UMW Toyota not manufacturing cars locally

Apparently The Edge Daily’s reporter had misinterpreted UMW Toyota Motor’s Managing Director David Chen’s statements at the Kuala Lumpur International Automotive Conference last week.

There is no plan to manufacture any Toyota models in Malaysia. Toyota is just designating Malaysia as one of it’s regional production centers for certain models. Toyota currently uses Thailand as it’s passenger car and pick-up truck center and Indonesia for MPVs and SUVs. Malaysia will be the production center for some models, but only for assembly and the first would be the van that is being exported.

Perhaps there was some confusion with terms like manufacturing and assembling. This is the problem with mainstream news sources that are not automotive news-focused, most of the time their journalists do not have a full understanding on how the industry works, and the jargon involved.

UMW Toyota to manufacture cars locally

Source: Chips Yap

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jake (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 1:33 am

paul, are you telling us the great thailand auto industries a mere assembly?

• Paul Tan on May 29, 2006 at 2:21 am

No. Thailand has their own stamping machines.

• balad (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 2:55 am

How to define assembling and manufaturing is of contentious issue as other sector like electronic perhaps don't need stamping machines as there is no "chassis" in this products?

• balad (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 2:57 am

The different between assembly and manufacturer by merely "stamping machines" is of contentious issue, how about other sector like electronic which I believe don't have "stamping machine" as there is no "chassis" in their products?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 3:10 am

Shattered dream for toyota diehard fans, my dream died when no VW here.

• kendo (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 3:22 am

All these

auto tycoons

can only

TALK Cocks"

whatever,

their hands are tied"

due

asssssssssxxxxx

""""potong KAMPONG cars policy

• òmn&Ati (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 3:27 am

paul, blaming it on journalists is all wrong.

blame it on toyota's public relations and medai affair itself. they should have issued proper press kit and backgrounder to make clear the issue with explanation on the jargons used. indeed, they have failed to monitor the media releases.

firstly, they should have done the media release on their own than being written by non specialised motoring journalists. then, the backgrounder would have help the journalists to follow up.

• chang (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 3:51 am

yalah…..

told u all oledi….

potong car still here…who berani againt potong???

potong=gov

• mystvearn (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 3:59 am

NAP is useless if investors keep running away

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 4:07 am

wakakakakak wakekekeke, now all the toyota fan can keep continuing dreaming kehkeh,kakakkakakakka….

tu laa belum ape-ape lagi dah bermimpi la nak pakai vios CKD kahkahkah skrg

camner………….

• revver (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 4:52 am

lol. that mouth should be stapled.

and now the potong fan can wake up from their coma lol

• DAN (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 4:56 am

not really wort it , buy potong car n been potong again can't u see it . it been control us. that meant this government not really know what to do to our country , only get profit from us but when selling to other country more lower price, so what is that !.

only there own kind who know to go to n keeping support. dont happy is your money been given n been TeX again is like a slave!.

• kendo (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:33 am

POTONG policies=

another BN project..

(Band of NUTS)

to POTONG" rakyats sweat peanuts salaries….

50-75%!!!! EXERCISE car duties..

to finance

MRR2, overstaff servants", Matrade, TNB -IPP losses,

Augusta lossess…etc. U name it…

oh, also

somemore…

paying for

VVIP"" Porshes, bentley, LAMBO,,,MAYbach…

WAKE Up, Rakyats…

• balad (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:36 am

So NAP still want to squeeze rakyat, and many believe G will protect P1. If rakyat don't buy P1 car or sell say below 30K unit per year, G also can't do anything. So, we have to "enforce" our consumers right by not buying P1 cars, then only the G will open the market.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 6:41 am

Damn….if those politician like us to drive Proton..

why don't they rebadge their Bentley,Porshe,Lamborgini,Maybach to Proton badge.????

^%&*#$^&@#$&#&$

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 7:01 am

haiya…fed up with protong…pi mai-pi mai…alwiz protong issue…diela protong…fed up…

• Initial D (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 8:15 am

haha, shud fire the journalist kaw kaw………..

oh well, just b smart next time when sum1 say "models will be CKDed in MAS"…..faham faham la, k? hehehehe

Cheers!!!!!

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 8:47 am

Local made Toyota or not, the car wont be that significant cheaper. Lets get realistic, we all held our breath prior to the NAP announcement, in the end 3 – 4k cheaper cars, while petrol price goes up, water tarrif goes up, electricity goes up. look at the big picture boys, gov ran the country for 40 over years, they might not be as good as some hope, but they are not stupid enough to lose their fat pay cheques. conspiricy theory does exsist. Notice all the huge propaganda signboards? Kurang susidi, Tingkatkan pembangunan (or something of that sort), kiliing proton is not going to happen as long as its a GLC, Khazanah, PNB, PNS,EPF etc etc, god knows how many politician have their shares in P1, so kendo crusade might be nobel, but we all know its a lost battle to begin with.

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 1:02 pm

nothing related, just for fun.

check out: http://www.proton.com/about_proton/corp_governanc…

i wonder the current ceo knows the it dept of p1 is sleeping

hahahahah

• faizazmi (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 4:37 pm

This is what i wrote to Proton. I am really frustrated with 'em right now..

"It is very frustrating to see that people are supporting Proton from behind alhough during its tough time, especially nowadays, and Proton doesn't seem to react positively from all the supports received. I do not have any intention to list all of the occasions that portrayed the statement but i must say that i am really concern about the sensitivity of IT department of Proton.It seems like some of the contents of Proton's web page have not been edited for quite a while now. It is embarassing to see that the page still mention Tan Sri Mahaleel as the CEO. Can you imagine how outsiders wll intrepret Proton's intention to be the player of international market in the future? A joke..( see CEO note page) "

Given that they have not updated the page, i wonder whether my letter will ever be read by 'em..

• jtshin (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:18 pm

Hehe… Under BN goverment with such lousy n unstable economics, its not very possible Toyota manufature cars here as it needs many aspects around n one of them is economic stability… n the auto policy of M'sia oso not very fair… hmmm…

Faizazmi… well… hope ur letter can let them wake up a bit… but in my opinion, P1 nv response to the public… complaints etc etc… all no use la… look at the quality for the past 20 yrs… nv improve but get poorer n poorer… look at the materials in Wira manufatured at 1995 and 2003… u can find the materials gone bad… hmmm… so cheap…. to reduce the cost… hmmm…

Anyway, just my opinion….

• rexis (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 5:23 pm

Well, as long as NAP around, a lot of people will appreciate buying a sedan for a mere 31k without knowing that they are being chopped and squezz till the juice dry up.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 6:00 pm

BN always take care of Rural Folks(notice that most of them drive Proton cars) only….all better Balik Kampung…

It's like You Buy Proton…We Take Care Of You….*sweat*

Just My Opinion….haha

• honda_driver (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 7:30 pm

I'll blame the journalist 100%. Its their responsibility to check the facts and get them right before publishing. They hold great power with their words, as people look to publications like the Edge for their reporting credibility and accuracy.

Just because we have generally good press freedom, and freedom of speech, does not mean we can abuse it. We are all responsible for what we say.

• Dogster (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 8:02 pm

F.u.*.K!!!!! %$#$$#%*#$$^*($*$^*#$&(#&#(&#&(#&(%#&%%&@#@*@@@!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Argggggg. Spoil my day!!!!! :S

• rexis (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 10:50 pm

This is what journalist good at what? Making news.

• motorhead (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 6:58 am

Haha.. not suprised at all.. can hardly believe it b4…. This is bolehland remember???.. anything boleh.. rumors oso boleh…

CAPMUNIST… capitalist + communist.. new term for bolehland ideology ..

• honda_driver (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 3:55 pm

motorhead, dont you also live in bolehland??

• motorhead (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Yeah.. of course I do.. now I am getting use to it… with crucial utility privatisation, market monopoly and media control.. trust me, we are worse than some of our neighbours… if you want to feel good about it, its your choice.. Me?, no…

• honda_driver (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 6:18 pm

So which neighbours are you talking about exactly?

i choose to live here by choice and i'm happy where i am. One of the best things about our country is, we still have a decent degree of free speech, and we can still pretty much blog without fear of prosecution. A very close "neighbour" of ours, regularly prosecutes bloggers for things they mention about the government.

Another good thing about our country is, there is no restriction on its citizens travelling overseas (except to isreal). We can also choose on our own free will to settle in another country. Maybe you should take up that option since you are so unhappy?

btw, loving your country, and loving your government are 2 different things. Me? I love my country.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 6:35 pm

yup…there is a different betweenlove ur country or government…i luv my country so much…but i hate G….they're ruin our life…all price want to increase….f**k….

• motorhead (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 6:58 pm

Thailand for instance, their media is free, can critic corrupt gov… if u have time, go there & buy their newspapers.. u will understand what i mean, or u can look via internet…Here, so much people dont know what goin on inside.. MATRADE isu for instance, recent one…

Tell me 1 big project in Bolehland has no problem?.. small project like MATRADE oso cant kautim…All GLC creating lost.. including P1..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Agree with you honda_driver that love our cuontry and love our G is 2 separate issue. I am same with raybrig85 that I love my country so much. This is the land I born to this world, So I will leave this world on this land as well.

But I disagree with honda_driver statement to motorhead that imply if we are disagree or not happy with G that we can choose the option to settle in other country. This is typical "BN freak DNA" that try to equate vote for BN = love for country, vote for Opposition (DAP, Pas, KeAdilan, etc) = "menderhaka/unpatriotic". In our democratic country, if rakyat don't vote for BN, then "balik kampong tanam jagong". Our love for country is still forever there, only BN G is not there, so what a big fuse!

Those "menderhaka/unpatriotic" are involve in subversive elements, criminal, destabilize the society, illegal activities, etc. You ask G that current AP Kings and crocs are they patriotic and love for country? The same person will say yes because they formulate CarTaxLand policy to make you to pay "patriotic contribuiton"!

• motorhead (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 8:50 pm

Yes..Thx Joe.. Actually I love this country so much & I hate to see all this corrupted capitalists ruin this country slowly (if u didn’t notice).. with privatisation of critical public utility.. slowly they will make our live more miserable.. & will only benefit a few (political connection only la)…

I miss old days… when we have LLN, JAS & etc… our critical public utility should never go private.. if want private all, can, but be gentleman open market!, give way to free market, let them all open business here, TNB2, car factories, open media.. want to go for capitalist, go for real capitalist, make anti monopoly act.. but in the end today, a few monopoly.. have to follow the gov policy.. NAP for instance.. like communist… get my point?

Even few communist countries even better, when we talked about car industry here..

• kendo (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 2:17 am

– fookeatmin1989 said,

May 29, 2006 @ 10:00 am

BN always take care of Rural Folks(notice that most of them drive Proton cars) only….all better Balik Kampung…

It’s like You Buy Proton…We Take Care Of You….*sweat*

-FOO

THE ONE DRIVING PROTON IN KAMPONG

ARE THE INDO HAWKERS,

WHO MASUK BOLEHLAND SUKA SUKA-

– these kampong folks

(never awake)

drive naza-motorbike,

in 3 persons,

UNDER HOT SUNS TO KL TRIP,

kid squeeze in middle to sekolah,

wife at back to penjabat office,

while mat husband work as DHL mat…

and their supported LEADERS drive

Bentley, BMW

(by investing MIllion for that positions….)

• pendek (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 2:33 am

this is going off topic,

but at least i knew that most of reader here are in the same league with me, we felt we're being victimised by G

don't blame rural people because they drive potong, that's the cheapest available car they can afford — all of this due to G car price policy.

you're blaming kampung people because you're fortunate enough to had foreign made cars, you should be thankfull to god, don't you think that kampung people also needed a car?

blaming on kampung people who buy potong is the most un-reasonble ideas i ever heard.

• òmn&Ati (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 3:40 am

honda driver: I’ll blame the journalist 100%. Its their responsibility to check the facts and get them right before publishing. They hold great power with their words, as people look to publications like the Edge for their reporting credibility and accuracy.

Just because we have generally good press freedom, and freedom of speech, does not mean we can abuse it. We are all responsible for what we say.

=============================================

honda driver,

the journalists did not even spin the story for toyota case and this does not apply violation of press freedom or freedom of speech. please get this straight. if it is a violation, i'm sure toyota will sue them for negligence.

journalists have datelines too. they don't go check everything from head to toe because your company issue the press conference. it is the responsibility of the company to get the facts right before any press release and monitor it before/after released. that is why we have press kits and extra materials for journalist to follow up.if your company can't do it, get a PR person to do it.

if you live in the west, they even throw your press release away if you give them crap. furthermore, your company is blacklisted by the editor. there goes your free publicity and relationship with the media.

so my advice to all malaysians, don't point finger at someone when things get awry. the world is round. look at the matters at hand and get it solved within yourself. blaming others is not a way to resolve your mistake. is it pointing fingers is the culture at home?

• balad (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 7:24 am

As far as Toyota or any party responsible for inaccurate news take reasonable action to remedy it, then it shall not be the issue anymore unless there is a case of some one suffer direct losses as a consequent of this inaccurate news.

• honda_driver (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 4:07 pm

joe and motorhead. i'm just saying that we are lucky to live in a country where we are not restricted in terms of travel. its your own free will and choice if you want to settle somewhere else. If you are unhappy living here, you can go somewhere else. i don't see anything wrong with that. Joe, I've no idea whats your association of this notion with "This is typical “BN freak DNA” ".

btw motorhead, i've worked in bangkok for before. so i know thailand pretty well.

òmnícp: i agree with what you've said. I guess it also depends on the facts of the whole matter. I admit I jumped the gun with my remarks on journalists. if indeed the journalist did get all the proper info, and based his facts on that, he did no wrong. But it can also go the other way.

• motorhead (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Honda driver,

If you want to just sit around, be a dumb and say everything is fine is your problem!!.. you punya hal lah… Yes, all of us lucky.. but ARE WE HAPPY?? Well, please ask that to those who vote for opposition in recent Sarawak election, ask that to opposition leaders, ask the demonstrators who beaten up by police every Sunday at KLCC, ask Dato’ Shahrir, ask Kit Siang to leave the country oso, ask Nik Aziz, ask auto investors which have lost so much money, ask those who cannot afford to buy their dream cars, ask those faulty proton cars owners, even ask Tun Mahathir is he happy and ask him to leave the country also…. please save this question also for the next election and see yourself if the people are happy..

And watch out!!, becoz I will see if you will have any complain relate with the gov in the future.. & let you eat your own words!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 8:30 pm

honda_driver said – Joe – "I’ve no idea whats your association of this notion with “This is typical “BN freak DNA” “.

Joe Ooi – OK let me define "BN freak DNA", I refer to those included but not necessary limited to corrupted, play money politics, untrustworthy person(s) from BN who are in the current G, or those biz-men or other figure with close connection with certain G institution/ministry/department for certain "formal or informal" activities but behind it have dubious biz connection like AP King, crocs, or politicians become CEO/Director of GLC and the like which implement project(s) or doing biz which inflicted "moral hazard" to the rakyat.

Let me get your perspective straight to the point. We are happy living in this country and never in our mind to consider to migrate to other country. But what make us unhappy is the above "BN freak DNA". The point here is we are rakyat, and G have social responsibility to look after rakyat welfare, now they implement this kind of "moral hazard" project(s) to breed big and fat crocs including the unique species of King which can be find in Bolehland only – AP King. Even AP King is illegal under WTO rules. This so call "BN freak DNA" that should be dismantle or expunge just like cancell JB "crook bridge" if they listen to rakyat. So, the point is "BN freak DNA" make rakyat unhappy, then G have the social responsibility to remove it. Not tell rakyat if you are unhappy with this ("then equate with unhappy with country") policy, then migrate to other country? So I know you even me as well see nothing wrong with this country but I hope you can see something very wrong with the "BN freak DNA".

Cheers to you ……….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 9:05 pm

honda_driver – better for me explain in the first place what is means by "moral hazard".

"Moral hazard" is an insurance term to describe "an act of manipulation or deliberation in order to gain benefits from or make monetary gain on risks which suppose to be covered under insurance".

FICTION ah – Say for example, "motorhead is car dealer, honda_driver is selling car insurance and Joe Ooi is car buyer. Joe Ooi purchased Honda Accord 2.0L from motorhead at RM 135K. So he bought car insurance from Honda_driver equivalent to RM 130K for coverage such as total loss as a result of thief".

"Without the knowledge of honda_driver, Joe Ooi pakat with Ah Beng, and he "stole" Joe Ooi's Honda Accord and export illegally to Thailand to become kereta potong or sold as 2nd car overthere. At the end, Ah Beng give RM 80K to Joe Ooi. But Joe Ooi make police report and pakat with another Ah Seng (adjuster) to come out with proper documentation and claim which fulfill all legal and contractual requirement, at the end Joe Ooi get insurance claim of RM 105K (approx. 80%) from honda_driver as "officially" total loss as a result of thief. So Joe Ooi can get total RM 185K (80K given by Ah Beng + 105K insurance claim) or make RM 50K from this "endeavor".

This kind of action is categorically term as "moral hazard". Same with "BN freak DNA", implement project in the name of "pembangunan" but behind it got "Mr. Commission", "Mark up budget with certain % to be apportion into personal pocket", etc, etc. All this is morally unacceptable or "moral hazard".

So, thing is very clear, many of us is unhappy with these, not our beloved country.

• honda_driver (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 10:59 pm

motorhead= the only smart person in malaysia. because of that, he has the right to decide who is dumb or not. only his opinion counts ;)

me? what do i know. i'm dumb.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 12:04 am

Dear Honda driver,

Count or not, I don't mind.. dumb or not up to you, it's your poblem, I don't decide.. Same like u told me to migrate, just bcoz I dissatified with the current gov.. not fair oso… you decide me to leave?.. no right?

Btw.. i give & take, nothing personal.. we all frens lah, kdg2 gadoh jugak.. i guess most of us here have 1 goal, wish to own better cars…& i wish the scenario can change, so one day UMW toyota can start manufacturing cars, so as the other car manufacturers…

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 1:18 am

honda_driver:But it can also go the other way

=============================================

dear m8, journalists are professional too. they have self regulations and associations. if you are saying it can also go the other way, i guess the journalist would love his/her job to be tarnished. such case of spin doctoring are very minimal maybe once in a blue moon for corporate press releases. but if you talking about face to face interview or featured stories, then it may happen but then they company has every right to scan the story before publishing because the company and media have responsibility to protect relations and public image as well as avoid litigation.

• balad (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:57 am

omnicp – How true is true the news is belong to those "victor" and "power" in that country. You just read "opposite" online news say from opposition and mainstream media in our country! Who tell the truth is depend on who support who!

They are professional, of course is true to a certain extent. But when come to commercial interest, it can become "dirty" no matter what is your professional field (with exception to those who are truely professional).

But I personally the best and most accurate news is non other than come from weblog like this one, ha, ha, ha, …….. You see how true is true what mainstream media write about NAP/P1? Ask yourself? How many news establishment is credible and report balanced news? So the best thing is utilize internet tech to read online news from all side! See-see and look-look to find out the truth.

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 9:11 am

hello balad mate,

what our discussion is abt press release from corporation. not politics or spin doctoring. read the lines… do knw the diferrence between press release and news?

in the world of journalism, you may play both side. but when come to corporate news release, no journalist would dare to fool unless you wan to get into trouble.

• balad (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 3:43 pm

Who say cannot, even a lot of press release by corporate is written by themsleve, not by journalist. Journalist just put up "the show and formality" by utilize their media apparatus. Normally corporate will send "draft" for journalist perusal, eveything is pre-determine and pre-written what the corporate want to tell the market with their objectives – normaly to market their goods and services, or to boost their share price. Ask you this kind of news do you think all is telling the truth when come to commercial interest? You can talk whether it is corporate, politics, economy, etc when come to commercial interest? "Everything can come out as far as it serve their interest". Accuracy is one thing – suppose to be the principle of journalist but when come to commercial world – a lot of manipulation, included but not limited to news on share price. Talk about legal case, that for sure every party have their legal rights which I am not in the position to comment for other.

I observe only report on sport, entertaintment, community (Star Metro section) reflect more accurately on fact.

Anyway, just my opinion, "no retaliation", cheers ,……..

Sorry out of topic, lol

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 6:14 pm

omni : "corporate news release, no journalist would dare to fool unless you wan to get into trouble."

actually omni, i dont fully agree on this point. you should try telling the foreign wires this, especially their treatment of news from asian countries, including corporate news. local journos are of course more careful.

motorhead: im not the one being confrontational dude, you are. and i never told you to leave and live somewhere else. i said you have the option. i'm not looking for a fight. :)

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 10:45 pm

Honda Driver…

okie.. let be friends… peace to you…

regards…

• szw (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 1:59 am

y don dey say dey don wanna sell cars in m'sia ?