The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift Cars

fftd_1.jpg

Every car lover has to have watched The Fast and the Furious and it’s sequel 2 Fast 2 Furious. I previously posted about the upcoming third installment in the series, The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift. Let’s have a look at some of the the cars that will be used in the production.

fftd_2.jpg
Mazda RX7 with Veilside Bodykit

In total, Tokyo Drift used over 200 cars for the movie, and they came from all around the world. There are 11 Nissan 350Z cars alone, and these were brought in from Japan because they required right-hand drive vehicles for the movie. Three of them were used for crash scenes. Most of the cars were second hand, as they needed some out of production cars like Toyota Chasers, Mazda RX7s and old Nissan Silvias. From the Mitsubishi stables came 10 units of Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX cars. Volkswagen also provided some cars – four Volkswagen Golf R32s and a few Volkswagen Touran MPVs.

Most of the drifting cars had to be upgraded to drift properly, like the Nisssn 350Z which had to be upped to 475hp through the use of turbocharging. LSD differentials were also fitted. The Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX four wheel drive cars had to have their gearboxes locked to rear wheel drive to allow for the crazy drifting action you’ll see in the movie.

fftd_3.jpg
East meets West: Nissan’s venerable RB26DETT in a Ford Mustang

small_67_mustang.jpgThe hero car is a 1967 Ford Mustang fastback – 6 of these were used. Part of the storyline involved the hero transplanting the venerable RB26DETT twin turbo straight-6 from the Nissan Skyline GT-R into a Mustang, so one of the 6 Mustangs had this under the hood. They took months to transplant it. The rest used V8 engines. Catch the The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift in cinemas on 15th June 2006 in Malaysia. Check out the movie trailer here. Oh BTW, the budget for the cars for movie? USD$7 million. Just for the cars!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lance (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Wow. Good set of cars. Looking forward to the movie.

• Dogster (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 8:04 pm

SANGAT DAHAGAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 8:10 pm

paul! Where are the hot babes pix of KLIMS? and the car as well, if you have time to post it.

• Paul Tan on May 29, 2006 at 8:30 pm

i haven't go to KLIMS ler… no time yet! T_T

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 9:32 pm

Aiya Paul Tan, don't go ler, wasting your ticket RM 20 for week end and RM 15 for weekday. Only few manufacturers like Toyota, Honda or Ford shown their production car and future cars. The rest is basically supply by distributors. Do the show live up to its name – KLIMS, I just ponder on the following: –

1. Some of the cars on display like Chevy by DRB-Hicom come with OTR price. Is this motorshow or "car sales carnival"?

2. On luxury section showing Porsche, Ferrari, Bently, etc. These cars are supply by NAZA, not manufacturer participation. Do it is motorshow or Mr. Nasimuddin show off his "fast and furious playing toys".

If continue like that, next event have to be name "KL International Cars Sales & Showroom Carnival" – KLICSASC.

Better go straight to their showroom, entrance free and the sales man may belanja you at least sebatang rokok or mineral water.

• drM (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 9:48 pm

oohh..too bad aa Joe? haiiyaa..pity..considering to go KLIMS sometime this week. why dont they bring the concepts and future cars here? haiiyyaa…like this, susah la…

• alamak (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 10:04 pm

Check out honda's 2006 KLIMS show cars at http://www.honda.com.my/klims06

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 10:09 pm

actually I am looking forward to check out the car babes, but cant go with my gf who insisted she want to take me to the show, cause i have been bragging about it for the last 2 months. (x.x") putus harapan.

so anyone know any other blog site with the KLIMS pix? care to share? i google it last nite, best coverage is still thestar.online/motoring section. guess what i have more 2003 & 2000 KLIMS search results than the 2006, pathetic.

Anyway, the F&F 3 look much better than the last 2 F&F, i didnt really like it as it talk really little about street racing, and the fact that such racing and mod job are inspired by asian countries, the 1st 2 F&F doesnt really reflect the Initial D mania that give birth to thousands of asian street-racer wannabe. the 3rd installment kinda take the street racing to its origins, and thank god its not the same lead, coz the guy cant act for nuts.

the new lead doesnt really fit the role of a drift king (actually the real drift king in Japan looked geeky as well) but still, drift racing is very close to our heart, so lets make it a day out for all paultan.org bloggers, F&F: Tokyo Drift Movie Outing @ Cathay, The Curve. How that sounds?

• indigo (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 10:37 pm

Tokyo drift…US ah beng meets japanese ah beng. I dont think these cars look local. Still heavy American import influenced, not exactly portrays Japanese drift culture. Ask them ask the drift king for more info lar.

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 10:42 pm

johanbey, sounds GREAT! KLIM SUCKS

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 11:07 pm

I would say KLIMS is worthed. RM20 well spent. Why? Kudos to manufacturers like Toyota, Honda, Mitsu and Perodua for giving much effort in making this show look good. And #$@#%$%&*( to MAA who did the show, why? You guys can see Osim, Genting World Hotel and many other chiplak stuffs going inside!

And for RM20, meeting the girls is already a worhted sight, not to say the rare Pagani Zondas, Carrera GT, Enzo and so on. (yes, NAZA sucks, but the cars are great)

The flops? Proton again, showing only Gen2, Waja Campro and Kitted Savvy. Do they know this is a motor show? You can see more in their local showroom!

Car of the show? For me, its not the Mclaren Mercedes SLR, not the Ferrari Enzo nor Honda FCX, Carrera GT. Its the Kenari RS. Check that car out folks~ It is coming in a few months time, its still the same Kenari, facelift model, but unlike any ordinary facelift, it comes with the following:

1. Momo Steering

2. Momo Gearknob

3. 5" LCD display ICE

4. Electronic Retractable side mirrors

5. SUNROOF !!! (Yes! a sunroof!)

6. Daihatsu MOVE front (single rounded headlamp with large prominent grill extending to the bumper)

" I confirmed the info with one of the ambassadors."

Thats what we call facelift! Perodua really understands what the market wants rather than making the market accept what they had.

Shame on you Vios facelift~ shame on you. kekeke

Go watch it folks, and pity the girls, had to smile 10 hours in a day, 10 day in a row. Yupe, they were paid handsomely, but its a very big give and take. Kudos to the girls at Mitsubishi, Perodua; who were not only pretty (Mitsu's prettier) but they actually speaks fluently, presenting their cars life on stage, explaining details and showcasing them. Very well trained and professional.

Kudos to the manufacturers who put up effort to put on a good show.

• johanbey (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 11:13 pm

as long as paul give the nod, i think we can get some nice banner or bunting to put upwhen all our ah tan (paultan mah!) cars in fornt of the curve. paul have to sanction it. so you guys have to convince him to do so.

• KY (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 11:59 pm

that's because the 350Z is so heavy, that car is close to 1500 KGs.

• v0ices (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 2:33 am

Yes, KY… we know you are light

• skay (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 2:36 am

The last KLIMS was much better. Am looking fwd to Tokyo Drift. The trailer looks good

• Kilokahn (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 2:58 am

If Tokyo Drift does not feature the Trueno, it is not a drift movie.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 3:13 am

frustrated with the klims….btw…looking forward for the tokyo drift…the trailer looks good…

• ikmal (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 4:26 am

r u sure the budget is only 7million ?

it is like sooooo little.

• szw (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 5:07 am

im waitin 4 dis movie .

• raptorclans (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 5:26 am

the golf looks real yummy… XD

• raptorclans (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 5:28 pm

7 million for the cars onli rite? mods? XD

• ShaolinTiger (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 12:18 am

KLIMS is pretty worth it, for the girls anyway.

You can check out my blog for a post with pics.

• jtshin (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 5:39 am

Well.. I'm waiting for this movie n it'll be here in 2 weeks time… hehe… looking forward liao… i even hv the trailer put in my friendster profile… haha… visit www.thefastandthefurious.com for all ff's stuff… tat RX7 doesn't look like RX7… hmmm… so strange… well… even Mustang hv to use a RB26DETT engine… tat means japanese engines are lot more better than american's… haha…

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Kilokahn said,

May 29, 2006 @ 6:58 pm

If Tokyo Drift does not feature the Trueno, it is not a drift movie.

————————————————-

im not sure but sure putup a helluva show. these monster modded real streetcars wld probly burn tofuman and there's no upor down hill in the city wakakaka

american cars+japanese engines+ japanese babes +tokyo= wht else can i say xD

• vvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeriiiiiiiiiiiiii goooooooooooood

• big hairy magical wo on Jun 28, 2009 at 9:26 pm

damn nice ass cars

• ragi shekhar on Aug 20, 2009 at 7:16 pm

niceeeeeee stunts with beautiful ladies……………………………….

• hard core cars

• Mikhail D'souza on Jan 10, 2010 at 1:43 am

The best things that i like of the movie FAST to FERIOUS is the cars that are been used for DRIFTING……………….. FORD MUSTANG AND NISSAN. This cars are one of my DREAM CARS,………..

• Mikhail D'souza on Jan 10, 2010 at 1:46 am

People like cars but do you know abt me?

I LOVE CARS………………..ggggggggoooooddddd ./

• Daniel Sheehan on Mar 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm

would you be able to send me a piture of every car to me cause I am a big fan of Fass and the Furious tokyo drift and I just want their cars posted on my bedroom wall PLEASE!!!!!!!

• Those cars are HOT!!! Wish my man drove one of those.

• Priyam parasher on May 23, 2010 at 9:31 pm

this pic is outrageous ilke that black muscle car with white stripe i think it was dodge charger .

• d real furious cars………… yeahhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• jigar on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:56 am

the spending of money and the hard work to make such an efficient cars ,makes me watch this actions repeatedly almost 25 times.

• hazuan hasif on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:53 pm

cantek laaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• man that’s shit halla to Han, Sean, bow wow and the last man standing Dom Toreddo.