2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 1

civic_front2.jpg

I had the opportunity to test drive the 2006 Honda Civic 1.8S and the 2006 Honda Civic 2.0S on a nice Saturday morning thanks to Jeremy and Shannon from the New Straits Times lifestyle section. I will attempt to chronicle my test drive experiences here, which involved a long highway drive to a “top secret” test drive location somewhere near Genting Highlands, traffic jams, town driving, twisty bends and curves, overtaking, as well as bumpy road conditions. That should pretty much cover everything you could possibly want to do with this car, save for taking it to a track day. This is part one of a three part series.

civic_front.jpg

The 2006 Honda Civic is one of those rare cars that looks even better in real life than on photos. I think it’s safe to say that normally what you see on photos are the results of good photography, the right angles, and a wee bit of photoshop. But no, the Civic is the opposite. It looks nice on photos, but even better in real life. The Honda Civic is such a looker that at one point I was so mesmerized with it’s beauty that I just had to drop to my knees… … … to get a better angle and take a photo with my camera. What were you thinking?

The new Civic is a lot larger than all of its predecessors, and is pretty much invading Honda Accord territory. It’s like a mini Accord. I would dare say it’s about the same size as the old SV4/CD5/CD6 Honda Accord. I like what Honda has done with the Asian market Civic. I don’t quite fancy the US version. As for the Euro version while a novelty at first, is just too space-age for even a young guy like me. The Asian 2006 Honda Civic car looks sporty with it’s wide stance and aggresive front look. Even though it is not low enough for you to begin scraping the undercarriage over speed bumps, it looks low enough thanks to the minimal gap between the tyres and wheel arches.

civic_rear.jpg

If you step into the 2006 Honda Civic, you will immediately notice how deep the dashboard is. It’s typical of a cabin-forward design due to the windscreen angle. You could probably stack a lot of soft toys there, though I highly recommend against such travesty to such a fine car. The dual-tiered dashboard takes some getting used to but is actually extremely functional, to a certain extent. Where it failed, I will explain later.

civic_toptier.jpg

At the top tier, you have a digital speedometer in the middle. This is flanked by a digital temperature indicator on the left, and a fuel level indicator on the right. That’s basically everything you need to monitor often while driving. The top tier is positioned the at the deepest and highest location of the dashboard, nearest to the windscreen. This might sound like a gimmick but it’s actually very functional. It works alot better than the centrally located dashboard rubbish that every other manufacturer has been resorting to to help the driver keep their eyes on the road.

civic_bottomtier.jpg

The bottom tier has a tachometer showing your engine RPM. The tachometer is flanked by gear indications on the right and a multitude of indicators like ABS, seatbelt, engine check, just about anything under the sun on the left. At the bottom of the tachometer is a trip meter which features two trip counters. The choice of the display colors is also excellent. White text on a blue background. Blue makes a very good background color because it is actually one of the colours which the eye finds hard to focus on. On the other hand, white is easy to focus on The meters are very clear even in daylight, and there is a control for you to set the brightness.

At first, I thought the digital speedometer’s numbers would change too fast at cruising speed and be an eye sore to look at, but I found that small changes in speed actually refreshed slower, and faster acceleration caused the speed to update faster. This might be a neat trick in the display programming, or just a mental illusion on my part, but the point is it’s pleasant to read.

civic_interior_dark.jpg

I like the three spoke steering wheel that Honda gave the Asian Honda Civic. I’ve noticed the US and UK versions get some really dodgy two spoke steering wheel design. Seriously, if you expect the car to give out a sporty feel, you need a three spoke steering wheel. The steering wheel is one item on the interior that you come in contact with the most, so a cheap steering wheel gives you a bad impression of the interior no matter how well built everything else is. Fortunately for Honda, the steering wheel has excellent build quality, except for the audio control buttons and the paddle shifters on the 2.0S which feel abit cheap. I will come to the build quality later.

civic_firewall.jpg
Firewall position, somewhere around there!

The cabin design gives me a lot of legroom in the front. Very comfortable in both the passanger and driver seats. Rear legroom was commendable as well. I myself have sat in the current generation Nissan Sentra and Toyota Corolla Altis before, and this 2006 Honda Civic beats the other two flat. I am not sure how it compares to the Ford Focus Ghia 1.8 though. I checked out the glove box and found that despite the really deep dashboard, the glovebox was tiny. So I wondered what was in all that space in the dashboard for? I found out later that the firewall was actually in the middle of the deep dashboard.

civic_armrest.jpg
Bathroom towel fabric. I prefer the 2.0S leather.

civic_reararmrest.jpg
Even more bathroom towel fabric everywhere.

I love the blue-black interior of the Honda Civic 2.0S. It has leather seats, though they do not really feel like leather at all. More like PVC, but nice nevertheless. Honda advertises it as blue leather, and my previous posts on the Civic specifications showed blue leather, but when I first got in, I thought it was black. It’s actually a really dark blue mixed with black kind of colour. The Honda Civic 1.8S has a horrible interior by comparison. The trim was filled with this beige cream towel-like fabric. It isn’t your normal cushion fabric you find in Protons, but this one had the texture of a towel, litreally. I felt like I was sitting in a bathroom. I also expect this fabric trim to get dirty really really fast. Just imagine running to the car in the rain and sitting on the seat with damp clothes. Hell to pay in sight and smell later. I am a hardcore advocate of leather seats, they’re easy to clean and wipe, especially when you have drunk friends who threaten to puke all over your car interior all the time. Did I say drunk friends? I meant children. And by puke, I meant general dirty things.

civic_cdplayer

The sound system is abit bass-heavy, and like most cars pretty much all the sound is coming from the rear even though there are front speakers as well. Playing around with the treble, bass, and fader controls fixed this to an acceptable level. Other than that, it’s a very nice stock sound system, with room for improvement. The system also had an aux input, and we tried it out by hooking up an iPod to it. It worked perfectly, and we played Metallica’s S&M album throughout the journey. The aux input is a very nice feature. No need for FM tuner gadgets like the iTrip or other imitation devices to hook up your iPod or other music players. The CD player’s button layout was very easy to use. You just operate the big knobs by push and turn.

More in part 2 and part 3, with my driving experiences as well as what I think of the overall build quality.

2006 Honda Civic In-depth Technical Specifications
2006 Honda Civic 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC engine – R18A1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 2
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 12:33 am

Eh,no comment at this moment?

I think everybody is napping to watch World Cup this midnight!!!!

Honda Civic is most probably the best car available in the market…

hey Paul,when will they publish your article about it on NST?

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2006 at 12:39 am

NST asked abit of my opinion only. 21st – next Wednesday.

• Moses (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 12:44 am

Ahh..exciting, can't wait for part 2 & 3, seriously thinking about buying the civic sometime soon, although i fancy nissan sentra too…maybe part 2 & 3 will help me decide..hehe

• Moses (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 1:06 am

oops..forgot to mention…the Modulo accessories for civic makes the civic look even better (my opinion) :D

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 2:51 am

Paul:

How Much It will cost OTR?? 1.8 & 2.0 ??

• WIRA (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 3:19 am

I think CIVIC is almost the best choice comparing to sentra. The best so far for this class is Altis and Civic

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:04 am

mr. paul, the new civic in m'sia is locally assembled or imported from japan?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:20 am

Paul , I sugest U Should Throw in some of the NOT -So-Nice Tings about the car,atleast the review wil look more balanced…bcos the more i read..the more it feels like reading a honda leaflet rather than a paul's review..!

and dont forget…at the end of the review , its really important to put the good,and the bad in a small paragraph…bt so far its generally good…!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:30 am

Civic is CKD, so assembled in malaysia. 2.0 ver as well.

Paul, Top Gear/Jermemy Clarkson mentioned that the gear lever was going thru the dashboard whenever the position was at the top, does this auto car suffers the same thing?

• WIRA (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 7:07 am

guys! check out the adverts from the UK on this civic….oweeesome! I have tried the civic, its the same as the old ones ,….. just alot more better on sound prove and absorbers!

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 7:25 am

wow… I like this Civic since its launching, like this generation more than the previous one. Is one of the model I like. the previous one I like EF more than EG n EK… dunno why… btw, this model's stock sound system sounds nice to me… actually nowadays the sound systems inside new cars are not bad. I still prefer Honda more than Toyota's design… nice Civic… n I only saw one at my town here previous days ago… elegant yet sporty.

• sewell (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 8:33 am

As compare to altis and sentra. civic i a bit expensive then the others. if we get civic 2.0S plus a litterbit you can get accord 2.0 edi.

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2006 at 9:11 am

e-nabill: wait and see lah. so kan cheong for what. i already said "I will come to the build quality later."

• Silver Waja (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 4:14 pm

Hi Paul,

Can we get higher res photos of the Civic above especially the rear 3/4 view? Thanks.

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2006 at 4:25 pm

Silver Waja:

http://media.paultan.org/civic/DSC00656.JPG

took with my camera phone so it's not much

• assimo (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:06 pm

e-nabilll, what Mr Paul review is already balance and fair for me,because that is a fact..that civic is good.I really envy at my neighbour,when every morning he slowly pass my house with his new civic,feels like I see pretty lady walking.Yeah…modulo body kit is perfect for it…mmm…but the price..still dream car for me…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:16 pm

Did u know? Mugen replicas bodykits are available in klang valley! I found one which is made out of ABS plastic instead of the old fibre/frp thingy. ABS plastic is the original plastic material which Mugen Japan are using.

Did u know that our local P2 are using ABS plastic for their skirting as well? Yes, they are currently using it for 1 model only… KANCIL SPECIAL EDITION.

• karheng (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:20 pm

Civic does leave a good impression……it deserves that 'you sexy thang' tag.

But what impresses me more is the photo quality from paul's cam. mwahahhaah

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:22 pm

Paul, care to comment on the FC as well? i have mixed comments from 1.8l civic drivers here locally. some say was good, same say not. needless to say about the dohc 2.0l. the honda sc said the fc will better than ek3.

totally agree on the overall dimensions of the car. when i test drove it during launch i knew i was driving the civic. but after the test drive when i parked the car, i thought i was driving an accord. from there i realise this civic cannot be compared with jazz, city, altis, vios or other similar classification as its quality n build is in the region of camry, accords and so on.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:23 pm

MODULO original bodykit was made out of PP plastic material, well I personally saw the product and it is very good material. But both PP plastic and ABS plastic will be replacing the out fibre thingy, Y? fibre has very high polution ratio. ABS is recyclable and i do hear some people telling me PP is as well.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:24 pm

With all the taxes, they still can sell the new civic around RM113k in CarTaxland…. amazing la… actual price is only USD14k-18k outside Taxbolehland… Sigh…they give almost 5 star for this car…

Honda cars r perfect for everybody… reasonable price (outside la) & reliable…

• KY (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 5:57 pm

tower interior is teh suck. =/

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 6:58 pm

paul, would it be better if u removed the plate number of those cars?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 7:42 pm

I don't see why the numbers need to be removed.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 7:47 pm

ok paul , i jus assumed that the 2nd and 3rd part wd be all so good oso! bcos if u read some of the reviews online , many give it 3 out of 5…dats y was curious…hopefully a yellow F430 wd be ur next review!

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 9:58 pm

oo this actually looks nice. I was afraid of the euro bling-ness. While you were on your knees you didn't ask for a longer drive?

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 10:57 pm

Well in order to protect ppl privacy & safety. If that is your car would u want them to mask the number plate if your privacy and safety is on stake??

• Paul Tan on Jun 13, 2006 at 1:06 am

These are Honda test drive cars. Not private owners.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 1:25 am

Haiya.. number plate oso jd isu.. let him la show or not.. mana bleh cabut plate suka-suka hati during test drive! Org suda bagi test drive suda cukup baik.. Paul, if u get the chance again, pls invite me oso.. ok?.. i want to test max speed….saman ekor honda tanggung..

ps: Im a free stunt driver.. want me to test cars, just call me.. hehehe..

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 1:33 am

huh Paul, just really envy that, can i book for the passenger seat at your side to experience Civic? Or i don't mind if have to squeeze at the back seats oso. :p

New Civic – definitely car of the year for many countries.

Yeah.. I hate the fabric seat on the Civic 1.8S as well as City, these are too feminine…

• alexilai (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 3:48 am

Just change the fabric seat to leather seat as most ppl do, then already settle the issue…:)

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 1:59 pm

I like what Honda has done with the Asian market Civic. I don’t quite fancy the US version. As for the Euro version while a novelty at first, is just too space-age for even a young guy like me. The Asian 2006 Honda Civic car looks sporty with it’s wide stance and aggresive front look.

American / Japanese Civic is basically the same as ours, only minor changing here and there.

• Paul Tan on Jun 13, 2006 at 2:02 pm

Yes, I know that. I dislike the exterior styling of the American Civic.

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 5:04 pm

too feminine? cmon laa these cars incl city are quite family oriented,leather don come cheap oso and not half the real thg of sport car, sommore, at tis price. want macho and nice leather seat get bmw 3series enuf

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 5:08 pm

ok ok peace…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 5:31 pm

mostly honda dsg…the european version is much sportier and better looking than the jap and american version…like european accord…really pretty…poor us not get the european version honda cars…

• jackychua (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 6:44 pm

i am one of the owner, too bad it is not tat up to satisfactory level. We encountered quite a lot of quality and engine mounting problems. Paultan, did u try going over hump or potholes around 40-60kmph? You will hear some "musical" effect from the mounting… Hopefully i will see the first "real" review from you, we are enough to see GOOD review but yet not speaking about the cons.. hopefully you are the one who can keep up up to date with the status of Honda Malaysia towards the problems.

• jackychua (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 6:47 pm

t

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 7:39 pm

In the USA,they r selling both versions.the euro version sold as the Acura TSX (i think),and the other one as Honda Accord.As usual we Malaysian always like things made in USA rather than Europe.Maybe made in USA has more cache.In Japan they also selling both versions.Lucky ppl there.I understand that (correct me if im wrong) since Thailand and other Asean countries is producing the american version of the Accord,Honda Malaysia decided to assembled the american version.it makes more economic sense to have a same model for all instead of each country having their own versions.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 3:08 am

jackychua…its happen for all new honda civic owner or jz at ur car???jz curious to know…is it very annoying??

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 9:08 am

just sharing, driven honda (city i-dsi, civic – last model and accord). generally good car but left me wanting a bit more. not fully satisfy with the driving experience, as it feel a bit 'mundane'. i particularly dislike the accord suspension behaviour at high speed. can feel the seat quietly & slightly vibrating. try at straight road/high speed(120km) and put your palm at the seat to feel it. might make people dizzy over long journeys. suspect the new civic are more or less the same.

build quality also not that bulletproof, but still score a 'birdie'.

there you go, some non-positive input.

• jackychua (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 6:05 pm

raybrig85,

it happended to all the civic 8th Gen. HM aware of the problem but no solution yet. you can dig more information from most of the malaysia auto forums.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 6:38 pm

ic…thanx for the info…btw…will the problem affect other part or area???hopefully not…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 6:41 pm

intermilan..wut do u men by bulletproof??and wut is ur positive input???

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 5:53 pm

ray,

bulletproof mean perfect.

in the full contexts, i am saying the build quality of the accord is not perfect.

positive input from me… i did'nt put any coz others could/have do that. plus it all over the MAIN review done by paul. no need for me to repeat it again. ciao.

• blue (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 9:49 pm

My 1.8L make terrible clog-clog sound everytime the car hit a hole or a bump. HM still unable to resolve the sound issue which comes from the engine mounting. The owner and complainer have to wait HM's countermeasure on this problem. I am very disappointed with HM which never shows their aggresiveness on solving the problem.

Not only mounting problem, there are also many minor problem like sterling sound, wheel noise, poor sound proof and etc.

Please reconsider if you plan to buy a new Civic!

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 11, 2007 at 1:49 am

Anyone, know what’s the stat of the Civic 2.0S from 0-100km/h ?

• shianghorng (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:39 pm

I have tested the 1.8 and it sucks man!
    Lacking of power, the interior stinks & it sounds like someone playing drums when the car is only 80km/h!

Soon, I’ll be testing the 2.0S & Type-R. Hopefully, they will do better…

• Jordan Oamelda on Aug 08, 2010 at 9:10 pm

how much does the civic 2010 1.8 manual cost?