Proton Satria Replacement Model 1.3 liter

srm13_1.jpg

srm13_2.jpgThis should be the last in the series of spyshots for the Proton SRM (Satria Replacement Model). Spyshots for this car have been around since early 2005, with my earliest post containing spyshots dating back to March 29 2005. This was before the Proton Savvy was even launched, so it’s really been quite a while. Hopefully with the extensive testing that seems to have been done, Proton will make a killer with this 2-door hatchback designed to replace the Proton Satria. I am hoping that this time Proton will have some continuity in it’s model names and call it a Satria again. There’s no bad vibes associated with the Satria name, and the Satria GTI was an excellent car. The Proton Satria R3 did the Satria name good as well. So I don’t see why a new model name should be used.

The car in these spyshots seem to be a lower spec model. Notice the lack of a rear windscreen wiper and the usage of normal steel rims with bling bling style rim covers. I guess this should confirm that the Satria Replacement Model will come with the bling bling rims design instead of the black 5-spoke ones we saw on MPH’s spyshots of a Satria Replacement Model with a cardboard intercooler at the bumper. I am guessing this is a 1.3 litre model, which should mean the Satria Replacement Model will be launched with both 1.3 and 1.6 variations at once. The middle exhaust pipe location is still there, and I really like the rear lights. It’s of the crystal reflector variety but doesn’t look horribly Brothers-like like the ones used on the silver special edition Iswara. Pretty nice actually. The whole car looks muscular and sporty. The shape reminds me of the Seat Ibiza. Fortunately this time there are no quirky design elements like the Proton Waja look on the Savvy’s rear hatch, except for the bling bling rims. Of course, that is a matter of personal taste really. And rims can be changed easily. You can’t really see the dashboard properly from these spy pics, but I think they look grey to me.

Rumours are that the SRM will be launched very very soon, it could be even next week. Price range should be around the Gen2’s prices, perhaps slightly less. We’ll see how the car really looks like when it is launched. Especially the interior, since uncamoflaged photos of the SRM exterior were available for quite some time. One thing I can say for sure, it surely looks alot better than the BMW 1-series.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 2:09 am

OK lah, if it is not old Satria body then it should be Mits Colt old body!

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 2:10 am

Seriously, as compared to the newly batched 206 bestari, the SRM doesn't stand a chance in looks, unless P1 are ready to sell it at a reasonable price like 30-40k la. Can't sell more than that because of it's quality.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 2:19 am

ha ha ha……

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 2:36 am

sorry…didn't mean to be rude..but couldn't help it.

• pendek (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 2:36 am

well…. SRM or whatever…. just launch it,

people are getting tired waiting.

• acbc (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 3:02 am

Don't care what Proton dished out. It's the quality we are looking for! If they can't deliver it… no use buying it even if they up the ante by dumping a turbo-charged engine inside or maybe full leather trims.

• acbc (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 3:03 am

Also, I think this 1.3 model is using the same 1.3 Campro from Proton…

• hazremi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 3:50 am

lets just hope the car has good quality,this car will be as make or break for proton.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 3:51 am

The mirrors at the back of the doors are not suppose to be like that right? Massive handicap for viewing rear objects at the side.

• silverwave (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 4:01 am

i feel the old satria looks better. This new model looks a bit weird from the side and back. Front is so so only.

The exhaust spoils the whole thing.

anyway, i'm hoping to see the interior.

• Initial D (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 4:19 am

when is it launching? i heard many rumours……..duno which one is true…maybe all oso not true….hehehehe

hope they rili throw in a good engine…………

well,cant say much except….wait 4 it to be launched , then oni comment…..

Cheers!!!!!!!!

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 4:23 am

stupid blink blink rim really annoying….

I wonder why they use a rim cover for the lower specs car rather than a sport rim…….save cost or what?

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 4:44 am

U mean the spinners? It looks like it, but they doesn't spin, and yes it looks like ….. sigh dunno how to describe it……one worn— not nice. they should have a look at BMW or VW rims, that's what i call classy and sporty. Hey anyway i heard from Yahoo!, the Indian Car manufacturer are producing a car that is priced not more that USD 2000. Amazing huh? it's almost like RM 8K in Malaysia…..hahaha…..just like a super bicycle price …XD

• HMMaster (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 4:45 am

maybe Satria.2? xD

• motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 5:33 am

Haiyaa… SRM??.. still 2 doors??… why la… this one I can not accept… my daughter susahlah mau masuk… bakul anak pun susah masuk… like Adnan tank!!!… this one is for u la..bachelors outside there… u guys wud be happy la… but someday u might settle down like me and have children…. And u will understand what I mean… Hahaha…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 5:43 am

quality first proton….we want a better quality…hopefully…with a very late launch…very very late…this car will be what all of us expect to be…

• hazremi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 5:54 am

this car will be as make or break for proton

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:11 am

wow nice looking car…..

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:21 am

____________________________________________________________________________

Quote:

motorhead said,

May 20, 2006 @ 9:33 pm

Haiyaa… SRM??.. still 2 doors??… why la… this one I can not accept… my daughter susahlah mau masuk… bakul anak pun susah masuk… like Adnan tank!!!… this one is for u la..bachelors outside there… u guys wud be happy la… but someday u might settle down like me and have children…. And u will understand what I mean… Hahaha…

——————————————————————-

haiya this SRM to who r still single or to who already married and wan buy 2nd car for his own daily use this SRM would be the choice…for u,u still have another choice like waja or perdana or gen2 or wira…for that sure SRM 2doors to target to the younger user…even "org tua also drive satria GTi(example: like actor M.Rajoli..)

• motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:49 am

hahaha.. ala even for youngster pun susahlah.. yr frens nak masuk pun susah.. if your have many girlfens oso susah masuk…. if u want romens in the car oso susah mau lari (if get caught by wife)… lets boikot la SRM, and make them make it 4 doors like 206…..or 2 suicide doors oso acceptable..

• homicidal (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 7:33 am

guys, come on. This is a SPY SHOT. SPY SHOT! that means these pics were smuggled out from some proton testing track.

carmakers never reveal the way a car really looks before its launch. they boarded up the windows and put cheap paint on the car on purpose so that the public wont see it before its properly launched. it adds to peoples anticipations.

from the general shape of the car, i'd hav to say it looks alrite. i jz hope proton paid more attention to their transmission and build quality this time

• drM (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 7:38 am

i got to give this one a fair credit. lets not forget Satria has always been the most sought after among the other P1 models. i am hoping this SRM can certainly bring another dimension in term of quality in P1 cars..bring it on!

• demio121 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:26 am

A little bird in Proton told me there will be a 1.3 and 1.6 SRM. Coming real soon and this time "pretty sure" no more delay.

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 9:48 am

Hmm that's true, 2 doors really suks, no matter youngsters or old man. very hard to escape if got any emergency.Such as sudden nature calls, and so on.

• intermilan (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 10:00 am

the look sepatutnya ok.. let wait & see the build quality. if 'tough' like Savvy, kira ok la. if 'tougher' then better. but hope easy to close the door.

For proton ppl who r reading..

Savvy doors are hard to close. Kena hantam kuat2 baru mau close properly. A far cry from Kelisa door. Slow saja tolak pun dah cukup. Kalau macam ni, lepas 6 bulan nanti door locking mechanism, power window rosak la.. then org hantam proton pasal power window lagi. kecik punya hal, the whole brand goes to the drain. the rubber part between the door and body might be the reason. Takkan korang tak perasan benda ni?

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 10:07 am

Can't help but feel it still looks nearly identical to the Mirage Cyborg with different tail lamsps, front and rear bumpers. The shape of the SRM and Cyborg are exactly the same. Might even be the same chassis as the Cyborg.

• wisdom_bin (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 10:53 am

how can you say kelisa doors are easy to be closed..at least not all laa..i have problems with the doors..realy need to push real hard to get it closed firmly..n for the srm, hope that it'll be released real soon and of course..with quality..

• juney (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 11:34 am

da front look like gen2 and da back look like savvy or perhaps a bit kia rio =_= Personally dun feel it is nice. & da interior also :/ well i got da specs and piccie in my office :s

• Paul Tan on May 21, 2006 at 11:43 am

homicidal: actually it's not from proton's test track, these pics were taken up in gurun

• torq (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 3:19 pm

Why Proton like to make car without BUNTUT ???

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 5:42 pm

I wonder why don't they cut out their Satria and Iswara aeroback production and produce a proper hatch back like honda civic type R or golf lopo type of car, but need to be spacious and comfy, and not negelecting the power of the car. (no UNDERPOWER car please, NO WONDER TOP GEAR SAID THAT WE ARE JUNGLE CLEARING COUNTRY, DO SOMETHING TO PROVE THEM WRONG)

• raptorclans (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 5:48 pm

the satria has always been a 2 door… if want a 4 door get a GEN.2, it's the same car, just like satria 1 is based on the colt/mirage/cyborg, which is a 2-door lancer (wira)… platform sharing, ie wira, satria, arena, putra… :)

btw i like 2 door cars, have been driving 3 diff ones be4, but my current one has 4 doors (not entirely my choice)

• kendo (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:16 pm

LOOK at THAI,

shame On U – NAP!!!

————

-Thailand's move from trucks to parts and beyond

Posted May 20th 2006 2:03PM by Joel Arellano

Filed under: Trends, Trucks/Pickups, Etc.

With all the hoopla over China's auto industry, Thailand, which is more known among Westerns for its tourist industry than manufacturing capabilities, quietly made more than one million vehicles last year.

The country is Asia's third largest exporter of vehicles after Japan and South Korea, with much of its success attributed to its government's relaxed attitude towards foreign investors. Unlike China, automakers such as General Motors or Toyota are not required to partner with a domestic firm. Low production costs makes it simple to mass-produce vehicles, primarily trucks, to export to countries like South America and Australia. Interestingly, a study by Japan shows Thai-built vehicles have better quality than those built in China or India.

Thai industry is diversifying, however, realizing a potential weakness in only manufacturing trucks. Toyota has made the country the center for its International Multi-purpose Vehicle, a single platform on which it will base many of its vehicles. The country is increasingly manufacturing and selling car parts and kits. Finally, the government is approaching the U.S. to negotiate the 25 percent duty it currently imposes on all foreign trucks.

[Source: International Herald Tribune]

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 6:48 pm

So Thailand under liberal automotive policy is on the right direction. Not only assemble passenger car but to joint the "heavy league" by assmeble heavy truct as well. Thai put up "Yound and Energetic Muay Thai" show likely to become "Heavyweight" cum "Lightweight" champion in auto industry, at least on Asia. On the other hand, in our Bolehland "Heavy Tax Haven", we become "Kampong-weight Champion" cum "Re-badge Champion" by "produce" small micro featherweight "ayam kampong car" and "dumping ground for re-badge old cock" cars. P1 is the "Sick Chicken of Asia" – birdflu lol, H5N1 very dangerous………….. SRM – "Small Rusty Milo-tin"

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Cheers to Proton Bashers!!

2 doors car,just wait and see who'll buy it.

Next election,don't vote for BN…that's all…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:22 pm

Or SRM – "Sick Rooster of Malaysia"?

In sport game – say in EPL or any football game, sometime there is "Replacement" on existing best players in their team due to facing injury, send off the pitch (red card), etc. This at least imply "Replacement" player either reserve or 2nd best player(s).

In scientific and technology field – The basic priciple of scientific requirement is any "scientific evident" shall be at least carry out 2 time and can be done by other as well given same material and equipment/test tools to produce certain same result. The Thrust-powered SuperSonic Car (Thurst SSC, http://www.roadsters.com/750/ ) has the official record as world fastest car set at Mojave desert by British using 2 fighter jet engine. The requirement for this record is it must drive "2" time from point "X" to "Y" and opposite direction. This is to fulfill the scientific requirement of at least 2 time the experiment must be carried out in order to be accepted as "Scientific evident". Of course this endeavor is carried out by many people before them.

So the ability of David Copperfield to walk thru Great Wall of China is one man show endeavor and if he can do it 2 time, still can't be accepted scientifically because other can't do it. That why this kind of endeavor is "he can do it and other cannot do criteria" is classified as "Magic Show".

Back to biz, R & D and Innovation is the scientific's jargon of "Improvement" and new findings/discovery, which shall be better/superior if not best from predecessor in certain parameter – e.g. performance, tech features, etc (but not necessary lower price due to inflation, etc). For example, in computer world, Pentium 4 always better (denote as ">") than 3, Pentium 3 > Pentium 2, Pentium 2 > Pentium, Pentium > 486, 486 > 386, etc, etc.

By the above explanation let us see SRM is doing "Scientific Endeavor" or "Magic Show"?

1. If refer to "Replacement", it is at most "2nd best" either compare to its existing range of products or compare to all other brands available in the market.

2. By adopting "Replacement" itself (at least P1 "honest" in this matter) it doesn't denote that this product achieve scientific innovation and carry out extensive and most advance R & D which resulted in "Improvement". That means SRM at least is not "superior", better new products or more tech advance compare to all other brands in the market, and at worst, there is "no improvement" compare on existing model – Satria. Perhaps and likely "cosmetic" change only – same "old body" but new make up only.

3. Do it is "Magic Show" – it is not because this endeavor is achieve by Mits and was done it decades ago ("yesteryear" scientific endeavor which become obsolute by today standard, just like 386 computer) and give this "free" mould to P1.

4. So, it is "reserve or 2nd best player" by EPL standard. SRM would be best describe as "2nd rated" product in its class, perhap "worst"! Nothing is exciting and new if compare to the best of the best in the market.

So do not expect SRM can create market excitiment and "buying spree phenomenon" as what happen to say for example, "MyVi" and "Avanza". This may be sceptic opinion, but create "market disappoinment" is highly probable given SRM is "Replacement" but not innovative and "Improvement" product.

So SRM, if ever can survive in the market, is not depend on innovation with latest tech feature and most competitve price. But back to square – the Money-Grabbing-Monster-Machine-CarTaxLand-NAP-consumers-make-"patriotic-contribution"-unequal-distorted-supply&demand-curve. Still same old story ………..

Ha, ha, ha, …… Let see2 and look2 what happen next week to SRM!

• Dogster (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:26 pm

Hey did u all notice, this SRM has similar design to the (vomit blood) Savvy Design? Over all the shape, it looks like an extended Savvy edition. :S OMG

Lucky this car doesnt have the ugliest backside ( in my opinion) like the Savvy.

Ayo pls put in a 1.8 la for heaven's sake.

Hey I got a question , How does proton design their cars and do a design quality check?

I hv read somewhere sometime ago, that car manufacturers b4 they want to build a new car, they design a dozen or more designs and invite like 100 or more ppl from the public to give their view on the designs. Does proton practice this?

• Dogster (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:31 pm

How abt,

Superior Rubbish of MAlaysia? :D

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:40 pm

No lah Dogster – "Smelly Rubbish of Malaysia"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:41 pm

The SRM in the photo darken up look like "Tong Sampah on the Wheel"

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 8:59 pm

at least the rear end is not like savvy…which is like penyu…yes…like penyu…hahaha…but…this srm…the rear end okla…n still look like a old model of rover…cant remember which model…but almost similar design with that car…however…it is acceptable…:)

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 10:04 pm

Body seems abit narrow… Old satria was broader… This new one doesnt seem it cud take the corner like the old 1.. =p.. noob comment..

• assimo (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 11:15 pm

2 doors not bad for me…but more better if proton produce some 'advance' two door car like mazda RX8…very practical..

• motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 11:45 pm

If you plunge into to the river.. this 2 doors car won't help you at all… 1st, in the water your power window will jam, so you can not open the window.. 2nd you only have 2 doors or 2 exit.. if the other one get stuck, you will have only last option, and in the water you will find out it is a bit hard to open it.. this is because of water pressure from out side… it will open easier only when water have filled inside the entire car.. then you have few second to exit or….You’ll exit anyway with the help from the divers… Just think, how many minutes you can hold your breath? 2? 3?.. all this can happen and end in less than 2 minutes…

4 doors help, especially if you have manual windows for the rear doors… and you have 4 exit.. that means 4 options….

Nonsense?? Just sit and think about it… Many cars plunge into the water recently… One of them managed to escape…

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 11:56 pm

It looks more like the old Kia Rio, but this one is a little shorter. Looks like those designer in the proton had being brain washed into dumbasses. This one better name it as proton niama.

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 21, 2006 at 11:59 pm

How good a car handles or attack a corner doesn't 100% depend on the wideness of the body in this era, it's the technology of traction control. and the engine placement as well. moreover have to see the wheel base of the car.

• narrowband (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 12:09 am

Not bad. Hope the R3 and GTi versions will come out quickly. And please increase the number from 150 limited units to… probably, 250 or 300.

1.3 liter campro, steel rims covered with plastic wheelcaps and non-painted bumpers just don't cut it.

At least offer alloys and full painted body.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 1:52 am

proton niama???niama..stand for wut??anyway…hopefully there is no optional for airbags…hopefully already fitted in this car…

• ckcheong (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 2:20 am

StingRayINC said,

May 21, 2006 @ 9:42 am

I wonder why don’t they cut out their Satria and Iswara aeroback production and produce a proper hatch back like honda civic type R or golf lopo type of car, but need to be spacious and comfy, and not negelecting the power of the car. (no UNDERPOWER car please, NO WONDER TOP GEAR SAID THAT WE ARE JUNGLE CLEARING COUNTRY, DO SOMETHING TO PROVE THEM WRONG)

Protong are still a few light years away from producing the type of car you're mentioning. If they can improve the quality, that is consider a major breakthrough already, I dare not mention the rest.

I don't think there is anything so special in the SRM. Guess still using the old car tech. Guess wouldn't even have VVT engine? How long has VVT engine been in the car market. See how far protong is left behind.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 3:14 am

Haha…. refering to Stingrayinc's comment.. i agree that traction control and other stuff mentioned wud affect the cornering.. but problem is.. Proton is using ox cart technology and its going 2 remain that way forever.. i guess.. so im just guessing that a wider body wud be good.. =).. Sigh..

• Bounty hunter (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 5:18 am

potong niama….. Srm= Sickening Rubbish Malaysia car.

Even though SRM is priced at RM40k, we can get Honda Jazz at that price at THai. ALl because of NAP & shameless P1.

ANd the bad news is P1 will never close shop.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:14 am

Gallardo – wide or narrow body, high or low gravity, (as you say if they use ox chart technology) the old body is outdated and does not today safety standard, whatever they do, performance wise, they will fail misery ………

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:14 am

LOL true also, true also, hahaha….ox cart….

• Initial D (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:35 am

duno hv cps or not………….

when it come out? duno…………

wat spec?duno………..

wait….wait…..wait……………..

Cheers!!!!!

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:45 am

Oh yeah ka?? haha.. paiseh la.. but do u think the new frame is any good? think it wud have proper crumple zones?? We dont by proton car's for their safety features neway.. =p.. non existent.. its a coffin with and engine and wheels.. =).. over exagorating though.. dont kill me 4 that.. Lets hope proton proves me wrong.. Actually.. i might be wrong already and there's ntg 2 be proven.. I noob la.. *blushes*

• assimo (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 4:49 pm

motorhead said,

May 21, 2006 @ 3:45 pm

If you plunge into to the river.. this 2 doors car won’t help you at all… 1st, in the water your power window will jam, so you can not open the window.. 2nd you only have 2 doors or 2 exit.. if the other one get stuck, you will have only last option, and in the water you will find out it is a bit hard to open it.. this is because of water pressure from out side… it will open easier only when water have filled inside the entire car.. then you have few second to exit or….You’ll exit anyway with the help from the divers… Just think, how many minutes you can hold your breath? 2? 3?.. all this can happen and end in less than 2 minutes…

4 doors help, especially if you have manual windows for the rear doors… and you have 4 exit.. that means 4 options….

Nonsense?? Just sit and think about it… Many cars plunge into the water recently… One of them managed to escape…

Well…maybe its true..but from what i saw,like this month got 3 accident car plunge into the river and causes death…all 4 doors car….anyway..no body want to turn their car to submarine….2 or 4 doors,even no door also (motobike)…drive safety….

p/s- Still see nothing special on this Satria..why they produce 'syok sendiri' car?same like CANCELLOHHH…..

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 4:51 pm

umm.. look at those side mirrors, aint that from WAJA?

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 4:53 pm

anyway, i really want to ask wat does it takes to change the whole front design of any proton models? I am putting my money on this SRM that will sell for 5 years without changing any major looks.

• superman (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 5:11 pm

motorhead said,

May 20, 2006 @ 9:33 pm

Haiyaa… SRM??.. still 2 doors??… why la… this one I can not accept… my daughter susahlah mau masuk… bakul anak pun susah masuk… like Adnan tank!!!… this one is for u la..bachelors outside there… u guys wud be happy la… but someday u might settle down like me and have children…. And u will understand what I mean… Hahaha

—————————————————————-

It's a 2 door Hatch. meant as a sportier alternative to the norm.

For four door cars Proton has the Iswara, Savvy, Wira, GEN2, WAJA and Perdana.

Strange as it may seem to you there is a market for 2 door cars. Otherwise why would manufacturers develope,build and sell them

• riderx (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 5:31 pm

saw it in utusan website today…

Korporat

Pengganti Satria akhir bulan

SHAH ALAM 21 Mei – Proton Holdings Bhd. dijangka melancarkan model pengganti Satria tiga pintu dalam dua varian enjin 1.3 liter dan 1.6 liter, sebelum akhir bulan ini.

Sumber-sumber industri memberitahu, model baru itu akan diberi nama khas yang menggambarkan arah tuju Proton dan sasaran pelanggan iaitu golongan muda, profesional dan gemarkan pengalaman pemanduan yang menyeronokkan.

Daripada segi harga, sumber berkata, varian enjin 1.3 liter ialah di bawah RM45,000 manakala 1.6 liter kurang daripada RM55,000 sebuah.

Model ini kerap dilihat dipandu uji di lebuh raya.

hurm..nextweek? today already 22may duh…got just one week more..must be this friday la..hehe

• superman (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 5:36 pm

Joe Ooi said,

May 20, 2006 @ 6:09 pm

OK lah, if it is not old Satria body then it should be Mits Colt old body!

Joe Ooi said,

May 21, 2006 @ 12:22 pm

In sport game – say in EPL or any football game, sometime there is “Replacement” on existing best players in their team due to facing injury, send off the pitch (red card), etc. This at least imply “Replacement” player either reserve or 2nd best player(s).

1. If refer to “Replacement”, it is at most “2nd best” either compare to its existing range of products or compare to all other brands available in the market.

2. By adopting “Replacement” itself (at least P1 “honest” in this matter) it doesn’t denote that this product achieve scientific innovation and carry out extensive and most advance R & D which resulted in “Improvement”. That means SRM at least is not “superior”, better new products or more tech advance compare to all other brands in the market, and at worst, there is “no improvement” compare on existing model – Satria. Perhaps and likely “cosmetic” change only – same “old body” but new make up only.

So do not expect SRM can create market excitiment and “buying spree phenomenon” as what happen to say for example, “MyVi” and “Avanza”.

—————————————————————

JoeOoi

looking at the pics closely and having seen the car on KESAS undergoing test I can safely say the glasshouse is totally different to any Colt/Mirage. So to say it's based on an old colt is being unfair.

I think you read too much (or maybe not enough) on the term "Replacement" . it can also mean changing from OLD to NEW.

As for the comparison of a soon-to-be-launched (we hope) 2 door hatch (SRM) to a Small-ish City Car (Myvi) and a 7 seater box on wheels (avanza)… it's so out of context it's laughable.

Let's give them the benefit of the doubt and wait for the car to launch and hit the showrooms before we judge them. Judging based on hearsay, and rumours is just so pointless

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:01 pm

superman – Just to clarify with you, I argue "replacement" from scientific and "sport game" point of view. Noted and agree with you that the "replacement" can be interprete in other perspective.

However, my statement here is in my opinion, "Replacement" in P1 case is no more than "OLD model" with "NEW make up". I have "benefits of certainty" in my argument that it is not base on hearsay or rumours, but base on spyshot pictures and priciple and conceptual scientific literature.

I don't critic NAZA in this respect because they don't claim the car is design and develop by them, but Licensed and/or Engineered by ……….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:18 pm

superman – As for the comparison of a soon-to-be-launched (we hope) 2 door hatch (SRM) to a Small-ish City Car (Myvi) and a 7 seater box on wheels (avanza)… it’s so out of context it’s laughable.

Joe Ooi – I make comparison in term of sales performance only? Not the technical aspect of it.

Let’s give them the benefit of the doubt and wait for the car to launch and hit the showrooms before we judge them.

Joe Ooi – You mentioned about "wait" – this car, togehter with Gen-2 and Savvy (TRM) suppose to be launch more or less same time. Gen-2 launched in 2004 also already "behind schedule", that means to talk about waite, it is easily more than 2 years. By Toyota or Honda standard, an in biz time is money, this 2 years ++ may equivalent to approx. half of the "shelf life" of Toyota/Honda models, which is 4 to 5 years lifecycle! So waite and waite, ……. Luckily I don't waite and buy Waja, otherwise still waiting whilst driving "Milo Tin On The Wheel" – Iswara ………..

Furthermore, P1 is protected by NAP, we can give them "benefits of doubt" provided always they do it on "their own economic cost and expenses". Now they do it on tax payer money and CarTaxLand (i.e. (up to 300% – up to 5%) x total no. of cars sold) which is not less than RM 20 million per day based on year 2004 estimate (RM 8.9 billion). So, layman Joe like me is one of the rakyat make this kind of "patriotic contribution" to let them have "slow and steady" yet comfortable "benefit of doubt".

If P1 go private and G dismantle NAP, I am not interested at all what they are doing. I just concentrate on latest models from Japs, continental or American.

• superman (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:59 pm

Joe,

yeah no doubt Proton has been making the public wait too long but to judge a car before even seeing it in the metal, and before even getting to drive it. That is what I meant by unfair. It's just like saying a lady is awful just based on a picture (that was probably taken on her bad hair day)

BTW " wait" is spelled W-A-I-T not waite

and your economic calculation is pretty dubious too. Think about it. If Proton made RM8.9 billion in 2004, would they be worried about their market share tumbling?

And your following statement:-

————————————————————-

"However, my statement here is in my opinion, “Replacement” in P1 case is no more than “OLD model” with “NEW make up”. I have “benefits of certainty” in my argument that it is not base on hearsay or rumours, but base on spyshot pictures and priciple and conceptual scientific literature."

—————————————————————-

So are you saying based on "spyshot pictures and priciple and conceptual scientific literature" you can tell that the SRM is "no more than “OLD model” with “NEW make up”"?

hahahaahahaha

and what the heck is "priciple and conceptual scientific literature"?

oh and Joe, principle is spelled P-R-I-N-C-I-P-L-E

cheers

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 7:29 pm

superman…

actually…b4 producing a new car…many car manufacture like honda,toyota,mitsu,merc,bmw and alfa will comeout with the conceptual model…that's y u'll see many manufacture present thier conceptual car to the public…most of them will presenting it at motorshow…the reason is…to get feedback frm the public about the design of the car…for an example…alfa romeo brera concept…alfa romeo got a good feedback frm the public about that car…then they produced the car by a new replacement for the alfa romeo gtv…(hv produced…x sampai kt m'sia….eager waiting for that car)…another example…subaru impreza and honda civic…b4 producing that car….they will show to public the car concept…in that stage…if they got a bad feedback of the car…i mean in term of design wise…before producing the car they will change a bit and still develope…like thatla…so…in this case…wut joe is comment about this car is not wrong…actually it is part of the development…many of us can comment this b4 the date of released of this car…actually it is part of the development of the car…mbe u'll say ok of this car…mbe some ppl say bad about this car..actually…no one is wrong about this…it is hak individu…k…:)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 7:32 pm

superman – spelling wise, what you mentioned is totally right but I don't do spelling check "mah", …….

You may in the opinion that my statement is "unfair" as "before even seeing it in the metal, and before even getting to drive it", but to let market to wait for relatively very long is also "unfair".

I don't mean Proton make RM 8.9 Billion, what I mean is estimated "extra tax" in the form of "patriotic contribution" compel by NAP toward consumers (up to 300% – up to 5%) x total volume of cars sold in 2004…….. Proton profit as reported in their website for Current Year Quarter, 30/9/2004 is 365,384,000. "Paltry" compare to the "patriotic contribution" make by rakyat!

Hopefully no typo error anymore ah ……..

Cheers to you as well.

• gepochai (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 7:42 pm

i think despite the redesigned exterior, the shape of the car is almost same as the old satria isn't it?? why can't they come up with designs similar to colt, or jazz, or golf? which have a shorter front and a sharper look. sigh. useless la proton.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 7:59 pm

yup…from the side profile…can see almost same as the old satria…but..it's quite ok…acceptable wut…mbe the designer still not thinking of the trend nowadays…still stick with the 2 doors version only…it is ok too produce 2 doors version..but at least..they hv to comeout with the 4 doors version too…more variety and more choices for us and nothing to thinking about the hardness of the 2 doors version..coz got 4 drs car…

• catborg (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:00 pm

lame !

still pointed to the NAP?

Wutta!.. r u sure if NAP is change.. u can get a CHEAPER CAR!.. hahahaha.. childish!

seen 1 srm in s. alam..

look different much from the photo..

maybe not so photogenic.. but nice in real ..

just the rim.. nmind.. can change at ahbeng laa..

paper today quoted SRM should be sold at 1.3 for below 45K and 1.6 below 55K ..

cheaper than clonned Bestari. ;)

• kanasai (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:00 pm

proton… pls give us a good quality normal sedan car with 4 doors. Gen-2 = low quality product, waja = Old model and Old tech, wira = too old, iswara = suitable for our taxi oni.

• catborg (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:02 pm

dont buy proton i f you want a good sedan car. Buy BMW or Merz..

// but that if you can afford it!.. what? u think u can buy ferrari with RM 10K aaa? haiyaa.. keep on dreaming lorr

• Tracks (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:07 pm

It amazing that there are so many comments in just a short while. Funny how people bashing proton for producing low-end 1.3l model using metal rim with covers when even Myvi does the same for its 1.0l model and other manufacturers as well for a sub RM50k vehicle. Based on all the comments so far, I am pretty sure there would be more praises than condemns for its styling once the SRM is launched.

I have seen the real car and I must say the design is pretty damn good overall especially the headlights and taillights. But I am sure again people are going to condemn saying that P1 copied someone else design even though if it was nice to look at. Anyway, we all shall see within the next few days.

Oh yeah. All of you should pay a visit to KLIMS 06 staring this week as there are concept cars from various makes plus showgirls to drool at. Go on a weekend as there would be more to see but have to bear with the crowd.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:15 pm

catborg said

dont buy proton i f you want a good sedan car. Buy BMW or Merz..

// but that if you can afford it!.. what? u think u can buy ferrari with RM 10K aaa? haiyaa.. keep on dreaming lorr

wut a stupid quote frm u catborg…now i know…ppl like u are type people yang x ksah spending ur money to changing the error product and wasting ur time to go to proton's workshop…shame on you…plz think first before said…not logic only…for the first time in my life i know ppl like u….u are saying that bmw and merc are a good sedan and perfect???ure wrong but at least they not throw u into problem…y not u say honda accord,kia spectra….stiill low price car but not give u a lot of trouble and headache..dun say that with the low price we cant get a better quality car…ure wrong…totally wrong…one more thing stupid person like u will comeout with the quote rm10k for ferrari…not logic u know…stupid comment frm u…

• mankrm (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:25 pm

why do they have to come up with 'low ends' at all? just produce the std and hi-ends only la. btw, i thot the govt has made it a must for car manufacturers to put air bags as std to improve car safety. so there shouldnt be any hi-ends at all also. There should only be on std version with air bags [and abs] for both 1.3 and 1.6 models.

• catborg (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:26 pm

ray ..

the stupid is u, not me..

"u get what u paid for!" right?

THIS! SRM car is a 2 door and hatch right?

why some people still ask about WHY 2? WHY NOT 4 DOOR? isn't it MORE STUPID? ..

Stupid question only need a STUPID answer.. because it would be better understood..

you said honda accord and kia is low price and didn't give headache? GO! READ MORE!

onda = once broke, kinda much money to spend out to.

kia = what a worst car.. i had a friend those buy spectra.. then had no price to sold back.. 2nd = about 40K from 70++ K.. 50% less woo.. no value.

and rosak pun sangat leceh mau repair..

how can u judge this SRM is BAD car even you dont even see it a drive it yet???

Who's STUPID NOW?

• superman (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:32 pm

Tracks said,

May 22, 2006 @ 12:07 pm

It amazing that there are so many comments in just a short while. Funny how people bashing proton for producing low-end 1.3l model using metal rim with covers when even Myvi does the same for its 1.0l model and other manufacturers as well for a sub RM50k vehicle. Based on all the comments so far, I am pretty sure there would be more praises than condemns for its styling once the SRM is launched.

————————————————————–

Tracks,

hahaha I must say I agree with you.

I recall a whole bunch of people condeming the Savvy. but when the car came out and they saw it in the metal and got to test drive the car their perception changed.

That's wat I'm getting at. I, for one, hate the fact that Proton is taking so darn bloody long to launch the car. But i'd like to see like minded mature adults with purchasing powers reserve their judgement till the product (SRM) is out on the market.

"Bullshit walks, money talks"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:40 pm

raybrig85 & catborg – both of you intelligent lah, the only "STUPID" thing is CarTaxLand & P1 don't make us "pay for what we get".

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:41 pm

hahaha…am i judging the srm???plz read carefully???im not judging the srm bcos…yes..im not driving it yet…i jz give my opinion in term of design and most of us here jz give the opinion in term of design..u la stupid coz said like that…shame on u…

yes…ppl alwiz saying why 2…not 4 doors…actually wut they are thinking is…most of car in srm class produce a variety of spec…like 2 doors and 4 doors version…like yaris…hv 2 doors and 4 doors…colt…hv 2 doors and 4 doors…getz…hv 2 doors and 4 doors…they are not saying that producing 2 doors is not acceptable…but at the same time they give thier opinion why srm are not comeout with 4 doors version too???

ok…in term of maintenance…not all spare part from continental cars,jap cars are expensive that local cars…not spare part…some is cheaper than parts frm our local car…then…ok..ure saying that honda once broken…give u a headache.???sanggup pening skali je dr pening byk kali…i dare saying this bcoz ive own conti car and local car nowadays…different in between both my cars are…my conti cars is ok for a long time and jangke mase yang lame…baru tukar parts yang rosak…it cost u more sometimes but not give u headache…wut gimme headache are…my local cars…x sampai setahun beli…alwiz goin to thier hq and workshop making complain and changing the broken part…it will give u more headache and wasting u lot of time…that is the truth…

how stupid are u…dun comment membabi bute if ure not experience it…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 8:54 pm

both of you intelligent lah, the only “STUPID” thing is CarTaxLand & P1 don’t make us “pay for what we get”.

hahaha…thats i totally agree with u joe…dats part of the problems

• Initial D (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 9:19 pm

no need to comment la…….alwayz similar…….

now……anyone has anymore info on the car…or the launch date?….

tat would be worth reading!!!!!

Cheers!!!!!!

• cell3216 (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 10:44 pm

yo….why there is 2 or 4 doors in these comments…..

from my knowledge……..I know that…..ONLY

coupe = 2 doors

sedan = 4 doors

hatchback = 3 / 5 doors

;) Do you guys get what I meant?

• thecrash (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 11:13 pm

cant wait for this… planned for 2nd car.

• champion (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 12:00 am

Actually as long as the car is produced by PROTON , people will condemm kaw kaw. Let say proton design something like honda city . people will said proton car look like katak lah very ugly but if honda design something like Gen2 then people said wah very nice sporty , bla bla bla.

Just my 2 cent thought

• kanasai (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 1:59 am

when the SRM come out on the road, those who wish to buy it, go ahead la with no regrets la. Same for the savvy la. i myself really regret having Wira, Waja and Gen-2 due to low quality and many problems mentions many times by me and others.

I have tested savvy and it is not that impresive after all especially the interior fitting and design. pls… it's really suck!! the performance of the savvy is like any other car and nothing special compare with Myvi, Getzs or Aveo. (Talking from a normal user… not F1 racer).

and some guys out there trying to be bullish about SRM? pls la… it's proton!! when SRM finally show face, we will then talk about it's design especially the interior and it's safety feature. i for sure will not buy this SRM due to 2 doors oni…

and by the way, if proton is hoping for a good response of this 2 doors SRM, they are going to make mistakes cause demand for 2 doors is less than 4 doors. is really easy to understand what malaysian really want… n i do not know y proton still come out this car?? kind like waste time and money

• catborg (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 3:01 am

it's just for u?..

i believed.. out side there's too many young people looking for the 2 door car.. intead of too many 4 car and MPV.

10 even 100 basher here those hate 2 door and hatchback or hate proton most.. didn't even compare for the 1Million people outside there..

the fact : here allmost bashing poor Naza Sutera.. but booking outside there still above than 1000! ..

so!.. there's many posibility not more people like you all those hate and dislike 2 door car!..

at least.. like me, that still love a 2 car door not soo loking 4 door car for pakcik and makcik those banyak anak.. :p ;)

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 4:54 am

hhmmm…actually there is nothing wrong of 2 or 4 doors version…actually…nowadays…demanding of the superminis,compact and small hatches car is increase…if we look at the mid 90s and late 90s…for an example…ok…honda civic…actually honda civic categorized as a small hatches car alongside vw golf,toyota corolla(which now altis),ford focus,alfa romeo 147 and bmw 1 series…then they produced the civic sedan and hatchback….for the begining…the hatchback version…which 2 doors,or 3 doors….are the target for youngster…like what catborg said that he prefer 2 doors coz mbe he is young and single…it is ok for that…maybe satria is the target for youngster for proton…but then..in europe…since then…the hatchback car not only attract the younster or single guy…but then it attract family man which had not enough budget to own the sedan one or mbe to be a 2nd car which is practical for themor mbe attract with the small hatches cars…because hatch car is more attractive than the sedan one(the 4 doors version)that's y at the late 90s we can see the revolution of the japan carmakers which if they want to produced the car in europe…from 3 categories ive said earlier…we take one example…small hatch car…they start targeting to produced the small hatch car which include the 4 doors version…thats y if u see today…that is a lot of different between european civic and american,japanese version…civic in m'sia…we took the american version of civic…if u see in europe…the civic,toyota corolla produced the same design for the 2 and 4 doors version…because nowadays..small hatches car is not only demanding from the youngster…but also for the familyman…as u know…actually design wise of the small hatches car is sportier than the sedan…thats y it will attract not only youngster…but…family man too…this is not happen in the american market..but then largely most happen in european country and japan also…thats y ull see vw golf hv the 2 and 4 doors version…but then…they still producing the sedan version of golf..called as vw jetta…comparing both 2 model,golf and jetta…still…most of them own golf…not only yougster but family man oso…another example ford focus(frm america but to sell in european market-they produce 4 doors version which same dsg as 2 doors..),alfa romeo,seat leon and many more…

ok…someone said that proton gen.2 is the 4 doors version for srm…mbe it is true…but then…if u look at demanding of the 4 doors version of small hatches….mbe proton should consider to produce a 4 doors version of srm in the future…mbe it is good for thier market…y not???nowaday most ppl…not only youngster…also family man are looking for a sportier and compact car to own…mbe second car for the familyman as i said b4…for youngster…thier only car…but the only thing and the most important thing for proton is…QUALITY….

• kanasai (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 5:55 am

catborg adik

buying 4 doors car is not only for my child or children in the future.. i m still young and wanted a decent car. but at least i m not selfish having oni 2 doors car for my self to look a bit sporty (and act like ah lian ah hua), and which i cannot take my old parent or grandparents for a ride. im sure having 4 doors sedan is more confortable for our old buddy…

think about it?

• carlover (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:32 am

Proton is just killing their own market, i dont understand them! The price range theyre targeting is gonna kill savvy waja and gen 2.

Ive sat, seen and driven SRM 1.6l and its underpower. Furthermore, it has a center exhaust tailpipe like savvy!! Dead ugly guys..

Also this project been going on for about 5 years…first in our history, history! god knows what went wrong and i heard the problems are still going on.

The interior is somewhat similar to Gen 2 though and if u people think naza rebadged 206 well..i should be seeing a debate soon on SRM = Alfa 147.

Also naza is launching ANOTHER 2 new models by september. Should be exciting what market segment they'll be competing in this time :)

Go Proton! Go Naza! Go to hell Perodua haha (theyre Jap owned) Malaysia boleh!

• gigganet (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:48 am

i've not seen a car that has so many spyshots before spanning almost 2 years! by the time they launch, people might actually prefer the taped-up version! hahaha.

no doubt, there is a market for 2 doors. but i dont forsee sales to be strong since cars sales are slowing down. bad timing. should've launched sooner la.

• flizzardo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:19 am

those who condemned this car before testing or even see one in real life are obviously retarded , there is no need to waste your time reading their comments

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:37 am

flizzardo – So by same argument, any Miss Universe or Miss World have to let all the judges to "test, touch and see real naked" only they are in the position to be judge and the girl can only have a chance to be crown as Miss Universe/World? Is that is the case? You ask yourself who is "obviously retarded" with this kind of low rung of shit statement! Proof me wrong, if you come out and defense your statement, that is your right but face the "consequences"! And of course you have to learn to face the "truth".

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:59 am

wei flizzardo…ure stupid…existance of spy shot picture….concept car…u know wut…u c wut the public will react….stupidla u…all carmakers comeout with spyshot pic…concept car…the reason…to get a comment frm public and to know wut the public will react…actually it will help them to improve the car…stupidla u…

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:47 am

raybrig85, cill. flizzardo u also cill. Dont need to go say ppl stupid and retarded 1. Peace.

Fizzardo, for your sake & yr face, u better hope proton does a good job with SRM. Frm what we know with Savvy, it isnt going smooth for P1.

• wisdom_bin (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:08 am

i dont see a problem of having a 2 doors car. for me, i like it bette than 4 doors cars. In fact, most of my friends would prefer 2 doors cars rather than a 4 doors cars..dont have to condemn them to build such a car..

• Tracks (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Joe Ooi said,

May 23, 2006 @ 8:37 pm

"flizzardo – So by same argument, any Miss Universe or Miss World have to let all the judges to “test, touch and see real naked” only they are in the position to be judge and the girl can only have a chance to be crown as Miss Universe/World? Is that is the case?"

Joe Ooi, you suprised me by making such as ridiculous comment on flizzardo. Cars are meant to driven in the first place and therefore seeing it, touch it, feeling it and testing it is necessary to judged it. In a beauty contest, contestant are judged for their beauty and intelligence. Remember that beauty is to be admired. Similarly, if there was a new drink to be launched, don't tell me you judged it by just looking at it even before you actually drinking it. Remember also that beauty is just skin deep. That's why they also judge the intelligence of the contestant in a beauty contest. Therefore, I could see that you have made a very biased remark against flizzardo.

Sometimes, we jump to conclusion very early without even considering all the facts. We all have some point in our lives made that mistake. Take a deep breath and one step backwards so that we could all see the bigger picture before a conclusion is made.

The SRM would be launched in conjuction with the KLIMS this week. So everybody wait and see.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:35 pm

dogster,flizzardo…

sorry for my word…i know its kinda rude…:)..over emotion actually…hehek

tracks…

Cars are meant to driven in the first place and therefore seeing it, touch it, feeling it and testing it is necessary to judged it.

wut ure saying is true…but then…concept car,spy shot pics…all of that is in the dsg stage…which developement still done by accepting the critic frm public and journalist…in this stage..we jz can to critics the dsg only…when the car is released…thats wut ure said before…seeing it,touch it,feeling it and testing it..finally judge it…

most of us in this blog are critics and comment about the design of the cars…features af the car…not the driving pleasure or else…actually it is part of the stages…we are independence to critics the car…but not all area…in term of dsg wisela…bcoz we are not test it yet…

• Tracks (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:26 pm

raybrig85 said,

May 24, 2006 @ 10:35 am

"most of us in this blog are critics and comment about the design of the cars…features af the car…not the driving pleasure or else…actually it is part of the stages…we are independence to critics the car…but not all area…in term of dsg wisela…bcoz we are not test it yet…"

I definitely agree with you that MOST of you are critics for design and features alone, and it would be useful for the manufacturers to listen to feedbacks. But somehow, some people go overboard in their criticism though they have the right to speak out. You see some parts are design not just for looks but functionality as well which need to be tested. Ofcourse, exterior design are most for looks only.

Anyway, 2 doors or 4 doors car is a matter of choice. Someone mentioned that they want 4 doors car for easier access especially for old people. So therefore, all family men should just buy 7 seaters MPV because they not only offer four doors but extra seating space as well for the young and old.

The point I am trying to highlight is that individual who would buy a car has their own reasoning for doing so as such indicating that the SRM concept was in fact targeted at a group of individual who like 2 doors car only. Ofcourse, having a 4 doors version of SRM would be a great compliment to Proton line-up and we just might see it in the near future.

Chill out everyone.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 1:49 am

flizzardo said, May 23, 2006 @ 8:19 pm

those who condemned this car before testing or even see one in real life are obviously retarded , there is no need to waste your time reading their comments

Joe Ooi said, May 23, 2006 @ 8:37 pm

“flizzardo – So by same argument, any Miss Universe or Miss World have to let all the judges to “test, touch and see real naked” only they are in the position to be judge and the girl can only have a chance to be crown as Miss Universe/World? Is that is the case?”

Tracks said, May 24, 2006 @ 9:50 am

Joe Ooi, you suprised me by making such as ridiculous comment on flizzardo. Cars are meant to driven in the first place and therefore seeing it, touch it, feeling it and testing it is necessary to judged it. In a beauty contest, contestant are judged for their beauty and intelligence. Remember that beauty is to be admired. Similarly, if there was a new drink to be launched, don’t tell me you judged it by just looking at it even before you actually drinking it. Remember also that beauty is just skin deep. That’s why they also judge the intelligence of the contestant in a beauty contest. Therefore, I could see that you have made a very biased remark against flizzardo.

Joe Ooi

Tracks, am I surprise you? Am I made a very biased remark against flizzardo? I don't think so. So you want to face the “consequences” on "behalf" of flizzardo! And of course you have to learn to face the “truth”.

OK, Now I do it not on my personal opinion, not RESPONSIVE action as like to flizzardo and of course also I will not RESPONSIVE to your statement, as at the end you may jump into same conclusions that I am bias on you just like toward flizzardo.

Now I take PROACTIVE action to explain in greater details from scientific perspective: –

Now let me explain what flizzardo statements means in the first place –

1. How many condemn SRM? I know and for sure including myself make factual and realistic criticism based on spyshot photos and P1 past record. Negative comments because the SRM have such "features" in the first place!

2. Those who condemned this car before testing or even see one in real life are obviously retarded ……

Obviously retarded", from scientific or medical experiment, the doctor need to do medical test, psychological test and need to observe and see the person in real life to satisfy himself incluiding any necessary examination with proper scientific procedures, later analysis the results, only the person(s) can be medically declare "….. retarded".

In this case, flizzardo as what Pak Lah said is do not "walk the talk", do Flizzardo do "testing or even see one in real life" regarding those posted comments over here, including me before say "…..obviously retarded"

Do flizzardo do "testing and see one of me or other" before described them as "….. retarded". You ask and judge how self-contradictory are flizzardo……

So who is " obviously retarded" with this low rung of shit statement! Proof me wrong?

3. "…….. there is no need to waste your time reading their comments" How truth is true about this statement, so what P1/NAP doing is saint and the person(s) mentioned by flizzardo is "idiots"?

If this is the case, in the eye of laws, then ask G to close down Paul Tan blog loh? Set up P1 blog, and everyday flizzrdo sing a praise "song" among other is NAP is the “mother-of-mother” of “money-god” to P1, G, AP King, crocs, etc. So pray pray and pray pray hard to NAP generate more money from rakyat to them!

Tracks, to a certain extent I agreed with what you – "Cars are meant to driven in the first place and therefore seeing it, touch it, feeling it and testing it is necessary to judged it." This statement is with limited application. If you want to "hands on personal feel", yet the car dealer is allow you do to so then it is fair enough. But how many car showroom allowed you especially to have test drive? If say I comment the car design is ugly based on spyshot, whether correct or wrong, or agree or disagree is beside the point. Do this kind of comment can be scientifically declare as "….. obviously retard"? How bias is Flizzardo statement, damn shit!

You said I am bias on him, let straigth to the point, Flizzardo is as bias as my statement, in which I just make "responsive statement" that is "equilibrium" in meaning, I don't say it is same meaning and/or synonym ah! Don't misquote or misjudge my statement!

If asses scientifically, then you will find how "truth on negative element" is my statement about him. So, face the “consequences”! And of course you have to learn to face the “truth”. Is damn truth that you are bias in the first place and my statement is purely describe how bias is this statement!

Tracks – "Similarly, if there was a new drink to be launched, don’t tell me you judged it by just looking at it even before you actually drinking it."

I can't say your statement is wrong, but I reserve my right to say "the design of the bottle is not nice like coca-cola and the packaging also outdated, using paper instead of attractive plastic crate!" Can you jump into conclusion that my statement is "…… obviously retarded"?

You ask yourself, who is actually and factually very bias in the first place, and now you may "terikut-ikut" or infected with "P1 freak gene mentality". Bot of you have to recognize "differences of opinion", "talk in difference frequency" and "with certain perspective". Of course scientific/legal/expert, ect. opinion always but not necessary take precedent!

Anyway, this is my comments and no hard feeling or "revenge judgement" to both of you, Tracks and Flzzardo.

• Tracks (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 2:58 am

Joe Ooi, in the case of SRM we were criticising based on design and features as I have agreed earlier since the car had not been launch yet. But you cited an example as follows:

Joe Ooi said,

May 23, 2006 @ 8:37 pm

“flizzardo – So by same argument, any Miss Universe or Miss World have to let all the judges to “test, touch and see real naked” only they are in the position to be judge and the girl can only have a chance to be crown as Miss Universe/World? Is that is the case?”

Flizzardo commented that we all should not condemn the SRM that badly as we have all not tested it yet. This is true because a car is to be driven in the first place. Ofcourse most the condemning so far is the design and features highlighted which is most welcome as a form of opinion. But you cited the above comparison regarding the beauty contest knowing very well that judging based on beauty and intelligence which is IMHO was ridiculous. As for the drink, ofcourse you can comment on the design of the bottle, labelling & etc. But if you order a drink from a dispensing machine, do you care what the cup look like or the taste of the drink that is more important. Point to ponder.

Anyway, we all reserve the right to our point of view. That's why different products are created for different people. Sometimes right or wrong is also determine by the majority that agree to what is right or wrong.

Like is colourful so enjoy. Cheers everyone.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 6:52 am

Tracks – Noted your comment, cheer to you as well as other.

At least we can learn and evaluate/consider other point of view in objective manner (i.e. scientifically) eventhough we may not agree or speak in "different frequency"! So can we say we learn "faster" than P? For me dare not to make judgement, otherwise get bullets from 360 degree, he, he, he ……….

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:18 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 7:51 am

I even saw an ad at lelong.com.my to book for the srm. I guess you can book the car now and its coming out really soon. Nice.

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 8:02 am

Oh yeah, my point of view. If you guys wanna condemn the srm so badly, so dont buy it la. Keep quiet. Let potential buyers and ppl who are interested and wants to buy the car have their say and buy it if they like it. Condemning it would make it any difference. Typical malaysians man. Apa nak buat. Stereotype thinking.