Nissan and Suzuki to bring collaboration further

nissan_moco_450.jpg

Nissan and Suzuki will be expanding their collaboration with sharing vehicle platforms and rebadging. Currently Suzuki supplies some small cars for Nissan to rebadge. An example would be the Suzuki MR Wagon, which Nissan rebadged as the Nissan Moco. These small cars are usually sold in the Japanese market only.

The agreement cites the possibility of new products for the Japanese market. If feasibility studies go well, Nissan will be supplying a minivan to Suzuki to rebadge, and Suzuki will supply another mini-car like the Suzuki MR Wagon to Nissan to rebadge. This is expected to begin at the end of 2006.

From 2008 onwards, Nissan might supply a compact pick-up truck to Suzuki to rebadge for the North American market. This might be a pick-up like the Nissan Frontier, as it’s considered small by American standards of huge 4 litre engined monster pick-ups. Nissan and Suzuki will also begin manufacturing collaboration by sharing facilities. The first facility to do this will be Suzuki’s Indian plant.

This is an example of a successful collaboration between car manufacturers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• assimo (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 4:58 pm

Waahhh…good lah this two cars manufacturers collaboration,supply model for each others and rebadge it…and its happen in Japan!..At least they get a lot of benefit from that way..etc,can save new model development money i guess….

How about P1 and P2?..going to study this collaboration?

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 11:19 pm

They should call the the car NISUKI(Nissan+Suzuki)..Hehehehe..The car looks like Baby Serena to me..

Just my thought only..don't take it seriously..:)

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 3:20 am

I think the side n back looks like Atos.. even the handle looks like Atos's… hehe… but both companies collaborate will be nice… imagine… suzuki frontier… hahaha… wonder what will suzuki name it when rebadge it…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 3:33 am

Are you coming to malaysia?… Big welcome…

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 8:59 am

eeeuuuwww….. ugly for me :p