Hyundai Getz Cross

hyundai_getz_cross.jpg

Hyundai wants in on the growing soft-roader market. Soft-roaders are cars that adopt SUV design elements but is only meant for cruising around town. Some soft-roaders aren’t even equipped with 4WD.

Examples of soft-roaders include the Volkswagen Polo Dune based on the Polo, and the Citroen C3 XTR based on the C3.

The Hyundai Getz Cross is based on the Getz, and comes with a 1.5 litre CRTD turbodiesel. The car is front wheel drive. The base Getz was equipped with SUV body styling like extended wheel arches, roof rails, a higher suspension and big wheels.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:11 pm

Looks like underpowered to me, based on the extra weight

• assimo (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:28 pm

Easy way to produce new model…just usind a current platform and then change here and there…=another model…yep agree..looks underpowered with 1.5 engine. .and the weight I think more heavy than original Getz…

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 1:59 am

hehe… as I know, the current Getz is quite underpowered.. I mean for 1.3 petrol. Fuel comnsumption is quite high if compare with other 1.3s. 1.6 DOHC I dunno cos seldom got ppl get it at my area here… this Getz Cross is a Diesel… who cares underpower… haha… diesel engines got higher torque I think… Anyway, its like only a facelift… this model's headlights not bad actually… better than the lines of the previous model… but I think this diesel model won't be in market… right guys? diesel engines are more base on european market….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 6:03 am

actually it is wasting of time produce a car like this…like fiat panda cross…vw polo cross…yup…looks underpowered la…and not worth it…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 6:11 am

This one got 1.5 turbodiesel woo. usually turbo diesel engine got power one.. like nissan frontier… but dunno the engine setting, but if for town cruise, may be high tork low rpm.. like bestari… but no much info about performance la here…

Haiyaa.. unfortunately in msia road tax for diesel still very high… dunno why gov still dont want to lower it down, like kancil's road tax, RM30…, gov should start encourage people switch to diesel engines now, since biodiesel is the fuel of the future.. europe have seen this oredi.. but looks like our gov act so slow… like Hulu Kelang tragedy.. dah runtuh baru mau take action…

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 8:24 am

well this looks nice. purrrfect for gals to drive :), looks sporty as well. 2 me.

well our govenment is like tat, not like other countries. ours special. very lazy ppl in the gov. only happen then only take action. as i said in other threads, they never look into the future, never look into the long term. Real life example, our proton and now naza. copy & paste & wait to get money then end of story.

R&D = no such thing in our automotive sector. Oh well tough luck

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 9:52 am

still prefer the original 1st edition getz then the rest of getz.

nearly bought one myself. for me, this is just a spin-off.

then again, it will never reach our cartaxland due to ___.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 5:57 pm

Let Inokom rebadge it then can reach and pass through our CarTaxLand's gallow!

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 04, 2006 at 7:24 pm

inokom is a??????

• szw (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 1:49 am

don try to go off-road wif it , u'll get stuck .

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:09 am

Dogster – Inokom assembly factory at Kulim, and currently they rebadge firstly Hyundai Atoz to ATOS ("Aksi Terunggul Otomobil Semasa"), Matrix and in future perhaps more model from Hyundai.

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 7:44 am

OO so its like another perodua? or proton?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 7:54 am

NO lah, it is EXACTLY like NAZA …… but at "smaller scale"

• jared323f (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:43 pm

Is this a car or apa? I dont do koreans.. they make stupid cars with stupid designs.. just look at the hyundai coupe.. i still am having a hard time telling which one is the front… oh!, Hyundai have B-tec.. which stands for Bullsh*t technology… They make good and cheap LCD screens though…

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 9:40 pm

U gotta be kiddin me. This car comes with 1.5 TD?

I remembered James May from TG did a 0-100km/h in an Hyundai Accent 1.5 TD (I think it shud be the same engine as this one) in 19s.

Btw, wat's the price of this car? Its one of the 10 variants offered by Inokom, rite?