Proton back in black; partnership with PSA Peugoet Citroen

Proton closed it’s financial year ending March 2006 with a profit before tax of RM28.2 million on total revenues of RM7.8 billion. Q4 results brought in RM1.8 billion in revenue for a profit before tax of RM95.3 million, which made up for the loss of RM4.3 million in Q1 and the loss of RM158.8 million in Q2.

Proton’s reduced profit was attributed to lower sales, higher allowances for doubtful debts and promotion costs, higher component costs and allowance for stock obsolescence. Income figures from associated and jointly controlled entities was also lower by 28%.

Proton’s MD Syed Zainal Abidin said the passenger car market sales dropped 9% in the Q4 period, but interestingly the SUV and MPV market grew 16% during that same period. This is probably why Proton wants to have a piece of that market as well. Syed Zainal said Proton would face a tough time ahead, with intense competition in domestic and export markets putting pressure on Proton’s sales and profitability. Higher oil price, electricity tariff, hardening of interest rate, tighter credit control and a decreased rakyat purchasing power are also negative factors.

Syed Zainal said the Satria Replacement Model will be launched in the first half of June, and two more new models wil be out before the new financial year is out. This means another two models before 31st March 2007. This might mean new models or facelifts.

As for the talks with PSA Peugoet Citroen, Syed Zainal said they have been going well, and the partnership is expected to be broader than the one it has currently with Mitsubishi. PSA Peugeot Citroen has confirmed that talks are being held but there is nothing concrete yet. Proton currently has partnerships with Volkswagen and Mitsubishi, and is in talks with Chery Automotive of China. It’s subsidiary Lotus Engineering is also in talks with JinHua Youngman, another Chinese automotive company. Proton also has an agreement with Petronas to jointly develop larger capacity engines of 1.8 litre to 2.2 litre. Proton’s own Campro currently serves the 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre range. Talks with an Indian partner are also underway.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jet (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 9:47 am

Paul,

SRM ready for launching, someone post this add in autoworld
    http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a102/nelsonang/…

check it out

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 10:18 am

Well done…

• ... (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 11:20 am

proton already uses renault engine and parts in savvy and waja1.8. so why not a partnership with renault? if the Peugeot thingy goes through the parts of proton cars would be haywire…

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 12:05 pm

new facelift of waja alredy out with minor head n backlight redesign….n then more insider update…..they'll b a savvy facelift (grill and the much needed back) and a gen 2 sedan (bigger m better interior ie glove box included) in planning…so possibly these 2 could be the new models…besides that the PRM might be based on the mitsubitshi galant….pending the negotiation

on the SRM side…it is expected to be launch within the next few days or may not cos they wan PM to launch it…in fact it was actually planned to be launch earlier prior to KLIMS..as a R3 designed SRM and a upgraded interior of SRM alredy been produced for KLIMS…however due to PM's BZ schedule, the launch was postponed

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 2:46 pm

Savvy really needs a big facelift on their rear. Btw, never have any experience with Peugoet car, how is the quality?

• balad (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 3:30 pm

Another "story" from P1 , ……..!@#$%^%$#^&#@*, where is SRM?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 4:32 pm

yup…REALLY need a big facelift on the rear of the savvy…dun give a dsg like penyu….quality of the peugeot quite ok…both renault and peugeot has quite good reputation on quality…it shouldnt t worry abt…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 4:33 pm

WHERE IS SRM?????F*****G IDIOTLA…MANE JANJI???

• shaif (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 4:40 pm

Not G la, its P1 delaying the launching to accomodate with buzy schedule of our PM. It will be lauched this month. Be patience.

• kendo (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 4:46 pm

SALES DROPPED BY 100,000 UNITS VERSUS 2005,

revenues dropped by Billion.

the small profit

is due to special "One-off Accounting make up!

It showed rakyats are DROPPING proton!

Let's us KEEP UP the good works!

STOP buying kampong toys..then it close!

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 4:54 pm

Kau sai, Proton need to cut the backside and the front of the savvy. Looks like an ugly toad to me & that car has been rubbed on the back of a stupid monster?

• nd (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 4:57 pm

From the picture…. nice! no more bling bling rim!

• assimo (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Agree with kendo…now its already shows the effect…More buyer turn to SUV or MPV just one of the reason..but the main reason is rakyat already 'MUAK' with potong 'drama swasta'.Why looks to many planning and JV but nothing happened now.About potong want to have a piece of SUV / MPV market..its too late already laa…i bet if potong already have it now..the sales also drop like now (1 savvy for 6 myvi!!!!!)…SRM??..what so special about it so need PM to launched it??..Pal Lah have too many thing/work to do laa..Najib also can what…??not concrete reason la potong…

• KY (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:06 pm

stock obsolescence = juara? hahhaha

Savvy's back looks like Waja's front with red eyes, interesting bah.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:35 pm

Happy June!

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 5:41 pm

orange SRM looks so nice… :D

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 6:23 pm

proton loses money, kena bash, proton makes some money, kena bash, proton wins MME kena bash, proton launches new model kena bash, no difference la. what else is new.

at least they made a profit, unlike our dear old MAS.

• mankrm (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 6:42 pm

NAP INCREASED TAX ON MPV AND SUV JUST BECOZ THIS STUP* POTONG WANTED TO PRODUCE THEIR OWN MPV/SUV AT HIGHER PRICE YET LOWER THAN OTHER MANUFACTURER MODELS THAT ARE BEING HIGHLY TAXED WITH NAP.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 6:45 pm

Yeah I oso wud be happier if they team up with renault compare to peugeot.. now renault have better reputation.. Savvy goin well… never hear any serious complain about it…

But hentam ajelah proton.. we all know u r desprate.. buat ajelah any car.. janji ada kualiti.. or else, msian will keep avoiding yr product sampai bungkus… But if continue like this oso not good, kejap VW, kejap mitsu, cheery, peugeot,… mau buat rojak ka??… Rojak cars oso no good, since i think many people expect continuity of their cars technology development.. like honda city, civic, accord & etc.. what will happen to gen2 and savvy in the future? phase out? Then later their owners can throw their cars dalam laut…

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 7:38 pm

My dear proton,

Isn't a bit too late to be talking so much. Ppl would like to see more action rather than words. All the words proton utter now will only fall on deaf ears cause the public are bored about this all-talk-no-action situation.

Regarding the multi-partner discussion thingy, god bless proton la…

I don't see the benefits of having more than 1 partner. I mean whut would u wanna do with like 5 / 6 partners?? Buat rojak kereta ke?? Chassis from China, engine from Europe, tranny from Jap, interior from India, exterior local?? No… This is not the way to build a car.

Oh yea, btw, proton seriously needs a much better vehicle line-up. The old (like >10 years) models should go for a major model change. Start making cars that look better along with better quality that look like they are made for this era. Though this sounds like a tall order for proton to fulfil cause i pressume that their management would be too lazy.

Here's my 2 cents. Well, i wouldn't say that i'll wait for proton to re-emerge or gulung tikar. Only time will tell.

=P

• ganz (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 7:58 pm

make it fast laaa..

SRM already tooo long .. now SUV/.. another 10 years perhap??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 8:18 pm

Make profit of RM 28.2 Million out of turnover of RM 7.8 billion or 0.36%. Look at this simple figure, we rakyat have to pay tax up to 300%. If we take Langkawi as a fair price, the rakyat make "patriotic contribution" = (up to 300% – up to 5%) x total volume of car – more than 400K),

Then end up CarTaxLand say average is RM 15 K per car x 400K units = RM 6 billion.

So rakyats pump in "extra tax" = RM 6 billion to protect P1, but P1 make RM 28.2 million out of it, very "pathetic"! If P1 continue with this perormance, close shop earlier better!

• assimo (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 8:43 pm

MM..ROJAK?…can't imagine how the rojaks car looks like…Yep, potong now looks 'kelam kabut' or rushing now. But in deep in my heart, I still pray for potong to succes.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 8:58 pm

tutup kedai jer la.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 9:29 pm

Want to launch SRM also need PM blessing, it is good to do so. But P1 never get rakyat blessing, but got bahsing lah, so don't hope for P1 can be success since this entity fail rakyat misery. Consumers not only pay extra tax for P1 to make small profits, but cover P1 cost (actually is lost) likely in RM Billion. Just imaging without NAP, P1 annual report is perhaps losing RM billion? Close shop soonest is better, then this weblog will fill with latest and most beautiful cars from around the world for us to comment and view, yet it is affordable to most of us.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 10:08 pm

Joe Ooi,

Why so angry with potong maa…

Potong make car not for you. Me better, dont like P1 I buy Toyota. Pity to my friend if P1 close. Where to work. You can give job?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Now if the secretary of PM tell use when the launch date is :D where also. Maybe at proton base?

• ar (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 11:32 pm

I hope proton will produce proton APX a.k.a Lotus APX.

Then I will buy it no matter what…

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 1:36 am

If proton never exist…

most Proton owner would own Honda City,Toyoa Vios..etc.

and those own Toyota Vios,Honday City can own European cars…..

It's not hard to imagine…..

A better place to live…haha

• drM (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 1:41 am

this new is just a smoke-screen. raising confidence and urging people to buy SRM. lol.

• kendo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 1:44 am

Joe Ooi said,

June 1, 2006 @ 12:18 pm

Make profit of RM 28.2 Million out of turnover of RM 7.8 billion or 0.36%. Look at this simple figure, we rakyat have to pay tax up to 300%. If we take Langkawi as a fair price, the rakyat make “patriotic contribution” = (up to 300% – up to 5%) x total volume of car – more than 400K),

Then end up CarTaxLand say average is RM 15 K per car x 400K units = RM 6 billion.

So rakyats pump in “extra tax” = RM 6 billion to protect P1, but P1 make RM 28.2 million out of it, very “pathetic”! If P1 continue with this perormance, close shop earlier better!

– U KNOW WHERE MONEY GO TO,RIGHT?

THOSE CRONIES, KAMPONG SUPPLIERS…

JUST LIKE OUR TNB CASE.

ROB THE RAKYATS,

TO PAY THE IPP CRONIES (POTONG SUPPLIER!)

PLUS TAX TO PAY FOR G- CORRUPTED PROJECTS

AND STAFFS

• kendo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 1:46 am

AND I WANNA ADD,

IT IS BEEN GOING ON

FOR 20 ODDS YEARS

SINCE 1986!

• J (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 3:27 am

Kendo, I support what you said lah…

BTW, does it mean Proton is going to ask protection from G (EFP money from RAKYAT) to pay for their poor sales performance ?

• Mac (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 4:53 am

still hav to wait for launching ar??

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 5:08 am

Untung 28 mill.. better sell goreng pisang… plus 50% under utilize capacity?.. increasing stock?.. now savvy free with aerokit!!.. wah poton is bleeding so bad la… if we continue boycott, mmg bole mati nie….maybe our dream can be true la…

Haiya.. donno what to say… mampus pun, i pity the workers… if they jaga sket kualiti, may be not so bad la… nyawa sudah hujung tanduk.. now nak dengan peugeot?…

What are peugeot achivements in motor world??… i didnt hear so many… anyone can give some info??. the last peugeot 206 i can count with fingers on the msian road… any peugeot owners here?.. i memang x pernah drive a peugeot… never get the chance….

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 5:36 am

The easiest way to end our PAINFUL miserable in the most democratic way it to hold a Referendum to see whether our RAKYAT still want POTONG……if all vote above 50% don't want potong..POTONG JUST SELL IT TO OTHER BIGGER FOREIGN MANUFACTURER……..

Anyway,they never asked us RAKYAT last time whether we should go on with our BIG BIG DREAMS OF HAVING A MADE IN MALAYSIA CAR….

yeah,just Made In Malaysia with foreign brand we 100% don't mind…as long as the quality is better 10 folds that the current potong flops….

the end of potong..cheers!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 7:16 am

Woooooooolllll, many quotes my statment yah, walaueh, thanks for the attention. But anyway, I try to reply and clarify ONE-BY-ONE: –

ichiban said, June 1, 2006 @ 2:08 pm

"Joe Ooi, Why so angry with potong maa…Potong make car not for you. Me better, dont like P1 I buy Toyota. Pity to my friend if P1 close. Where to work. You can give job?"

ichiban, why me so angry with potong maa ….. simply on the following reasons: –

1. I used Iswara 1.3 for 7 years, give me all kind of headaches for as long as I used the car like power window jam, lousy absorber (change not less than 4 time), water pump "kong" within 2 months (luckily under warranty) but make me no face bcos at that time pretty girl beside me! Huh WTF. Make me worry all the time when driving at highway because of drum break and unstabil when drive at more than 100 Km/H.

2. Later, former CEO, TM talk cock and brag about first fully made in malaysia car fine tuning by Lotus, the WAJA. Still have trust with P1, later change to WAJA for 3 years ++, very unfortunately "P1 freak gene in Iswara still carry over to Waja" like failed power window and lousy absorber until out of mechanic recommendation, I have to change and used Honda recond absorber which is at least 3-4 years at a time of fixing and now use around 2 years still very comfortable (now the Honda absorber at least 5 years ++) compared to Waja "ORIGINAL" absorber lasted for 1 year ++ only. WTF!

3. Talk about power window failured, my Iswara change many time on motor but still failed, come to Waja forget about change it. Even before broke down, dare not to press button frequently for fear of jam halfway especially I experience it even during rainy day, you just imaging the suffering and hokkien called it very "TULAN" (angry).

4. So I have to put up the "routine inconvenient" which is now become part of my "normal practice" have to open/close the door when collect ticket and paid for tol, collect ticket and paid for parking at shopping complexes, office building, etc, etc, etc. I "practicing and carrying out this routine" for almost 10 years and sometime I drive other non-P1 car (belong to friends) but I so get use to open/close door and do the same damn stupid "normal practice" until they "KETAWA MONYET @ ka, ka, ka, ka, ….." at me. No face lol some of them are ladies!………. WTF, this is what I got for support P1 and yet make "patriotic contribution"

5. How much "patriotic contribution" I sacrifice my scarce income to P1. Say Lancer 2.0L sell at US, check with MSN website is around RM 40K (USD 10K ++) and my friend told me Iswara 1.5L export version to UK (last time) is around RM 19K ++, so the fair selling price might be around RM 25K. I purchased Waja 1.6L around RM 65K (2003) and Iswara around RM 37K (1996). So the "patriotic contribution" to P1 at least = (RM 65K – RM 40K) + (RM 37K – RM 25K) = RM 25K + RM 12K = RM 37K over 10 years ++ or approx. paid extra RM 3.6K per year or RM 300 per month. This RM 300 per month is at least enough to pay for 80% if not sufficient to cover my monthly fuel bill. WT Big F, really suck blood yet give "lansai" (lousy) product?

So, this is the tip of the iceberg and I strongly believe I am not alone facing this calamity as a DIRECT result of P1/NAP.

Of course not everybody can afford to buy Toyota like you. So you said "Pity to my friend if P1 close. Where to work. You can give job?"

At least your statement try to defend your friend if yourself is not come from P1. You still dare to come out with statement tainted by "P1 freak gene"? WTF, so you expected rakyat to pay RM billion annually to keep your friend few RM K job? This is your selfish thinking, but anyway this is your right of opinion although I strongly disagreed with you! You futher ask "where to work. You can give job?" Your statement is intoned "anak kerbau tak kenal harimau"! WTF, if no P1 and NAP, there are more car manufacturers come to Bolehland to set up plants like Thailand which create perhap ten fold job opportunities. Even me non-automotif layman also can find job in auto industry, so you don't even need to mention your friend can't find job!

So if I "responsive" and also "tainted by P1 freak gene" to your argument, then ask approximately 8,000 P1 staffs to make "pathetic contribution" amounting to RM 1.00 per person or RM 8K per month (which is very afforble compare to my "patriotic ocntribution" of RM 37 K to P1) and give it to my pocket so that without work I also can enjoy my life? Luckily I don't behave in that manner! ………

Please be informed that at all material time, I love our country whole-heartedly but I am very angry ("TULAN") on the way P1/NAP treat us like "fat cow which can be milked to the last drop of SUSU". So I love and like this beautiful country. Don't you ever come out with another "BN freak gene" statement that "dislike of this P1/NAP policy" = dislike of this country. Then later on come out with "if you don't like than migrate to other country" just like the behaviour of one of the MP from northern state! (in fact same state with me, but my "near physically" but "abroad mentally" neighbour!

So Kendo you want to know where is the money go,……. hhmmmmmm………

go to crocs, cronies, AP King, P1 or other GLCs. Out of 15 GLCs, 11 are making lose, so more rakyat money will be use as so call "salvage unfloatable boat" which is become the breeding ground for BIG and FAT crocs, etc.

So J, not only EPF other like Petronas also cannot escape and more G policy or law will be implemented and design to suck more blood from rakyat jut like recently electricity 12% hike. Look at newspaper, TNB "misrepresent" on the "actual figure" as shown in STAR. The pie chart for 59% doest not affected by the hike is represent the USERS", but what is more important is the turnover or total billing. The 59% users' (shall be low income group) billing might constitute less than 20% of total billing, and the 41% users (may be factories, commercials or high income group) might have to bear the brunt of paying at least 80% of the total bill, which eventually will pass the cost to consumers as in the case of factory, is form part of their cost. Please take note here is "assumption" only and the more accurate info is in the hand of TNB! you want to know more detail, go to look after TNB, see how much extra collection TNB can make.

Motorhead – talk about P1 Tanjong Malim capacity, previously in the press P1 mentioned the initial capacity is 300,000 units per years, which can increase to 1 million full capacity. According to Proton Berhad website, Gen-2 assemble at Tg Malim sold in 2005 is 29,739 units. Savvy recorded sales of 6,172 units in 2005. Total sales for all models were 152,845 units in 2005. WTF, Putra sold 24 units in 2005 and sold 448 units for the last 5 years (409+6+3+6+24 units, 2001 – 2005) still don't want to discontinue the production?

See http://www.proton.com/about_proton/facts_figures/…

So, perhaps the 50% under utilize capacity is 152,845/300,000 including production from Shah Alam plant take into consideration (or P1 plug the % from the sky"). If we purely tabulate Gen-2 production at Tg Malim, perhap it is 90% under utilize?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 7:31 am

All these events only point to one direction for P1 : inevitable demise.

Stop sucking blood, you dracula / parasite of the auto industry.

Bring back VW

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 1:36 pm

ala SRM macam Satria saja.. apa yg menarik sgt tu.. 2 doors hatchback design outdated dah la.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 1:47 pm

Peugeot Denies It's Planning an Alliance With Malaysia's Proton

Updated : 01-06-2006

Media : Bloomberg

Story By : Alan Katz

via www.biznewsdb.com
    Mail this story or page to friend(s).

June 1 (Bloomberg) — PSA Peugeot Citroen, Europe's No. 2 carmaker, denied

that it has any plan to form an alliance with Proton Holdings Bhd.,

Malaysia's biggest automaker.

The company did hold talks with Proton, as it does with all carmakers, but

reached no agreement with the company, Jean-Hugues Duban, a Peugeot

spokesman, said. He also denied that any shares might be exchanged.

“We are the champions of this type of cooperation, so we talk with

everybody all the time, but there is no project with Proton,'' he said.

The Financial Times reported yesterday that Peugeot was in talks with

Proton and that the talks might result in the French carmaker having a

stake in Proton.

Proton will unveil a model jointly developed with Mitsubishi Motors Corp.,

a former shareholder, by the end of the year or early 2007, Managing

Director Zainal Abidin Syed Mohd Tahir said on May 30. The company on

April 5 said it may sell shares to another carmaker in exchange for

technical expertise and to help it become more competitive.

Talks with Volkswagen AG about a stake sale ended in January after the two

sides couldn't agree on issues including control of the Malaysian company

and its future strategy.

http://www.biznewsdb.com/english/newspage/newspag…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 2:25 pm

im amazed proton can pull out a profit when its main project savvy fails miserably. following a string a failure products from the past. any other car company in the world (such as lotus) would have declared bankruptcy by now.

• shaif (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 4:21 pm

NAP is useless, drop down few thousand but increase interest rate, lower trade-in, how to buy new car. Better stick to old horse.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 4:40 pm

motorhead…peugeot ok lor….theyve won a european award many time…quite okla…actully no diff. with renault…both of it ok…similar…peugeot hv a good reputation ma…im not a peugeot owner…but my cousin own it…quite ok…no problem since now…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 4:42 pm

dun want to take about protong…all of them F*****G B******T….cakap berapi…habuk tadak…improve pon sket…quality still not resolve…still famous with window problem…idiot…

• kendo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 4:52 pm

cyborgx said,

June 2, 2006 @ 5:47 am

Peugeot Denies It’s Planning an Alliance With Malaysia’s Proton

Updated : 01-06-2006

Media : Bloomberg

Story By : Alan Katz

via www.biznewsdb.com
    Mail this story or page to friend(s).

June 1 (Bloomberg) — PSA Peugeot Citroen, Europe’s No. 2 carmaker, denied

that it has any plan to form an alliance with Proton Holdings Bhd.,

Malaysia’s biggest automaker.

The company did hold talks with Proton, as it does with all carmakers, but

reached no agreement with the company, Jean-Hugues Duban, a Peugeot

spokesman, said. He also denied that any shares might be exchanged.

“We are the champions of this type of cooperation, so we talk with

everybody all the time, but there is no project with Proton,'’ he said.

– THAT IS HOW CERTAIN PARTIES,

WITH THE BLESSING" OF G-GANGS,

DOING BUSINESS HERE,

AND SCREW UP

AND RAP

THIS BEAUTIFUL LAND AROUND..

…..LIKE THIRD WORKD- GHANA…ETC

DISGRACES…

….HELL ACTS…

• kendo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 5:00 pm

— “We are the champions of this type of cooperation, so we talk with

everybody all the time, but there is no project with Proton,’’ he said.—

– AMAZED,

THOSE POTONG SPOKEMEN

ARE TO BE ON JAIL

FOR LIES

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 5:26 pm

no project with protong???hahahahaa…once again protong did it…BIG LIAR…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 7:07 pm

ichiban said, June 1, 2006 @ 2:08 pm

"Joe Ooi, Why so angry with potong maa…Potong make car not for you.

One more question by you but I give you TWO answers: –

1. "Potong make car not for you". Yes is truth if there is no P1/NAP in this Bolehland so that with the same amount of money I can afford other cars with better quality and safety features, just like you. Imported some more and P1 car already lower down my standard and status, huh,……..

2. So today reality is P1/NAP still exist. How dare you come out with statement like "Potong make car not for you" toward me. As I mentioned above, the only cars I ever bought until today are Iswara and Waja. These are not kereta potong or curi but perfectly new and legal at the time of purchased. The car ownership is legally under my name as recored in JPJ registration card! Where you got this statement, I believe P1 also never said that or "blacklist my name", or I never said that I won't buy P1 cars (at least for my Iswara and Waja, in future perhaps yes). WTF. I can prove that your statement is a big liar but anyway the burden of prove is on you to justify your statement, as the case maybe!

The way you talk is worst than P1, where the statement come from? From your "smelly and stinking septic tank" big mouth?

My message is not demonstrate hostility toward you. But the burden is on you to remedy it by say admit your mistake or more "diplomatic", retract your statement!

• assimo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Alamak…malu nya…..peugeot denies any project with P1 laa…what shame….Waiting for P1 reply…what P1 next drama…..??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 8:18 pm

assimo – if you wait for P1 reply and if they ever do it, then another "drama" or "sandiwara".

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 6:18 am

PROTON BIG LIAR…..BIG LIAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Any law in our country that we can SUE them for fabricating a BIG LIES????

POTONG..YOU S****!!!!!

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 7:11 am

Joe Ooi said,

June 2, 2006 @ 11:07 am

The way you talk is worst than P1, where the statement come from? From your “smelly and stinking septic tank” big mouth?

My message is not demonstrate hostility toward you. But the burden is on you to remedy it by say admit your mistake or more “diplomatic”, retract your statement!

Maybe joe ooi got angry to me, sending two times reply.

My mouth not that big. Very busy time to always look at you and reply long long way. Many other things to do.

I used P1 many times but no prob like yours. Maybe God give to you cos u have more times hantam P1. I just 1 to be fair to P1 and also P2. My Toyota also got problem. Chip mtrl use and easily rusty. Eek okk sound there like pig everywhere. Commented to service ctr but muka toya one. But no other MPV I can afford, beli aja ma.. P1 no need MPV, wasting time and money. Small market.

With P1 & P2 exist now G realised many models sent here all low spec. Who check safety level. You go and check ka? Why Avanza Unser Innova City Vios not in Europe… all no std one, NCAP crash also not pass. M'sian people life very chip one esp u.

Janji people buy one. Langgar sikit mati katak. Chinba car like sutera coming who check? Go and ask JPJ how many many many non compliances??? But still can approve to sell here. Who check their China abag. Who check their safety level like other ctry check imported car.

My Toyota built in Indon than come here… what specs they used? Indon spec la…

Let P1 there and at least they pay tax more than you. Others buy foreign car and send 80% money go oversea like me must think hard. You no need.

Anyway.. P1 or P2 maybe appreciate people like u cos at least there's somebody try to kill them and they are here. Not like me, since Toyota in Japan, I complaint nobody want to here… salesman muka toya.. hampeh

Nice writing to you..

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 7:15 am

shaif said,

June 2, 2006 @ 8:21 am

NAP is useless, drop down few thousand but increase interest rate, lower trade-in, how to buy new car. Better stick to old horse

………..

I'm with u.

• PGlang (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 7:54 am

Proton make profit because we pay high price for potong car lah!! It's because all the excise duty we pay goto to subsidize potonglah!! Then the share of potong rise, benefit who??? you knowlah ??? ….. poor rakyat Malaysia.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:04 am

raybrig85.. peugeot ok ka??.. one thing i like with conti cars.. is their solidness… solid molid.. 206 tu memang solid… but i never hear any achivements from peugeot, especially about their engines.. we hear a lot from VW, honda, toyota.. & renault no. 1 in F1.. dunnolah, may be we r far away from europe.. but i welcome solid cars…. solid car best, so i can keep until i am old…

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:23 am

PGlang said,

June 2, 2006 @ 11:54 pm

Proton make profit because we pay high price for potong car lah!! It’s because all the excise duty we pay goto to subsidize potonglah!! Then the share of potong rise, benefit who??? you knowlah ??? ….. poor rakyat Malaysia

Dear PGlang,

I believe u know how much P1 built car cost. Pls tell everybody so that we know the actual cost G kebas.

I bought Toyota, Honda more expensive, where the money go? To Japan la..

We got what… besi buruk. Tauke juga kaya. Who said Msian r poor?

Naza lagi kaya… drive difference.. badge… with lowest quality of Sutera.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 10:04 am

ichiban said, June 2, 2006 @ 11:11 pm

"Maybe joe ooi got angry to me, sending two times reply.

My mouth not that big. Very busy time to always look at you and reply long way. Many other things to do."

Joe Ooi – Let me get your perspective rights on me, I send messages/comments to Paul Tan for around 3 months only. With due respect to Paul Tan as a host, me as a layman visit this weblog with the following objectives/principles.

1. To learn and find out more truth from consumers perspective on our auto industry with specific reference to P1/NAP.

2. I talking on the "capacity" as consumers (especially "loyal" but "frustrated" P1 customer) and as a loyal tax payer citizen. So on this basis, I am in the opinion Paul Tan site give me a good opportunity to criticize "without fear and favor". This is personal forum, and all our view can be discuss and argue. You go to mainstream media, "WHO ARE YOU?" "Where you come from?” You got Datokship or not? "Who know who" connection? Which "crocs species" you belong to? The list will go on and on whom I belong to, so don't expect they pay attention to your view. Luckily internet gives us an opportunity to organize our own personal forum.

3. The basic principle when come to argument may include but not limited to the following: –

– On certain occasion have to "learn to agree on disagree".

– I still respect your rights of opinion even though I may disagree with what you say.

– To accommodate differences of opinion – "all same black hair but million mind with billion thinking".

So this is my perspective, no point to make or try to interpret your statement on me as the above statements are self-explanatory.

——————————————–

Ichiban – "I used P1 many times but no prob like yours. Maybe God give to you cos u have more times hantam P1."

Joe Ooi – You may be "one in thousand" lucky P1 customer and good luck to you. But I strongly disagree with you that god give to me more times hantam P1. God give everybody 24 hours a day regardless of who you are or where you come from – god very fair! I allocate more time to learn and in search of truth, hantam P1? P1 deserved it for it is used tax payer money to set up and sales lousy car to customers like me with the help of NAP, which deny me the opportunity to choose other car with the same amount of money. As mentioned above, I am talking on the capacity of "unhappy P1 customer" and as tax payer.

——————————————–

Ichiban – "I just 1 to be fair to P1 and also P2."

Joe Ooi – Who and which customers (me and you no exception) in this Bolehland is not fair to P1 and P2. The sad truth is P1 is not fair and blood sucking on rakyats for the last 20 years ++!

———————————————

Ichiban – "My Toyota also got problem. Chip mtrl use and easily rusty. Eek okk sound there like pig everywhere. Commented to service ctr but muka toya one. But no other MPV I can afford, beli aja ma.. P1 no need MPV, wasting time and money. Small market."

Joe Ooi – The car you purchased is supposing to target at low income group or less wealthy nations within ASEAN. Relatively we are still better off than most of them, the main culprit are P1/NAP. Just imaging, without P1/NAP, with Avanza pricing of around RM 65K, in US with a little bit more you can buy Camry 2.4L and with al little bit less in Thailand, you can buy Corrola Altis (this is because the OTR price in Thai is included one-off road tax payment). We can squarely blame and hantam on P1/NAP!

———————————————

Ichiban – "With P1 & P2 exist now G realized many models sent here all low spec. Who check safety level. You go and check ka? Why Avanza Unser Innova City Vios not in Europe… all no std one, NCAP crash also not pass. M’sian people life very chip one esp u. Janji people buy one. Langgar sikit mati katak. Chinba car like sutera coming who check? Go and ask JPJ how many many many non compliances??? But still can approve to sell here. Who check their China abag. Who check their safety level like other ctry check imported car. My Toyota built in Indon than come here… what specs they used? Indon spec la…"

Joe Ooi – this is the direct consequences of P1/NAP. If government implements NCAP test or stringent safety standard on par with Europe or US, Perhaps at least 80% (say compulsory airbag requirement alone) of P1 car have to be off the road, P2 car may face the same consequences. But all can get through for simple reasons of commercial interest and as a source of suck more money from rakyat.

Toyota philosophy for products innovation is “Local Best” and “World Best”. For Avanza, Unser, Innova and Vios design and producing by Toyota, they classified it as “Local Best”. For Yaris/Vitz, Harrier, Camry, Avalon, Lexus, Corrola Altis, RAV4 etc are classified as “World Best”. So Toyota’s “Local Best” are targeted at certain region only. Even Toyota also producing cars specifically cater to the US market only (i.e. Avalon big luxury saloon).

You see Toyota is innovative and very smart in doing biz, in developed nation like US where there are many “rich and famous”, their “local best” product is high class luxury cars. In developing countries like ASEAN where most of us are “poor and ugly” (In Bolehland, P1/NAP make us “MOST poorest and ugliest”), they produce low end budget cars in their respective segment (cars, MPV, 4WD, etc) to cater to our market. So, your comment on the quality is valid. Toyota knows what is “local best/world best” to cater to all segment of customers from poor to rich with rights mixed of products in any part of the world. That why Toyota is so successful world class player and their cars are always selling like hot cake (under free market) for any models produce by them. See more info in Toyota Motor Corporation website. Same thing with Honda’s City model also cater to this part of region. So, if you looking for Toyota cars with better quality, look for “World Best” categories. Hmmmmm, sorry lah P1/NAP make it unaffordable to most of us …………………….. so that we are “forced” to buy below par “Bolehland Best”).

Unfortunately, P1/NAP makes even all Toyota “Local Best” car look like of high class cars (with perception of “imported mentality”). P1 don’t need to mentioned lol, don’t talk about “Local Best”, to do “Bolehland Best” also cannot already, even lost to P2/P3.

—————————————-

Ichiban – "Let P1 there and at least they pay tax more than you. Others buy foreign car and send 80% money go oversea like me must think hard. You no need."

Joe Ooi – Of course P1 pay more tax than me because P1 is GLC and I just an individual. But on MACRO view, consumers and/or tax payer have to paid in total aggregate of say RM 8.9 billion extra tax in 2004 alone (my estimate based on: up to 300% tax – up to 5% tax X total nos. of cars sold). How about 20 years ++, so perhaps more than RM 100 billion? How much P1 paid tax to G for the same period? Maybe less than RM 5 billion, but tax payer money to sustain P1 is definitely more than this figure apart from the "more than RM 100 billion" figures as mentioned above.

Be more objective in making comparison! Also have to look at "cost-benefits" analysis. In P1 case, more rakyat money is pouring in compare to profits make by P1 (in this case P1 2005 profits around 28 million only)! In other word, P1 overall do not create wealth to nation but is a liability to rakyat.

—————————————–

Ichiban – "Anyway.. P1 or P2 maybe appreciate people like u cos at least there’s somebody try to kill them and they are here. Not like me, since Toyota in Japan, I complaint nobody want to here… salesman muka toya.. hampeh"

Joe Ooi – Look back on my objectives/principles, in no way and at all material time I have the capacity, intention or resources which is capable to kill P1/P2. So, I strongly disagree with your statement. I am just layman and unhappy P1 customer only rave's and rant's on this weblog! About your complaint to Toyota, and nobody want to hear you … this I believe is not reflect the policy or attitude of Toyota, but perhaps isolated individual salesman bad attitude problems.

Just to share with you my experience. I mean sometime there are certain staff in company action or behavior which is against the company policy just like I face problems with my off-line Streamyx for more than 2 months with repeated complaints to toll free call centre and email to customer care – but nobody care. So, what I can do, since official complaint to "front/bottom-line" staffs but they put up "monkey show" then just write complain letter directly to top management to Group CEO Dato’ Wahid, wah very effecient. All the monkeys start calling me and attend and settle within 48 hours, WTF teach them a lesson, even one of them told me “your complaint letter will be discuss in weekly management meeting”? For me I don’t care, what I want is their service before asking me to pay the bill. See all big company have a lot of office politics. I believe Toyota is no exception!

Cheers to you ……, no offend, no malicious intention, no hostility, but there may be “hard talk direct to the point(s)” approach, which have a high propensity to become “enmity”.

Lastly, tired also writing this “long air” comments but sorry lol out of topic yet take so much Paul Tan space……….

Note – Back to biz, Proton actually make lost but insurance claim of around RM 80 million put P1 on black again.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 6:16 pm

motorhead,

yup…peugeot is quite ok…maybe u didnt hear thier achievement on f1 but…they really damn good in rally since 80s and won many awards….for a french carmaker…peugeot is on the top alongside renault…actually…both of this carmaker is similar….conti car is very solid…i dare all of u…if u once drive the conti car…ull never turning back to jap cars…cause of the solidness,driving experience…it feels good compare to jap car…ive own the honda civic once…but then i tried the conti cars…which is fiat brava then many contis including peugeot,alfa romeo etc…the driving experience is really good….the feels is far better than the japs….the solidness…till now i stick to conti cars…:)…and actually the maintenance is ok…not like what we expecting…mahal…susah nak dapat spare part…actually ok…but u hv to know the rite workshop to go…that is important for u to join the forum…like local alfa,fiat,peugeot forum and etc…ull get more info there…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 10:03 pm

hoho.. yeah i believe u.. they are mmg solid.. i oso think want to own them oneday… tunggulah when they are more affordable & more roaming on msian road.. now one cheap option is savvy….

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 10:43 am

only savvy? oh,yes if you want to dump your money on the river. Buy a Savvy. It has no second hand value in the market.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:20 pm

Yeah, I know…that is the problem.. we dont know what savvy future… since it one deal off with renault… & poton dont have any strategic partnership with renault anyway… but AMT real nice to drive…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Savvy sold 6,172 units in 2005, MyVi delivered 7,102 in March 06 alone. I heard most of my friends commented that not only Savvy, MyVi or any other "mini car" second value always low, perhaps Savvy will extremely low like Tiara.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:44 am

Joe Ooi..

Really miss to write. Having long vacation for school holiday. You all tak cuti ka? Having opportunity using Spectra of my sister travelling… don't ever buy it! Iswara lagi bagus if not Kancil.

Appreciate your comments but if too long, cannot read all. When write, keep it KISS.. 'keep it short and simple stupid'. That's why when we mumbling too much, people fed up to listen, they will take things at the end only as conclusion… if they want to listen. Remember that… KISS

As “unhappy P1 customer” and as tax payer, u must always looking at today. Of course I was the lucky P1 customer and I've also the right to say the "unhappy foreigner customer". After getting my money, they don't listen to my complaint. At least Joe Ooi comments… somebody look at it.

NAP actually not fair to our national industry and more benefit to foreigners. If good to P1, they will make more profit but NAZA, Toyota, Honda getting more. P1 car specs actually not like Toyota specs, they are here and abroad. If u compare P1 price and Asian made Toyota, u cannot! Not fair in terms of features and more important our safety!!!! Safety need investment and money my dear. If u blame about quality of P1, u r right in some aspects but please buy other car and then do yr own bmark.

G must do many things to upgrade our standard of car selling here. U cannot simply make us on par with Indon, Siam or Philipine in terms of safety. With the specs they sent us, Avanza, Unser Innova etc of course should price as Iswara or Kancil because same safety standard. They are making more money not because of tax but dear my friend pls check how they calculate the OTR. Dia olang untung gila ma… agent Msia untung, agent Indon untung and tole besar kat Jepun lagi untung…. so u calculate la.

I hate all this rather than hantam P1 or P2 our own industry and vendors..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:55 pm

Noted your comments – KISS – conclusion is P1 setup lead to creation of NAP to protect it at the expanse of rakyat welfare, yet create a "breeding ground for crocs" and many loopholes for manipulation as what you described is just a tip of iceberg! So P1 come first, NAP come later but it become today very "unfair equation" in our auto industry. We don't get value for money cars for what ever brands (P1, P2 or imported) in our market.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 6:59 pm

Joe Ooi said,

June 7, 2006 @ 9:55 am

So P1 come first, NAP come later but it become today very “unfair equation” in our auto industry. We don’t get value for money cars for what ever brands (P1, P2 or imported) in our market

…………………………………………………………………..

We don't get fair treatment either in outside market ! To send cars to others we need to pass so many tests which none here. Cars sent here not same specs as theirs. They said they reduce tax but actually they protect theirs by imposing so many regulations. Be positive and fair to our own land.