2006 Toyota RAV4 in Malaysia

old_rav4.jpg

2006_toyota_rav4_title.jpg

The Toyota RAV4 was a concept born in 1989. The moniker RAV4 means Recreational Active Vehicle with 4-wheel drive. 5 years later, the first Toyota RAV4 was launched at the 1994 Geneva Motor Show. UMW Toyota is now offering the third generation Toyota RAV4 on our local shores. The previous two Toyota RAV4 compact SUVs were commonly called RAV4.1 (top left) and RAV4.2 (top right). The Toyota RAV4.2 was available here in CBU form through either UMW Toyota or through grey importers. Both three-door and give-door versions were available. Let’s have a look at the third generation five-door 2006 Toyota RAV4, or the RAV4.3, which comes to Malaysia in CBU form.

2006_toyota_rav4_5.jpg

Internationally, the Toyota RAV4 is offered with 2.0 I-4, 2.4 I-4 and 3.5 litre V6 gasoline engines in most countries that are large-displacement friendly, as well as two 2.2 litre D4D turbodiesel offerings. Our local CBU 2006 Toyota RAV4 comes with a 2.0 litre engine and an automatic transmission.

At first glance, the new 2006 Toyota RAV4 looks like a face-lift of the previous second generation version, although it seems that it has gained weight abit, in the right proportions. It also gets a new snout shape flanked by projector headlamps which reminds me of the Scion tC Coupe. The new 2006 Toyota RAV4 is 145mm longer then it’s previous incarnation, and cabin length has been increased by 85mm. The distance between the front and rear seats has been increased by 55mm. The width has also been increased by 80mm. This will allow more comfortable seating of 3 adults at the rear seats. As a whole, the interior volume has increased by 13%. Newly developed rear suspensions with diagonal positioning of shock absorbers also allow more luggage room because of minimal wheel arch intrusion. This allows a 230mm increase in luggage room width, making a total luggage space increase of 47%. Maximum luggage capacity with the rear seats folded flat is 1,459 litres.

2006_toyota_rav4_4.jpg

2006_toyota_rav4_6.jpg

The 2006 Toyota RAV4 is powered by a 2.0 litre VVT-i engine – the 1AZ-FE. This powerplant is a 1,998cc 4-cylinder 16-valve DOHC electronic fuel injection engine featuring Toyota’s VVT-i variable valve timin technology for a smoother torque curve. The engine makes 152hp at 6,000rpm and 198Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, giving the 1,505kg car a nice spirited drive, though a 2.4 litre would be alot nicer.

rav4_atc.gif

The only available transmission is a 4-speed Super ECT automatic, with Active Torque Control (ATC) 4 Wheel Drive. Active Torque Control automatically controls the transfer of torque between the front and rear wheels, allowing seamless changes from front-wheel drive to four-wheel drive whenever the additional traction is needed. Remaining in front wheel drive in situations where 4WD is not needed will improve fuel efficiency. The front suspensions are MacPherson Struts while the rear suspensions are trailing type double wishbones. Brakes are 16 inch ventilated discs at the front, and the rears are solid discs. The car rides on 225/65/R17H tyres wrapping nice 17 inch alloy wheels.

2006_toyota_rav4_1.jpg

The 2006 Toyota RAV4 gets a nice grey and silver and beige interior colour scheme, with a sporty 3-spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel. I personally would have preferred if it was dark grey, light grey and silver but as a premium SUV, it’s target market normally prefers some beige or cream in their interior. The dashboard meters are of the Optitron variety naturally, which self-illuminates, allowing for a clearer display with less glare. This eases the strain on the driver’s eyes. Air conditioning is a digital system with ample outlets, and there are even foot outlets for the rear passengers.

2006_toyota_rav4_2.jpg

The Audio System is a 2-DIN system that plays MP3 and WMA, and is hooked up to a 6-disc changer. It’s design complements the dashboard design, but since it is of the standard 2-DIN variety you can change it to a better player if you want. The audio system comes with 6 speakers standard.

As with all Toyotas, the 2006 Toyota RAV4 has a GOA certified body. There is an abundance of airbags in this SUV, with dual front airbags and side airbags for the front row. There are also curtain shield airbags for the front and rear passengers. The driver also gets a special knee airbag. I told you there were plenty! Other than 4WD for improved traction, the car also has anti-lock brakes and electronic brakeforce distribution. The 2006 Toyota RAV4 is also equipped with Vehicle Safety Control (VSC) and Traction Control (TRC), down-hill assist control and hill-start assist control. Remember the Toyota Landcruiser VX commercial featuring Toyota’s down-hill assist?

2006_toyota_rav4_3.jpg

Being a CBU fully imported from overas, the new 2006 is certainly not cheap. But it’s a real Toyota world car, and has an impressive feature list. The 2006 Toyota RAV4 will cost you a whopping RM203,400.00 for individual private registration in Peninsular Malaysia. For those living in Langkawi and Labuan, it will cost you RM93,282.50.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 3:31 pm

any body know how the procedure for using those Langkawi or Labuan Vehicle? How lung we g ot to send back that particular area ? and…..

• accitzone (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 3:48 pm

How abt the 3 door version….? was thinking of getting it for my wife.. sometimes in august… if toyota decides to bring the 3 door version too, it would be good..

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2006 at 3:50 pm

unfortunately there's no 3-door version for now, even internationally!

• Fairman (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 3:54 pm

En…….looks cool ……i throught it was facelifted of current RAV 4.2 if paul didn't mentioned, but nothing special especially interior.

I personally prefer CR-V, will new design CR-V lauching by this year ??

I heard P1 have planning for SUV, thumb up for P1, then i will wait and see how they to cheating rakyat and ask for more and more development fund from G, then our beloved G will try any stupid way to suck the raykats, F*** the bolehland !

• balad (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 4:00 pm

Dream car …………………………….

• nazuaf (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 4:22 pm

Btw Paul, Langkawi's plate number doesn't begin with L. It begins with K, with an alphabet at the end of the numbers… heheh

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2006 at 4:23 pm

labuan is L what. isn't it?

• raptorclans (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Labuan is in Sabah paul… ;)

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2006 at 5:26 pm

pengsan. i go edit my post LOL

• KY (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 5:27 pm

Real toyota.. got fake toyota? I thought we call those perodua. hehe

• foreverunited (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 5:59 pm

Hey, Langkawi also starts from L…currently LC or LB, i'm not sure..I'm certain bcoz I just came back from there..

• Driven2020 (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 6:10 pm

Labuan = LBN

• xg9 (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 7:58 pm

Langkawi is K.. same with Kedah. but with an alphabet after the numbers..

• king (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 9:33 pm

fake toyota is avanza and vios….not really up to their quality

• juice on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:46 am

Agreed. Totally. The old vios wasn’t so bad, but the new one’s shit, it’s actually sold as the yaris in some territories. and the avanza and innova. . . don’t get me started. . .

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 9:43 pm

langkawi is L…labuan start frm L also but got alphabet after number…i think so…the new rav4 slightly bigger than the preceiding…but the design not as nice as the preceiding…a few months back i saw it at naza…not really nice but big….mbe the new cr-v nicer than dis…this year come out….not fully 4wd…can sv money on maintenance and fuel…good…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 9:52 pm

OK, me come from north, once and for all ot clear the dust. Langkawi car no. plate start with KV …. A, B, C, D, E, ……………. Other like L, I don't know whether it is quote wrongly or belong to taxi.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 31, 2006 at 10:54 pm

Correct. Langkawi is KV XXXX (alphabet).

It looks a lot like the old RAV4, maybe if it aint broke don't fix it.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 12:44 am

WHAT!!!! Langkawi just RM93,282.50

We stay at KL is RM203,400.00

Can buy 2 car alr.

• JF (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 1:21 am

Hi, Im from Labuan.

Labuan car plate : while still under Sabah started from SL XXXX ….

Then LA XXXX followed by LB XXXX and now on LC XXXX

Now Labuan has traffic jam with a lot of cars…..:(

Each family has at least 2 cars….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:15 am

hahaha…langkawi no tax ma….the price is very reasonable…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:17 am

IMO…ill go for murano…better looking n bigger than this…the price…lebey kurangla…jz slightly higher than this car…

• JF (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:26 am

Im from Labuan

Labuan is SL…(A) ……LA…..LB…..and now LC….

• accitzone (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:33 am

ya lorrr. more than 200K… add a few to get a Murano or the new Harrier

• szw (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 6:10 am

y can't dey jz assemble it here ?

• balad (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 7:38 am

Really "crazy" price at RM 200K! ……… "Dream car"

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 9:38 pm

hehe… RM200k… wah… but bigger than the old version… at that price go get a harrier le… add some more for bigger size… n more luxurious… I like the RAV4.2 more than 4.3…

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 7:27 am

200k i can get 2 netional car, 1 for myslef and 1 for my wife….. hehehehehe

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 4:45 pm

huiyo…y u compare with harrier…i think frm this car price…to get the harrier u hv to add up at least 70k rite…better g for murano…juz add 30-40 k to get one…yup…agree with u…4.2 version look nicer than this one…

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:43 pm

sry being such a fan-of-evo prick. for rm 2xxk, cmon get an evo9 lol. 2L car but has 246bhp, 4active wheel drive too mar. 4 seaters oso mah, lightning appearance too get hot with chicks, many colors to choose more….haih, myb not la, evo9 too common nowadays. get sthg else akkakakaka

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:45 pm

wmzhaffran said,

June 1, 2006 @ 11:27 pm

200k i can get 2 netional car, 1 for myslef and 1 for my wife….. hehehehehe

—————————————-

aim higher ler…..i rather get a bmw even m3 series over 2 national car or a bmx wit the excess go somewher else

• derrickchai (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:26 pm

Always have special preference towards "Toyata" car to "Honda"… including tis new RAV4."3".. But too bad, Toyota is a bit over-confident tis time to set the price of RAV4 into too high as compared to other established SUV in Mal like CR-V.. Good luck to Toyota.. :(

• Slum (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 9:37 am

Does anyone know how much does it costs for Toyota RAV4 with 3 doors?

• labuan_world (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:44 pm

u guys come to labuan looo, new model rav4 less than RM9k, u can bring them out, the more years u use in labuan, the tax will redude, normally after 24 month, it's worthy to buy here.u can send to anywhere by using cargo shipment service…..

• Shizuka on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Does anyone know how much is Toyota Rav4 cost in Malaysia? I bought one in Australia, planning to bring back to Malaysia after 2 years. However, I did not see any Toyota Rav4 on road in Malaysia yet. I not sure whether it is worthy to bring back to Malaysia.