Perdana Replacement Model in April 2007

380vrx-small.JPGUtusan Malaysia reports that Proton will introduce a new model developed together with Mitsubishi Motors Corporation in April 2007. MMC president Osamu Masuko says that Proton and MMC are in the final stages of partnership talks, with details to be written down in black and white soon.

The new Mitsubishi-based Proton model will most likely be a replacement for the aging Proton Perdana which was based on a 1990s Mitsubishi Galant Eterna. The new Perdana Replacement model is said to be based on the Australian Mitsubishi Galant known as the Mitsubishi 380. The Galant/380 comes with a huge award winning 3.8 litre V6 engine, but this will likely be replaced by a 2.0 or 2.4 litre unit for Malaysian usage.

The Perdana originally came in SEi trim which featured a 2.0 litre inline-4 SOHC engine. The Perdana was later updated in 1998 with a new bodykit and a 2.0 DOHC V6 engine. This model was facelifted later with what Malaysian affectionately (or unaffectionately) called an ‘Alfadana’ look, because it featured a new nose that was similiar to an Alfa Romeo. This Alfa obsession DNA continued with the Gen2’s alloy rim design.

During the days of the Proton-Volkswagen partnership talks, it was said that the Perdana Replacement Model was going to be based on a stretched wheelbase Volkswagen Passat platform. Proton had wanted to buy the Passat and Sharan platforms for a new Perdana and an MPV model respectively. There was even an artist’s impression on what the Passat Perdana would look like. Of course, that never materialised.

Of course, April 2007 is a tentative date. You know how things are with launch dates, after all Malaysian can’t even arrive at weddings or mamak on time, what launch more a car. :D The good news is, I would say a Japanese platform Perdana would be more well-received by the public than a continental platform Perdana due to the general conception that continentals have high maintenance costs. Let’s just see what happens.

Update: Apparently Proton’s MPV project is a venture with PSA Peugeot-Citroen, according to this report by StarBiz.

Perdana Replacement Model to be a Volkswagen Passat
Perdana Replacement Model Photoshop
Proton to buy Passat and Sharan platforms
Proton-Mitsubishi feasibility study
Mitsubishi 380 to be exported to Malaysia
Mitsubishi 380 3.8L V6

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:18 am

will they change the whole face of the car to well suit the family? they should do it, but retain the car exclusivity…

how bout the Petronas E01 they intent to buy? will it be in this Perdana?

anyway, do the magic u have done to the Eterna, Proton…and good luck…

• blazerSST (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:31 am

I don't think it the perdana will be replaced just yet, more likely an Iswara replacement model according to my sources to counter perodua's move which intends to introduce a sedan 1.3 also next year.

• Satyam on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Proton is actually my 1st car back to late 90s’..its Perdana and fyi, the ride & halnnidg near equivalent to Toyota Corolla or Nissan Sentra B14 at that time.. coz i also used those cars..please be logic in making comparisons.. proton is cheap car, so please compare it with other imported cheap cars..then you can get better judgement e.g, this proton lancer’ vs honda city vs nissan latio vs vios vs hyundai or kia or china crap or anything below 80 grand tags or the same class..of course its not in the lead but at least its not the worst..importantly, dont assume this new proton quality is same as old wira, satria, waja or new saga..Yes, currently i’m driving black panamera..and this proton lancer definitely for my daughter 18th birthday..her 1st car and i’m proud being malaysian!

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:41 am

oh…

will that car be based on Dacia Logan?a renault subsidiary of low cost car?

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 9:05 am

oh…please dont let it happens! another 'produk bermutu' from local manufacturers!

• neurra (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 3:36 pm

hoho.. much better than the passat in terms of looks

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 3:45 pm

first time i saw this car frm other site…my respond is…oh my gosh…still not pretty enough…but it is okla to compare with this…mitsu galant of US version…

http://www.autozine.org/gallery/mitsubishi/galant…

anyway…good luck proton…dun tido2 lagi ar…be serious…if ure not serious…u will die…dun making the car jz to thinking of ur profit and money…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 4:37 pm

raybrig85, nice work in finding that pics. I wonder how and what where the minimum design features that P1 will implement into this model in order to counter attack the market of Accord and the upcoming Camry and dont forget that Nissan Cefiro which needed to be replaced soon enough! ( I wish its the FUGA )

Hopefully all problems which the all prev. PERDANAs encounter and will it be a RWD? 4WD?

• rexis (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Still think that the original perdana looks better ler…

Oww, proton likes to pick up small market arent they?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 5:03 pm

to raybrig85, nice job on getting the pictures even the Proton people maybe didnt know the variants of this car.you know everything have to be spoon feed…and also so called "patriotic terms" as it is actually "must buy terms" to cover up as they pretending like doing a good job.

if they say APRIL 2007 the truth is SEPTEMBER 2012

DONT BELIEVE ME ????

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 5:40 pm

we experienced satria neo with about a year waiting before get it launched, so expect the unexpected. the car looks nice though. but this car got some issue back in australia, so a bit sceptic on this model. still think passat is a better choice for P1. as for the iswara replacement, please no dacia logan, unless it is extra cheap. the design alone is much alike pug 306, but worse!!

still waiting if there r any development on proton mpv and suv

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 6:12 pm

i dont believe you ;) to say september 2012 is too far fetched even for an idiot to believe.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 6:16 pm

mycar_stolen , i dun agree wif u unless u r someone that have share or work in proton =))…

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 6:24 pm

Hope it can be materialised on ONE day. M'sian won't even believe Proton again after Satria NEO long-plague development time.You see suddenly they come up with so many proposals for new models – Waja replacement model, MPV?? Perdana replacement model and blah blah.. almost coming at the same time some more! Can believe meh???

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 6:25 pm

this dating game with Proton for sure a blind date? you will never know what will happen just dont wait for it lah, actually I'm not sure whether Proton can survive that long or Proton can materialise with this replacement model.Economic crisis 1987,1997 and hello what happen next year 2007? is current G tells you anythings.would there be new models if the current models not sell enough.there are too many maybe's and Proton is not a reliable company and not worth of our trust.Proton is a backstabing company that they sell to "rakyats" highprice sell to UK people low price with everything inside as like the UK people poorer or less standard of living than Msian.

this Perdana replacement for sure "NATO" to con "rakyats" as like they are doing their job.if they do having new perdana replacement then what happen to super ICEd CANCELLOR.this not so stable company with less attention to sell good products really giving headache as they only concentrating/focusing making more profits to their vendors and cronies."rakyats" dies/suffer they dont care.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 6:28 pm

some more interesting info on the 380.

"THE Mitsubishi 380 large car and Ford’s Territory SUV have become arguably the safest Australian-built vehicles on our roads after achieving the highest-ever scores in the Australian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP)."

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2…

http://www.mynrma.com.au/2006_060620.asp

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 6:58 pm

mycar_stolen, you are exactly right with what you say about the date of the launch being uncertain. thats all. besides, no one here knows exactly when, whether early, on time or late. we are all just speculating. and speculating means nothing, as it is not a fact. so lets talk about the car, and nothing else.

by posting stuff like "Proton is a backstabing company that they sell to “rakyats” highprice sell to UK people low price with everything inside as like the UK people poorer or less standard of living than Msian." i think paul is going to delete your posting when he sees it. he already gave another warning just a couple of days back.

btw, if you actually did some research, like i did a couple of days ago, the proton prices in the UK are indeed more expensive than the malaysian proton prices today. so you are wrong to say what you just did on uk pricing.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 7:27 pm

some pic of this mitsu 380…enjoy it…imagine if perdana looks like that…

http://www.worldcarfans.com/photos.cfm/photoid/30…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 7:27 pm

sorry to Paul sorry to all this wonderful blog visitors.

lets discuss about the car only, I have some info from my HQ in tokyo but the format only applicable with my company's notebook la, aiseh my boss dont seems dot allow to blog la. I will change teh format it is a comparison of large sedan Mitsubishi/Toyota(Lexus)/Honda.

see you guys later..be a smart driver dont die on the road.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 7:30 pm

come on guyz…weve discuss it already abt the price in uk…hhmmm…neway…its up to u guyz…the more u think abt it…the more u bengang…jz let it go…it cant change anything…our G control it…buang air liur je…:)..btw…cheers…enjoy the photo of the mitsu 380…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 7:31 pm

the Edge reported that there wil be a a new Gen2 sedan by the end of the year,a new saga based on savvy platform early next yr…the wira wil be totally be phased out end of this yrand only be manufactured in indonesia for the taxi market…bt the PRM , like the Satria neo , wdnt be a Volume seller….so thy r pining their hope on the gen2 sedan…jus sharing some info….oh n btw , i do tink the curent pv6 is the best proton car in terms of trim quality and NVH..jus luv the sound of a v6 uder heavy throtle!

• vernieman (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:25 pm

Is this the same platform as the Mitsu Magna/Galant?

• nd (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Actually the 380 look isn't so bad. If only proton could redesign the face, with smaller but wider headlamp, taking the dna from the current PV6 and c/w full bodykit, sure this car looks will improve tremendeously

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 9:46 pm

hurm…change a bit the tail and the face, and trash in lotus tuned suspension an there's u go… a new Perdana… i don think that they're gonna delay the launch since the model is really there in the market…such an easy task… just put them up and no need for extensive test drive… just launch it…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 10:45 pm

i dont think its a mitsu galant. its larger than that.. the australian spec magna is not a galant and its competing with the 3litre to 5 litre holdens and fords.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 10:59 pm

I think they will do some facelifts before launch if really use this 380. I really like the current Perdana actually, just that the price is a bit to high for a local car. Its strange that the 380 sells bad in Aus… as the safety of the car is good… hmmm…

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 11:05 pm

E-nabilll, I agree with you that the V6 engine sounds really nice. when a sport exhaust is fitted on… oh my… even the exhaust sounds good…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 11:09 pm

if i have money of RM 100k, u think i m going to buy this Perdana be it now or in future. Remember, it come out from proton where we all know it has super low quality of power window, doors problem, engine burn and etc… (up to now.. i don't believe proton solve it's power window problem as my fren bought new wira 2005 fail it's power window) unless perdana going to cost like RM 50k, only then we can consider buying it.

nowadays, u buy new perdana at around 90k or 100k, after less than 2 years, resale value like shit!! y.. cause it is proton ma.

so, lets wait n see lor…

all we wanted is a decent car with proper safety feature and luxury interior for confort/pleasure driving (That's wut i believe most public wanted as well). not sporty car or fun to drive car. is this simple but proton fail to achieve… for the past 2 new models, savvy and neo, it fail all this. neo in fact is a nice car from 1st impression at the front, but shit in side and not 4 doors – too bad proton still think this way… never listen wut the public wanted

savvy is even worst outside and inside.. just give it to the monster in the ad for playing better la… LOL

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 11:35 pm

I remember when I was in Aus, the rear end of the car isnt really appealing. Very squarey and weird. The front is okay.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 11:45 pm

I'd like to see in perdana replacement model:

1) Improvement and quality

2) Proton's identity (I think now its a bit 'berterabur', sorry )

3) Practicality

Also, a move to introduce MPV is welcomed ( real MPV, please).

• szw (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 12:18 am

i hope is better den neo .

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 12:29 am

honda_driver…

this mitsu 380 is based on the mitsu galant(US version)…ive paste the pic ere on my comment on 27th june on 745 am…c that pic….but they had to re-engineered or re-designed the car about 70% to make sure it fitted the needs of aussie motorist…btw…this mitsu 380 had been fitted with 3.8 l engine…quite big rite??

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 12:34 am

paul…sori out of topic…can u do a review on honda elysion…same class with toyota alphard and nissan elgrand….that honda really pretty…saw one in bangsar…hhmm…how much it will cost here???

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 12:40 am

ya…i agree wit u waimak…proton's identity now berterabur…dun hv a permanent or something dat when we c the car…we can recognize its style…identity….

IMO…for me…like the jap car..e.g…honda,toyota,mazda,nissan,mitsu and else and the contis like merc,beemer,audi,alfa romeo,vw…when i c those cars i can c their identity,dsg language,dsg philosophy and else(conclusion…wut i mean is the character of that car)…

but proton dun hv it…jz can c it on gen2 and the neo…even the savvy one not showing the character of the proton cars….hhmmm…jz my opinion…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 1:04 am

I'm not that optimistic about the PRM. Though looks good, but its quite a big car, not sure what the FC will be.

I've had nightmares with Perdana. I've drove the V6, its sluggish, and frustrating. In fact my orignal Perdana (M) was faster. The interior is the same despite 10 years now. So is the exterior. All perana has flaws, and noticbly the plastic bumper-body joint under the front lights will bend/flex after 18 monthts ownership.You can see it in all Perdana's. the new facelift version has a metal/steel plate covering that defect in order not to detect it.

I don't find it hard to believe that the perdana will be launched by 2012. The saga/iswara is still with us. Waja is still there.

Even though P1 sells high in UK, you still have to agree that P1 is not really a convinence for the rakyat, more like a burden. Now Thai's has placed some 20% tarrif export from Malaysia, and Malaysia want to "pujuk" Thai's to do away with it.

Why pride on a own car manufacturer when its not really worth the pride. I've been overseas lots of times, and P1 cars which I see is really used as the bashed up cars, not maintainable, or even bragging it. It really is like those very old Toyota cars, vans that malaysians drive of the 60-70's where its not taken care at all.

Hope P1 will be even better in future.

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 1:48 am

some say proton cars doesnt hav the identity…

but i wonder why most ppl say that Neo is looking similar to Savvy and Gen2?

I dont understand these ppl…I also dont see much about Honda having their identity…look the same with Toyota's… I dunno…for Conties, i do see some…

• acbc (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 2:42 am

Now… if only our roadtax is based on vehicle's weight… 3.8L is yummy… imagine chasing a souped up EVO9 on NKVE with it. Raw NA power!

• denarii (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 3:33 am

hope they do a good job!!!

• bei (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 3:50 am

Mitsubishi 380 doesn't sound good here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_380

Proton has just become Mitsubishi dumping ground?

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:04 am

bei

are you suprised that Proton and Mitsu trying to push rejected cars to us? no,I m not, because I know all local Proton Wira,Waja are rejected batches from exporting to UK. :/

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:55 am

wah 380 is that bad ahh..

btw, mpv with PSA-Peugeot Citroen.. possible model, anyone?

Citroen Berlingo?

Peugeot 806? (too old)

• DrA (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 5:57 am

I think PRM based on the mit380 is a good idea. It will save a lot in terms of development costs. However, I agree that it needs to have a family look. The neo is a good start. With a sharper/mature look of the neo the PRM could be a winner. The mit380 looks a little bit short. PRM needs to have a longer wheelbase than the mit380. If it does, the PRM would really stands out. Plus it would look more exclusive. Overall, I think PRM needs to be the flagship model of the P1 line up, not the awkward looking Chancellor.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 6:05 am

it is no surprise the 380 sells bad in australia. in the same way it sells bad in the US or europe. that very same reason is why proton can purchase the model outright. there is no need to develope this 'new' model. it is basically a failed product that MMC cant sell and is being sold at a cheap price of which proton can afford. (desperate companies attract each other) the reason why it fails is that it is competing against the competitor which is holden commodore and ford which is larger, more powerful, cheaper to buy, drives better and is rear wheel drive. both cars like all cars made in australia also means do not retain value well disregarding what the magazines or newspapers tend to report. 2-4 years sees the car losing half its market price. that and also the recent surge of affordable and comfortable european and jap options sees the 380 dead even before it came out. the awards and ancap and aussie websites dont tell the whole story as the MMC australia factory depends on the model to stay alive. even so, the 380 is still failing horibly after all the hoo-hah. however the picture totally changes when it is badged as a perdana coz of the lack of a 'commodore' in msia. its a new model, but nothing special. just expect replacements using cheaper lower grade material and components.

• Isamu (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 6:36 am

cyborgx,

Careful there. You don't wanna get yourself into a libel case. :)

• DrA (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 6:54 am

I agree with topgunt, but we have to remember that P1 has lotus which can help with the ride and handling. And as we can see from the neo, quality would hopefully be good. Don't be too pessimistic, I'm sure P1 would pull it together and would produce a better car than mit380. And I'm sure it will be on par with the Hondas and Toyotas.

• i'm run (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:32 am

I hope it wouldn't be a rebadge model of Mitsubishi 380. Just what Naza and Perodua are doing…

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:34 am

I am just wondering with all those lotus handling, I doubt we can use it to the max potential as our roads are small and low quality. I dont know exactally how lotus handling feels but logically speaking, we need to drive fast enough to feel the handling right? So say we put the handling into this car, how could we benefit?

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:25 pm

good handling is not about driving straight all day on a highway. in fact, good handling is even more important when you have roads as small and as poor quality as ours. In a nutshell, its the whole package. how well the car corners, stability in a straightline, responsiveness, braking, balance…etc.etc.

handling is known as active safety. its the ability to get out of an accident before it occurs. In a way, you can call it the 1st stage. Passive safety like seatbelts and airbags are the last resort, things you rather not have to rely on unless you really have to.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 6:53 pm

agree wit honda driver. the characteristic of the car produced by different company is another aspect. pug has been tested for more rigid, lot of corners, hill climbing etc, but the german has a very good hiway, so pug emphasis on body strength to tackle on cornering area more than powerful engine.

i still feel lotus may bring in something to proton. in term of handling, i drove a waja before, and to be honest, put aside all the quality issue, it's good car. i never drove bmw and merc before, so don't know what it is like

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:00 pm

agree wit u honda_drver…if u really want to enjoy and test the handling of the car…got to jalan bengkang bengkok…u can feel the handling which is good or not…

celicazz…

yup…we can c they starting to make thier own identity with a gen2,savvy and neo…its good for them…btw..let c if they continue with these perdana…

if u cant c the others carmakers identity…nvmd…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:04 pm

if u c some comment of the waja,gen2 by journalist…they will praise of the handling of those cars….the handling is good…but…when come out with the reliability,quality and other things…proton still lack of those things….

• ahoklah (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:12 pm

tried my sister's Mitsubishi Galant while I was down in Melbourne. Really felt nice driving it. Maybe because of the V6 engine.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 10:25 pm

Celicazz,

All these years people are saying that Proton models have some resemblance with Alfa, Mitsu, to some extent BMW and what not. Maybe I'm wrong but by virtue of partnership/ business arrangment, no doubt these characteristics are unavoidable. However I hope that in the long term Proton would be able to appear in the market with its own identity in terms of design, driving charateristic, quality, special features and etc. despite the different usage of platforms/ engine.

The tuning and handling by Lotus has been already regarded as key characteristic of Proton brand. I hope more of these 'traits' can be developed.

Just my 2 cents..

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 1:06 am

a don't think they are fool enough to abandon such a great things happen to proton. looking at gen-2 and waja, got me thinking proton is on the right track, but quality issue is another vital part for being a carmaker. still hoping the new md can do this for us.

i still believe waja/gen-2 platform is good but wondering why proton do not take the fortune to develop another model on that chasis – mpv,suv,pickup etc

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 4:27 am

if Proton do that, we'll be having an MPV that can do nothing at all…MPV need a different platform, which is differs from family cars… but, introduction of VVA by Lotus might make it into reality… further research needed, it is not easy to be done than saying it… anyone can say about it, but is everyone willing to walk the talk? if u want this thing to happen, support Proton lah… but 10 of their Neo, 15 of their Waja and many2 Savvy and Iswara…then, they hav enuff money to develope one…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 6:57 am

i agree with u waimak…thats wat all of us meant…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 7:54 am

hhmmm…kinda weird…y the platform for the mpv is different???still dun understand…i think it is ok coz i think not affect anything…dunnola…jz wondering abt it coz if we look at wut beemer do to their x5…which derived frm 5 er platform…..frm normal car to suv???ok je…can masok….but y mpv should hv a diff platform???

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 9:29 am

not being pessimistic….just realistically thinking how the situation is and will turn out.

i doubt it will be on par with hondas and toyota by competing with the same car category. the only significant advantage is in price for the proton. handling can only take you so far. lotus expertise is immense in thier field, but lets not forget that most successful car companies already know more or less how to make a car handle well just as well as lotus, only diference is in the decision of what u want to sacrifice or obtain to get market acceptance. the lotus branding has become no more than just a label when being used by proton.

but lets wait till the car comes out and make a comparison on it.

july the 16th the aussies are eagerly awaiting the biggest marketing campaign by holden regarding the new commodore. that together with toyota's impending release of the new v6 car as well as the camry will leave no space for the 380.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 7:00 pm

see why Mitsu allow to copycat the 380, because it is already "masuk longkang" in other market, Msia Bolehland everything also Boleh, dumping ground for unsuccesful products and force the "rakyats" to buy some more with very high price and not to mention all gadgets take out already.

• UnFamOusâ&bdqu (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:11 am

lolz