2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Spyshots

evo_x_spyshot_1.jpg

Brenda Priddy & Co have captured these nice spyshots of what might be the upcoming Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, which will debut in 2008. From the spyshots on Dubspeed Driven, we can see that the concept has pretty much stayed true to the Mitsubishi Concept X shown in September 2006.

The bulge on the bonnet seems to indicate a top mounted intercooler since there is nothing visible in the bumper grilles, though I’m not sure what kind of intercooling it’s supposed to be doing covered up like that. If you peek into the interior, you can see a twin-pod type of meter design, similiar to the ones found in our Protons and Lotus cars. The Mitsubishi Concept X showed a similiar twin-pod design but the meter holder itself was not twin-pod shaped. Pictures of the Mitsubishi Concept X for your comparison are after the jump. For the full spyshots, head on to Dubspeed Driven. For more photos of the Mitsubishi Concept X, check out this post.

UPDATE: This is likely a next generation Mitsubishi Lancer being tested, due to the abscence of wide flared fenders and a wing at the back.

evo_x_spyshot_2.jpg

evo_x_spyshot_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:42 pm

is this Evo really good?but why the Evo 9 cost almost 100k more expensive than the Impreza?and this too much price gap only occur in Msia.is it because "they" afraid Msian will buy Evo then convert it into Waja? :-)is there any different tax implementation to different brands?

• Tracks (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Evo cost alot more than the WRX simply because it is not in the same class. WRX STI version is the direct comparison of the two hot sedans. Try checking out the price on a WRX STI and you would understand better.

• v0ices (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Yep, the STi is about the same price, give or take a few Ks.

And by the way, nobody knows if this Evo is really good yet, since it's not even launched!!

• ShaolinTiger (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:07 pm

Yeah if you wanna compare you have to compare WRX STi at least, if not special edition like 22b or P1 :)

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:09 pm

According to a commentor, this spied ride is merely an 'upscale' model of the lancer.

The wheel arches look flat, un-aggresive.

Overall, there're some obvious cues that it's a lancer – maybe not an Evo. The grille and bonnet look muscular!

And they dropped the LEDs for production version.

• eric (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:17 pm

well, i guess the technology in headlight LED isn't that up to standard to produce "useful light" from the dimmer LEDs.. LEDs do not have the piercing power of standard incandescent lights..

i'm kinda torn between the older styled evolutions and the upcoming one. somehow i feel as if the looks will be too aggresive to cater to the public market.. but, hey, evolutions must happen. =)

• whodz (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:22 pm

nowadays cars is evolving to human..see the front like a fierce-bad-mood japanese..no offence to japanese.

• Din (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:29 pm

I don't know. Looking at the trim levels on the doors and the rims, could it be just an updated lancer? it looks more like an executive car all around. There is also no rear spoiler.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:45 pm

why convert into waja?avoid tax kah? hahaha :p

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 10:05 pm

erm… in case some of you don't know, all Mitsubishi Evolutions are actually Lancers to begin with, which is why they're called Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution..etc. If those spyshots are indeed a Lancer, should be a good indication of what the eventual Evo replacement will look like.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 10:32 pm

We might see a std Mitsu Lancer looking like Evo X.

Now.. Ain't that cool

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 11:09 pm

I like the newer form of the Evo, looks ready to pounce on other cars for breakfast :) I think this is the normal version of the Lancer.

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 11:16 pm

aiyah….alot of people in malaysia or singapore all buy sports cars for the sake of their looks and the amount of speakers they can fit into it.

seriously, 100 buyers of STI or evo , how many actually test it to the full potential ? can anyone really unleash the true power of Evo X or STI on public road ? can anyone afford to test their ability ?

if i drive shaolin's GTI, i'll max it. just he don't allow :P

• KY (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 11:45 pm

chair looks thin, wonder if it's comfy for long rides

• magic (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:29 am

ermmm…dia bwk kluar dahhh senjata terbaru…adoohhh kuar jugak this animal….

kewlll..

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:46 am

certainly,

i dun like any concept car like that,

cause they ussual look like alien….

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 1:12 am

the one who is converting Evos into waja is the Proton team that is racing in AFOS/ATCC.(while all other waja/wira are Evo wannabees)..

so Ev0 9 same class as Impreza STI. the c"cheap" ex-stock WRX not good la…no wonder la the salesman so nice.

never drive one la but the car look nice and happy if can drive one.

• gabanpolis (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 1:19 am

you can take a look at www.sportcompactcarweb.com. they are the performance magazine from us that had been given opportunity to test drive the car, albeit some of the final detail is still blurred, but the car are rumoured to have a new generation of all wheel control, with active everything; suspensions, steering and stuff

• vernieman (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 1:48 am

I seriously, seriously dig this car man. Totally menacing!

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 3:09 am

i dont like this design, its look like over futuristic…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:12 am

yup honda_drver…

i think most of them know abt the evo root…its from the lamcer…evo is the high end version of lancer…

abt the price…if we compare the wrx model with evo…still…evo more xpensive rite???y ar??i think the margin is a lot…

• szw (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:46 am

r dey puttin in a 2.5 engine instead of 2.0 ?

wrx did dat .

looks promising .

• acbc (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:35 am

Put HIDs and people from will avoid u… this car is aggressive and has muscular look just like it's bigger brother the Galant VR4 EC5A.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:05 pm

"the one who is converting Evos into waja is the Proton team that is racing in AFOS/ATCC"

you mean those 2 petronas syntium wajas? If yes, they're not Evo converts, but ex-BTCC cars from the UK.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:39 pm

You can see converted Evo to Waja in Proton PERT – the one that Karamjit drives in rally

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:08 pm

Dear Xoomie,

I think you are correct la, I once get to see closely they claimed it is a Waja la.but shamelessly it is and Evo.(4/5/6 I dont know la).and pointless because you already knew you are being conned.They dont have hearts in this motoring business only know to squeeze rakyat dry.in future buy and Evo convert it into waja because msian are "patriotic"..really?

p/s wonder how people in rallying business take this matter when one team claiming it is a Proton while it obviously and Evo?teh officials/rivals.."no dignity"

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:41 pm

Cooooooooollllllll…..

• whodz (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 8:17 pm

wmzhaffran said,

i dont like this design, its look like over futuristic…

——

Whats wrong with over futuristic?anyway, Is it?Man, we are going to the future not back to the future..

Anyhow, I remembered some of my friend said that, Proton NEO is like spaceship, too futuristic, they liked proton wira more. WTH..I giggled, but not in frontla..I don't understand why the hella they think like that..I just..can't accept it..some old thinkers maybe.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 10:17 pm

mycar_stolen, the car you were talking about is racing in the ATCC as you yourself said. Its a track race, there are 2 wajas in the race under the petronas racing team.. Those cars are running an N/A 2.0litre renault engine, making almost 300bhp.

we're not talking about the Rally car. the rally car is a waja, running the mitsu evo engine, and 4wd transmission. Its a race car for rallying lah.. is that cheating anyone? the car is not even for sale to the public. Also, the car isn't even owned or built by proton. its built by petronas eon race team.

• thecrash (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 12:15 am

Ya lo… maybe mycar_stolen dont know about race car.. Race car still race car and not same as production car. If take another example, in F1, previously Sauber-Petronas (not BMW-Sauber) are using Petronas engine but everyone know that engine brought from Ferrari since rules allow to do it.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 1:23 am

ok good for the info's Proton thing too complicated to understand..some converted evos..some strenghten waja chassis with renault engine..crazy la this Proton people.if the waja is too good can fight with 3 series why they didnt highlight the things.if not of the speed maybe body rigidity/good handling/…oops sorry that teh race car then the other one is rally car.but both only to give the wrong idea p1ich not even manage to solve the quality problem but waste lots of money on the useless ATCC/BTCC/N Series Rally.

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:25 am

the spy photos only the normal LANCER GS model based-on Mitsubishi Caliber.

the new Evo-X will be based-on the Lancer but more details.

the EvoX dashboard & headlights not the same as the one in prototype.

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:50 am

the rumours price around RM 300,000+

• eric (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 9:11 am

what rumours are those? omg. it's just stupid to speculate on the pricing now..

i thought i heard the new evolution will not be based on a lancer model after the current 9.. hmmm.. the spyshots we're seeing, could they be a new platform for a new model, and only later will an 'evolution' model appear?

oh well, anything can happen till the time they release the car itself.

will be looking forward to getting one when it arrives. :D

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:30 pm

mycar.. you got confused again.. ATCC/BTCC/N Series Rally. is run by PETRONAS RACE TEAM. :) not proton.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:41 pm

honda_driver said,

July 14, 2006 @ 9:30 am

mycar.. you got confused again.. ATCC/BTCC/N Series Rally. is run by PETRONAS RACE TEAM. not proton.

I know that one, but I did overjumped the conclusion as Proton did nothing to make sure their brand name is use properly.like rojak…then give the wrong idea to people.

p/s what happen to the highly overrated WAJA 1.8 you know the one with renault engine/drive by wire/78k tag price..crazy expensive..

• superman (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 7:12 pm

mycar_stolen said,

July 14, 2006 @ 9:41 am

I know that one, but I did overjumped the conclusion as Proton did nothing to make sure their brand name is use properly.like rojak…then give the wrong idea to people.

Wat's wrong with the Brand association of a Waja (albeit a heavily modified version, like most race cars) racing in a race series that has BMWs, Hondas etc. Last AFOS round 2 month ago in SIC the wajas did pretty well too.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 11:00 pm

its not so much of proton didnt do anything to prevent people using their brand. Anyone can buy the car, mod it, and go racing with it.. same as proton can't stop people buying their cars and using them for illegal racing right?

but i agree with superman.. those wajas are quick, although older than the beemers and hondas, they're giving them quite a run for their money.

anyways.. i still dont think theres any wrong ideas given to people. a full blown race car is still a race car. its got nothing in common with the road going cars.. same as the super gt, and DTM cars. If you buy the road versions, there is no way they can perform like those race cars, are they then cheating the public also? All other car manufacturers in the world do or go through the same thing when it comes to racing. I'm just wondering whats the real issue here?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:36 am

ya…wat is the real issue here???wats wrong with dat??

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 5:27 am

shit!!! wat a nice lovely car!!!!!!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:49 pm

Bloody 'ell!

They are actually making the car! I thot its just a concept! Dang!

I'm sure it's gonna be super fast like the previous Evos. For many ppl, it's good to see a new Evo coz this means a lower price for used ones in the market..hehe

• hehehe_555 (Member) on Jul 30, 2006 at 1:36 pm

holy f***k is that a Lancer?!

• megadisc (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 3:02 am

OMG ~

that's a beauty !

• JDMfreak (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 12:16 am

Aiyo looks a bit similar to the old Galant… especially the front

• Apathy (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 9:40 am

hihihihih will the girls dig this piece? hihihihihi this kewl car will be my first wife if only i have the $$$ to masuk meminang. hihihihihi