JDM 2007 Toyota Corolla Magazine Scan

2007_corolla_mag.jpg

Reader KH Chee sent in these scans from a Japanese car magazine “New Model Magazine X” showing how the new 2007 Toyota Corolla could look like. There seems to be two grills, one a horizontal bar grille and the other a vertical bar grille similiar to the one found on the Toyota Harrier. This is apparently the JDM model, and according to the magazine it will make it’s debut in October 2006. At 4450mm x 1690mm x 1470mm, the car is slightly smaller than our Toyota Corolla Altis which measures 4530mm x 1705mm x 1480mm. The car also looks like its lost some weight.

The Toyota Corolla Altis was originally developed for those who wanted a larger and more luxurious car than the Corolla, but did not want to get a Toyota Camry. This might be the new Corolla that we are going to get, or we might get another new Corolla Altis version which is bigger and more luxurious. Which explains the shrinkage in dimensions. The USDM Toyota Corolla uses the Toyota Corolla Altis model, not the Toyota Corolla. Anyhow, speculation is exactly that – speculation. Enjoy the photos.

New flagship 1.8 litre powerplant for Toyota

2007_corolla_mag_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SpongeBob (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 3:52 pm

Hmmm, look like a face lift rather than new for me.

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 4:48 pm

yalor… looks more like a facelift. Don't really look much different from the current Altis. Has a more conservative look compared to the new Civic.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 5:10 pm

How to fight with the Civic now..

It's a plain jane

• karheng (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 5:16 pm

I think it's got hints of the older Altis model. However, if you look carefully, it could also look a bit like a bigger Vios. We might get it on our shores (speculatively) but if the accessories offered are going to be a tad better than the vios, i don't see it selling like hot cakes. It's gotta be an obvious class above the Vios to sell, and around the region of 100k (to be attractively priced). Then we have a competitor to the Civic. Now, Toyota have not been the best when it comes to interior furnishing, have they?

I suspect leather trim, comfortable ride, 1.8 n 2.0 litre engines, and large rear space………should be the usual suspects la i think…

• whatsoever (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 5:24 pm

another old man's car look.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 5:48 pm

oldman car look….hahahah if you talk to Toyota salesman sure they will follow with such this statement

"nanti anak abang duduk selesa , belakang luas, balik kampung senang bawak barang belakang buta luas"..always made me think this Altis for family man.

QUESTION.

4 SPEED AUTO OR 5 SPEED AUTO OR SUPER ECT OR CVT OR TIPYRONIC any changes for the gearbox.

• renyeo (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:24 pm

I doubt the accruacy of these pictures. If they are the true image of the New Corolla, then Toyota has lost big time in the race before it even starts.

• pycazu (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:25 pm

ya lor, plain old looking bored car. The only worth to think about Toyota merely safety and reliable.

CVT is a must for new car woh!

• whodz (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:38 pm

so plain that i feel like im in 90's..

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Personally speaking, it looks way much better than the current model which looks a bit sissy. This one has the 'out of my way' front look. Toyota historically has always been conservative in their car exterior and interior design…some would say 'bland' but Toyota also makes on hell of a reliable car. Can't wait to see the new Corrolla in the flesh.

• superman (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Paul,

Those pics look like a clay model study of the Corolla. Industry rumour has it that Toyota were astounded by the new Civic that they went back to the drawing board causing the new Corolla to be delayed.

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:56 pm

i remember seeing a spypic of the new corrolla in a Taiwanese motor mag. Its all cover in balck tape but the profile does look like the car in the pic. It doesn't look anything mengancam or radical styling. The spy pic car does look a little small compared to the man standing beside it, so i might be the one Paul blog here.

• KY (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 10:35 pm

comes with VVTVVTVCool tinting, best.

• szw (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 11:23 pm

same size as da new civic wan .

• pirate (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:23 am

I have got a gut feeling that the ASEAN new Corolla Altis (again?) will have a facelifted and/or bigger body.

With a sedan outlook like this, the rumour that Corolla project engineers have gone back to their drawing boards may be true after all!

The rear boot lid and the number plate housing looked like it has been pinched from the last gen Ford Lynx Sedan.

The C-pillar and its rear window frame looks the same as the current Altis. Belt lines look all too familiar too!

Overall silhoutte still late 90's-ish…

In two words: a drab.

p.s: CVT won't save this new Corolla. Neither will a super-ECT enabled old school 4AT tranny.

• justng (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:27 am

It looks like a 4 door Scion Tc to me.. which btw is a sister company to toyota but only sold in the states. So sharing components and parts to save cost?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 2:51 am

look okla…but still not impress…but…guyz…can u c..the dsg hv a bit influenced of lexus model…rite???

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:18 am

Looks like toyota is trying too hard to make angle designs…whcih do not work.

Its looke like a chevy.

Not sure how this is going to challenge current honda models….

• DtG (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 5:59 am

i don't think this is real… there's a possibility that this is photoshopped by someone reallyyyyyy good… probably use some cut and paste techniques… it IS an Altis, CLEARLY! only the front and back modify sikit saja… i don't think Toyota will do it, not after selling the same model for years now… this has to be fake…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:20 am

Plain it might be, Toyota always wins by their ability of playing around being plain.

• DrA (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:20 am

What a boring car. It is too plain and sensible. Hope it drives well to compensate the look. Don't get me wrong, its not ugly either. To be honest, P1 has more design flare than this.

• SpongeBob (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:27 pm

In malaysia Toyota hold a very good image. So people will just buy without thinking much. :) Anyway, I notice that Toyota advertisement always focus on style and image, never really on the car. It didnt show what is the car but more to how would you feel when you own the car. The thats why they use "What a feeling" he he he. The Satria Neo add use the same technique. Whats the eye for any way? New City use the blue eye becuase the headlamp looks abit blueish.

Well, not sure how long UMWT will hold that image and use it to improve sales. With some improvement from Honda , Kia and Hyundai..I guess they will start to struggle in the next few years.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:39 pm

From wat I observe through the past Corolla that are launched here, they don't have many mechanical gimmicks inside eg, tiptronic or cvt like that, the Altis just hv a laddertype gearshift, which already been use by other manufacturers long time ago. even a Lancer hv a +- gearbox. so I think +- gearbox is not a big possibility in the New Corolla… just maybe some new safety n comfortable features avilable, just like wat all said, this car is for family man, not suitable for youngsters.wan more gimmicks? Try the new civic. with better designs n more tech features inside.

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 7:22 pm

I think Toyota fans don't have 2 worry much about the new design cos we 'll get the US model over here rather then JDM 1, like what we have over here now. If u are not satisfy with this JDM model, cross your finger on the coming US model. Singapore market are more accepting the US model now then the JDM model when JDM is the early launch in Singapore then US model.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:36 am

From my experience, Chinese mags are the last source of info I"ll rely on.

• Paul Tan on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:43 am

chrisbangle, this is a Japanese mag. it's called New Model Magazine X.

• soporific (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:47 am

chris bangle is a racist!

• archie (Member) on Mar 16, 2007 at 4:06 am

The Toyota Corolla Altis was originally developed for those who wanted a larger and more luxurious car than the Corolla, but did not want to get a Toyota Camry. This might be the new Corolla that we are going to get, or we might get another new Corolla Altis version which is bigger and more luxurious. Which explains the shrinkage in dimensions. The USDM Toyota Corolla uses the Toyota Corolla Altis model, not the Toyota Corolla.

This Toyota Corolla Altis will be launch soon in the Philippines, Experience the power and luxury sedan in one… more power to TOYOTA MOTORS PHILIPPINES…