Chery QQ for RM39,888

chery_qqr_small.jpgAlado has launched the CBU Chery QQ here in Malaysia, with an on the road price of RM39,888 for the QQ model and RM41,888 for the QQR model. The Chery QQR model is basically a QQ with a sporty bodykit. The Chery QQ comes with an 812cc 12 valve 3 cylinder EFI DOHC engine, making 52hp at 6,000rpm and a max torque of 75.5 Nm between 3,500 and 4,000rpm. It comes with a 5-speed manual transmission only. Good news is the car comes with a power steering system.

Alado intends to sell only 200 units of both the Chery QQ and Chery QQR by the end of 2006. As I previously reported, Chery also intends to assemble an MPV and an SUV here in Malaysia, the Chery B14 V5 Crossover and the Chery T11 Tiggo. While previous reports suggested they might be assembled at Oriental Assembler Sdn Bhds plant in Johor Baru, Alado group executive chairman Tan Sri Cam Soh Thiam Hong said at the QQ launch that Alado is currently in talks with a few other assemblers and Proton tops it’s list of preferred assemblers. This would be in line with Proton’s alliance talks with Chery, which would result in Proton assembling it’s vehicles at Chery’s plant in China and Chery assembling it’s vehicles in Proton’s plant here.

Price comparison between similiar models available after the jump:

Price Comparison:

Chery QQ (M) RM39,888.00
Chery QQR (M) RM41,888.00
Chevrolet Spark (M) RM46,588.00
Naza Sutera GS (M) RM35,998.00
Naza Sutera GSi (M) RM36,998.00
Proton Savvy 1.2 (AMT) Metallic RM42,916.32
Proton Savvy 1.2 (AMT) Solid RM42,050.07
Proton Savvy 1.2 (M) Metallic RM40,267.13
Proton Savvy 1.2 (M) Solid RM39,427.88
Perodua Kancil 660EX (M) Basic Solid RM22,523.50
Perodua Kancil 660EX (M) Solid RM24,443.50
Perodua Kancil 660EX (M) Metallic RM24,802.60
Perodua Kancil 850EX (M) Solid RM28,277.60
Perodua Kancil 850EX (M) Metallic RM28,636.60
Perodua Kancil 850EZI (A) Solid RM33,724,60
Perodua Kancil 850EZI (A) Metallic RM34,204.60
Perodua Kelisa 850EX (M) Solid RM31,011.70
Perodua Kelisa 850EX (M) Metallic RM31,564.60
Perodua Kelisa GX (M) Solid RM34,919.40
Perodua Kelisa GX (M) Metallic RM35,468.60
Perodua Kelisa EZ (A) Solid RM38,295.70
Perodua Kelisa EZ (A) Metallic RM39,017.70

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nemo (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:15 pm

Will this take up Kancil/Kelisa market share???

• Paul Tan on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:16 pm

alado intends to only sell 200 units. thats hardly enough to take up any market share.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:30 pm

wah…the Datuk is very rich one…sell car only for fun

other business maybe bring more income for hime…or maybe he doesnt care really assets…all over the world.

cheers for msian businessman

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:37 pm

200 oni by end 2006??.. what kind of joke is this??.. suka2 mau jual ka??.. siapa mau suka2 beli??.. nanti service how?.. mana mau cari spare parts? furthermore, more expensive than ulat sutera… i dun understand la.. i want to see any sucka buy this one.. i am sure not anyone from this blog member wud buy….

ps:Crazy….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:08 pm

we all should make our own community n go on strike n make life hell for new owners of this junk..we should leart not to accept this crap item la on our roads…its so insulting to humanity man!

• KY (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:21 pm

e-nabilll: no one is forcing anyone to buy.. relax, relax. let the market work

• carlover (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:43 pm

if u guys went to the motorshow, u were there to judge for yourself. It was facing Naza Sutera…and i need not say more! 200 by year end is a joke…why? cause that is all the govt is allowing.. ;) is it true…theres a courtcase going on Chevy vs Chery?

• whodz (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 7:19 pm

Still like a frog wearing a gown dress.

• en7yfl (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 7:48 pm

hmm….thats funny enough…btw….heard lots of complain from Sutera…water leak lah, clip screw broken lah, dont know how reliable on this chinese car?

can body comment once buy it? oh…carlower, heard from Alado staff that, courtcase was settled last year November.

• Paul Tan on Jul 14, 2006 at 8:03 pm

The legal battle between GM (Chevrolet) and Chery has been settled in November 2005.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 8:47 pm

hmm….. i go for MYVI

• szw (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 9:09 pm

no market wan lar !

• ... (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 9:16 pm

Chevrolet spark RM46,588

QQ RM39,888

Which do you pick ?

• overtake_2 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 9:54 pm

hmm…i'd rather choose a "sawi" than the chery

that's a total junk man

• AETAaAS (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 9:55 pm

Proton Savvy 1.2 would be my choice…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 10:24 pm

I buy Kelisa instead :)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 10:44 pm

buy a modified scooter

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 10:53 pm

I get a china girlfren, keep for 2 years…

• freeze (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 11:07 pm

and Proton might be chosen to assemble this car???

• kronikelz (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 11:52 pm

so Protons gonna assemble it ah.. Lets see how it goes, on our side proton knows that they would have to compete in the cheap car market somehow and gain more market share, so what does it do, get an alliance with a cheap producer like cherry,the same route that naza went only that they are not rebranding the cherrys. So on china's side, they are going to assemble proton cars at cherrys plant,sound pretty ok,lets just hope that it would really happen so that proton would have an avenue to enter the chinese market..

Give it another year..

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 11:52 pm

I think if according to QQ fan site in china, the quality is not bad… but dunno wat about it here… how big izit? bigger than Kancil? or smaller than Kancil?

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 12:33 am

200 units til the end of the year??

Wait a sec, I've just started taking Econs, let me try and apply it here. Ahem…

Over a production period, average variable cost (AVC) + average total cost (AFC) = average total cost (ATC).

So…AFC is something that has to be paid for whether or not there is output. As for AVC, it'll be reduced as the output increases.

The car has an average price of 40k, multiply by 200, equals to RM 8 million. Consiedering Alado brings in other models and manage to sell them, they would have say, maybe, RM 9M in their pockets to pay for the AFC and AVC?? Doesn't RM 9M sound a bit too little to cover the AFC and the AVC for producing cars??

yada yada, u dun need econs to tell u this: It sounds like a waste of $$ and resources producing so little. Anybody in their right state of mind would find this pretty wasteful and unbelievable. sheesh…

ai seh…

=P

• Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2006 at 12:37 am

they are not producing it. it is CBU, produced elsewhere and imported by Alado.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:43 am

not confident with this car la…

• kruzer (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:53 am

Very ambitious pricing. For this price, I'd go for Kelisa.

• neurra (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 4:17 am

no pics of the QQR paul?

• DtG (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:41 am

this car doesn't look like it has what it takes to compete in the small car segment at all! i saw this piece of scrap metal at KLIMS and the quality is as good as my friend's grandfather's 30 year old bicycle. seriously, it is lousy. you'll feel richer in a kancil. and at that price… WHAT A JOKE!!! c'mon, the savvy, kelisa n myvi definitely r better buys in tht price… QQ belongs in the trash… face facts, Malaysians eat more SAWI than CHERRIES!!!!!!!!

• madusakti (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:42 am

expensive maaa….beter to buy kancil anyway,,,.

• king (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 8:37 am

looks alright to me….but dun know about the quality of china cars. If it is as good as a chevy spark then its a good alternative to the sea of kelisas / myvis at this price. But looking at the poor quality of sutera, better not expect much from this car.

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 9:08 am

Haha I never imagined I'd see the day that there's a car sold in Malaysia that has even worse quality than Proton :D

• kt71 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 9:14 am

Now the battle is between Sutera and QQ for the bottom ranking.

Should price this QQ something like $15k so that people will choose this car rather than a scooter.

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 10:17 am

Chery QQ (M) RM39,888.00

Chery QQR (M) RM41,888.00

Chevrolet Spark (M) RM46,588.00

Naza Sutera GS (M) RM35,998.00

Naza Sutera GSi (M) RM36,998.00

Proton Savvy 1.2 (AMT) Metallic RM42,916.32

Proton Savvy 1.2 (AMT) Solid RM42,050.07

Proton Savvy 1.2 (M) Metallic RM40,267.13

Proton Savvy 1.2 (M) Solid RM39,427.88

Perodua Kancil 660EX (M) Basic Solid RM22,523.50

Perodua Kancil 660EX (M) Solid RM24,443.50

Perodua Kancil 660EX (M) Metallic RM24,802.60

Perodua Kancil 850EX (M) Solid RM28,277.60

Perodua Kancil 850EX (M) Metallic RM28,636.60

Perodua Kancil 850EZI (A) Solid RM33,724,60

Perodua Kancil 850EZI (A) Metallic RM34,204.60

Perodua Kelisa 850EX (M) Solid RM31,011.70

Perodua Kelisa 850EX (M) Metallic RM31,564.60

Perodua Kelisa GX (M) Solid RM34,919.40

Perodua Kelisa GX (M) Metallic RM35,468.60

Perodua Kelisa EZ (A) Solid RM38,295.70

Perodua Kelisa EZ (A) Metallic RM39,017.70

I think Chevrolet Spark & Proton Savvy 1.2 is the better….

chevrolet is an import car …

then savvy got a well handing…

however face of savvy looking some ugly behind it,

but still better too much than chery!!!!

come come ….

tolong potong some more……………

• DrA (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 10:52 am

PLS DON'T BUY THIS PIECE OF S**T!!!!!!! PLS… PLS..

• edwin2 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 11:55 am

I feel the same too…. RM40K for a small car.

for the same price, I go for the MYVI.

for a lower price, I go for the Kelisa.

SORRY QQ

• jiang093 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 4:00 pm

Hi, frend , Do you know the very choosy Singaporean also buy the QQ and news said already sold out 100 unit in a month.

Please be fair, check and lot around first, do not direct comment Chinese made car no quality at all.

Is time to change your mind otherwise malaysian will only control by those japanese car maker, Do you know Japanese maker also use a lot of chinese

made part..

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:05 pm

I'll get Savvy AMT with bodykits. look at that price… omg…

yep, agree with jiang093 in some ways.

visit www.cheryglobal.com. the Oriental Son model's spec is not bad. Got screens at back seat. american style body. but the engine is just… hmmm… Other models hv a glimpse. the interior of A160 I saw in the site looks much more better than the ones I saw in showroom..

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:19 pm

sigh..

Whoever wins…we lose again….

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:36 pm

It is indeed true that spare parts may be really hard to find as parts that are exclusive to it would remain, well exclusive. I think the best thing to do is buy a used Kelisa and chuck in an L9 660cc DOHC Turbo engine. Better fuel economy for the penny concious and power for the petrolheads :)

• edwin2 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 7:55 pm

I feel the same too…. RM40K for a small car.

for the same price, I go for the MYVI.

for a lower price, I go for the Kelisa.

SORRY QQ

• malayman (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 1:43 am

haha damn funny man…damn funny…who the heck gonna buy this la?

if i had thirty g`s id rather blow it at the auction cars la..hehee get a continental with air bags then ram it into one of these cherries when i see it

:P

• Isamu (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 4:32 am

jiang093,

I think China have all the technological know-how to make good parts. Afterall, they have been supplying the world's Top 10 automakers for some time.

When you try to establish a brandname for yourself in the auto industry, you either get the government's protection (like so many automakers do) or the best alternative is to undercut competitor's pricing. When you undercut people by pricing, inevitably, you will need to have lot's of cost down activities by changing to alternative materials, alternative processes or even deleting some of them altogether.

Chinese products can be good but not at this kind or price. If the consumers are willing to pay a bit more, maybe the Chinese automakers can give you good products. Afterall, it's a demand and supply question. Demand: Cheap goods. Supply: Very cheap good at the expense of quality.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 5:26 am

wat a car! ure u kidding me??

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 7:16 am

Still, no matter CBU or CKD, that car won't really create any profit, by the looks of it. It would be a miracle if it even sells to Malaysians.

Can you see the amount (if any) of China-made cars on Malaysian road?? It's pretty close to zilch.

=P

• jiang093 (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 10:08 am

hi, frend, i agreed price at 40k is high because of high tax involved.

This car only sale around RM20k+ in China .

But you know Malaysia car market is not yet open so we have to face all the high car price problem for import car.

Let see how the responde of Malaysia people to this car..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:17 pm

jiang093 said,

July 15, 2006 @ 8:00 am

Hi, frend , Do you know the very choosy Singaporean also buy the QQ and news said already sold out 100 unit in a monTH

Dear Jiang093,

Please do not compare car on sale in Spore to car on sale in Msia. Spore cars always the different specs one, example our Civic is Malacca one , they direct CBU Japan.with all the gadgets inside.If you do said that the QQ in Spore sale is good then better also check the specs/quality.remeber CAR IN SPORE is cheaper than CAR IN MSIA/ IN SPORE NO PROTON NO NAP.if do their tax is high but they all make descent money.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 9:59 pm

I never trust anything made in China. Do you?

Maybe in 100 years' time they'll come to their senses and have some pride and quality in their products but not today.

Have you guys seen the Alado A160? It may be based on a discontinued Seat Toledo but the build quality is awful. It's a sorry excuse for a company to make money selling cars here.

The Chery looks much more polished overall but come on, how can you simply copy somebody else's design and claim it to be your own? That's stealing right there. Sure, the lawsuit's settled but it remains an insult to the hard-working people in GM.

It's appaling when you make money by hook or by crook(we know which is which here). The practice should'nt be allowed in our country…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 1:02 am

Judging from the response here, nobody is going to buy the QQ.

• DtG (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 2:15 am

Jiang093, u seem to have lots of faith in China… u may be right, we shouldnt conclude that China-made stuff=junk… it's wrong… BUT, like I said, i saw it at KLIMS (i'm sure many did)…i took a good look at it and the quality is not good at all! proton and perodua both so much better in terms of quality, features and price! people who buy this car will be laughed at…. at least by me!

• Arcane (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Proton is bad..i know, but THIS? C'mon..the QQ or QQR or wuteva is a joke..it's like kancil on steroids with a boosted price. Plus, to me, it's a damn ugly excuse for a car. Now even the Savvy looks great compared to the QQ or QQR or wuteva. The price is ridiculous too, and with an even more ridiculous specs for its price.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 9:17 pm

For its size, look at the Spark. Its the same thing although Chery would deny copying it almost wholesale. Crazy prices though. Good way for the Sport Rim company to sell its rims!! Put them on the cars it sells.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 11:12 pm

Paul, you better write to Alado and tell them to forget about bringing in the QQs. They will probably do better selling China-made DVD players. LOL!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:45 am

pablopabla, your comment is too sharp laa. i cant stop smiling now hahaha…

this car is crap. in fact all qq car are craps. wonder how that tan sri think it can sell in malaysia. perhaps it would, but not with the current design, quality and price.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 1:54 am

lembagatanah,

Since most if not all readers here have already given their comments (or rather, critique) on the QQ and voiced their disgust with the expected quality, price and copycat design, we should quickly sound Alado to think twice less they get con by the chinese.

I once heard from my client that it takes 2 M'sians to negotiate with 1 S'porean, 3 S'poreans to negotiate with 1 HongKee and 5 Hongkees to negotiate with one Chinaman. They are VERY clever and cunning indeed.

And we wouldn't want another one of our made in malaysia companies to be out of business right? Might as well as them to get some DVD players to sell.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:48 am

Aiseyman. Kesianla Alado, kasi can la sama itu orang.

Chery may not be a good idea to you & I but maybe ada lah jugak alternative to Perodua…

China made DVD pun still OK apa…think about it…hehe

• jiang093 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:53 am

hi, friend if you say QQ look so ugly then Chevrolet Spark also same lah

coz qq copy from spark…mean european people design is damm lauzi..

I think proton design is good as malaysia people think coz proton export very small qty …But QQ already export world wide…you think all the country people also so low iq……..only malaysia QQ price is high due to tax..

i think malaysia people alrady poison by japanese design…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:55 pm

QQ even got fansites around… lousy? maybe for Malaysians who haven't own it… be patient guys… wait until its launched n got ppl tried it… then we'll criticise it again…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 7:49 pm

I wonder how is the sales figures for other Alado imports…??

• tamannegara (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 8:57 pm

look like till now a lot of malaysia still think china (and probably india)

made is all crap.

and proton and perodua is far better of.

but below figure tell the truth, isn't?

last year China's Auto Parts Exports Hit $8.9 Billion
    http://www.reifenpresse.de/CDML007/en/gast/detail…

China's trade surplus hits record $14.5 billion in June
    http://www.freep.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/2…

• tamannegara (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:12 pm

government worry that we have worldclass facility but third class mindset.

but i think our mindset had poison by ' malaysia boleh slogan'.

cause we tend to use USA( the only superpower) standard to level other nation performance. so a lot of malaysian regard china and india ( 2 rising superpower)made product is all crap. i bet you if we take the toyota camry or bmw 7 series and change their badge to chery or tata, most of malaysia will imemdiately given their comment, and the word most possibly being use is crap or junk,etc. if china made car is crap, why our new auto policy require them to export 80% of local assembler car? if proton is far better of why not we just open up our market, and let the market to set the selling price freely?

in fact from china to india, no body care about malaysia, they are targeting those big boy. they are do more ,talk less, but we always talk only.

if proton really so good why proton cannot stand it alone? why still want to rebadge misut model?

this young chery manage to sold about 150,000 units vehicle for the first 6 month. how about proton? still try to clear the old stock.

if we keep ignore the fast changing outside world, and still think than malaysia boleh. and keep talking, and talking.

we will shock again by another singapore , this time will be thailand, and

vietnam.

( don even think about to compare malaysia with china or india)

china j10 fighter
    http://www.sinodefence.com/airforce/fighter/defau…
    china type 052c class ddg destroyer.
    http://www.sinodefence.com/navy/surface/default.a…
    china submarine
    http://www.sinodefence.com/navy/sub/default.asp

• jiang093 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 1:47 am

Hi, tamannegara you are right, we must have a wider and global mindset.

we need to learn other country good point and improve ourself.

Only comment is not bring good, China and India is coming up as next superpower so their product i think is not that bad, only the brand is new and need more time to popular .

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 4:58 pm

jiang093,

Could it be that due to economies of scale and cheaper labour costs, China and Indian made vehicles are priced lower compared to other vehicles of similar class manufactured elsewhere?

At the end of the day, pricing influences many a purchasing decision. And if the sales are motivated by the lower pricing, that could have resulted in such high sales figures?

• king (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:25 am

"The QQ comes to the market with some impressive credentials: the claim of being the best-selling compact car in China (with 250,000 units said to have been sold worldwide last year) and No. 1 in initial quality in the compact car segment in the 2004 China Initial Quality Study by JD Power Asia-Pacific." extract from a car expert.

for all the ppl who thinks a kancil/kelisa is better than this car pls go here:

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/arti…

• sowhat (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 3:26 am

temannegara,

I think no need for you to show their capabality produce jetfighter, destroyer and submarine because Malaysia in anyway will not produce such thing maybe for 100 years from now. Better for a country like Malaysia just buy from existing producer for such a thing. Cost to develop jet fighter is to high.

They produce because they capable to produce because they have a lot of thing that we don't. First because their government is communist, army needs is priority.They also have to balance the power between veto's country and it means should have more 'power'.

They have more than 1 billion people, imagine 1% – 5% invole in car designing, technology and R&D.

Because China can make a jetfighter, submarine and destroyer that is more complicated, why they cannot produce a car that more than QQ in terms of quality.

If somebody says about selling 250,000 worldwide maybe 249,000 sales are in

third world country or poor country because they maybe not realy have better choice. And China is well known if compare to Malaysia. World recognise China better than Malaysia or Chinese better than Malay. So it is easy to sell something if people already know you and know your culture and capability. But if you are well known for producing parts for the whole world why you still sell a low quality one?

QQ must be better than Kancil in terms of quality…

:: Wondering why Malaysia not purchase any jet fighter from China, it maybe cheaper than Russian made MIG or US made jet fighters… maybe many of their test pilots already ****… LOL

• AdamC (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Alado anounced they have sold out the first 200 cars in two weeks times. They are bringing in the AMT (automated mechanical transmission) in September. Price at RM32,888.

By the way please do not look down on China's car industry. Recently they have determined to be the world major car part and complete car producer. I believe they can succeed doing that.

Chery is China's top five car producers. China people would not simply buy a car just because it is a local brand.

• thetruth12 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 7:18 pm

An Informal Comment…but truthful

Yes you are right but cheap is good enough, by the way i don't see much Chery on the road even in China only in poverty county's or provinces but i can see them breaking downs everytime. Ppl buy cash in China no loans so no money no quality but only Chery…The car is bad in designs like a dumping products of obsolete european or Korean cars. My fren in China says it is a crap car. In other words the quality is bad. Imagine us buying in Malaysia at that PRICE (more expensive than Kenari, Kancil and Savvy at least these are joint models with Daihatsu and Renault) i guess it is a big rip off. Pricing so Chinese RM38,888 or RM41,888 (RMB 40,000 in China) i guess u think Chinese is stupid. I would rather go for the Kancil than Chery (which is a copycat manufacturers of GM). I don't mind buying highly priced pirated goods but not cars as it concern safety in it as we all see it fails most of the tests wondering how it passed Malaysian tests >>??? Well guess we got great test facilities in Malaysia. Well you need a 3rd world mentality to buy a ChErY or to approved the import? Not to mentioned the maintenance of this great durable car (sarcastically). Hope Proton won't change its name to Apple, Orange or some exotic fruits lol but we do have vegi called Sawi lol.

Proton assembling counterfeits of 3rd world quality cars is like worst than coming out rebatch Mitsubishi in our early years 1986 say 10 times. Proton will definitely dent their brand in the international market for doing this. Well since Proton is like turning their direction backwards nowadays guess we are going to be like a ChErY also… 3rd world branding and designs also pirated.

GM charges Chery for alleged mini car piracy

By Gong Zhengzheng (China Daily)

Updated: 2004-12-18 00:37

US auto giant General Motors (GM) filed a lawsuit against China's Chery Automobile Co for alleged piracy of a mini car developed by its South Korean affiliate Daewoo. The lawsuit, launched in the name of GM Daewoo Auto & Technology Co Ltd, contends Chery's QQ copied the design of Daewoo's Matiz while Chery claims it developed the QQ on its own. GM's investigation results showed the two vehicles "shared remarkably identical body structure, exterior design, interior design and key components," GM China Group said in a statement on Thursday night.

Pricing only but how long can they compete just on Pricing as China ppl is getting more educated in buying cars.

Article Trend Update: Massclusivity

report from Reinier Evers & Trendwatching.com

Chery QQ and Geely Haoqing China's burgeoning automobile industry is also seeing initiatives for new MASS CLASS CARS, most notably those of Chery and Geely. The two car makers have gained a domestic market share of around 10% by undercutting their larger rivals on price, with vehicles currently priced at around Rmb 40,000 (USD 4,800). This spring saw the introduction of the Chery QQ, a spartan but cute four-door hatchback.

• thetruth12 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 9:06 pm

for those of you still think we are biased due to US or European mentality think again. China have some good cars but not Chery or Geely for say. They even have cars which is a Syangyong front and a X5 back let me get a photo of it on the next visit. Anyway it is ridiculous to pay such a price in Malaysia if you say priced at RM 28 – 32k then we can say well a good bargain. Don't mind spending the maintenance 3-5k extra. One more thing always Alado saying that they are launching this and that but do you realise they don't have much of service centres but showrooms. Maybe is still new but hey at least do one service centre for building confidence. Hope this is not a fly by night brand in Malaysia. 38 -41k is ridiculous rather get a Proton Saga 1.3s or Satria 1.3 old model which have safer bet. 38 – 41 still a great budget for varieties of models but definitely i won't buy QQ or Chery unless i am blind. Don't get me wrong in my critisism in China products, Chinese manufacturers are very diligent and fast at work, give them a new product they will get one copied exactly by tomorrow. The capabilities of these manufacturers is scary as they are real master of manufacturers the only lacking in is the technology if this is garnered well u can call China the leader. Our company is currently concentrating in China and to tell you is great market. For say Chery production of 200-300k per year can only slice say 3-4% of the market only still no one buys (…Chery is China's eighth-largest [not top 5] automaker. It was founded in 1997 and sold about 90,000 vehicles in China in 2004…), so where do the rest of the car goes definitely export well i can say dumping grounds like middle east and SEA (only M'sia or Indonesia next). Guess all these might be old stock as well. Chery will definitely emerge as a true player say another 10 years. Happy waiting for great Chinese cars. But definitely i'll get a Red Flag (national car) if i'm in China really this car normally used by Chinese minister or officials for the sake of high status quo or a Chinese patriot. Go Red Flag….

• thetruth12 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 9:17 pm

Hey guys i heard the boss of Alado is not ventering in the DVD players better he is bringing in another copycat LCD brands to sell in Malaysia. Poor Malaysians always taken for a ride by some so called business man with cheap dumping products thanks to our government… Malasia FTA .. Free To All… Free to dump..lol

• thetruth12 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 9:23 pm

The only way to sell a Chery is to have a better promotion scheme, like featuring a sexy model wearing a skimpy suit and saying the tagline. 'Buy a Chery and i let you pluck my Cherry' then we'll consider. Definitely can sell…

• AdamC (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:08 am

Hi Thetruth12, I think we can not use the stereotype thinking in judging the progress of China.

Year to August Passenger Car sales, Chery ranked fourth, after Shaihai GM, Shaihai VW, and First Auto VW. Ranking in August, Chery ranked fifth, after Shaihai GM, Shaihai VW, First Auto VW and Peking Hyundai.

On the copyright case, it was happened in 2004, but if you look at the new QQ3 and QQ6, you would find that majority of parts and designs are owned by Chery.

There is not cheap CBU car in Malaysia. Example Kia Carnival were sold at RM159,000 when it was at CBU but RM98,000 when it was local assembly.

We must also realise that how difficult for the car importer to bring in or assembly foreign car in Malaysia. Earlier ruling even asked them to export all the car assembled in Malaysia to other countries (which car producers so stupid to accept that). The current ruling is to sell 20% car assembled locally and export 80% to overseas.

Recently, The China steal producers have mastered the production of the full range of steal products. They have started produce car body steal sheets for the world renowned car producers, such as VW, BMW and Audi and local producers such as Chery, Geely.

On another areas, Dalian shipbuilding is building a deep sea oil platform for USA company costing USD425 million, just to show how their high tech is doing.

• wchi_daniel (Member) on Jan 10, 2007 at 7:41 am

Wake UP Malaysian ppl.. dun make shame of our image with those comment doubt about others quality before even try it.. Jus be fair to the new producer or newcomer.. everyone of us gone through as a new boy and was given chances… DO U KNOW THAT CHINA's now THE 2nd LARGEST CAR PRODUCER IN THE WORLD??? even Ford, Mercedes has gone into china to produce la.. Malaysian, wake up… dun condemn anyone, but try to accept… and understand why it cost so much… And PLS understand that only competition will make our local car producer IMPROVE!!!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 10:47 am

Hmm…

Very expensive.

But they sell in UK for only RM13,339. Why???

Malaysia mah!!!

If comparing to our malaysian made, maybe it's a lot better.