trust the service center anymore.

In conclusion, this car is a very good car and I love it but Naza really screw it up for me – or in this case did not screw it well enough – which start to make me despise it as the days gone by. Naza have to rectify this problem very soon to the extend recall it in order to correct the tarnished image. If any Naza guy read this my car is number 53 that came out.

p/s: I got a long email regarding a lot of Sutera loose screws yesterday. I guess the is something wrong with their screw driver!

• sn00py (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 4:31 pm

just got my car abt a day… i want to ask why my car temperature is approaching 90+ while driving in kl town? is that normal or what ? please let me know. thanks

• arishine (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 11:37 pm

i came across a guy at Masjid Jamek STAR LRT station a few days ago handing out flyers of 206. i asked him whether they offered test drive, n he replied there was none at the moment. but he said the best he could do was to insert the keys into the ignition, or something like that. it was so frustrating to hear him say that. i mean, u'd think he was selling underwear or something, selling merchandise without being able to try it -_-. i ended up buying another car instead.

• ck (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 7:06 am

Guys, I am thinking of getting the Bestari 206. However, not very sure to do it coz a lot of people have been giving a negative feedback on expensive spare parts.

sn00py – How's the car now? Is the temperature still that high?

fadzlims – Has Naza fix up ur problem?

The main reason of getting this car would be fuel economy factor. However, most of my friend has asked me to consider Toyota Vios. Cheaper to maintain.

Appreciate your feedback.

• sn00py (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 3:58 am

ck,

well, the temp is always exceed 90 even at town drive or cruising and it is common for naza 206. The temp also remains when i drove uphill. no worries. For the FC, what i found out is 16+ cents for cruising in the highway while around 18+ cents for town driving. Yet i always throttle my car till 3k rpm. i'm not worry about "bugs" nor FC but i'm worried abt the mantainence and parts like everyone says. Oh the scale of the fuel meter seems more sensitive at above half tank, scared my ass off for the first time cuz the 1st time i pumped full tank and the pin seemed to drop really fast =X. So far my car has run more than 1500 kms and i found no prob at all. Oh yah, the biggest problem for my car is…….. the name "Bestari"….. >_

• ck (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 6:53 am

SnOOpy,

I have just'v call a showroom in Klang this afternoon. Did mentioned about the problem you guys have highlighted. Apparently for the temp issue is due to European Temperature setting. The salesman says that they have fix the problem and u only need to reset the temp setting to suit our climates.

Anyway, the waiting list is about 2 mths to get the car… Thanks for the info. Perhaps I will wait a bit longer before deciding on this.

Hopefully, Naza will have some kind of promotion before I jump into purchasing this car.

• sn00py (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:19 am

thanks ck, thats really helpful…

• ck (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:25 pm

Hi SnOOpy,

If the FC is at about 16+cent to 18+cent, then it does not make much diff with my Proton Satria 1.3(manual) as my rate is at about 17+ to 18+cent.

However, I do believe it's more powerful than Sat 1.3 with your throthle at 3K RPM. What is the optimum speed level at 3k RPM? My Sat is giving me at about 8Okm/h (I estimated long time ago as my Sat has not RPM meter when I bought it).

• sn00py (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 6:36 am

ck,

my optimum speed ? from what i know when i mantain my speed at 110km/h my rpm is at 3k sharp. What i meant previously was i throttle/push my car till my RPM reaches 3k when my car is at the minimal speed or during my car is stopped. yes, for the FC i didn't expect it to be very fuel economy coz it is auto gear and its heavy yet stable. Correct me if i used a wrong word to clarify coz i'm a newbie=)

• dr_feelgood (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 1:11 am

Hi Paul,

Need your advice on whther Naza has a service package and how many years warranty is given for the bestari ? Any official figures yet on the fuel consumption ? 1.4 auto is it underpowered or will the manual be a better option only problem is the missus prefers auto.

• fadzlims (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 8:47 pm

Update on my car, the noise under the car has been fixed by the Peugeot dealer in Kuantan about 1-2 months ago. Thank you guys. FYI Peugeot dealer is also authorized dealer for this car. So I recommend you buy the car from them and have it serviced by them. They got all the diagnostics tools.

As for the dash that dropped on one side, the Peugeot service centre was not able to do anything as it was factory defect and I need to contact Naza corp. Right now I cant as my wife is using the car daily. Might just accept that my car was a gimp at birth…

I have fitted the original Peugeot two rear door speakers – makes a real difference to the overall sound and fits well too. Also bought the bulb for the ash try and the soundproofing for the bonnet (carpet under the hood). The engine sounds a bit quiter now.

FYI – Naza issued a memo to the dealers, that changing the Naza logo to Pug Lion will make the warranty void. So, guys out there should think twice, …err but to think agin: if there's a will there's a way.

In conclusion, those who want to buy this car – it is really a good car as long as you are not expecting to go fast. Acceleration above 90kmh is very slow to a point it can be dangerous to overtake. The handling is very good. Maintenance is very good as the next service is 20,000KM. Parts not that expansive (buying from peugeot) as I've known Japanese original cars parts can be more expensive. Just that it might be hard to get Korean imitation parts. The car is also quite intelligent. The transmission, the wipers, lighting logic is what you expect from expansive cars.

• tishaban (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 2:05 am

Thanks for the update fadzlims. Sounds like Naza needs to brush up not only their technical but their PR skills. Maybe they should take a look at how Perodua and Suzuki handle complaints…

• ck (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 6:00 am

Hi Fadzlim,

Want to know, is your car temperature still at mid level when driving at normal conditions? Test drive it today, nice car… but pity the people sitting behind. Feel too much like Kancil.

I'v just checkout the 206 due to all the promotion that they are having on cars at the moment.

Quite good for 1st time buyer as they are giving RM4k discount (this includes insurance and road tax). But the sales rep was terrible in Klang. Cannot explain clearly to things like I mentioned, plastic feel, mid temperature issues or service issues). Kinda makes me think twice before buying.

The drawback of their discount… they don't deduct your NCB for you in the insurance that they are giving u.

• vin2000 (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Hi CK,

Regard the promotion on RM4K they have changed, u can deduct you NCB now, the RM4K discount was straight away deduct from the car value. Plus they have extra promotion, just lauched last week, RM2K accessories free upgrade. Making it a even better deal :D (promotion/extra promotion not appied/valid for sportvivo version)

Fadzlim,

For the Naza to Pegeot logo, u still can changed it, just when u take ur car for service just change it back to naza logo, the salesperson of pegout told me that & they will change it FOC just u mush keep the naza logo with you, thats all :)

• ck (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 6:19 pm

Well, it came quite a bit too late. I have been looking at 2 various car at the moment Vios 1.5E & City (IDSI). To tell the truth, Vios I can get it at RM69500 (the best deal that I push it to). More spacious but not as cute as 206. Besides, this car will be like a family car to me, therefore I didn't think the people sitting behind will be comfortable. Given a choice, personally I will go for 206 but it's just not spacious for me.

I am planning to go for City IDSI. A bit expensive but the FC is way good (but the drawback is that the car has got no power like the Vtech model). Too bad… you can't have both.

Just got the latest trade in value for my Satria 1.3 for RM17k which I consider quite good for a 2001 car. Planning to sell first and decide whether to get the City right now (before Dec) or try my luck early next year and bargain for a higher discount for a City year 06 production car.

What do you guys think?

• fadzlims (Member) on Dec 23, 2006 at 7:23 am

CK,

the engine tempreture at 90deg is normal. I experience the same with Fiat Brava before. This is partly due to the harder metal they are using for the engine. Different school of technology as compared to Japanese car. The also have precise machining of the metal block which explain why no run-in required. We must remember the car is designed for Europe.

But Naza have done some modification on the fan programming to accomodate to Malaysian climate (they had some engine performance problem at earlier stage), and I had my program reinstalled when I got the airbag fitted.

If you want a family car, don't buy this. But as a fun can, yes – given all the pros and cons & whether you can live with it. For me – its a kind of love hate relationship. I regretted it has such a small engine. I am seriously considering to void the warranty by changing the engine to 1.6 or even the 2 litres – still researching whether it is technically possible. If not for the HP financing cost already incurred, I would sell this car and buy a CBU 206 GTI.

tishaban,

FYI I copied and emailed to Naza corp my July 13 posting but got no reply. With this attitude, Naza Corp should be considered no more better that any Joe's Co. importer. They just assemble it here for tax reduction and nothing more! If you can buy a car for less from other importer- do it. You are not losing anything. For Naza guys out there, take this as a challenge by doing something to my car..

Vin2000,

I hereby officially declare I had not done anything like your sugestion to void my warranty ; )

Update: noticed there is about 1 second flat spot at 2800 rpm at second gear. At second gear, once it reached 2800 it went down to 2500 before it rev up again to pass the 2800 (while still in second gear).

• ck (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 5:55 pm

Thanks for the info Fazdlims.

Appreciate the feedback given. Perhaps if I kena lottery this weekend, then I can change my wife's Kelisa to 206! ha ha ha…

I just love the shape… too bad, with minimum salary, rising cost to cope… you just can't have everything.

• fadzlims (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 7:35 pm

Update:

My Bestari came up with a transmission warning last week(beeping sound & indicator lights snow & sport activated simultaneously). Checked with the Peugeot dealer using the computerized diagnostic tool and they said two valves need to be replaced. Waiting time for parts about 3-4 weeks. I guess the need to import it.

May be this explains the flat spot I reported earlier. This can be a good thing as it shows the diagnostic system is working rather than wait for more serious symptoms to surface. Lets wait for the result when they fix it.

• nggt2126 (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 7:54 pm

Hi,i don't have much complain about peugeot 207 bistari.But,i have 1 comment is regarding the price.This is malaysia car and the price is almost

the same as imported car.of coz……….lah………. size almost the same as well as the hp.If this is the case,i better buy imported.Why don't the goverment reconsider the pricing between local n imported car.U know average income for malaysian.We all are malaysian infact u manufacturer also an malaysian.In the other hand,i once……visit bistari at the show room.But,it me me very………very dissapointed.Why……..because of the assembly workmanship.the door strip almost left up coz……..poor workmanship.I just want to make a comment………WHY CAN'T WE MALAYSIAN CHANGE OUR QUALITY N RESPONSIBILITIES.DO U KNOW THAT WITH YOUR POOR QUALITY IT MAKE MALAYSIA BAD REPUTATION????????SO,NAZA AND PROTON….ESPECIALLY PROTON…..PLEASE WAKE UP AND DO YOUR BEST QUALITY….OTHER WISE DON'T THINK ABOUT 2020.

• dwtk (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 11:19 pm

went to the showroom recently, and loved this car so much, but after reading some reviews about it it torn my heart. Is it true that the engine will cut off by itself????? sexy body yet turns out to be a let down. how bout the spare parts? easy to get? it's either a pero2 viva, yaris or naza bestari 206 for me. can't choose among these three.yaris is even sexier but the interior ain't so spacious. kinda small though, viva's kinda cute haha…hmm…any ideas?

• fuzzbucket (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:44 pm

Whoaa..hello everyone. The last comment was left here in 2007. Now its 2009. All i gota say is that, like Paul, I also fell in love with the car as my friend who has a generous dad bought it for her. Have been thinking about this car ever since but always thought that its waaay too expensive for me. I just started work about 2 years ago, but now i really need to get a car, as i have not only given up on the KTM but aso taxis here in the Klang Valley.

The new RM425 monthly installments for 12 years seems like a really great deal. And friends who have used the car, have no complaints on the car performance/maintenance. However, i would love to get feedback on owners who have used it for more than 3 years.

Are the spare parts still expensive or not?

Paul, if you’re reading this, do give me some advice. This will be my first car and I am so in love with this car. The only thing making me think twice is the discouragements I’ve gotten from some fellow mates in CBT (they got to test drive it for 6months) but then again, they are probably comparing this little car to performance cars. Im not sure.

Thanks.
    Fuzz

• fuzzbucket (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:49 pm

Need some advice on the latest promo by Naza for the 206. Is it worth the buy and is it really still difficult to get spareparts? Is the car really of high-maintenance post its 3rd year (when warranty is over).

I fell in love with the car too the first time i saw it, and after test driving it, I love it even more. Im thinking of safety first. I dont wana get into an accident and be in a crushed aluminium can. However some mates of mine from CBT have been discouraging me on notes that the car is high maintenance and not reliable. Is this true?. Paul? Could you advice please?

Thanks,
    Fuzz

• pinky73 on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:12 pm

i loveeee this car, just that it felt much `umph!’ if we can replace the naza logo in front with the original peugeot logo..but still i like the car. cute yet sporty. can’t wait to have my own naza 206

• amazing…pheww

• zulims on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:32 am

hi guys..salam…hey pinky, hv u get ur bestari:)

• Rachel on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Hey Fuzz, is the promo still available? Its by Naza World is it? I'm also looking into this car as the promo seems affordable. I wonder if there's any catch. I have only started my first job not long ago and am looking to pay for my own car and not burden my parents. I need a car badly…for work travelling purposes. The promo seems good but my mum's concern is the maintenance of the car.

Any insights? Please advice.

Thanks! Much appreciated! =)

• Rachel on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Anyone knows about the Naza Promo for the 206? Am planning to check it out…

• Crookshank on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:38 am

i keep eyeing on this car since december 2008, applied for the loan but disapproved by Naza finance since im a contract worker and they only allow permanent staff or your parents/spouse as guarantor, not even your sis/bro. Anyway i have a way to get this car which im about to try l8r.

Went to an event just nw and met with my friend's friend who own a Bestari 206. The 1st thing she told abt the car is already negative. A lot of negative side told by her; high maintenance, always broke down, after 3-4 months of usage already hv to change the gearbox (and the mechanic fr Naza told her its normal). FC is bad, her usage weekly is abt RM100-120 around shah alam city..the only good thg abt the car is the driving experience. Other than that its a thumbs down. Now im in dilemma, i guess its nt a good buy, evbody advice me to seek for proton saga, better value in every aspects. Arrgghhhh tense!

Bt nway, i need feedback fr others..

• JebatDerhaka on Mar 21, 2009 at 5:11 am

I almost bought the car, I was luck that I did insist on a test drive. From my experience, the car really feel cheap, even cheaper than Proton. With the price tag, my view is that Proton car is a lot better car. At the same price, Proton car come with independent suspension and other accessories. Before you buy this car, do test drive it and compare with national car.

• Muzni on Mar 25, 2009 at 12:19 am

Hi. Just got my Lion last Saturday. Bestari 206 (auto, 0%, 12 yrs). Bought it from Nasim, Plentong. So, can't say much. So far so good, hehe. My wife and I like the car. Good handling, performance not bad. Never fail to turn heads. Have many features that can't be found in other cars. Safety is a priority. Intend to keep for a long, long time. Well, sometimes it all comes down to lucks. Have to handle it with love.

• Ahmad on Mar 25, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Hi all,

Got my 206 on 29 jan 2009 and it is now 2 month old.My family members used to drive continental car but due to the price most of us who change had opted to mostly national car. There were 204 304 504 305 405 505 205 in our garage before. Then saga wira satria perdana waja kancil rusa myvi fill them up.

Comfort wise non of the national car can match the French. Satria Gti, Waja Perdana have good driveable power but believe me 205Gti, 305 & 405 can easily match them . i have touch above 200km/h on all the 3 peugeot model but that was years ago. Not to condemn the national car but just telling the fact based on my driving experience.

Now back to my 206 Bestari. No complaint till now although i have change the Bestari/Naza logo to Peugeot. Upgraded the headlamp bulb to Osram Nightbreaker. Very comfortable easy on my pocket . Have make friend with the mechanic at Nasim Glenmarie service center and had been advise on the do and don't about the car.

It will be hard to impress people but one have to drive it for a few days to a have a fair view of the car. Half hour test drive wont give you the overall feel of the car .

My one full tank take me on average 550km on mixed driving condition. I have touch slightly above 160km/h with 4 person on board and i believe it can still go as the i can still press the accelarator. I went to penang last weekend . 4 person on board and luggage and tank full with fuel. Take a relax cruising along the NSEW and maintain the speed between 2500 to 3000r.p.m where the max torque is available. I make full use of the tiptronic transmission and enjoy the drive. . After a distance of abt 437 km i fill the fuel tank again which cost me appx RM45.00 = 25litrre. which come to about 17.48 km/liter. It suprise me as well.

I am not saying either good or bad abt any car but just laying down the fact and figure . I have no regret and the 407 also look good.

Bottom line is no matter wht other say, if you still prefer honda or toyota or wht ever, you will still say you prefer to your preference no matter how good other model is.

Although i now have the bestari, i still keep my national car with me and alternate driving them to work every other day.

cheers

• Muzni on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:42 am

Mr. Ahmad, maybe you can share with us some do and don't about the car?

• Ahmad on Apr 03, 2009 at 1:33 am

[quote comment="224256"]Mr. Ahmad, maybe you can share with us some do and don't about the car?[/quote]

Hi All,

I'm back again. Sorry for not replying earlier.

2 months has gone and my 206 had touch 10K in milage. Did the 1st service last sat on 29-3-2009 at Glenmarie which cost me RM157.00. Although i make no prior appt i just ask them to squeeze me the line up other wise i hold them responsible should the warranty void due to over milage. They just oblige. The car seem to geting better by the day and after the service i went to penang again. This time due to my heavy footed (rushing for time actually) my 1000km consume appx 70litres of petrol i.e 14.28km/litre with engine running between 3000 to 3500rpm. It was raining to & fro but the car is just superb. But dont follow how i drive as i decline any responsiblity to any follower.

Before i tell a little bit about the do and dont some unpleasant happen on Tuesday morning while on my way to work. While decending a hill the engine start to vibrate and all the warning indicator light on.Had no alternative but to stop my car. Call the help line and the attending officer manage my call quite well. As it was working day the tow truck arrive abt an hour later . My car went to Bluebox in Glenmarie again to cut short the stories i approach the mechanic who had given me some advise on the do and dont's before and he attended to my car. After diagnosis noted that failure with the alternator. Not enough current was supplied . As it was still under warranty the part was replaced and luckily stock was available. After spending almost the entire day at Bluebox my was up and running again.

So the first dont here is, if any of the warning light comes on, stop your car . Do not attemp to stat it. Call Peugot assit and get their service personel advice first. Worst come to worst have it towed to the service center and let the professional deal with it. But make sure you know your right.

Despite all this i still in love with the car and i an just one of those unlucky one .

Gotta stop and will continue perhaps tomorrow. Happy reading and happy driving to all PUG owner.

Cheers.

• ahmad on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:29 pm

hi

Here i am again.

After my alternator was change i notice slight changes in the gerbox characteristic. Call up nasim and was told to come again so that they can do the set up . They call it pedal learning? Anyone know abt his ?. Pls assist.

• kwan hock guan on May 18, 2009 at 10:41 pm

hi i am deaf , u tanya beli ? motor car 206

• johari on Jun 30, 2009 at 3:46 am

The bestari is great, but have a lot of problem, due to this is a old car …

and the service centre is really hard to call in …it was make me a lot of problem. the car is acceptable, but the side service was too bad !NAZA should be improved it!

• NOW NAZA BESTARI NEW CAR SELL RM44K ONLY! I JUST BOUGHT SINCE MAY2009, IT WAS NOT FAIR FOR THE CONSUMER …IF I WAN TO SELL THE CAR NOW, I'LL LOST RM25K ABOVE …JUST 2 MONTH ONLY …NAZA DID A RIDICULUOS PLAN !

• hi RR…i juz call Naza bt they said to me that the Naza Bestari still cost rm60++ ah…..may i know where can get it on rm44K…..tq

• jimmie on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:36 pm

I heard also auto goin for $48,888 otr….Can anyone confirm this? If it is so u think its a good buy? I already ordered a proton saga M line still waiting…..If its true maybe I want to cancel and buy 206 instead

Any advise?

• chaos on Aug 12, 2009 at 11:31 pm

Jimmie..its confirm…I was at a nasim klang just now…the salesman confirm…Now thinking whether to get the Bestari or the 308 VTi as car for wife….still doing research on the cars though…Nasim's really giving great features at low price..real value for money.

• Firdaus on Aug 14, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Yep, Went to Naza, Bestari 206 Merdeka price us RM 44K. Waiting period 1 month or less. Car assembled in Gurun, Kedah, parts from oversea. Black colour out of stock, Silver and Quartz Blue left. DP RM100.

Hmm, I didn't believe it myself.

• Hi Firdaus,

Is that tru the price is RM44k? In kedah is RM48,888 and where i can get RM44?

• nagflar on Aug 22, 2009 at 10:48 pm

for 44k auto . pls visit kg baru kl .

• nagflar on Aug 22, 2009 at 10:48 pm

for 44k auto . pls visit kg baru kl headquater

• Yes Naza Bestari only 44k auto. Visit Naza Glenmarie. See to believe.

• xyriona on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:02 pm

Juz wonderin is it 1.4 or 1.3?

• Rimau06 on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:52 pm

RM44k confirmed. Place my booking at Nasim Glenmarie on 15/08/09. Expecting car to be out this week or next week latest. Much a better car compare to MyVi (almost bought it earlier but came to know about this promo)

• jaikumaran on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:44 pm

I and my wife are UM graduates. We were recommeded by one my fren that Naza Bestari 206 Licenced by Peugeot is having promiton to RM44K. We went to Naza showroom situsted in Jalan 222, P.J. Were were shown by the promoter and we were impressed of that car and my wife and me so eager to buy that. She also indicated to me that she will arrange for me a full loan without pay any down payment. In addition to that, We were told by her that we need to pay RM100.00 as processing fees.

However few days later, i make a call to confirm for the car. The promoter told me that no more stocked . I and my wife were very dissappointed with the answer. I and my wife insist to buy the car. We were plan to get the car before Deepavali.

Can you please help me to solve this problem.

You may contact me at 0129259531 or email at [email protected].

• smuzni on Aug 28, 2009 at 7:37 am

Sorry to hear your predicament. Have you try other branches? Or, maybe, another states – if you really want to try.

• Rimau06,

did u received ur 206 which booking on 15/08/09??i had also order since 9/8/09 at Nasim Bangsar,..but untill today still didnt get my car yet…:(

• mrleehb on Sep 08, 2009 at 6:30 pm

already book 1 at kelantan 2 days ago.

rm48,999

DP = rm1000, processing fee = rm250, plate = rm300(JPJ)

loan = rm48,000 at 3.5%

• I book a car at bangsar Nasim since 09/08/09…and my car loan approved on the second week, then i called up the agent , he keep saying that the car expecting came out on the same week,sure have car…but untill today 08/09/09(delaying of 3 weeks)…i still didnt received the car yet, called up the agent jz now, he told me NOT Comfirm that sure have car for me or not…!!

what kind of service is this!!!

* so, i wan to asked all frens from here,got someone also book the car from NAsim Bangsar??when was ur booking date???and get the car already ???

• I book a car at bangsar Nasim since 09/08/09…and my car loan approved on the second week, then i called up the agent , he keep saying that the car expecting came out on the same week,sure have car…but untill today 08/09/09(delaying of 3 weeks)…i still didnt received the car yet, called up the agent jz now, he told me NOT Comfirm that sure have car for me or not…!!

what kind of service is this!!!

* so, i wan to asked all frens from here,got someone also book the car from NAsim Bangsar??when was ur booking date???and get the car already ???Thanks a lot!!

• Rimau06 on Sep 16, 2009 at 8:09 am

Hi TSL,

I actually booked on 08/08/09 at RM44k, one day earlier than you :) and LOU from bank to Nasim G'marie on 15/08/09, but waited and waited, call after call to SA and finally the branch manager told me no more stock. So decided to cancel booking on 08/09/09. For your case, I think also no stock, as next batch is likely in Nov'09, but if you want to wait, my advice is to secure in writing from the branch that promo price will still be valid, otherwise you may have to pay at potentially higher price!

Have book another car and will be getting my car this Thursday.

• may i noe the rm44k bestari 206 still valid ?i bought it on may 2009 wit price rm61200 with 0% interest. i was lost a lot from it ,it was drop bout 30% n not a reasonable price…any one same case wit me ?

• may i noe the naza bestari 206 still valid on price rm44k? i bought it on may 2009 wit price rm61,200 & 0% interest .any one same case with me ?

• Y untill now still no stock??? cant wait anymore!!!

• i booking the car on august also….

• LL_Hv_2_BUY on Sep 23, 2009 at 2:00 am

Can anyone here share the parts for 206?

• mrleehb on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:30 pm

halo guys.

i already receive my baby lion a day before raya. running ni good condition….

* mr/miss "mkw" 0%???? how much is your monthly repayment amount??

• nadia on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:36 am

hi.. saya nak confirm betul ke saya kena hantar Bestari bila dah sampai 2500km for 1st inspection? according to SA kt PJ, dia kata tak perlu.. so im bit confused here..and which r the best place to do so? Thank you

• Always said the thru on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:09 pm

Hi, I have purchased this vehicle and was delivered to me by middle of Sept 2009. What can I say,it is a good car. I like this car and love it but…..few defects happen…long list to the car dealer & NASIM. Started with break (major prob), tires vibrated and few more minors thing. All has been replaced and rectified (almost) thanks but THE MOST important matter I would like to highlight over here is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE (during delivered, after sales service, rapport and etc totally ZERO) provided by the Car Dealer; Sales person. The conclusion is this car dealer company (Ampang area)…..only the boss know how to do work w/out the boss nothing can be done….Luckily the boss is different makes the company survived. Knowledged as Sales person and product ZERO! Service….better do not to be discussed…will make you damn sicked!!!! As I said, the only person know how to do work and settle the problems is the 1 and only, BOSS…So I understand ….actually I tried to change my perception but it proof me well what people said was right……They just required 1 time business not further or future carry on business as practiced by others…ya their business succeed but without pride…..What ever we do, do with pride, passion and belief! All the best to you guys…cheers

• tideland on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:20 am

Does anyone know how much is the 206 now?

• pacifictuna on Mar 21, 2010 at 9:14 pm

still cost ya 49k for auto and 44k manual. but will have to wait as the ready stocks were already exhausted. i've booked one (just in time before the interest rate went up) but still waiting……

• tideland on Mar 22, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Pacifictuna,

how much was the interest rate when you booked? Can send me your SA's contact? I want one!!

[email protected]

• Rimau06 on Mar 22, 2010 at 10:56 pm

I have cancel my booking b'cos branh and sales ppl cannot confirm or guarantee delivery. Move on to purchase Suzuki Swift, but still heartsick whenever I see 206 on the road ….. however no regret change to Swift…. all the best to the those who r still on waiting list.

• mrleehb on Mar 23, 2010 at 10:19 pm

is it true, they will kilang lagi 206??

• tideland on Mar 24, 2010 at 5:33 am

Have called a few dealers and were told told of different prices, from 51k to 53k. i guess i better move on..

• So many problems in sales center, i guest owners are experiencing spare parts & major car problems in service centers. I mean those CKD unit.

• kenny_lim on Oct 27, 2012 at 12:38 pm

a rubbish car, QC issues on the first day till now…..engine dead. water went to the engine from the water tank…what a joke. will be selling off this piece of junk once i get it out from the workshop….naza and peugeot, go kick the bucket with ur cars

• average_joe on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:35 pm

this may be old but is it possible for me to get this car brand new and freshly out of any naza showroom this day?? i really want to buy this car as my first car because i already graduated and ready to get a job. is there any naza dealer around klang valley?