Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!

kancil_replacement_2.jpg

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

New spyshots of the new Kancil/Kelisa Replacement Model are in! These shots are thanks to reader Nicholas Gan who snapped these photos at a top secret location somewhere in town. Nah, it’s actually somewhere up Genting. You know all those jokes about how Kancils don’t have enough power to go up the hill? Well, this just proves the new replacement can! :P There are two cars here. The blue one is the original Daihatsu Mira design straight from Japan. The other one is somewhat different, it looks like the Perodua XX06 Concept shown at the KL International Motor Show. So it’s likely that they will be using this facelift for the final product or they’re just borrowing the body panels. It’s likely to be the first one though. Let’s have a look at this new model by Perodua due to be launched sometime next year. More photos after the jump.

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

kancil_replacement_1.jpg

This is the original Daihatsu Mira, also called a Daihatsu Charade in certain countries. The original Perodua Kancil was also based on a Daihatsu Mira. The Perodua Kelisa was based on a variation of the Mira. These names vary from country to country.

kancil_replacement_3.jpg

The Kancil Replacement Model gets a new grille, front bumper, headlamps, fenders and a new bonnet with a design that matches the shape of the new front grille. While the original Mira had a more boxy shape, Perodua’s facelift takes on slightly more curvy design cues.

kancil_replacement_4.jpg

This is the original Mira butt. Numberplate on the bumper, and large empty surface area on the rear hatch. Daihatsu generally pulls off the very bare back look much better than most manufacturers.

kancil_replacement_5.jpg

This is Perodua’s facelift. The number plate has been moved onto the rear hatch, so this calls for a new rear bumper and a new rear hatch.

We can’t really see how the interior looks like clearly, but if you peek through the rear windscreen in one of the rear shots you can see that the meter console is positioned right in front of the driver instead of in the middle.

Perodua says this replacement for both the current Perodua Kancil and Perodua Kelisa will be out in the first half of 2007, most likely from March 2007 onwards. Since it is replacing both the Kancil and Kelisa, we can assume it’s engine options will serve both ranges of cars – 660cc, 850cc and 1,000cc. UPDATE: In an interview with Bernama, Perodua shareholder UMW Holdings Bhd’s group chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin said the new car would come with 660cc and 1,000cc engines, and carburettors would be phased out and replaced with electronic fuel injection.

I’ll leave you guys with photos of the original Daihatsu Mira as well as the Mira’s interior. The new Perodua’s interior could be based on the original interior or it could be some new altogether, we’ll just have to wait and see.

original_mira_1.jpg

original_mira_2.jpg

original_mira_3.jpg

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cell3216 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 10:47 pm

Perodua facelift looks nicer…..but no surprise since the headlamps look much similar to his brother, MyVi. In addition, I think the interior of perodua might not same with daihatsu and it might be downgraded, which there is the same case of MyVi coz they wanna reduce the production cost and sell it in lower price. However, I hope they upgraded the interior or at least they remain the same coz driver is driving inside the car and good design and comfortable interior can attract more buyer.

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 10:57 pm

OO this kancil looks better and spacious. better than the original :D

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 11:05 pm

I like the boxy Mira better, don't like the numberplate on the rear hatch for the facelifted one.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 11:24 pm

Not bad.

But i more prefer the number plate at below.

As i can see that the car look more spacious than our current kancil.

• oversight (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 11:27 pm

the last picture that show the dashboard; the big white center meter show speedometer or tachometer? image quite blur la at that part

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 11:30 pm

wow…almost undisguise…looks good…will sure b flooding the road….:D. anyway… this is the kancil replacement or kelisa replacement or kancil/kelisa replacement ? then lower end (

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 11:35 pm

eh…y half my post went missing?…hhhahahah…. :D

well…let me cont here la…

then the lower end (

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 11:58 pm

looks spacious and no more 'budget' feeling

• yientau (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 12:16 am

wow…coool! Luv it..

• waimak (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 12:28 am

I dont know about the rest but Perodua's facelift has Toyota Avanza looks only in samller size..

• szw (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 12:42 am

i looks like a kenari replacement model more den kancil replacement model .

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 12:47 am

Agree that the Perodua facelift looks much more sportier less feminine. But the tyres look sooo small. Hope Perodua fits it with 14" tyres/rims

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 1:02 am

The white one kelisa replacement izzit???…. anyone can confirm??.. daihatsu models proven to be a reliable car… so book 1st oso no worry… of coz not tip top quality / performance, but sure can use for more than 5 years without headache… when can book??…. my wife cant wait oredi… she wants new car & some money to spend… produa.. kasi cepat sket la… this year mcm boring la….

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 1:34 am

Finally, the kancil will be replaced very soon… We don't want to see the scrap running on the highway anymore, threaten the lives of the road users..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 3:00 am

alot of major work has been done…replacing fenders,bmpers and lights! wow! mus be hard work! anyway , nt sure if its a kancil RM or kelisa RM…bt this one looks alot bigger inside than the car it replaces..looks abit roomy..we dowant slow kancils anymore plz…hate seeing a trafic jam caused by a lady kancil driver driving slow on the right lane on a flyover! n plz replace those bicycle thin rims…imagin driving in a havey rain with those tyres..no chance!

• neurra (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 3:08 am

the original mira looks better imo, i hope they're not sticking to the grey plastic bumpers

• Celicazz (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 3:52 am

how's the safety feature? can it really go up and down the Cameron/Genting…the current Kancil melts it's own hubcap when descending Genting…burnt rubber smell everywhere…

• KW Tan (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 4:23 am

it looks better than the original MIRA….. it definately look nicer than SAVY.

hoop it cost even lover than SAVY ^-^

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 4:33 am

looks not bad..

Hopefully it hav ABS & Airbag for basic safety features, Alloy Rims and very very important is maintain with the current kancil pricing….

If Perodua Blh…then sure ppl Blh buy…

• chanlman (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 4:35 am

It is look more like a Kenari than Kancil replacement. We all gonna miss the Kelisa… Its such a nice car to drive around.

Well, my comment first would be the Rear wheel. If you look carefully on the photos, both white and blue miras' rear body lowered down. Maybe due to the slope the cars were parking on. But anyway, Daihatsu cars always have this "problem", can't really fetch many people in the car. Or else the suspension put to its MAX.

White color design looks more dynamic and suitable to Msia. Another critic would be the Rubber like front/ back bumper. I guess it is because Msia weather is just too hot… P2 has no choice to use the cheap look PU bumper. Do you guys notice the existing P2 cars with this kinda PU bumper actually goes out of shape after sometime??

I would not buy this car definitely. MyVi would be better option out of all P2 cars. :)

• KY (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 4:54 am

at least the meters aren't in the center. but tiny wheels.

• bpkid (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 5:19 am

hmm….looks ok la.

i've seen the original daihatsu mira in daihatsu's japanese site. the meter console has no temperature gauge at all if i'm not mistaken.

• bpkid (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 5:42 am

oh yes, i hope the new kancil has more higher safety feature than the current one.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 7:18 am

should provide airbag for this tiny car..

• gigganet (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 7:30 am

It looks bigger to me than the current kancil if viewed from a certain angle. Thank goodness they got rid of the center console. No matter what the 'experts' say, i find it irritating, and looks ugly too! I hope center consoles will be a trend of the past.

• ... (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 8:17 am

If the base model is sold at kancil prices (+-24K) and it looks that good, Perodua will have another sure hit product and Proton marketshare will surely be reduced further!

BTW perodua, can we have a limited edition 2door turbo version of that car please??

• ... (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 10:01 am

This is a link to a 3 door version

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira/gr…

surely a limited edition 3door turbo hot hatch with a price tag of around RM45k will sell like hot cakes, not to mention the motorsport potential of such a product.

Please Perodua can we have an OEM turbo car… the sign of lots of modded ones surely does mean that Malaysians do like the idea of an OEM turbo perodua…

• i-zonda (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 2:01 pm

Aiii…. only headlight and bumper changing from the Daihatsu model, im sure '"Brother's" also can launch within 3 months… Ya… with "Brother's" logo also…

• Mastermind (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 4:51 pm

So far I like every parts of the car except for that front grill 'YUCK!', I think it looks really ugly in my opinion, they should've kept it simple just like the original Daihatsu Mira .

• Celicazz (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 5:13 pm

no in-house design n engineering yet from P2..pethatic yet too business minded…(no passion in making cars-Jeremy Clarkson)… how r u going to control the car if it is fitted with turbo?better leave a city car alone…0-100 in 3 seconds(maybe..) but,hav u ever tot of what happen during 100-0? will the chassis rip the car down?

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 5:46 pm

Ugly or not, the important is they r spacious… not like poton's cars… target for ah bengs oni.. car ve become crucial transportation, so space is very important.. daihatsu toyota has seen this crucial element.. the look wud be bulky, but wat the heck, people want to be comfortable inside.. top speed 120-140kmp is enuf for long distance journey.. my wife like the kelisa replacement.. we cant wait to book.. it looks like mini Avanza…

produa.. no need la to test ur car so long.. they r rebadge cars, should ve no poblems, rite??.. just launch la cepat2 sket…

ps: The launch of these two sure will hurt poton more!!.. hahaha.. padan muka..

• ... (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 6:07 pm

Quote celicazz : "how r u going to control the car if it is fitted with turbo?"

Well bro, not all turbo cars produce 500hp… In Japan for years daihatsu has been building Turbo versions similar to the kancil, kelisa, kenari, Myvi and the Kancil Repacement Model … and they have even sold them not just in Japan, but overseas, like the UK. Most of the daihatsu K-car turbos produce 64hp, but there are 700cc versions producing 120hp stock and the latest "boon X4" 1000cc 130hp. There are alot of malaysian who transplant those japan engines in their perodua, so why not perodua sell a turbo version from the factory to cash in on these type of enthusiasts? And small numbers of this turbo cars will create a "halo" effect on all of its products, similar to what the EVO did to mitsubishi (mitsubishi? oh powerful cars coz evo is powerful) and the GTi did to proton. It would create a good image as a whole to all Perodua products.

Proton n perodua are not the only ones doing badge engineering… it has been done for ages. the BMC/austin/inocenti/rover mini, Holden/Vauxhall/Opel, Fiat/lada etc… not to mention the NAZA/Hafei-NAZA/Peugeot… if the product is good, got quality and value for money, consumers will buy it.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 6:31 pm

Bukan produa dont want introduce produa turbo cars.. but sure gov wont approve one.. sure nobody want to buy P1 anymore… so dont dreamla to see myvi or kancil turbo in produa's showroom in this short period.. msian must buy oni outdated cars, must parallel with P1 development oso….

• pycazu (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 7:43 pm

Spotted it at KLIMs 06 too, mistaken it was Myvi at first glance, but found out then it actually smaller than Myvi. The exterior design look much better than Mira with Myvi front light design, but front grill look a bit weird.

Interior look nice if completely rip off from Mira, but pls pls change the creamy color to black or silver trim, creamy color look feminine anyhow. OK, fine, Kancil suppose for female driver, as your wish!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 9:10 pm

proton bashers are everywhere :-).

i like the replacement model more than the blue one. but still wainting for info on the interior and quality. as i look at it, nyum nyum. but cannot la, waiting for another new family member, forgot compact car already. cannot sustain 2 car hehehe…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 9:25 pm

i can sustain 2 cars… many of us oso can… if can use more than 5 years without poblems.. why not?? new kelisa looks big enuf for me…

• dfendy (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 10:21 pm

i saw this replacement early this year near @ the mines, 2 color white and purple, i don't like it on its design, but according to origin mira, FC quite economical

during stopped @ traffic light, i signal the guy inside car to down the window, but ppl inside car just laughing and didn't tell us about the car, well they just testing on the road, P & C la

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 5:55 am

Celicazz:

Please get all your information right for starters. It's pretty obvious your comments are not justified by any shred of evidence. 0-100 in 3 seconds? You must be living in Initial D world.

Japan has been producing K cars with turbos for years, example the L2 turbo Mira the Japanese counterpart of the Kancil and L7 Mira Cuore as the counterpart for the Kelisa.

Going down Genting is already safe enough with the current generation of Perodua cars.

The front end of the replacement looks ok, I just hope that the interior is at least roomier than the Kelisa or as comfortable as the Myvi. I think that Perodua have yet to finalise the design of the rear boot and bumper as it looks very unfinished.

Hopefully it comes out soon!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 6:09 am

haiya…u ar celicazz…b more logicla…many times ure come out with unlogic statement…for an example…..ure comparing the proton neo and the alfa brera…not in the same league…and others statement…u knoe it…now u do it again…b logicla my frenz…

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:48 pm

I think that the new model is very good,if can maintain good pricing.You guys can look up at this website.
    www.autocar.co.uk find road test section.Look for daihatsu charade as it is called there.good review on the car.then maybe it will make you easier to decide whether to buy or not.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 1:48 am

Daihatsu Mira Coure.. is that what they call it in japan oso??. any body ve more picture of mira coure???.. what about Avanzato = kelisa?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:19 am

Wat about Mira Gino? I thought the rear of the Gino looks like the Kelisa's rear? n I thought the Kelisa is the facelift of Gino?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:00 am

ya..ure rite boyracer…many journalist give a thumbs up to the d.charade…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:03 am

some pics to share wit all of u..

http://www.worldcarfans.com/photos.cfm/photoid/30…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:16 pm

oh thx raybrig.. but i ve been looking around.. this coure only same with our kelisa.. cannot find XX06 brother @ twin pictures in the net.. does this mean XX06 new breed of coure.. or XX06 only for this region (like avanza)?? XX06 is a totaly new product??.. this is interesting…

• whatsoever (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:22 pm

they really know how to save cost. share the same headlamp with myvi.

• indigo (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:39 pm

Another "new" design, this Mira has been around for few years, I wonder why they can't collaborate with Daihatsu by launching a new model together. Just like the current Kelisa or Mira in Japan, had been phased out not so long later while M'sia just had "new" Kelisa. Hehehe..obviously Myvi's debut was okay consider it was launched not long later the debut of Boon/Passo. Perodua claimed that Myvi was a product "jointly developed" with the Perodua engineers in Japan…hmm…

• Imprezo (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 11:43 pm

I've told myself never to buy a Malaysian-made car again. I won't even opt for Korean. The Japanese and Euro cars are too far ahead in terms of quality…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 3:16 am

so imprezo…wat type of car u drive???its good for u can afford import car…..but pity to the rest who cant afford the import one…p1 and p2 whutever it is had to consider our ppl…had to produce a good quality cars…

• zulkifli6 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 8:56 pm

it's o.k if the pricing o.k

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 4:49 am

hodoh nk mampus!

• SuperSuckers (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:42 am

Hmmmm, seem like a half glass partition to me…not much bodycurve, plain looking car, flat, pale, market maybe for auntie uncle or first timer on buying a new car because "people say" this viva is very "beautiful car", i can imagine a 20years old girl with braces and pony tailed hair wearing spectacles with some zit on the face….hmmmm this car turn me off….but selling below 35k….hmmm…perodua did it again, here comes the news…perodua hits 20,000 unit this end of the year….myvi ok but viva….just another product that have been blind by the appearance of myvi….come on perodua u can do even better than this…look at your Myvi…just trying to make easy money ehhh?

• kakashi_san (Member) on Feb 04, 2007 at 5:57 am

i have question 4 u guys..why perodua don't copy the "kepishhh"(turbo) engine??

tell me plz!!

• huzsz (Member) on Mar 16, 2007 at 6:35 pm

THESE FANTASTIC ELEGANCE BABY WILL OPEN FOR BOOKING BY APRIL 2007.WITH VARIANT OF 660,850 ALSO 1.0 MANNUAL AND AUTO TRANSMISSION.HIGHER SPECS COMES WITH AIRBAG AND ABS …NO JOKE!

SAVE CONSUMPTION WITH DVVT SOCH AND DOHC ENGINE.

PRICE VARIES FROM 25K TO 45K.

OFFICIAL LAUNCH WILL BE MEI 2007.

PLS RING 019-3232288 / 016-6251001

ps.lots of productions begin from april 2007..

• angelo2689 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 4:21 am

my dad says he will buy me a perodua car this year!!!

he said is about may this year,SO Kancil Replacement Model probably

what my new car will be,YEAH!!!!

• ATOMECHTRONICZ (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:06 am

i agree with cell3216. The front bumper look low class…malay feel…if want to copy , copy nicely la dun alang-alang like tahi. jus the problem of outlook. If posible, hope can make it sporty like japanese car….no more malay feel pls….sian ah !

• cindy on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:20 pm

is it got new colour – light blue !!!