Chery Tiggo (Chery T11) coming to Malaysia

chery_tiggo_1.jpg

[UPDATE: The Chery Tiggo has been launched in Malaysia. Click here for more details.]

The Chery T11 or known as the Chery Tiggo is what you would get if you throw a horny male Toyota RAV4 and a horny female Honda CR-V into a closed parking lot and lock them up. Their offspring would look exactly like the Chery Tiggo. It features the second generation Toyota RAV4’s rear and the second generation Honda CR-V’s front design.

The Chery Tiggo is offered with 2.0 and 2.4 engines sourced from Mitsubishi. The 2.0 litre Mitsubishi 4G63S4M 4-cylinder 16-valve DOHC engine provides 124 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 176Nm of torque between 3,000 and 4,000rpm. The 2.4 litre SOHC Mitsubishi unit provides not much of a horsepower increase over the 2.0, only 127 horses but it is achieved at a lower 5,500rpm. It does offer a much higher torque of 201Nm at a lower RPM range of between 2,500 and 3,000rpm due to it’s single cam design.

Chery’s website says the Tiggo’s engines are equipped with MIVEC variable valve timing. We’ll likely get the 2.0 litre model. It’s reported that Lotus Engineering provided consultancy to Chery for the development of this SUV.

Alado Corp Sdn Bhd plans to assemble the Chery Tiggo locally at Oriental Assembler Sdn Bhd’s plant in Johor Baru in December 2006. The SUV should be on sale in January 2007 if plans go smoothly.

chery_tiggo_2.jpg

chery_tiggo_3.jpg

Chery V5 Crossover (Chery B14) MPV
Chery QQ coming to town this month

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 4:08 pm

wa…rear look a toyota rav4

• acbc (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 8:02 pm

When it uses Mitsubishi engine, there is a possibility of upgrading the powerplant to a VR4 RS 240! Yeah! :)

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 11:47 pm

CRV + RAV4 LOL

• dranoel (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 11:53 pm

I'm looking forward to the next China experiment:- the offsping of a horny male Honda City and a horny female Toyota Vios! Hopefully it gets the exterior of Vios and interior of City. lolz.

• szw (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:03 am

yucks !

quality sure worst den proton wan

• kt71 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:43 am

If I'm Toyota or Honda, I will sue them for copyright infringement. At least Proton don't dare to copy bulat bulat like that.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 7:40 am

Not sure if the quality is the same as Honda +toyota…

• pycazu (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 7:25 pm

Chery Tiggo is what you would get if you throw a horny male Toyota RAV4 and a horny female Honda CR-V into a closed parking lot and locked them up.

Paul, how u classify RAV4 as male and CR-V as female, it doesn't look feminine anyhow.. Maybe they are homosexual. :-P

OK, get back to topic, this SUV look nice with both genes, how about the interior pulak? Really reluctant to China car worse than P1 plasticky interior, see how the touch of Naza Sutera, A160, blah blah…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 9:30 pm

127hp using 2.0 MIVEC inspired engine? wow that;s ridiculous. even 1.5 stock standard vios VVTI get 105. compare to VTEC 2.0 by accord is long way man…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 10:02 pm

Hehe… RAV4+CRV+Mitsubishi=Tiggo. How much will it cost? The price better be under 100k or nobody will buy it…

• KW Tan (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 4:30 am

I am sure the Chinese car quality can't meet int'l standard. But can Proton build 2.0L SUV with price tag below RM100k? If YES, i sure buy PROTON la….. we malaysian ma…..

• chanlman (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 5:04 am

the graphic looks very artificial. i dun believe in chery car lah… it just look cheap and stolen design. I dun understand, its not that I have no taste of cars. But why would someone buy this design and manufacture here… it just make me feel like I'm in a 3rd world country. When Mercedes E200 assembles in Msia, I feel proud, somewhat this car shameful lah.

Ah… I remember there's one of this CHINA cars named DADi. The logo of dadi looks like toyota and Audi. And its cars, just like this Chery, some kinda of Toyota breed. Sorry la… have to be blunt a bit to express my view. :P

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 6:33 am

Well, China's automotive industry just started to rise up, so some copying from others can occur cos they still havent got enough ideas and experience in all these. I think this rojak Tiggo is not a bad idea also for new car makers… better than just get a car to rebadge n sell off… give them some time n I think they will improve… just my opinion..

• mankrm (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:04 pm

Paul, this Tiggo to be assembled Dec 2006 and launched Jan 2007, yet for the V5 Crossover, assembly will take place in Oct 2006 but to be launced in Nov 2007. Would you know any reasons why the Crossover would take longer time from assemby to proposed launch date? Or are these dates just estimations/prediction only? Thanks.

• Paul Tan on Jul 05, 2006 at 11:38 pm

mankrm: that was a typo. its nov 2006 actually.

• mankrm (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:55 am

cool, thanks paul

• kronikelz (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 11:44 am

A car to me is what you want people to see u as.. something that u wear..First impression really counts to a person when they see what car u arrive in.. So a car would definitely potray ur personality.

So who would buy such a car ?

Someone who sees a car as just a car.

• Imprezo (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 11:54 pm

It is not a Honda or a Toyota!…let me repeat: it is not a Honda or a Toyota! If you expect a ride that remotely resembles the 2 Japanese marques, you will be disappointed. You've been warned!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:22 pm

This is an excellent example on how one can ruin a perfectly decent car…

• ah_birdy (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 10:42 pm

KW Tan ,I am sure this car is mch better than proton, proton quality suck***..

I have been staying in China for sometimes… Cherry cars is a lot there.. It have been using as taxi. The quality is really much more better than Proton. Dont always think China good is lousy. Go china and have a look there now, we malaysian just always complaint about their quality. In fact in China, u can get very good quality China local make product if u able to pay the price, including cars… think about that. China had been building cars,jets,train,rockets to space for years by themself, but our proton still struggle on their sales in malaysia. Dont look down on their product, their technology is really much higher than us.

Proton is really just a piece of nut. Proton really need to be very hardwork, if not, one day it will be "eaten" by some "Big Fish".

• cyborgx (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:32 pm

Like the first paragraph man.. lol

• pinoybeho (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 8:12 pm

I hope you guys are not complaining about the Chinese as lousy car makers because malaysians are chinese too. Proton was your flag carrier but it was based on a mitsubishi. China sent satellites to outer space, makes everything affordable to mankind, has standard and substandard goods and does not care about Intellectual Property Rights, at least as of now when they are still establishing a name in all countries of the world except in the European Easter Block because of their communist roots. When they are in place, the Japs and Koreans have no choice but to bring down prices of their overrated and overpriced cars.

• mcch8855 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 12:45 am

Good! I think KW Tan still think China is 70s year China. He may not go to China before. So he mind alway think China product is lousy.

back to think, China can do so many big project like rocket, satatille, trains, car, and advance Computer software–like linker, EFI BIOS, compiler…. and many many new things

If KW Tan say China is lousy, then Malaysia boleh meh????? Tell me which product is malaysian own developement.

If KW Tan want to say Patterns, copy right, then

1. All earth peopls should pay Arabian copy right, because using 0~9 number system.

2. KW Tan should not have Chinsese name, because Chinese name is invented from China.

3. All Christian should pay BIBLE license.

4. All earth peoples should pay A to Z and a to z to Dictionary company. because all chararacter are from dictionary.

5. GM should sue toyota, honda, because thier car is same General Motor car, all are 4 wheels. look identical. unless toyota/honda invent 5 wheels on road car.

6. all the earth peoples should not use paper without license from China, because papers are invented from China. should pay license before using it.

7. all the earth peoples should not use rockey without license from China, because lrocket are invented from old China. should pay license before using it.

……. and many … and should not read Buddish material, because many material are from India.

….

we can not say look identical, then say copy from other…. hahaha very stupid…

• mcch8855 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 1:28 am

can i say toyota car design from general motor? if yes, then can we say Chery car stolen from other ….

today, if someone can design 5-wheel-on-road car, then no ppl sure dare to complain you stolen people's design. right..?

• cbe_alaa62 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:44 am

how much this car , and it's not in egypt

• Dear Chery Salesman. I am planning to buy Chery Tiggo Suv 2.0, but really not sure because I found that Chery Model are using the different engine such as Mitsubishi for Chery Easter, Acteco For Chery Tiggo and other type of engine for it model like QQ, Sedan and so on. I wonder why after two years plus they change the Mitsubishi engine from Chery Tiggo and replaced by Acteco. I would be more than confident if Chery Tiggo is sourced by Mitsubishi, but I may not know Acteco is also up to Mitsubishi standard or up to other International cars Engine. Please advise.

But glad to express that this model is fantastic and really nice. The range of colours looked very glam. Thank you.

• BenKenobi on May 10, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Hi Paul,

How is to fuel consumption?

• Very comfortable drive on the road, speedy about 200mKM [I tried before]. etc..from Penang Bridge to Tol Utara Alor Setar about 40 minute only. and safety plus sharp cornering [160mKM] & good breaking system.
    But internal finishing cannot stand longer. I love my tiggo 2.0A very much. Believe me…Sayang juga nak jual.[Going to].