Chevrolet Aveo Sedan in September

new_aveo_450.jpg

General Motors is looking into purchasing a 51% stake in Hicomobil, a unit of local conglomerate DRB-HICOM which distributes CBU Chevrolet cars in Malaysia. GM is relooking at Malaysia as it is closing it’s office in Singapore. It’s expected that GM wants to take control of the firm by October 2006, but the deal depends on whether GM agrees to assemble Chevrolet cars at DRB-HICOM’s plant in Pekan, Pahang. Ultimately this will give us cheaper Chevrolet cars, as current models are fully imported. Locally assembled CKD cars have lower tax as compared to fully imported CBU vehicles.

There are plans for a notchback Chevrolet Aveo Sedan in September 2006 to be priced above RM80,000, putting it into competition with other sedans based on hatches like the Honda City. I’m expecting it to be in the lower RM80,000 to RM90,000 range as the Chevrolet Optra 1.6 sedan already occupies the upper half of that price bracket at RM88,888. Two new models are also in the pipeline, due end of 2006 or early 2007.

2007 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 11:58 pm

Still, there r very few Chevs on my town's road… They better CKD or they won't be able to compete with Honda City… I think the Aveo Sedan doesn't look bad..

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:09 am

There is already a new Aveo but not sure when its coming to this part of the world. I saw the Korean shooting the ads with the new Aveo in KL some months ago. I think Paul also blog about it before.

so the sedan coming will be the current model of the new model?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:45 am

jtshin…where do u live???y u cant c alot of new cars???or rare spesis??

• whodz (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:59 am

Had a ride in aveo lately..I don't feel like in a very luxurious car although it has a pricey tag. Maybe it's because NAP(crap). Anyhow, because of the NAP, I would not dare to drove this one day.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 2:40 am

I think this is not the correct picture of the Aveo sedan. A newer design has already been launched in Singapore. As for the price, no way can it sell for that price. Below RM75k is feasible. Afterall, it is more a Hyundai Accent competitor than the City/Vios.

• Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2006 at 2:44 am

lowprofile: i've posted a link to the new aveo in the blog text itself. anyway, to prevent confusion i've edited the post to include the new aveo as well.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 3:46 am

Since when Korean rebadged cars cost so ex…….

• DtG (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 4:21 am

80++k??!!!! do u know that the aveo sedan (the 1 right at the top) costs only 9kUSD in the US??? what the hell…

• ... (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:43 am

IMO it should be priced at about 68K here, but i dont think the Gov't will approve that retail price. Its a fact that korean cars costs very cheap.

The shape also is much more nicer than Honda "hamster" City…

• vague (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:58 am

i buy one…. look bit like Focus from behind. ya?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:45 am

Sedan Aveo, looks weird and sounds funny to me at first, but overall I think it is a great car, and at least can make some direct comparison to City, Vios, Altis, Sentra, Optra, or even our very own Waja. But anyway, I still prefer Optra than this sedan Aveo.

• acbc (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 8:01 am

Problem with Korean cars is that once u drive them out from the showroom, their resale value drops! So, it would be wiser to buy them used (1-2 years).

• altruis (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 8:27 am

Actually in India, the 2007 Chevrolet Aveo has been launched. Therefore I think it is safe to say that the sedan Aveo to be launched in Malaysia will be the 2nd pic Aveo, not the first.

• Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2006 at 9:36 am

Updated the post, removed the old model!

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 4:36 pm

raybrig85, I'm living in a smalltown call Sibu in Sarawak. Not that I didn't see many new cars. Just few Chevs on the road. Main imported cars on the road is Toyota, most, recond or new. others… can't compare to Toyota numbers on the road.

Well, Malaysian always get old models. Like Hyundai cars… Accent got new models selling already in other countries, while Malaysian Accent really ugly model… n of course, pricy. My friend said when he went to Korea, he can see everyone driving Sonata, which cost lower than our Wira.. n the Sonata here is a higher end car… duh…

• Charger (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:55 pm

With crash test result worse than Waja, I believe the road accident casualties will increase.

• szw (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:58 pm

looks like a vios lar .

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 7:16 pm

ic…ok…

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 8:03 pm

the new Aveo desan looks more a credible contender against Vios and City but there is this Korean badge phobia. More competition the better, so bring it on.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 5:54 am

9kUSD in US?… hell.. gov is the true winner everytime foreign cars introduced… naive buyers think they ve just bought a luxury car… thx to this blog, it educates some people…

• ... (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 6:49 am

Yup 9K USD is the price in US after shipping it there and paying the duties etc. Imagine the price of that car in Korea. In its home country it is just about as expensive as a brand new 850 Kancil.

So why cant our so called national car makers be selling cars by lets say 10% cheaper? (P1 esp as P2 car prices are almost the same as its Daihatsu sisters in Japan)

And i did read in the newspapers a long time ago stating that Proton has the highest proift margin per car of any car manufacturers in the world. They even put there the cost of each waja is about RM35K only.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:08 pm

DtG said,

July 14, 2006 @ 8:21 pm

80++k??!!!! do u know that the aveo sedan (the 1 right at the top) costs only 9kUSD in the US??? what the hell…

hi…it means Malaysian are richer than the AMERICANS…

OUR CELEBRITIES MAKE MORE MONEY THAN TOM CRUISE/M LEAGUE PLAYER ANNUAL MORE THAN NFL PLAYERS….TIGER WOODS MAKING LESS MONEY THAN OUR GOLFERS….

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:37 pm

if you go to korea, almost all the cars you see on the road are korean cars.. its because they have one of the most protected car markets in the world even till today. Plus, their citizens are also very patriotic towards their own products.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 8:55 pm

[…General Motors is looking into purchasing a 51% stake in Hicomobil, a unit of local conglomerate DRB-HICOM which distributes CBU Chevrolet cars in Malaysia….]

is this possible? i tot foreign company cannot buy more than 49.999%

• DtG (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 2:24 am

honda_driver said,

July 17, 2006 @ 10:37 am

if you go to korea, almost all the cars you see on the road are korean cars.. its because they have one of the most protected car markets in the world even till today. Plus, their citizens are also very patriotic towards their own products.

i'm ok with people being patriotic and all… it's good. however, Korea protects their own automotive market and at the same time sell cars cheap!!! a Proton Waja for nearly 60k? i don't call that cheap (specifically in Malaysia) because Brits are payin merely RM10k more than that! i heard that a Hyundai Accent costs only RM20++k in Korea! now that is what you call government protection or support. that makes more sense. in malaysia, the government just want to make sure lots of people buy national cars and make tons of money at the same time… so sad….

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:43 pm

I saw the car in Singapore. Very nice (for what it is priced at over there). Build quality is quite good too. Looks more acceptable than the tadpole City. Just wonder about the FC. Btw, they should launch the more efficient 1.4 over here. AFAIK, we are still having the old 1.5 engine in the Aveo right? Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Yea, we're still having the 1.5 in Aveo…