BMW 3-series CKD in showrooms soon

bmw_e90_back.jpg

Walk into BMW showrooms on July 22nd this month and you will find new locally assembled (CKD) versions of the BMW 3-series sedan for sale. There are 3 CKD Models, the BMW 320i priced at RM232,800, the BMW 320i SE at RM249,800 as well as the BMW 325i at RM288,800. Previously the 3-series was available in CBU form, with the 320i going for RM249,800 and the 325i for RM298,800. These are post-NAP prices. The BMW 330i remains in CBU form at RM408,000. As a comparison, the entry level CKD Mercedes Benz C180K goes for RM233,888.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 9:33 am

So finally, they've done something to get people to buy the 3-series instead of the much larger, and more prestigious looking 5-series.

Honestly I've driven all of the E90 models and I have to say that the 330i is the pick of the bunch. The gearbox and engine sounds and behaves like a racecar, and its damn well sportier to drive than ANY of the 5-series (bar the RM900k M5 of course).

That said the 320i is a ridiculous car to buy, expensive and equipped with a stupid looking rims which is an insult to the E90 design…

• chris (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 10:04 am

Eh paul how come CKD more expensive than CBU?

*faint*

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 4:13 pm

i think they've always been doing something to get people to buy the 3 series. The 3 series range is the bread and butter car for BMW. they practically built the company to what it is today on the success of the 3 series. It's quite common for non-local manufacturers in malaysia to launch CBU versions first, and then CKD them at a later date. Doing and preparing to CKD is a long and very tough process.

chris, CKD is cheaper lah, (prices pulled from paul's article above)

CKD 320i priced at RM232,800

CBU 320i going for RM249,800

CKD 325i at RM288,800

CBU 325i for RM298,800

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 5:57 pm

what about the CI models?have they come out with the 2 doors version? saw one in CBT articles, but that one c/w with twin turbo.very rare one la.A Beemer with twin turbo.Driving the old E36 already "syok" that one with twin turbo wah.the new 3 series rear light not so nice la sometimes looks like Vios.sorry ha…..personal opinion only.

• whodz (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:36 pm

The price differs only 6%, is like buying myvi with lesser 2-3 thousand ringgit. BTW, who is responsible for the assembly line?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 7:24 pm

I would get a CBU if I can afford a BMW as the price just RM10+ difference. Sure the CBU's built quality is much better than the local assembler.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:17 pm

I thought the Merc C prices were cheaper after the NAP announcement.

• hfrshah (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 10:48 pm

Yeah, current C-Class prices :

C180 Kompressor (Classic) – RM233,888

C230 Kompressor (Elegance) – RM263,888

C230 Kompressor (Avantgarde) – RM279,888

I think the prices of the two makes are very similar, though for the lower end models (320i, C180K) it's the Beemer who has an advantage due to better equipment levels.. The plethora of blank plates in the C180K is just downright apalling.

But alas, a person who would prefer a Merc over a BMW (and vice versa) will forever think that way, for the most part at least. I, for one, have always fancied BMWs over Mercs but I can never convince my dad to agree with me on that, thus we've bought a couple of Mercs, but no BMWs..

Personal liking always takes charge in vehicles of these marques, regardless of the gap in their prices (of similar models, of course).

• szw (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 11:22 pm

jz price diff oni wat .

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:55 am

who fancy a Beemer now can shop for E46 with AB.there lots of options as the previous owner switcing to new model. wait for good condition 3251 sport edition lime yellow…err test drive only :-)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 2:48 am

yala satria guy…

actually…since previous model the 330 is alwiz the best…but to pricey…the best sales of 3 series worldwide is the 320…economy and affordable…but…for me…i prefer the 5 er…muscular and fresh look than 3 er…CBU and CKD???i will go for CBU…the CKD version is not well built in term of quality…heard many complain frm beemer owner…CKD version is worst than the CBU…CBU is damn good…

hhmm..y ar the merc is a lot expensive than the beemer???cant get it….had same standard in term of quality..tech…etc…but merc is expensive…hhmm…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:23 am

2ndhand beemer…you sure its reliable? The only thing that comes to mind when owners buy a new beemer is to floor it, not wearing the enigne to the 1k mark. Though that can be me. Those who buy are too rich to nurse it anyway

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:31 am

Between the C180K, 320i and Audi A4 2.0FSI, which one do you prefer?

The A4 looks good (can be fitted with a DTM or RS4 bodykit), is cheapest and has the most economical engine. The interior also the best built among the three. Not really sporty to drive and the performance is mediocre though.

The Bimmer isn't really a looker with those dinky small wheels but there's more space at the back and better to drive, maybe best of three when it comes to driving. However, manual seats is regrettable on BMW's Malaysia's part.

The C-class feels altogether the most luxurious of all, although built isn't to A4 standards. Feels more connected to drive than the Audi but not as sharp as the Bimmer…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 5:19 pm

mystvearn said,

July 18, 2006 @ 8:23 pm

2ndhand beemer…you sure its reliable?

agree with you, reliability factor at risk when talking about 2nd hand Beemer…it is an ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE sure the owner will drive it pedal to metal..but this make can cope up right.or in other way they so called super executive people whom great grandfather already rich..no urgency to workd have lots of money drive a 3series to work and have other "chick magnate" for weekend…AB people traind to respect potential buyer.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:08 pm

The 'entry-level' 320i looks appalling with those puny-looking crooked-spoked alloys!

The absence of chrome garnish on window frames and the kidney-grille louvres makes it even more a drab, especially the ones in black. Rear seats are not very spacious abreast when compared to even the – outgoing – W203 C-Class.

Design-wise, the E90 looks weird with bizarre intrepretations of BMW's famous (or infamous?) concave-convex surfacing plus crooked lines – with the newly launched 3-series coupe looking like what it should have been from the start!

While the 4-pot Valvetronic is keen on revs, there isn't sufficient torque felt to shove it convincingly. The saving grace for this 3 would be the more acceptable level of standard equipments – vs the C180K – and not much else.

The 325i is a different 'beast' altogether but I would prefer the E60 525i M-Sport. Test driven both and even though they share the same powerplant, this 5 just feels more complete and more engaging on the go – especially the ride, damping and NVH finesse. Space-wise it's a no-brainer but at the expense of RM100k+ premium!

For those who would like to upgrade to a compact luxury executive sedan, wait for the all-new W204 C-Class next year before parting with your hard earned cash!

• modmonger (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 11:04 pm

interesting comparo Satria guy id like to share my view,

I would choose the audi over the rest you mentioned but in 2.0T FSI quattro DSG form. Simply because it looks the best of the 3 with its clean sophisticated lines. The quattro AWD will come to use during all those slippery wet days and when the need to feel some cornering g's arises =) There is alot of aftermarket support for the 2.0t in europe. One could upgrade the bhp to 240 and a wallop more torgue just by changing the ecu chip and the car is more then happy to use the power (think s4 and rs4). I've test driven the golf and I must say the combination of the new engine and dsg is comething like a match made in heaven. All the practicality of a auto without the power robbing effect. The result is a very smooth, efficient and responsive drivetrain.

I never liked the new 3. I warmed up to the 7 after awhile and ended loving it, the 5 i love from the start same with the 6 and the z4 but the 3 seems to lack that x factor. BMW asked bangle to turn it down a notch with the 3 and play it safe. I think bmw limited his creativity. Engineering wise theres hardly anything to complain about but then again there's nothing to shout out about either. The smg although very good in its own right, pales in comparison to the dsg. dsg's use of dual clutches and preengaging gears is very clever and bmw's way of doing it with hydraullics is a just little less refined.

Cant say much about the current soon to be replaced c-class merc especially compared to its newer rivals but the replacement should be very interesting. It looks the best already i think. Merc is on a roll with in terms of packaging their products. Look at the cls…… my god thats a beauty…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:08 am

hhmm…definitely ill choose audi a4…gt a good package…fresh and stylish dsg frm de silva for that car…tech…same standard with merc and beemer…overall…beemer is better but the a4 is better than merc…btw…ill go for a4..

but satriaguy..

if u put the alfa 159 in ur list..ill choose the alfa 159…damn gorgeous car and now as standard as the 3 er…

i jz look some spyshot of new c class…definitely better looking than 3 er…but when u park the a4 and alfa 159 bside it…it loose…

some of u talk abt 2nd hand beemer…for me…i rather buy the 2nd hand merc…

• king (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 10:28 am

strangely, i wonder how many actually test driven these cars when they comment here. I had the privilege to drive both the c200k ( from melaka to KL )and the e90 320i ( during march of last year's test drive session at sri hartamas ). Never driven the audi a4 though i sat in it at the showroom. just my 5 cents:

Design – Audi A4; excellent…a real looker

BMW 320i; mediocre nothing special; except for the angel eyes.

Merc c200K; ok but beginning to age

Engine – Audi A4; …..

BMw 320i; the gem of the car..very impressive for a 4 pot 2 litre. revs to 7000rpm in about 1 second in 1st gear (steptronic); silky smooth.

Merc c200k; as powerful as the bimmer but expected more since its supercharged. engine very rough compared to bimmers symphony which sounds smoother than a v6.

Built – Audi A4; the best built money can buy at this price….simply superb

BMw 320i; very solid but feels too simple, comfy seats

Merc c200k; least of the three and seats are really hard like waja's. cabin plastics easy to leave scratch marks.

Ride/handling- BMW 320i; slightly bumpy on run flats. very good NVH at high speed. wins hands down on corners.

Merc c200k; good at low speed but terrible on highways above 140kmh, plenty of wind and tyre noise for this class of car. Too much body roll for my liking during corners.

Conclusion: The Audi looks and feels like the best deal for your money but over here in bolehland you will seriously regret it due to its poorest resale value of the 3….sigh. The hard seats alone are enough to turn me away from the merc not to mention the noisy engine. the 320i is still the best all rounder althought its butt is ugly. Only one thing, why no electric seats for the 320i? this seriously hurts its image as a luxurious car and makes it 'feel' less than the other two. BMW malaysia either forgot to add in the option or is making a serious mistake. I rather get rid of the air-con vents behind and trade for the electric seats. Its a drivers car….why pamper the passangers?

• pirate (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 8:35 pm

Personally, I find the E90 3-series unappealing to me aesthetically.

This valvetronic motor may rev like there's no tomorrow with reasonable smoothness but it isn't the last word in refinement.

I have tested the 320i, 325i, 520i, 525i, 530d from the blue-propelller stable while having sampled also the C180K, C200K (pre-FL W203), C230K, E200K and recently the E280.

I have even driven the A4 2.0 multitronic, 2.0 TFSI, 2.0TFSI quattro, A6 3.0V6, A6 4.2quattro and even the A8 6.0 W12 quattro.

Strangely, I am happy with my current E200K for its balance of comfort, space, power , surefootedness in handling and of course, prestige.

While it doesn't pay to own anything more than 2.5L in engine capacity in Bolehland, I don't think that the 320i is something to die for. Period.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 8:39 pm

To answer to SatriaGuy's query, I would pick the A4 TFSI over the 320i anytime.

The 325i is really something else, being what a true Beemer should be – 6-pot and all – but like I said before, I find the E90 styling too much off-track for my liking.

On another note, I would love to own an E60 BMW 525i M-Sport someday…

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:34 am

King, you would be surprised if you know who are some of these jokers.

Well, i've driven all three quiet extensively and I still prefer the Bimmer (Beemer is for its bikes). Though the rims are too plain and the interior is nothing to shout about, I still like the rear-wheel-drive feel it gives me.

The Audi has a nice package but once pushed into the corners, the FWD characters kick in, even with its electronic gizmos.

The current C-Class is not a bad car, but its kinda small now as it is the "oldest" in the bunch. In terms of driving dynamics, i still think the suspension is more comfort biased.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:41 am

Thanks for the correction, chrisbangle.

My guess is that you must be a very experienced auto-journo… who's into bikes too, yes? Anyhow, good to have you around…to keep us updated!

Anyway, this is a blog and most bloggers here are just soaking in their passion in all things automotive.

We are mostly 'amateurish' enthusiasts but far from being jokers!

Psst! you happen to know King personally?

Are you who I think you are? Hmmm…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:50 am

chrisbangle…which a4 u stated as a FWD???the a4 TFSI quattro is 4WD…only the a4 1.8 version is FWD…

yala…for sure la beemer still the best all round…they gt their brilliant RWD system…but…for me…yup..i agree it is the best car here…but..comfort…etc…but kinda bored coz all are electronic thing…and…driving pleasure…very good but boring…more to eng and computerize….i mean less of human touch…semua electronic…

• pirate (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 8:29 pm

Just confirmed with one very reliable source…

Beemer = BMW cars

Bimmer = BMW bikes

I was right after all. Period.

• punisher (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 12:16 am

personlly l like BM over Merc,,BM not 2 flashy on the road, compare 2 Merc less problems,,l do fancy 320i se, ,,