Hartge H1 5.0 tuned BMW 1-series

hartgeh15_1.jpg

Hartge has always been known to do crazy things with the BMW cars that they tune up. Many of you will remember the ugly but crazily fast BMW 3-series they did up. Not patient enough to wait for the real E90 BMW M3 to come out, they took the award-winning 5.0 litre V10 from the BMW M5 and stuffed it into the engine bay of an E90 model BMW 3-series. Slap on some funky bodykits and you have the Hartge H50 V10.

They’ve applied the same philosophy to the BMW 1-series hatchback here. The most powerful BMW 1-series you can get from the BMW stables is currently the BMW 130i M Sport which features an inline-6 3.0 litre delivering 265 horses. What Hartge has done is put a 5.0 litre monster under the hood. This is not the same 5.0 litre V10 they’ve used before though. Instead, they used BMW’s 5.0 litre V8 engine.

hartgeh15_2.jpg

Not being satisfied with the 5.0 litre V8 in stock form, they tuned it up with new cylinder heads, new camshaft profiles, and improved engine management. The result is 450 horsepowers and 510Nm of torque. This is great for a car that weighs only 1,445kg in total. The chassis of the BMW 1-series had to be modified to take the extra power. A new stronger rear-subframe was installed. Why rear? Because this is a rear wheel drive car of course. The car goes from 0-100km/h in 4.6 seconds and the speedometer needle continues to rise up to a top speed of 300km/h.

Of course, a powerful car requires powerful brakes so the Hartge H1 5.0 gets some massive 8-piston calipers in front, which attempt to stop 380mm floating cross-drilled rotors. Other things you get with the package is a Hartge bodykit. Might I suggest you skip the front bumper on the bodykit as I think it looks horrendous. But yeah, it’s ugly but it actually offers real aerodynamic benefits so just keep it anyway. Suspension is also a sports tuned one, and it lowers the stock standard 1-series by 30mm to the ground.

Now I wonder if only someone could stuff a tuned engine from the Mitsubishi GTO’s 3.0 V6 twin turbo into the Proton Satria Neo, we could build a competitor for this hatchback.

hartgeh15_3.jpg

hartgeh15_4.jpg

hartgeh15_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 7:08 am

really genious in term of technology,engineering and performance….but stilll…the most ugliest car ive ever seen…really ugly…abt the neo thing…i think it is possible…maybe neo can catch this monster eventhough it is not as much power as this car but the neo is lighter than this car…

in term of design…neo is far better than this ugly car but overall packages…neo is still behind this ugly car…(refer to the standard neo and standard 1-series)

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 7:21 am

I must agree that the front bumper looks horrendous.

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 7:30 am

huiiyooo keter terbang nih….. :p but i think i prefer the na one coz minyak ma very expensive

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 7:32 am

Paul, my read told me there's a carbon fibre freak guy who carbonize his 3 series. Sure bloody rich one. Ask the guy to sponsor la this special project for Satria NEO. Hehe….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 1:57 pm

More like what Clarkson would do if he had to build a fast car :D

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 2:47 pm

Off-topic but congratulations to Audi who've just won the 24 hours of Le Mans with their diesel powered R10. 6 victories in 7 years. The one year dropped was won by Bentley which was also technically an Audi.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Wow… Hartge really crazy a.. haha… imagine a 5.0L V10 in a Kia Rio… GTO's V6 twinturbo into Neo? Can Neo cope with the power? hmmm… such small car with twinturbo… can't imagine.. Have to strenghten all the parts in the car before all the fittings inside drop out when driving…

• KY (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 5:19 pm

still an ugly car.

• oversight (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 6:42 pm

Of course, a powerful car requires powerful brakes so the Hartge H1 5.0 gets some massive 8-piston calipers in front, which attempt to stop 380mm floating cross-drilled rotors.

————————————————————-

8 piston calipers at one side or 4 piston right and 4 piston left?

• szw (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 8:15 pm

dis is wat i call siao !

• Paul Tan on Jun 19, 2006 at 8:58 pm

oversight: 8 pistons each.

• blazerSST (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 9:14 pm

Power is nothing without control, i wonder how driveable is this car.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 12:22 am

its nothing new actually. the europeans do this all the time. There is a mini(new model) in europe running around with the M5 V10 engine.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 12:30 am

this is crazy. maybe our ahbeng workshops can swap some mighty engine into tiny Neo next time.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 2:11 am

Mini with a V10? can fit or not oo? They put it in the backseat?

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 3:16 am

Next time Kancil can also put a V6 or V8…

• RCM (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:19 am

Powerful but very ugly..

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:50 am

tbcheese: This reminds me. Have you seen the Renault Clio V6? They put a 3.0 liter V6 in the back seats of a car the size of a Proton Savvy designed to be a front engine, front wheel drive.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 1:50 pm

Yeah I remember that. 3 litre V6 in a tiny hatchback… I can't think of a suitable superlative to describe it. I read in Top Gear mag a few issues ago something funny. Apparently when Ferdinand Piech heard Renault was doing a 3 litre clio he took it as 3l/100km so he rushed the Lupo to completion. The Lupo got 3l/100km and Renault got their 3l V6 stuffed where the rear seat is supposed to be.

The next version is supposed to come later this year about October-ish. Wonder what crazy things they'll do this time. By the way Paul, is the Renaultsport Clio still front-wheel drive or did they change it to rear as well?

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 12:14 am

if i'm not wrong, all the renault clios, including the sport are FWD. only the crazy clio V6 with the engine in the back has rear wheel driver. I still remember the crazy renault 5 turbo rally cars of yester-year. I'm pretty sure thats where the inspiration for the clio V6 came from.