BMW F10 5-series Artist’s Impression

bmw_f10_preview_1.jpg

UPDATE: It’s 2009 now and we already have a glimpse of what the F10 5-Series Saloon will look like in the form of the BMW 5-Series Gran Turismo.

AutoBild has impressions on BMW’s next executive sedan, the BMW 5-series. As I mentioned before, BMW is adopting a new F-code for it’s car projects and the new BMW 5-series will be designated the F10. It’s expected to be launched in 2009, with the F10 BMW M5 set to debut in 2010.

bmw_f10_preview_2.jpg

The F10 BMW 5-series will be slightly larger then the current E60 5-series.

Dimensions BMW 5-series E60 F10
Length 4839 mm 4849 mm
Wheel base 2888 mm 2960 mm
Width 1846 mm 1850 mm
Height 1467 mm 1454 mm

Expected models and engine options are – 520i, 2.5 litres, 218 ps; 525i, 3.0 litres, 238 ps; 530i/xi, 3.0 litres, 272 ps; 535i/xi, 3.0 litres biturbo, 306 ps; 540i, 4.8 litres, V8, 367 ps; 550i/xi, 4.4 litres V8 biturbo. The diesel range – 20d, 2.0 litres, 175 ps; 525d, 2.5 litres, 204 ps; 530d/xd, 3.0 litres, 245 ps; 535d/xd, 3.0 litres, 300 ps.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 5:55 pm

absolutely fabulous

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 6:05 pm

amazing, marvelous…………………..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 6:49 pm

One model with 10 variants of engines to choose, this is BMW products offer to market! Real fantastic!

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 6:58 pm

So this will be the next BMW 5-Series. I think the current one look more cool coz this one the ehmm how to say it look more square for those headlamp n rearlamp.

• assimo (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:10 pm

u.huh..hu…i still feel the current one more masculine..next 5 series ..mm.don't like so much rear end looks…but what to say..it is the Ultimate Driving Machine…in my dream lah…haha..BTW, E46 looks more 'mafia' car for me…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:12 pm

V8 Twinturbo yeah!! Aren't these modified from the M5 original wallpapers? High possibility that the new 5 series range would look like this. Anyway, what I'm interested in now is the the 2007/2008 BMW M3 Woot!

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:14 pm

those are X3 headlamps.. lol

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:26 pm

the rear is a cross between Infinity and Camry… the old one looks better imho… but overall a easier-to-like shape

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 9:23 pm

1 word..

SPEECHLESS….

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 2:03 am

hehe… the rear lights quite similar to accord n sonata nf… but anyway… as long as its a BMW… its an Ultimate driving machine… I think if this model convert to M5, it will be better looking than the M5 now… the M5 now looks strange to me… hehe… I prefer M3 more than M5 nowadays… Looking forward to new M3…. hope to get one in the future…. dream car….

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 2:53 am

Yeah the rearlamp look like those Accord, 2007 Camry.

Not like the current one where when first time look it will WAH WAH WAH.

Last time when 5-Series just launched is hard to see OTR. So usually when i saw it i will keep on look at it. Really very very very nice. Feel very happy when saw it hahaha.

• Paul Tan on Jun 04, 2006 at 2:54 am

I still prefer the E39!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 3:47 am

Have to agree with you Paul. The E39 5 Series and M5 were the all time greatest. Been saying alot of E39 M5s lately… Is it a sign?

• karheng (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 4:53 am

This Bmw has certain similar ideals of the Audi's current lineup on the front..with that very visible yet understated patch on the face. The rear tho is simple as usual. I don't think they intend to follow any accord or sonata or anything but that's pretty much a fresher design of the current rear, making it look more cheerful rather than pouty at the back. The lights are similar to the 3 series. I can't imagine the m5. M5s are poetries in motion. M6 is even better. I saw it coming downhill once and i was MESMERIZED.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 5:27 am

Pui~ both E60 and the F10 looked fugly, being an executive car, it looked more like a bloated 3 series, vulgar, menacing. Ok when someone like Andy Lau steps into it, but it'll look stupid when someone like Eric Tsang steps out from it… cars of this class shouldn't be too loud.

Still prefer the E39.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 5:57 am

aiseh…front similar to current 3 er….i dun like it…really damn ugly…the rear end…gosh…ugly….ugly…e60 is better…haiya…come on beemer…give us a good looking dsg…nowadays…none of beemer looks pretty…all sux xcept e60 5 er…mcm orang tuala ini kete…

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 7:15 am

Oh my… This is one ugly car. Front is as ugly as the new 3-series. And the rear, no comment. Turun class becoming like sonata already. Yeah agree the e39 m5 is the best, the e60 is quite good looking too. But since the new 3-series and the x-3 was released, ewwwww……. Hope they wont release something like this.

• Car Lover (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 7:24 am

it looks like lexus GS450's taillight????

• hedonism (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 9:06 am

first glance i tot it was the current 3-series…

nothing impressive. prefer the current model

but why on earth are they leaking such photos when they are launching it only in 3 years time?!

• BL (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 9:43 am

I have to agree with Car Lover. When I saw the rear, it instantly reminds me of the new Lexus GS. Why BMW nowadays always have to copy the rear of Japanese cars? Even though I know that image above is just merely an artist impression. But seriously, look at the new 3, it looks similar to Mitsubishi Charisma.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 9:44 am

i think this is just and impresion by another party…well thats what paul has stated….germans are quite a secretive lot…wit bangle on board…im sure it will look a lot diffrent from the current pic…bmw has moved towards the curved wedge shape of late and its 3 years away from launch….a lot of things will and surely change….a 5 series is not replaced every 2 years!..its exclusive for god's sake….im sure its just an impression..its a modified wit some software of sorts

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 1:38 am

lexus gs is a lot better…quite nice…but this one is really damn ugly…btw…it is jz on the conceptual stages…i think the side profile is nice…

• szw (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 1:47 am

another 5-series ?

sure got alot of problem especially da steering angle module .

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:03 pm

Ultimate Driving Machines will always be my dream car. :(

• layman (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 3:20 am

No way this can be a F10. It looks like a 'wrongly face lifted E60'

• RichGal (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 11:41 pm

ARRRGHH!! UGLY, UGLY and UGLY!! FAT CAR!!

PLLLEZZZ BMW, when can u produce a sexy, sleek and elegant car like Mers Benz??? GO get slimming programme & fashion consultant!

• wanalimi (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 10:33 am

UGLY lah!!!
    What happened to Bangle?
    Are Koreans working under him?
    New 5s & 7s are going to be plain ugly cars!
    The current 3s and 5s are best looking Bimmers.
    You can relate the design to high class fashion like Armani etc. It might looked ugly to some people (who don’t have taste for it,and $), but it must looked absolutely right for those who deserved!

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 5:58 pm

eee… not nice…
    hmm.. side view is similar with accord already… see the door handle, windows shape & chrome… just the rim is BMW sport type.

the back is little like korean already laa.

front look much like a 3 series now :(

• Boris Patrick on Jan 01, 2009 at 3:10 am

Buckling up at the rear seat is the most uncomfortable. Due to the different style of seating position and the comfort level of MALAYSIAN cars. Not everybody can afford Lexus, Mercs or BMWs ok ? Stupid !

• Hei Hei,

This are the same pics publicized already before the E60 came, this is the E60 spy shots WAKE up ???

• Ruppert on Aug 13, 2009 at 1:47 am

No, Camry looks like F10 :]

• Alejandro Tegucigalpa on Sep 21, 2010 at 10:46 am

It’s not the most beautiful M5 ever made, in fact is like a fusion between an 3 series on the front and a fuckinc square car desingned by the sqare people of Cadillac. The only part of the M5 that I saw in the pics from top are the fantastics rims of the most beautiful, coolest, great performed, intimidator, mighty and innovator BMW M5 untill now; the BMW M5 E60. I hope BMW don’t fuck the BMW M3 as they did whit the M5.