2006 Honda Accord Facelift in Malaysia

2006accordfacelift1.jpg

LATEST UPDATE: The new 8th generation 2008 Honda Accord is now in Malaysia. Click the link on the left for more information on prices, specifications and photos.

The 7th generation Honda Accord was launched in 2002, and won Japan’s Car of the Year award in the year of it’s introduction. It reached our local shores in late 2003, and won awards in Malaysia too like Autocar Asean’s Car of the Year 2003/2004. Since it’s launch to date, it holds the top sales spot in it’s segment, with approximately 15,000 on the road so far. Honda’s normal model cycle calls for a mid-life facelift, and this facelift is now available in Malaysia. It was launched yesterday and I was there to bring you this report. Let’s have a look at the 2006 Honda Accord facelift and what enhancements it has over it’s predecessor.

2006accordfacelift2.jpg

2006accordfacelift_light.jpgFirst of all, the exterior. The new Honda Accord facelift – which we could call the Accord 7.5 – has a totally new redesigned rear end. You could actually see this new design for quite some time already as it made it’s debut in the Japanese Honda Inspire which is the same car as our Honda Accord, so it might not be new to some of you. Instead of the long horizontal strips of lights which look like an evolution of the previous 6th gen Honda Accord’s tail lamps, you now get twin triangular headlamps flanking a boot lid which at first glance looks inspired by Mercedes Benz, but this look actually reminds me of an evolution of the 2006 Honda Civic Coupe USDM model‘s rear end. The tail lamps are now lit up by LED instead of conventional bulbs. LEDs light up faster than conventional bulbs so it is slightly safer in emergency brake situations. Reverse indicators have been separated from the tail lamp cluster and moved to flank the number plate area. The third brake light has also been integrated onto the boot lid.

As for the front, the grille has been updated with Honda’s new floating grille, like the one on the 2006 Honda Civic. The Accord 2.0 also gets fog lamps, which has become standard equipment on all three Accord variants. The 3.0 V6 models gets HID headlamps. I had expected the 2.4 to offer them as well, but unfortunately not. The 2.4 and 3.0 V6 models now come with signal indicators on the wing mirrors.

2006accordfacelift3.jpg

The interior is mostly the same as the pre-facelifted version, but there is a newly designed shift lever. The 2.4 VTi-L and 3.0 V6 models gets a new premium audio system which includes a 6-disc CD changer. The seats remain the same as the pre-facelift edition – fabric for the 2.0 VTi and leather for the 2.4 VTi-L and 3.0 V6 models. There is also a new footlight feature which allows for easier seat navigation. The footlight’s brightness is adjustable via a rheostat integrated into the trip meter reset knob which also controls the meter panel brightness. The 2.0 VTi model gains cruise control, with cruise control and audio controls on the steering wheel as with it’s older brothers the 2.4 and 3.0.

One gripe, while a variable speed intermittent wiper control is available on both the 1.8S and 2.0S Honda Civic models, on the Honda Accord it is only offered on the 3.0 V6 model even with the new facelift. They should have added this useful feature to the 2.4 VTi-L at least, if not across the whole model range as how it is with the 2006 Honda Civic.

2006accordfacelift4.jpg

Engine remains the same for the 2.0 VTi and the 3.0 V6, but there has been an upgrade on the K24A in the 2.4 VTi-L. The 2.4 VTi-L originally came with a K24A which made 160hp at 5,500rpm. Through intake and exhaust adjustments as well as some tuning on the variable valve timing, the new K24A now outputs 170hp at 5,800rpm. Torque figures are 218Nm at 4,000rpm. Like the 3.0 V6, the 2.4 VTi-L’s K24A also has a drive-by-wire throttle, as opposed to the 2.0 litre model’s conventional cable throttle.

Just for a recap, the Accord 2.0 VTi uses the K20A3, which makes 150hp at 6,000rpm and 186Nm of torque at 4,500rpm. The Accord 3.0 V6 has a J30A4 V6 SOHC VTEC engine, making 240 horsepower at 6,250rpm and 287Nm of torque at 5,000rpm. I was expecting us to get the new 2006 J30A5, which makes 244hp and 288Nm through intake and exhaust improvements. But we’re not losing much, the workshops at Sunway could probably extract more out of the engine if you really wanted more power. All three engine options come with 5-speed electronically controlled automatic transmissions, but there is no paddle-shift option like the one available on the Civic.

2006accordfacelift_vsa.jpgThere have been no updates to the suspension system on all three models, which run on independant double wishbone with coil spring and stabilizer on both front and rear. Power steering remains the hydraulic type, there is no electric power steering option. In the pre-facelift model, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) was only available on the 3.0 V6 model, but on this new facelift, the 2.4 VTi-L comes with it as well. For a sedan that’s supposed to be luxury, I’d expect the 2.0 to come with VSA as well. Even the lower end Honda Civic 1.8S has VSA. Why not the 2.0 Accord?

The new Honda Accord facelift comes in Nighthawk Black Pearl, Bronze Silver Pearl, Opal Beige Metallic, Alabaster Silver Metallic, and Silverstone Metallic. Silverstone is for the 3.0 V6 only, while the rest are for the 2.0 and 2.4 litres only, except for Nighthawk Black Pearl which is available for the whole model range.

The prices have gone up across the model range.

2006 Honda Accord Facelift Prices

Old Price New Price
Honda Accord 2.0 VTi RM135,800 RM136,800
Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L RM154,800 RM159,800
Honda Accord 3.0 V6 RM209,800 RM212,800

The 2.0 VTi and 2.4 VTi-L is already available, and the 3.0 V6 will be available from September 2006 onwards. Modulo accessories for the Honda Accord like the front lip and boot lid spoiler will also be available from September 2006 onwards, but expect a premium price for them as they are imported straight from Japan and imported plastics tax is high here in Malaysia.

Honda Malaysia has set a sales target of 450 units of the new Honda Accord facelift a month, and is targetting a matura market comprising of married professionals and entrepreneurs within the 35-50 year old age bracket. I haven’t actually driven the car, but I am trying to get a test car. It will likely be a 2.0 VTi or a 2.4 VTi-L. If I manage to get one, I’ll be writing a test drive report, so stay tuned for that!

Update: Read my Honda Accord 2.4 test drive report here.

Video: 2006 Honda Accord Facelift Advertisement

accord_alabastersilvermetal.jpg

accord_bronzesilverpearl.jpg

accord_nighthawkpearlblack.jpg

accord_opalbeigemetallic.jpg

accord_silverstonemetallic.jpg

2006accordfacelift5.jpg
Nice entertainment unit. The 2.4 and 3.0 models receive an upgraded premium audio system.

2006accordfacelift6.jpg
New adjustable foot lights illuminate the area below the dashboard.

2006accordfacelift7.jpg
Self-illuminating meters with adjustable brightness.

2006accordfacelift8.jpg
The new facelift comes with a redesigned shift lever.

2006accordfacelift9.jpg
New floating grille for the exterior.

2006accordfacelift10.jpg
Large boot for the golf bags.

2006accordfacelift11.jpg
The 3.0 V6 model features dual chrome tipped exhaust mufflers.

2006accordfacelift12.jpg
Mercedes-ish rear lights.

2006accordfacelift13.jpg
Safety features include airbags. Side airbags with occupant position detection system (OPDS) only for the 3.0 V6 model.

2006accordfacelift14.jpg
Keeping up with the trend, wing mirrors on the 2.4 and 3.0 model feature signal lights.

2006accordfacelift15.jpg
Chrome tipped exhaust muffler.

2006accordfacelift17.jpg
This Accord features the Modulo front lip available in September.

2006accordfacelift161.jpg
This is a 2.0 VTi model.

2006accordfacelift18.jpg
The Honda Accord 3.0 V6, notice the dual exhausts.

2006accordfacelift19.jpg
Another look at the Modulo front lips. There are no Modulo side skirts at the moment though.

2006accordfacelift20.jpg
Modulo boot-lid spoiler.

2006accordfacelift21.jpg
This is how the LED tail lamps and third brake light looks like lit up.

2006accordfacelift22.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karheng (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 11:31 pm

Looks like a stretched out C class really with a Honda front…

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 11:55 pm

I prefer the old rear end better. The front is allright.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:04 am

haiya…

2.0 variants still dont have the rear AC vents ka?VSA also dont have. with only 40mm longer than civic better buy civic 2.0 then upgrade to Acord 2.4/3.0.maybe the 2.0 target for company exec car while the people using/driving it dont really car as long as company buying.

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:07 am

mycar_stolen: the 2.0 accord is a single zone manual control air cond system. 2.4 and 3.0 v6 has dual zone.

• familyman (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:07 am

got the feeling accord 2.0 is not a priority, since they already have a premium civic 2.0 for that.

maybe later on accord 2.0 wouldn't be available anymore?

just civic 1.8, 2.0 then accord 2.4, 3.0.

Paul, any input?

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:16 am

familyman: No, Honda expects the 2.0 liter to be the best selling Accord model. Next up is the 2.4, and finally the 3.0 V6 which is expected account for only 10% of total Accord sales.

• cadphobia (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:19 am

the wow factor lah

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:20 am

Dear Paul,

thanks for the info, what really differs between the 2.0/2.4 and 3.0 other than the engine and some extra gadget.means that quality ride/nvh/leather seat quality? is there any big different between CKD Malacca and CBU Thailand.

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:24 am

somehow is still think the current or even the new camry will lead the race on 2Lilter care race, but then again, the new rebadge is around the corner, a mitsu with hopefully better quaility from p1 new md, while new sonata, magentis and who knows maybe naza will rebadge a skoda. honda will have to dig deep to get their fan base back. back in the 90s their were everywhere on the road (5th and 6th gen).

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:25 am

mycar_stolen: it depends if you trust the workers at malacca's assembly line or not. btw, the CBU accord 3.0 has a sunroof, our local 2.0 and 2.4 does not.

• ceteh (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:26 am

But HM said they expect majority of sales would comes from 2.0L accord wor … So, I think most likely they want to maintain the price as much as possible and as a result, not much extra perks are added into the 2.0L model.

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:40 am

johanbey: i wrote "Since it’s launch to date, it holds the top sales spot in it’s segment, with approximately 15,000 on the road so far." according to honda, the accord is already leading right now.

• lainie (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:44 am

if only starbucks had uniforms like that. i can think of a few men who could shimmy just lovely in those white dresses.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:46 am

Very mis leading advertisement. Suppose to be all new honda accord not faced lift honda accord…

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:50 am

yaya…

i like it….

nice facelift jod, honda!!!

but the price has change my mind..haha

no money,

no accord….

EXCISE TAX, SALE TAX,

…………………………….

accord, mahal…!

• Fairman (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 12:57 am

I learned from foreign auto magazine that this model in japan was called Inspire instead of Accord, but anyway, i like the new tail look but i'm disappointed the front is nothing change much more, i prefer the japanese facelift version, members what do u think ??

http://www.honda.co.jp/INSPIRE/

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 1:02 am

Fairman: yes, the accord euro is japan's accord, while our accord and the usdm accord is called the inspire in japan.

• Fairman (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 1:37 am

hi Paul, thanks for ur explanation, anyway to me, current genaration accord is really damn cool and charming than its great competitor : Camry. but we have wait and see the next genaration camry coming by next several month .

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:17 am

As you stated above why some options are not available in the 7.5 Accord, but available in current civic. I think its because its not a new model, and just facelifted, so its not like they are designing a new car, just adding few bits and pieces to look better.

Looks like the best option for would be buyers will be the 2.4L version. I would like to stress that the 2.0L 6 gen accord when it was released was nearly the same price as the 2.4L version.

I'm not too keen in the facelift version as it is basicly the same model, its better for you to get a new model, and still looks the same 4/5 years down the road. This one will set you back 2 years then Honda will release a new one. Hopefully is that red car from the autoshow

• Siva (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:31 am

mystvearn: the thing is, those options like the variable intermittent wiper are available on the 3.0 V6.

VSA is available on the 2.4 and 3.0 too. don't you think the lack of VSA on the low-end 2.0 model is abit strange when even the low-end 1.8 Honda Civic has it? after all, VSA (traction control) is for safety, 1.8 civic owners deserve it but 2.0 accord owners who paid more money do not?

• szw (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:44 am

its a facelift , not nice .

i thought dey change da front design , mana tau jz change da front lights n bumper oni .

tak syok !

• DtG (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 4:49 am

looks a lot like a benz at the rear. it's cos of the lights, a bit too much similarities with the rear lights of the s-class… not very original. but then again, it looks quite good overall. it's sure to sell well.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:22 am

V_noz…

its common to all carmakers…b4 they launching a new model…theyll do a facelifted…like others…alfa 156…audi cars…etc…in fact…same goes to toyota…i think sooner or later…mbe 2 or 3 years…they will come out with a new replacement for this current accord…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:02 am

i feel facelifts just spoils the value of the old models. its futher decrease the value of the older accords.i notice the spy pic and knew its was a subtile change. i dont like the rear and the feature. unlike camry's facelift u can get the lights changed and be able to sell it. i think honda is making the same mistake agian like civic. my fren bought the 2005 civic 2.0 and now the new one is much better and cost about the same. i bet he was kicking himself for doing such a mistake.

strange to hear that the most of the sales of accord are 2 liter. the 2.0 has few options while the 2.4 has got what a luxury model of that rage should have. altough the tax is high for the 2.4, i feel its a better investment on the 2.4. just like merc benz. the best selling model during the 90's was the 230E and not the 200E. i was hoping for then later. All said and done iam waiting for the new camry and its sure its gonna kill accord sales. its got electric seats!!!

• rcv (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:16 am

A very nice car…… hope that Toyota will also come up with a new Camry.. hehe

• raz_R (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 10:28 am

facelift?

sounds more like 'butt'lift for me lol

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 5:05 pm

V_NoZ: this new Accord has electric seats as well.

• mtay (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:19 pm

I suka:

– the front is still the same, thank goodness.

– The interior seems pretty comfy, especially the 2.4L and 30.L. Could use some more gadgets hehe but that's just personal taste.

– Dress… got hole… ulp!

I bo suka:

– Literally, "BUTT UGLY". Someone hit the nail on the head earlier – accord front, merc rear. Just doesn't seem quite right.

– The beige leather/black dash combination doesn't seem quite right. Like wearing a black shirt with white pants. Just doesn't work for me.

– For an extra RM1K, what do we get? An uglier butt and the "luxury" of seeing our feet at night?

My evil alter ego, Ah Beng, likes the LED brakelights though.

Can we have more pics of those dresses for um… research purposes. Please?

• shaun (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 7:00 pm

This Accord screams 'bad american design' from the get go. Well after all it is the USDM Accord. I like the interior design though but i feel the Camry's exterior is more classy.

I always feel that 2.0L engines are for the smaller sized cars like the Focus etc. Cars like the Accord should have the 2.4 as the minimum. I know many people want to save on road tax but from experience i can tell you a 2.0 in a car the size of the Accord will consume more fuel than the 2.4 as it struggles with less power to move the car. There is always a fine balance to things.

Anyways, V_NoZ

Well a facelift is basically a refresh of the car model to keep sales going till an all new model arrives or to keep up with what the competition is offering. Of course it's going to spoil the value of the earlier variants because facelifted versions usually offer more in terms of aesthetics and equipment.

But i can sympathesize with your friend who bought a 2005 Civic. All i can say is that it's 'just one of those things'. Like you buy a brand new pair of football boots only to find the exact same pair on sale the next day.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 7:07 pm

thanks paul! but u see.. i went to the website and 2.0 didnt have electric seat while the camry 2.0 have it. i wonder why honda didnt think about that. majority of the owners are the old fooks..like my unc and unt!

was going tru some of the pic.. i notice the second last picture.. looks like toyota vois butt! lol. if i were to drive this car to my older fooks house, they might be thinking iam driving a vois..lol.. just a joke..

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 7:56 pm

thanks paul, for the stats, but dont you see more camry than accords on the road, or its just klang valley. Tried to search for no. of camrys vs no. of accords sold since 2004. But AAM only show total volume in one catorgery ie passenger or 4WD etc. do you have any info as in the breakdowm of vehicle sales in malaysia by model and class?

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:00 pm

well, i only have sales figures for 2006 January to April. this is for the executive sedan class.

Honda Accord – 1,438

Toyota Camry – 1,360

Nissan Cefiro – 71

Proton Perdana – 896

Kia Optima – 184

Hyundai Sonata – 133

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:37 pm

huhu…perdana lost…huhu…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 12:37 am

aiks!!! nissan only 71.. they better do something about that.. i dont understand why are they not bring the new cefiro in?? anybody knows why?? its is as big as the new camry. dont really like the design of it but iam sure they can sell more than 71 units . plp in tan chong.. wake up la!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 12:39 am

just for those are not aware of the new cefiro.. mind u it is the face lift model.
    http://www.nissan.com.sg/lookfor/cefiro/cefiro_ho…

• vague (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 3:09 am

haya…. nissan can bungkus la. any nissan model outside malaysia is full with nice features. it's a good thing they didn't do well with their "SEE FEI LO". bought a sentra,outside nice…. interior emmm so so… still can live with it but BUT NO AC TO COOL ME FEET DOWN!!!! I JUST CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT IT!! Why?? Paul can find out from TCM, pls… Regret, regret…. time like this i just luv the WAJA.. now to me, it seems like proton is better than Nissan. I don't even want to drive it, x change with me dad's kembara… Better… at least it cool me feet. sorry arr.. it's out of tajuk.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 6:31 am

Well… after a few glimpse of te butt… still not bad la…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 6:41 am

the cefiro is really nice…can c dat car a lot in jb…a few in kl…pity us..jz only available in singapore…

• king (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 10:16 am

the rear looks not as good as the current version….somehow not in line with the entire body. But still its ok coz camry has the most FUGLY back and can still sell so well.

• king (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 10:31 am

johanbey,

the currrent camry ( ver 3.0 + ver 3.1 )has been around much longer than the 7th gen accord. wouldn't that make any sense why there are so many camrys around? Don't you see even more perdanas on the road despite the lower sales volume?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 6:44 pm

nothing much to expect from this so called new accord, the previous version was much better in terms of design, nearly bought the previous version if not waiting for the VW Passat, thinking of maybe we can have a local made VW, but now no need to think as the petrol had gone up so much in price…sad lah people in this land…interest rate also goes up…don know how long have to wait?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 1:56 am

u bought passat ka???how???ok???

• waimak (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 1:22 am

Hmm.. talking about the butt again, if you observe the design flow, I think its more to honda city overall look (not the rear light only) rather than mercedes..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 3:06 am

aaarrgghh…honda ni…when comes to facelifted model…will upset me…this another honda car really upset me…the odyssey…the rear…look ugly…org tua one…

http://www.worldcarfans.com/news.cfm/newsid/20607…

thank god jz at aussie got dis horrible facelift…ours???hhmm..mbe come later…

• acbc (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 6:42 am

Puke! The rear looks like a Toyota SEG but front is fugly!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Nice…now I'll have one in bright red, please… :)

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Why does all the new Honda Accord ads emphasise the rear end? Thats becoz the front looks the same!

I know it's just a facelift but why dont they incorporate a newer headlamp for God's sake. The car is a dime a dozen on Malaysian roads already and its time to see a truly new model.

Even the cabin doesn't show anything special or new. What's the point eh?

• harjinder2379 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 5:35 am

why is it that we dont get the euro accord here in malaysia?

• indothai (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 8:30 pm

I'm looking forward on your test drive on the new accord. Can you give us a hint on when it will be?

• ping8628 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 12:39 pm

i just bought a new accord 2.0 @ RM139,xxx, just wondering a vehicle valued @ hundred over thousand but is without Auto Lock function, amazing.
    I ask my querry but the representative explain is : — u can spent about RM80 to hv aotu lock at any accessories shop, MY GOD.
    Accord is consider as a High-rack GM level vehicle, but … disappointed, no more honda next time change car. I really cant imagine they never think fit of users. Damn disappointed

• ping8628 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 12:39 pm

i just bought a new accord 2.0 @ RM139,xxx, just wondering a vehicle valued @ hundred over thousand but is without Auto Lock function, amazing.
    I ask my querry but the representative explain is : — u can spent about RM80 to hv aotu lock at any accessories shop, MY GOD.
    Accord is consider as a High-rack GM level vehicle, but … disappointed, no more honda next time change car. I really cant imagine they never think fit of users. Damn disappointed

• slaurency (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:21 am

are any of the parts off this model available for purchase in the US?

• bongo on Nov 13, 2012 at 9:57 am

Hi paul.i got d 2007 honda accord,and i didn’t come with the side mirror indicator..pls i need to confirm if side mirror indicator only comes with the 2006 honda accord.tnx..

• dfsfdsdfsdff on May 30, 2016 at 10:58 pm

How time move damn