2007 Honda CR-V Spyshots

new_crv_spy_4.jpg

Do you remember the scan from a Japanese magazine showing how the future 2007 Honda Jazz would look like? The same magazine also showed how the 2007 Honda CR-V would look like – shown above. The canvas and disguise have come off the new CR-V making it rounds for testing and it’s confirmed that the new 2007 Honda CR-V DOES look like the drawing above. I guess this should also confirm that the new Jazz would look like the drawing they carried too. Spyshots of the 2007 Honda CR-V without disguise is available after the jump.

UPDATE: Added two more clearer photos of the new 2007 Honda CR-V.

UPDATE #2: Click here for official information on the new 2007 Honda CR-V, as announced by Honda.

UPDATE #3: The Honda CR-V has been launched in Malaysia.

UPDATE #4: Read my test drive report on the 2007 Honda CR-V!]

new_crv_spy_1.jpg

At first sight, it seems almost as if Honda procured Ssangyong’s design team to design the new CR-V, and that is hardly a compliment. It’s lost most of it’s rugged SUV looks and has taken on somewhat of a cross-over styling, similiar to what the Nissan Murano and the Mazda CX-7 achieved. But I think the new Honda kind of failed at this – of course physical design is a matter of personal taste really. The rear side windows also end in a curvy slope similiar to the first generation Honda Stream. The rear-mounted spare tyre has also disappeared from this model. The second generation Honda CR-V had options whether you wanted a rear-mounted spare tyre or not.

The new Acura RD-X looks hot, but I have to say this new third-generation Honda CR-V is not. Perhaps this is the American version, and the Asian version will have different styling. Something that looked like the new second generation Honda Stream but beefed up with a higher suspension would be good. Anyway, Honda’s new design direction seems to be split into two – all the sedans have similiar design cues and all the SUV/MPV vehicles have similiar design cues.

new_crv_spy_2.jpg

new_crv_spy_3.jpg

UPDATE: Two new photos. Click them to view a larger version.

crv_new_small_1.jpg

crv_new_small_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 9:36 pm

Yucks! The front has a smile now! :(

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 9:50 pm

Yup… I don't like the 'mouth' either… only the mouth I don't like, others not bad for me…

• KY (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 9:55 pm

rear side windows.. bla

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:02 pm

Front look not really nice.. I prefer current CR-V design much more!

BTW, why Paul u never put up news that Honda gonna launch New Accord, next week 6 July…
    http://www.honda.com.my/models/accord06/

• Paul Tan on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:19 pm

pycazu: i will be covering the launch, don't worry.

• cell3216 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:23 pm

acctually the accord that will lauched at next week is a facelift version and it is similar with thailand version (i saw it few months ago at thailand honda site), if not mistaken.

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:24 pm

Wow this CRV is ugly.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:31 pm

Yeah the front like….SMILE………

• Whopper (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:39 pm

Overall the exterior design looks cohesive. But Honda has better redesigned the front bumper.

• altar (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:43 pm

Rear view is good.

But need to improve the front view design.

• J (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:45 pm

My God… what happen to Honda design team ??

The front give the impression that the car just want to be different, but it does not help to make the car look nicer.

Now my hope goes to 2007 Nissan X-Trail.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:52 pm

haiya…rear and side ok…front…FAIL…

remind me of honda stepwagon look….ugly…

• waimak (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Why honda, why?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 11:02 pm

if this version will be on sale in our region? aiseh all the one without the best look , best design , best compund , all send here.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 11:03 pm

CRV got misai!

• suanie (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 12:32 am

z0mg honda!

paultan.org is the best automotive blog evar. i learnt everything about cars via paultan.org. i don't know a lot but that is not the point. the point is, paultan.org rocks yay!

• suanie (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 12:35 am

paultan.org is sweet like candy. you will never look at gummy bears the same way again. evar.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 12:36 am

So the jazz will be very ugly if it is a direct copy of the artist impression..

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 12:45 am

Sheeshkebaps…

After looking at the first real-life pic, i said: "Yea, the car looks sharp. And i should like it"

Then, came the second and third pic and i went: " OMFG…gha!! The back and side actually suXXX. The front also didn't look that good after all."

Seriously, i dunno whut have happened to those designers at Honda. I wonder who will be liking this CR-V.

=(

• szw (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 12:46 am

da back looks like da old stream .

yucks !

• Kamui (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 2:55 am

Honda seems to be making uglier cars today, which scares me. Better buy a Jazz/City out in the market now before the new one appears. None of either New Civic 06 and New Accord 06 appealed to me. I like the 05 designs better.

• scf (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 3:17 am

As a result of your interest in cars Paul you seem to be turning out to be an expert in this playground of cars.

Can i inquire where are heading towards in the future? is it for consumer protection and interest or just to attract advertising $$$ from the auto makers??

• acbc (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 3:55 am

Current City / Accord model is fugly!

Only the Jazz and Civic are OK.

• joewoo77 (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 4:18 am

Hmmm… The front look fierce but the back seems like Volvo…..

• gsdev (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 6:14 am

fantastic pictures at the below link guys…

http://07hondacrv.myphotoalbum.com/view_photo.php…

It looks not bad in silver…

• Paul Tan on Jul 01, 2006 at 10:05 am

thanks gsdev. i've updated my post with the new photos.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 10:11 am

doesnt the fron look abit like the subaru 4 wheel drive?nt sure wat izzit called?the one colaborated with saab…design really crap..btw.do notice the side profile has a hint of an bmw X5 !

• Fairman (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 4:32 pm

Woww…..it is pretty actually, looks like a combination of Stream and BMW X5…

• bpxplorer (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 10:48 pm

It was like what, Volvo tail + BMW X5 side profile + weird front bumper

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 1:11 am

ok…??

Here i am the second time, viewing these 2 newly added pics of this CR-V. I must say that, the design is kinda growing on me… it seems that some time is needed to get used to this new direction in design. Though the CR-V has lost some of its ruggedness, it has gained on luxury, well judging from the outside.

Still, I dun get it when ppl say that the car is smiling. It never looked like it was smiling at all, even with the new Jazz pics. Perhaps more time is needed to appreciate this design.

=)

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 4:08 am

Not just CRV…. City also going to release another new facelift…..

• BL (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 8:23 am

I love the front. Looks totally fresh. Not sure bout the side though. Doesnt go well with the front and the back.

• foreverunited (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:32 pm

hey, ok what…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 9:44 pm

not very good for me, but at least there are facelift ;-)

how about the new accord? i saw the ad before, but tried to look for similar model in honda site, but it seems like the accord available is similar wit the one we have here in malaysia. or does the lates model to be laincehd first in malaysia?

• pirate (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 12:46 am

Is the Ssangyong Kyron visage/face in style now?

I am shocked to see the grimace up front. Maybe the 'nose' has been blocked by the big-bar-chromed grill that it needs to breathed thru a gaping 'mouth'!

The rest are chunkier now but acceptable…

To Honda Thailand R&D: please do something to ASEANised the front!!!

(Hi Paul! Good to have met you during the NST Civic drives)

• redragon (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 9:13 pm

reminds me of the alien beast from Predator. yucks!

• tariq (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:04 am

wow…i see Subaru Tribeca, Volvo XC90 and BMW X5 and Nissan Murano influences in this CR-V. Today's SUVs are getting m&m appealing!

• zulkifli6 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 8:50 pm

kindda funny front..

• DtG (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 4:58 am

wow… this looks interesting. the door panels certainly have similarities with the X5 if viewed from the side, particularly in the door handle, the line beneath the door handles and the weel arches. when put together, the chrome outlined windows and the long vertical tail lights give out a XC90 kinda look. the front has that kyron grill; ugly. but honda managed to at least make it look and fit better compared to ssangyong's joke of an entry level mpv (design-wise).

• gsdev (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 9:34 am

Updated info on new CRV with pictures of interior…

http://blogs.cars.com/kickingtires/2006/09/2007_h…