Honda Accord Facelift to be launched today

accord_launch_preview.jpg

Honda will be revealing it’s new facelifted 2006 Honda Accord today, after about a week of preview ads running on various media. Check back later today for a report on what enhancements the new facelifted Honda Accord brings, other than the obvious totally new rear end design.

Are you digging it?

UPDATE: This new 2006 Honda Accord facelift has been launched on the 6th of July 2006 in Malaysia. Click here for an in-depth coverage.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• suanie (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:37 am

but i am not an archeologist…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:46 am

wELL….. sEeM LikE. hMMm ….. lOOk aVeraGe….fRoM tHe BacK…. CiNCAi Lor

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:46 am

hey , its a HORRIBLE rear la…seems that thy used a scramble software..load pics of all the cars rear design n the software came out with this result!

really really not nice…current accors have much beter rear..this is bad…

• rcv (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:47 am

i think the old Accord looks nicer than it……….

• cell3216 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:08 am

old accord is more nicer of its design while the facelifted rear end looks not match with front end curve design….other than the obvious totally new rear end design there is some refinements such as increase horsepower and a redesigned instrument panel

• tariq (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:09 am

Executive sedans like this Accord are getting bigger and bigger.I wish Honda will have an FR Accord in the near future.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:13 am

well..thet tried to make a poor man' c class from the looks of things…fact is this car is not that cheap either…its acceptable oif hyundai copy cars coz they are still maturing..but honda?..common.,u dudes make iconic cars….just look at mazda's cars…they look so unique that they dun even look japenese…!!

• Nick (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:38 am

That's the car with the ugly triangular rear lights I saw a while ago!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:39 am

I like the previous version, for now, the Accord has joined the horde of butt-ugly cars. :p

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:13 pm

wah..Msian market sure thrown the model that cant sell at other place(wonder if sale in Thai not good so share some parts with Malacca plant)..I thought they want to sell the one like the Euro R model.seems that this model have so many back site design.The first design, the new one and the JDM/Euro one.

http://www.hondarevolutions.com/images/mugen_acco…

• KY (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:23 pm

Honda needs to fire their designers

• revver (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:23 pm

ermmm…. getting worse.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:25 pm

………… wats the fuss ? I hate these 'Facelift' thingy happening around, they make new buyers of the previous un-facelifted batches look like idiots, and they make buyers of these facelifted ones look like downright nincompoops in months to come as most facelift attempts are a 'last struggle' when something huge is on the horizon. (Toyota's New Camry) …….

Honda actually has the good products but their timings are always out. Toyota always manages to hold back all the orgasm of buyers and let them spill it all out when they finally launch their final assault, and when that happens? All the'spilling' oftenly splatted on Honda's face. It's been like this since the Altis, Wish, Camry, Vios, Estima ……… ok except Jazz.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:31 pm

The move is actually from subtle executive styling to downright sporty. I do think it's ok but pointless.

• en7yfl (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:33 pm

hmmm……Germeny Benz back light versus japanese bumper design. a bit odd.

• ceteh (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:38 pm

I also preferred the pre-facelift accord butt … but just wait for Paul's review on the facelift version … see what " enchancement" has been made …

• alamak (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:42 pm

We enthusiast lot complain so much, we want this, we want that, we hate this and that.. But somehow these cars end up being the top selling in the segment.. Etiher we are too demanding, or consumers out there who can afford these cars do think it's a great car..

How many here can afford this?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Don't simply judge the car by its appearance. Let's see what other improvement has Honda engineers done for the facelift Accord.

Btw, the car looks OK to me.. :)

• scudracer (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Very Mercedes eh? Even with shock and horror, Malaysians will still buy it. Cheap Benz substitute what?

• abe (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:02 pm

hmmmm..an american taste…

• kody (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:04 pm

yup yup really a Mercedes C-class rear look…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:08 pm

Wait2.. classic look.. ok what… this car segmen mmg utk org tua… i am not so old.. but i think its classic & beautiful.. told ya, more & more new car will get classic touch… youngsters wont like this kind of design so much…

• karheng (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:09 pm

i still think the accord Euro is more attractive of the latest accords. They were trying to merge both cars styling into one in this latest design..So American actually…

• pirate (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:11 pm

I actually like the new butt better. Used to own a pre-FL Accord 2.0iVTEC. The old 'ass' drew quite a lot of flak from car reviewers/auto journos locally. Driving a W211 now and I absolutely like this Merc-based design more. Only gripe is the Japmobile – ala Stream FL style – reversing lights flanking the number plate! Ugh!

Btw, has anyone seen how much the Euro Accord has aged recently? Especially the frontal visage…yucks!

• pirate (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:13 pm

On 2nd thought…maybe Honda Motor Co. felt the need to distant itself from the copycat SONATA NF's butt!

Hahaha

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:17 pm

Honda Accord

new model every 4/5 years.

facelifts every 2 years .

Proton Perdana

1 model for the last 11 years

3 facelifts so far. Perdana>v6>v6 with alfa grill.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:19 pm

Yea…Alfadana lah!

But an all-new Perdana is due soon, right Paul?

Perdana Neo2 perhaps?

• J (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:34 pm

Just seen the new Accord… the LED back lights are impressive as it is crystal bright. Price RM136,850 for a 2.0

Not so bad lah !

But won't you wait for new Camry to see how first ? :)

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:16 pm

American style butt… ugly…

• stewpid (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:34 pm

is this the USDM version Paul?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:56 pm

mystvearn said,

July 6, 2006 @ 12:17 pm

Honda Accord

new model every 4/5 years.

facelifts every 2 years .

Proton Perdana

1 model for the last 11 years

3 facelifts so far. Perdana>v6>v6 with alfa grill.

haiya..boss dont compare la..one is true car company, the other have protection like a man having sex wearing 9 condoms at one time.

better pay extra 36k for a 2 litre acccord compare to Italian mix Perdana(local gal screw up by the italian)

1.accord depreciation is better.(10 years also tip top Alfadana after 6 months all squeeking sounds coming).

2.Better fuel consumption.

3.Better comfort and lower NVH level.

4.Better looking lah…typical Msian mentality drive imported car (even made in malaca) means you are special because usually msian stucks with PATHETIC MIND DROOLING PROTON

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 11:53 pm

I feel like i've seen these photo b4.not a very good facelift IMHO.but it is still an Accord (good car i mean).the car companies that are very good in facelifting their cars are BMW & Mercedes.look at their cars (pre & post facelift,almost unrecognizeable at first look.

• ceteh (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 12:26 am

HM website has update the info on facelift Accord.

RM1,000 and RM5,000 increase in price for the 2.0L and 2.4L respectively.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:28 am

honda is assembled in malacca not made….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:53 am

http://www.worldcarfans.com/photos.cfm/photoid/30…

i really like this accord…euro version…more stylish than above one…this euro version is the best ever dsg for accord…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:55 am

urgh…boyracer…merc and beemer IMO not good at ala…especially merc…when come into facelifted version…looks ugly and…yucks…lagi nampak orang tua punya keta…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:15 am

So you want me to make a better comparison?

Honda Civic

8 models

at least 10 facelifts.

Proton WIra

1 model

….I know there are tons of "small" facelifts over the years, though I would not call it facelifts.

• KW Tan (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:28 am

expecting the accord will have facelift by now bcoz the all new camry is coming…… well…. the rear looks younger than the previous.

• szw (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:42 am

all i wanted to see is da front .

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 3:43 pm

our accords are the US market version same as the previous market. Why no euro version? because the US version is larger, and malaysian buyers love space. The myvvi is a good example.

The accord sells very well in Thailand and the US, so i dont think this car is sold here cause honda can't sell it elsewhere. If that were true, we would be getting the type R's here from honda malaysia, cause they don't sell well at all in europe.

• mymyvi (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:59 pm

looks weird .. one look ..gives you the feeling that something is not right/missing … sigh.. the older version is much classier … this looks cheap … expected better looking model from Honda .. Toyota's Camry to be launched soon will surely give people in Honda a serious run for their money .. Whatever said and done some people would still go "ga ga" over this car because its a Honda… Only Honda gets away with producing ugly cars.

• waimak (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 5:30 pm

I applaud Honda for being sentitive to the market, thus did the change. Looking at the specs of this model, its not only the look that's been given a polish but also the performance, unlike other companies so called facelift.

Talking about the butt, it clearly redefines honda's look. Also it's no longer Hyundai Azera 'look-alike' (or the other way around).

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 6:16 pm

the look-alike issus is not really important for me, as long they dont copy the whole car. but the latest design (rear)? me think the current model is better. look more edge, perhaps honda want to make it more muscular (like what they did to jazz) but unfortunate it doesnt really work for accord.

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 8:39 pm

I think the tail design look more coherant to the front lights, perhaps they are going back to the initial idea of "V" concept? i read somewhere before the US/Euro spec accord is designed based on the "V".

• decipher (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 10:03 pm

I have seen it for the last 7 months here in China (where I am based). I personally think it looks lousy. I much prefer the previous one (more masculine). As mentioned in earlier comments, It's rear lights are LED lights (much brighter though). which I think is alright except for the darn center rear light. Anyway, the whole new accord gone from masculinely seductive to teenager cacat… sigh…The front looks ok lah… butt is a no-no…

URL: http://www.honda.com.cn/product/4r/accord.htm#a1

Oooh… I saw yesterday a brand new BMW 6 series 650i convertible coupe in Wenzhou, Zhejiang..are they available in Malaysia ?

enjoy…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:12 am

ya..its available here in m'sia…

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Raybrig85,sorry im suppose to refer to the beemer b4 Chris Bangle days.the 80s & 90s.look at those e30 & e36 3-series and e39 5-series.their facelifts are very subtle.Can any of you tell the difference between the pre & post facelift on those cars?a little difficult if you are not a BMW fan.And furthermore

some of the bmws when their are facelifted,they're not only on cosmetic,but mechanical as well.Also some parts are not interchangeable.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:36 pm

if ure refering b4 chris bangle time…its ok…i agree wit u…btw…i really dun like c.bangle's dsg…really suxx…xcept for the 5 series…others…suxx…

• PGlang (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 12:49 am

This facelifted Accord is not as nice as the Toyota Camry.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 7:09 am

which camry???the current one??IMO…accord a lot better than camry…the camry look bulky…not proportion…

• zulkifli6 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 8:47 pm

this car rear design going back ward..

but somebuddy may like it