Toyota Avanza facelift launched in Indonesia

indonesia_new_avanza.jpgPT Toyota-Astra Motor has launched a new Toyota Avanza facelift for the Indonesian market, together with the new 2007 Toyota Camry as well as a special 50-unit limited edition of the Toyota Yaris with a Superman theme called the Yaris Superman. The new Toyota Avanza facelift gains a new front grille design, a new front bumper, as well as new side protection mouldings on the doors. The interior also gains a new ivory colour scheme, and the third row of seats gets seatbelts. It’s K3-VE 1.3 DOHC VVT-i engine also benefits from better fuel emissions, now complying with Euro II standards, but there doesn’t seem to be any gains in horsepower or torque.

I do not have any information on whether or when UMW Toyota will be launching the new Toyota Avanza facelift here in Malaysia. The Toyota Avanza currently makes up 40% of Toyota sales here in Malaysia, which translates to about 16,800 units for the first six months this year. That’s 2,800 Toyota Avanza 7-seater MPVs a month, which is very good for a Japanese make considering the Proton Waja sells about 2,500 to 3,000 units a month according to Proton Edar CEO Datuk Maruan Mohd Said.

UPDATE: Toyota Avanza 1.5 now available in Malaysia, facelifted model. Click here for details.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• king (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 9:19 am

so subtle……more like bodykit add-on which can be done at brothers. i think more suitable to just call special edition, can't really qualify as facelift which normally at least have changes to the body or lights or uprated engine.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 10:41 am

this car neva made sence..cant really c y ppl buy it…only the toyota badge on it i guess…..

• DtG (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 6:28 pm

looks like Toyota did a 'Proton'. juz change the bumper and call it new!

• peYno (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 7:00 pm

DtG.. minor change/facelift is normal for japanese automotive maker and they have been practising this for long2 time ago ..

u just noticed it ???

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 8:46 pm

erk!

• Bigjoe (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 8:48 pm

Looks closer to a SUV now. Is that the general idea?

• KY (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 9:06 pm

still not exactly a good looking car at all.

• i'm run (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 9:32 pm

The new grille similar to Toyota Hilux

• szw (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 11:48 pm

no comment on hopeless cars .

• sam (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 12:12 am

hmm~ quick nice of the changes~

http://www.avanzaindonesia.com/i/art//avanza_insi…

• Elijah (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:34 am

Something interesting going on in Toyota Website in Indonesia…. Check it out
    http://www.yarisgroovy.com/rate/comment/?item_id=…

Sadden by his defaming comment posted over in the front page of Yaris website, i have wrote a complain note for Toyota to rectify this matter. I dont know how could this can happen in even in a automotive world.

Prejudice people like him should not allow to happen in our automotive world. We are only interested in Automotive talk, no political talk, ppls like marino novianto degrading and tainted our auto society should be punish. Set an example to those sick ppls mentally problematic who wish to tarnish the image of auto industry.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:06 am

hhmmm…actually i dun like this car…ugly dsg…same goes to innova…and unser…damn ugly…

• optimus_prime (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:19 am

You guys keep forgetting, the avanza is just a van. Cant really compare it to "cars". For the money and features in bolehland, it looks pretty damn good.

Irrespective of the price, exterior wise, it looks stylish enough, without the "blaze sticker" of course. Whats that all about?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:21 am

I agree with u raybrig85. But those 3 vehicles, Avanza still consider better looking… my fren own one, n i'm waiting him to get it modded… cos he told me bout his plans already… wait n see only…

• king (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 9:08 am

this car/van is just equivalent to a overpriced kembara…same engine …..same chasis…etc…..a perodua in toyota's clothing pun intended.

• king (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 9:37 am

raybrig,

All 3 are damn fugly. most writers call the innova a post letter box. But the unser is the champ coz their owners think and act like they are driving a luxury SUV like a land rover disco or a murano. I saw one unser modified with a spare tyre attached to its back and a steel ladder beside the tyre at mahameru highway last month. Almost thought it was a land cruiser/ LX 470 from far. Its a bloody liteace van for goodness sake.

• shaif (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 4:28 pm

I prefer the Unser than the Avanza since the Unser looks wide and stable. I use to went outstation with this car and its quite comfortable. But the Avanza looks smaller, higher and looks cheap if compared to the facelifted Unser.

• waimak (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:04 pm

I kind of like the facelift. Looks slightly sporty too.. Too bad no power improvement.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:08 pm

I am an Avanza owner and very proud of it. For that price and package, you can get anything comparable. That is, if you compare like for like. The trouble with a lot of critics is that they compare it with a sedan at similar price. If it is such a lousy van (as some of you have described it), just see the growing sales and owners who will vouch for it. They even have a dedicated forum for Avanzas. In fact, I believe the face-lift Avanza is coming to our shores very soon if sources from the forum is relied upon.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Avanza is the most economical toyota. So dont expect too much. As someone said above, for this kind of features and capacity, it is a great deal in our bolehland.

For being the only 60k 7seater in town, aka the only choice in their class, no suprise that Avanza will perform good.

• hiuzi_eriena (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:28 pm

Toyota will use 1.5 engine for malaysia market

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Avanza is totally out of my consideration if i want to buy a new car b'cos it's overpiced and nothing special except a TOYOTA badge.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 7:54 pm

I'm still perplexed. Why do people still categorise Avanza as a "car" when it is not???

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 9:23 pm

I cannot understand why car makers continue to shelve out under-powered cars. Is it to make it cheap and sell more? I dont mind paying a bit more for a 1.5 liter Avanza. A 1.3 liter powered automatic cant move a car like Avanza. It may be able to move the Kelisa, though.

We need power especially when we are carrying 4 adults. I used to drive a 1.3 liter manual sedan and it was just enough. Automatic? No way.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:17 pm

I used to doubt whether the 1.3litre engine can sufficiently power the Avanza. That was before I drove and purchased it.

Definitely no problems with power. I had a full load of 6 adults and 2 toddlers (with boot space filled up) travelling along the trunk road from Pontian Kecil to JB recently. No problems overtaking other vehicles. And it's an automatic transmission!

Anyway, I didn't buy an Avanza to drive it like Michael Schumacher. I have the Kelisa to do that job. Beats other cars at the traffic light! Ha!Ha!

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 11:57 pm

It depends on which car you were driving before you bought the Avanza. I have tested the MyVi and Kembara. All three use the same engine. I am not happy with the results. Intially, I thought I did not step on the accelerator hard enough. After 3 tries, I realised that I had hit the floor and yet the car couldnt move. Thats when I decided that this car is not for me.

BTW, I am still driving a Wira 1.8 Auto. I wouldnt trade it for a 1.3 car which is very much inferior in terms of power and safety features.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 1:06 am

alan2006, you must be highly exaggerating when you said "Intially, I thought I did not step on the accelerator hard enough. After 3 tries, I realised that I had hit the floor and yet the car couldnt move. Thats when I decided that this car is not for me."

Did you release the handbrake? LOL! Please don't get offended but I think when you make a remark that a "car" couldn't move even though you hit the floor, you must be joking or had not released the handbrake or had not put the "car" to gear.

• peromyvi (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:08 am

Toyota Avanza 1.3 launched in Indonesia priced at IDR 103 million . 10000 IDR = RM 4. Obtained this info from daihatsu website

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:31 am

Pablopabla,

My apologies. The car couldnt move "as fast as I wanted."

Anyway, one man's food is another man's poison.

Thats why cars of all models and sizes are sold today.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 1:48 am

Alan2006,

No hard feelings! Hope you didn't mind me cracking a joke out of your posting. I couldn't help myself =)

Yes, one man's food is another man's poison :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 2:31 am

sori to pablopabla…no heart feeling k…jz…ok..we know toyota cars…really good in term of economy,etc…but i jz dun like the dsg…ugly…sori…jz my opinion…yup…agree wit some of u guyz…avanza is better lookong than the innova and unser…

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:23 pm

Pablopabla, No problem. Just an exchange of views. Relax, brudder.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:53 pm

raybrig85,

No problems with your views. But I think if the design is going to be more aerodynamic (eg. Wish), the price gonna increase.

Sometimes we have to show a bit of passion in paul's comments column to wake the readers up! Hah!Hah!

At least readers here are matured enough to give and receive criticisms and difference in opinion. Unlike some politicians…terus hantar buang negeri.

• monkeyking (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 3:00 am

alan2006,

Very doubt about your car safety. just think, is your wira 1.8 got GOA or Crash test???

for those who think Avanza 1.3 is underpower,

i am very scare of your knowledge level. if Toyota Avavnza 1.3 (89ps) is underpower, how about Honda City 1.5 i-dsi (88ps)???

lagi underpower + more expensive???

sorry if i hurt anyone of you.

regard,

from a poor one who want to protect his asset.

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 4:40 pm

monkeyking,

I must admit that a 10 year old Wira is not very safe. It doesnt have GOA but it has ABS and disc brakes all round. Stopping power is important for emergencies. 10 years ago, Proton found it unnecessary to install airbags even for a car with a price tag of RM 78,000. Instead, they gave me AutoCruise which I have yet to use. With cars flying off the showroom, Proton felt that a market survey was not required.

I am looking for a 1.6 Japanese second hand car. Unfortunately, the market price of Protons today have fallen 25% within a short period of time. (See Star today). But then, there is never a perfect time to sell your car.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Hey monkeyking!

You are here also. Perhaps we can ask bros PJS and gang to come give their testimony on Avanza! Kah!Kah!

• monkeyking (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 8:04 pm

alan2006,

ya, ABS is good but most of the acident is causes by other, not you… no mather how good your driving skill. still some idiot cut here cut there and make the acident happen.

for me, a good shell is better then a good break.

Proton fall 25%… Kancil lagi teruk… q(T^T)p

pablopabla,

Long Live Avanza!!! yeah!!! ha ha.

anyway, we are out of topic liau… so sory.

still wonder how Malaysia Avanza Facelift will be.

indonesia are improving the power from normal to vvt-i, hope that Malaysia will be improving in cc :P

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 2:56 am

soon MPVs will be classified as passenger cars, same as most of other developed countries.

• AbangZaL (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:46 pm

I've own my Avanza for 1 year..Very satisfied with it. Those who claim Avanza is underpower, better go toyota showroom and have a test drive..Hey it's a Rear Wheel Drive car man. Even with 1.3 engine can easily smoke some of the saloon car. I've drive up to Genting a few times before, the car never drop until 2nd gear. But mine not virgin anymore.. I've modded this car to maximize the output of my K3-VE and the stability of this so called "van" by certain people.

• nizam (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 2:06 am

agreed with u monkeyking :)

avanza 1.3 in not underpower….

its so true!!! :)

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 3:08 am

Liar liar pants on fire!!! Shame on TOYOTA!!

Sorry to all Avanza owners who would die fighting to protect their beloved "Toyota Kembara Long Wheel Base" but the truth really hurts doesn't it?

Especially when every end of the month you have to fork out hundreds of your hard earned cash to pay for a Toyota Kembara Long Wheel Base.

I drive another make of "Minivan" which costs thousands cheaper, gets a real Japanese made full aluminium engine, Air Bag, Electric Power Steering, Sun Roof, Real 7 seater capacity rather than a rip off 6 seater(but crazily claimed 7 seater Avanza), direct access to third row seat rather than having to heave the 2nd row seat every time. Why I despise Toyota AiWanChia so much? Nothing much besides the Perodua Kembara engine hidden behind the T emblem, No Air Bag, small seating compartments, No sun roof,oh yes the hefty 60K-70K price tag,Not to forget everytime a Toyota salesman claims that Avanza is a Toyota and lastly those annoying Avanza owners who brag about driving a "Toyota"..Please lah, anything is possible in Bolehland, a Perodua can become a Toyota just by sticking a few toyota logos here and there.

Did I mention seeing that the first, very first batch of Avanza having the engine block untouched with the words "DAIHATSU" on top just like our Kembara??? Hmm is this another mystery? Mystery of the missing "DAIHATSU" name on the engine block.

• owner91 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:02 am

I am also an owner of the Avanza. The car worked pretty well for me. It's not as bad as was mentioned by some of you. The 1.3L engine is not underpower at all. Recently I used the car to carry 7 adults and 2 children and the car could still speed as I wish as compared to my previous 1.3L Wira would become very weak when carrying just 4 adults and a child.

• tanasi (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:00 pm

This van, the ride is choppy. rattles my bones everytime.

• It's me! (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:52 pm

For me,i rather get avanza than waja or gen-2 at the price.Avanza is more spacious and economical.We don't buy Avanza for the sake of power,we want SPACE and ECONOMY!Those who got 6 person in their family,i pity that because of the arrogant 'Head of Family

' who wanted to drive a 1.6 potong car just for the speed rather than thinking of their family comfort and safety.6 person in 1.6 potong car means not safe at all even though u got ABS,Lotus handling etc….And low cc car means you'll drive slower and it's good for fuel economy!The build quality on Avanza is better than some of the potong cars even though its made in South East Asia(The parts of Avanza are made from different countries in ASEAN right?).So it's a good choice for those who wanted a 'MPV'? for that price and space.Toyota always did the right job,targetting the right market just like what they did with Vios,Altis and Avanza.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 1:56 pm

It's not only facelift the bodykits..It's upgrade the engines also. 1.3 and 1.5

Why you all said this avanza running in 1.3? Read properly.

• chakoi on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

dont comment if you dont know how to build a car

• Plawok on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:04 pm

wow…the body size of avanza is big but running on 1.3 litre engine?dude,1.3 litre engine is not suitable for avanza…it is suitable for kancil and kelisa…