Proton Mitsubishi feasibility study

Proton has completed it’s technical feasibility studies with Mitsubishi, and is now waiting for commercial feasibility studies to finish. These feasibility studies are part of an MoU signed in February 2006 to explore the feasibility of cooperation between Mitsubishi and Proton in the development of new vehicles and components supply.

Proton also said it has identified the product ranges suitable for implementation with Petronas. They signed an agreement end-January this year to develop larger-capacity engines and an environmentally friendly alternative fuel system.

Proton-Mitsubishi Partnership Outline
Mitsubishi 380 to be exported to Malaysia
Proton to use Petronas E01 family engines?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kendo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 5:29 pm

please,

no more painful clone toys,

remember

wira, saga, perdana…?

that are still hurting rakyats

badly…

just give me the REAL car,

not those with no name

like potong…to CLOSE shop

• demio121 (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 6:50 pm

it been reported that Perdana replacement will likely be a re-engineered Mits 380 from Australia.

Found this Wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_380

Don't look good for a start.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 7:14 pm

Let Potong said what they want, the reality is even SRM still no news on the actual date for launching, what to talk about new model replacement or SUV/MPV. Look like P1 feed us not only with lousy quality cars but to come up with quality news also got problems? Recently, "P1 freak gene even menjalar to their news", "level of accuracy" is very low, unreliable just like their cars!

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Haiyaa.. study baru.. lambat ni.. can wait or not?.. can stand or not?.. die or dont die?.. But tomorrow never die… wth want to do, do fast… fast & furious… hehe..

looks like i am gonna buy avanza or city, and prepare myself to make a huge patriotic contribution… how about u joe? want to make any patriotic contribution?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Still no budget at this moment since make "patriotic contribution" on Iswara and Waja almost RM 37K lol, so wait beyond 2010, may be it will be less! I am optimistic on this because G tie to AFTA/WTO and P1 now "bleeding" as a result of "over sucking rakyat blood"! If not, then go for 2nd car like Toyota.

• assimo (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 8:43 pm

Errr….can P1 do something quitly…? No need to be like chicken,"bertelor sebiji riuh satu kampung? I mean..better annouce their success project when its done.

Because so many 'tak jadi' planning happen laa….isskk…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 9:54 pm

What "bertelur sebiji riuh satu kampung"? already give P1 so much face lol.

Actually "berkentut kuat sekali mau satu kampung bau gas busuk P1".

P1 used rakyat taxes money for it existence and consumers paid tax to protect it. But they wasted all this limited resources at the whim and fancy by doing talk cock and produce lousy products. What ever news or cars come out from P1, it cost tax payers and consumers hard earn money!

• chang (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 11:01 pm

aiyo…

potong hv any problem,gov must 'SAVE' the potong…

cos malaysia boleh!!!

P1 is proud of malaysia…..but not to me!!

• rexis (Member) on Jun 02, 2006 at 11:47 pm

Very feasible for proton, just mitsu have to study feasible to them or not.

• afhstingray (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 2:17 am

just give us an EVO as the new putra for 80k :P

rakyat happy mwahahhaa

• Sharfox (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 2:25 am

Hmmmm…. Can't wait for SRM to be launch. Know what?.. Coz I'm curious to know what type of bash this time. Huh… When they delay the launching…whooaaa..bash..bash..bash…. hahahaha… that's why I can't wait the launching…of coz la..whadya expect?….. I also wanna bash la…

• Neo (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 5:10 am

I believe fellow Malaysian just want to see the new model only. How many of us are actually planning buy one? For once I owned a Proton but with all the past experience, I am now without Proton. Living without Proton is a blessing…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 6:35 am

Feasibility Studies of P1

I Analysis

Please refers to many of the comments posted to columns here in relation to P1.

II Findings

Now 2006 still selling model dating back about 20 years ago

Market share drops to about 30%

Consumers having no confidence

Obsolete technology

Need moron’s policy to survive

Wasting economic resources

Unable to compete globally

Will need another 20 years to list the complete findings here

III Recommendation

P1 should BUNGKUS for good.

Folks, you may want to strengthen this feasibility stuidies.

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 7:32 am

demio121,

Hmm it seems that proton is following mitsu's foot steps.

soon, potong will die. haha like the one in adelaide.

Out of curiosity, I hv searched for our potong in wiki, its said that export models are very fuel efficient and RELIABLE?? WTF!!!! Cant believe ppl in the UK are supporting our bull shit potong..

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:31 am

NeedGoodCar said,

June 2, 2006 @ 10:35 pm

P1 should BUNGKUS for good.

Folks, you may want to strengthen this feasibility stuidies

Latest analysis:

P1 will be replaced with NAZA…

Car from China,

Peugot give old car

Who going to kaya

Only one man saja… naza

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 9:17 am

SRM is 3 doors hatchback.. I dont see why Proton would STILL produce this model. Even modified Gen2 looks more appealing than SRM.

SRM = Proton Satria design structure duh.. so freaking sick of that model. No offence to the owner.

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 2:35 pm

Aiya guys…rilek la. The new MD just started in January right? It's only been 5 months, and it seems that they are going in the right direction. All the problems that Proton are facing now are leftovers from the Automotive Man of the Year 2004, the one and only Tengku Mahaleel. He was there for 9 years, and it all went downhill for Proton. Now the rakyat are fed up with Proton, market share is down, quality problems everywhere etc. I know it's been more than 20 years now that rakyat has suffered (I was one them!) but try and give the new management some slack. Give them time to rectify all the problems. As you all know the situation of Proton sucked real bad when the new management came in, takkan la over night boleh terus nak OK balik. Just give them a bit more time, say another year and a half. Kalau still not rectified all those silly problems like quality (power windows especially!) and still no improvements model wise, then let's bash Proton together. I'll be the loudest one of the bashers. I'm not a Proton employee, btw if you're wondering.

Today I personally met 4 people from the Proton Board of Directors, the chairman and three other directors. A few weeks ago I personally met Tuan Syed Zainal. I can honestly tell you that they are all working their socks of trying to turn Proton around (seriously, I'm not kidding). It's not a simple thing to do, because while trying to rectify the current problems, they have to devise plans for the future as well. Of course now all the news from the media are just 'plans' or 'feasibility studies' or 'MoUs'. But these things take a long time to set up. There are legal issues, commercial issues, IP (intelectual property) issues, and of course financial issues to be sorted out before any contracts are to be signed. I'm not trying to suck up to these people, there's no use for me to do that. I'm just trying to put everything into context. Give the new management atleast another year and a half. If the situation still doesn't improve, then seriously, lets bash Proton together. Like I said before, I'll be the loudest of them all.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 4:12 pm

Time and tide wait for no one.

Time has changed and evolved that the competitive environment in the automotive industry today is completely different from that of yesteryears. In those days, you might have the luxury of time to rectify your mistakes like many auto giants did, but no more in today’s environment.

For being in the industry for 20 good years and still couldn’t find a solid footing in the global market, it’s a bit too late to start now.

P1 is now wasting economic resources and rely on unfair auto policy to survive, it’s mere existence is a burden and nightmare to economic planning in terms of allocation of economic resources.

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 4:36 pm

And yet this unfair auto policy you are talking about is ending. It's obvious, the current government doesn't have the same stance to national carmakers compared to the previous one. However you see it, the protection that the national carmakers have won't last forever, and it's going sooner rather than later. And like most of us, we'll jump for joy when that day comes. But the current situation is as it is right now, and there's nothing a mere rakyat like me and you can do (until the next election that is). So instead of slacking a company that is struggling to turn around due to faults, mismanagement and corruption of some certain cronies and friends of people at the top, don't you think it's better to support the new management who's working really hard to improve? Time and tide waits for no one, you're exactly right. But people can wait for others, people can be patient. Proton had 11 good years and 9 bad ones. Again you're right, the competition nowadays are different, which makes turning around the company even more difficult, don't you think? At the end of the day if you ask me what brand car I will buy with my hard earned money, it definitely wont be a Proton. But I really do hope for the day in a few years to come that for the first time in my life I'll choose a Proton voluntarily, and not because that's the only car I can afford.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 4:47 pm

sell it to VW and let VW do the job.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 7:22 pm

NeedGoodCar – Totally agree with all of your content. Exactly, VW can do a good job toward P1 just like Toyota/Daihatsu do toward P2.

Zongtwi – Give P1 time under new management, in biz world time is money and in no way ask for more time no matter under which CEO/MD "mentorship", as today biz world is merciless and survival of the fittest? Ask for more time is equivalent to ask rakyat to contribute more money for them to do talk cock, in return to make a big liar to rakyat on PSA Peugoet Citroen parnership? What is this, it is a "moral hazard", no social responsibility, no transparency and no public accountability.

In develop country like UK where you was there before, the MD should not be given more time, but have to resign volunteerly as a matter of principle! For giving damn shit above big liar news! So ask rakyat to give or handout hard earn money for P1 to do all this nonsense thing?

As a matter of fact, SZ is cought in a situation beyond his control and surrounded by big fat crocs. How far he can go given that kind of environment? Given time another year or even another 20 years also make no different if the crocs is still there! What SZ need is not sufficient time, but give him "crocs hunter" to hunt down all this blood sucking creaters only SZ in the position to make changes but with limited option(s) – become contract assembler or let VW take over? Current effort and planning are all rubbish and desperate attempt to maintain this "crocs breeding ground".

Let face the facts: SZ is a capable leader and will lead any organization (not limited to P1) to a right and successful direction, but given P1 setup, will fail SZ and every rakyat MISERY. Time will prove my statement.

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 7:26 pm

errr, Lets stop bashing and paranging proton?????

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:24 pm

SRM = Modified Gen.2 structure

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 2:07 am

Haih… kolien P1… got shoot so badly….. everytime when a P1 news came out here… it will be shooted by ppl… but I think all the comments are nearly the same right? hmmm… I already lazy to comment on P1… haha….

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 2:33 am

well…..mitsubishi cant even hold thier own in thier home market of japan…..let alone in australia and the rest of the world. What good car model have they actually got. the Evo…and even that is lagging behind the competition in terms of sales(anyway we would never get any evo's in msia so thats out of the question). the rest of their cars like the bread and butter lancer and mirage are hopeless if u've driven them. No need to see already if made by proton. since now the europeans, koreans are making strides in that area and no need to say toyota who will always have a stronghold on the segment. after all the trouble mitsubishi went through to cut ties with proton, now the management are begging them back for help. The future seems bleak for proton.

Good effort by management though. but getting help from a struggling company is not much of a help. like someone said all msia is gonna get is clones of bad cars or perhaps excess unsold stock if lucky.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 5:50 am

they better partner with vw…i hope it…but they already screwed it…damn….till now i amazed what vw do to the skoda…good man…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:11 am

Maybe until P1 half die or almost die only let VW take over, that time VW value P1 at "salvage value", all debts bear by rakyat.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 10:47 am

you can take Proton out of the cronies but you can never take cronies out of Proton.

Fact of life.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:09 am

Joe Ooi said,

June 4, 2006 @ 9:11 pm

Maybe until P1 half die or almost die only let VW take over, that time VW value P1 at “salvage value”, all debts bear by rakyat

………………………………

VW pun tak laku kat Europe… you asked them to buy Proton..kah kah kah. I bet u won't buy VW even if the price cheaper.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:43 pm

ichiban – My money at most enough to buy VW Golf only, so I will consider to buy the car if the price is lower. The company, be it VW, P1, BMW, Mercs, Toyota, Nissan, Honda, etc, etc, etc, is non of my concern! huh, huh…… I want the car not the company share ……