Server instability

The datacenter which hosts my web server (TMNet Netmyne) has been having problems serving Streamyx users since midnight last night. Apologies to Streamyx users who are finding it hard to access this page, as evident from today’s visitor statistics.

How ironic that a TMNet datacenter has connectivity problems with their own ASDL customers (TMNet Streamyx). I have to resort to posting this announcement from Maxis GPRS.

UPDATE: At first I was using Maxis GPRS as an alternative to reach my server, but it seems right now Streamyx itself is down in the area I live, Cheras. I have a few posts lined up, but since I do not have an unlimited GPRS package it would cost me a bomb to upload the photos associated with the posts. So let me apologise first for the short hiatus on updates while I wait for TMNet to get their sorry act together.

Streamyx is pointless

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karheng (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 7:40 pm

LoL i was just about to go apply for another streamyx account. Their connection is always Up Down Up down…u get my drift.

However, as the other account is really a secondary one..i wanted to apply for the 512mb package, which is really, one of the cheapest around. However, with such lousy service…i duno what else to do la…their dial up SUCKS..hahah

• karheng (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 7:41 pm

oh forgot to say..their service sucks….no point trying to apply online..>WASTE OF TIME!

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:46 pm

Sometimes you love them, sometimes you get irritated by them. Love Hate Relationship ler…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:57 pm

its more like stimes u hate them,stimes u hate thm even more..its a hate/very hate relationship..! hope we hav a proper alternative..

• karheng (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 9:23 pm

well eB is just not very good. I have tried calling their customer contact line…every link leads you to their "how to pay" recording.

Jaring on the other hand does not service the place where i live when it comes to wired lines…..Plus they only have 2 packages. They're selling it off or something right?

Any other broadband providers?

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 9:47 pm

how ironic!!…most streamyx user i know has had disruption to his/her streamyx which include myself….some have no idea whats the problem and had the service back in 48 hrs while i found out that the port i'm connected to was down (same problem i had approximately a month ago). so..is there actually something we could possibly do? ahahhahah? i guess not…we had to accept the fact that TM services are SUX…big time!!…outstanding exelent service will just be dream which wont comes true.

• imrik82 (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 10:03 pm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/4020259.

Manager Abdulkadir Hassan Ahmed says that within 1.5km of central Mogadishu, customers – mostly internet cafes – can enjoy service at 150Mb/second through a Long Reach Ethernet. Elsewhere, they can have a wireless connection at 11Mb/s.

k thats a 3rd world back water shit town with I may ADD has no Gov support cause there isnt one…. TM YOU SUCK!

sorry have to vent my anger played WoW yesterday with 2k ping stupid streamyx

• rexis (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 10:36 pm

Streamyx sux? Actually the whole TM sux la. I registered my telephone line a month ago, now bill already come, but the cable man still missing (which i called him to come to install my phone line since day 1)

• szw (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 11:25 pm

muahahaha , im usin dail-up

so kuno

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:08 am

aiseh …malaysia so corrupted la

no wonder la TM Group lost a bidding last week..

how come you ant to expand your business outside your own territory

while your company cant even satisfied Msian

TM also same like Proton only know how to squeeze rakyat dry

p/s not full WC live matches already showing that cost of living in Msia not tally with what the Vision 2020 aim for.Proton..sad to say still struggle to solve their power window :-) :-) :-)

• pycazu (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:16 am

TM really SUX!!!

I have tried many connections, if u need better streamyx speed and more reliable cnnection, forget all home packages, dynamic ip. These are way of unbelievable unstable. While fixed IP considering expensive, but still better to fork out that money to get more reliable connection, coz they will service fixed line first b4 going to others. SUCKS… wat a monopoly act!

Even Jaring Wireless more reliable and less down time than TM! :-(

• acbc (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 1:40 am

I should have renew my Jaring Wireless Broadband instead of opting for Screamyx! Aarrgghhhhh!!!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 2:53 am

wa…mine is 1 gig…but still lembapla…many time ask them to double shoot…but still lembap lor…hhmm…back to old days…lembap period…this morning i try to access to this site…gt problem…plik..btw…thanx paul coz inform us…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:31 am

TM ……aRe U Guys See ALLL TheSe CoMMents !!!!

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 7:07 am

Fear not stremyx user….

soon,there'll be other ADSL provider other than Tmnut Screamyx….

• abgzam (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 8:24 am

When your ADSL perform well no one is puji TMNet, bila down sekejap masing-masing mengamuk macam hilang akal. Tak mati lah kalau tak dpt browse paultan.org in a day or two. Be rasional lah sikit.

Just my 1.5 cent!

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:31 pm

Well, Our country is getting expensive broadband service, yet, like small towns I live, hot spots r not yet found. Maybe half yrs later as I heard there's a TM hotspot project going on already. RM66 or RM88 for ordinary packages while other countries get cheaper rates for higher speeds, 2mbps or maybe higher. My friends who study overseas said they use internet happily without any problems with fast speed. while the streamyx 1mb still running like snail sometimes here…

• rexis (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 4:49 pm

We should name it Snailmyx from now on.

fookeatmin1989, i was always waiting for another sensible ADSL company since i gave up streamyx 3 years ago.

• mr.nice guy (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 5:29 pm

TM>STREAMYX….. U SUCKS!!!!! YUCKS…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:29 pm

abgzam said,

July 19, 2006 @ 12:24 am

Be rasional lah sikit.

Just my 1.5 cent!

this a pure TIDAK APA ATTITUDE very typical Msian and kind of Proton driver character. Yes you may say it is ok for not accessing paultan.org BUT we want to share the fruits of Msia meaning that everyone should play their responsibility professionally to contribute to the nation.It is not right to tell people to be rational if the conglomerate itself only abusing their status just for the sake for their margins.why you want to sponsor the "low class" soccer league, involve with "jomheboh", trying to explore other region business while in your country cannot even guarantee a stable broadband.want to wait the tourist complaint first then only want to listen..and NOT FORGETTING MSIAN INTERNET ACCESS IS ONE OF THE MOST EXPENSIVE IN THE WORLD compare to MSIAN INCOME AND USAGE.

• goingberserk (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:58 pm

Guys, TM sucks all time, big time. in fact most GLC's sucks. No denying that they do contribute to the economy as per say but then again, this is the bloody attitude of all those involved. from the G rite up to the workers. No body care a damn thing. If server is down.. most of us will say .. " Never mind" .. It does happen" or 'Tak apa" system down sekejap aje". What the crap. In fact most ADSL services either by TMnet, Maxis broadband, Jaring are bascially way off as compared even to our nearest neighours. I was in Changi Airport and do u guys know what speed they r using there ?. It surprises me browsing the internet is like flipping thru a book or reading a newspaper.. Cant say the same for our bloody KLIA.. Anyway the major fault still lies to the G. Everything is monopoly….. . shishhhhhhhh. Getting fed up !

• abgzam (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 7:32 pm

when our ISP did something excellent, no one of this 'professional & clever people' of paultan.org community is praise to them…. when down a while…. wow! your attitude is really SUCKS……. sabar lah sikit!

• stewpid (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 8:26 pm

TMNet service excellent?? since when?

excellent service=pay more?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:03 pm

abgzam, please la… everyone pays big money for lousy service… u like that? if compare to other countries, they pay less for good service! if not wrong, British pays 20-30 pounds a month for 2mb ADSL access! while here, RM66 for 'sometimes unstable' or 'ridiculously slow' speed sometimes, or even server down! if today we are using free ADSL access with that kinda service, I won't complain anything as its usual for free stuff to work badly. We're paying at least RM66 or RM88! that's how many percent of our Pay? unless u're comparing with 1515 dial-up… then I got nothing to say, with dial-up connections like cacat ant crawling… n disconnect anytime n pages unable to load. if compare with other countries, Streamyx is still far away…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:10 pm

btw abgzam, are you paying urself the bills for lousy streamyx before? telling u that it can be used anytime unlimited access but u get distractions from server problems always n speed tat doesn't meet wat the package mention. like u go buy a RM100 pen but only like using RM1 pen… r u satisfied? then u say RM100 pen very good, they design such a GOOD thing that only meet the RM1 standard… Quality vs $$ thats wat i wanna say. Go n observe something outside our kampung… u'll understand it.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:08 am

abgzam, I am in the opinion that if due to unavoidable or technical reason, then acceptable. But Streamyx thingy is more on POOR service, which is unacceptable as their payment collection is excellence, always send bill ahead of time! Latest bill dated 13 July but received today (19/7/06 and "sila bayar sebelum 10 Ogos 2006). Our complaint is with basis and Streamyx poor service is a fact!

Just imaging my personal experience, my Streamyx down for more than 2 months earlier this year, with countless complaints yet no action. Until I have no choice but had to write directly to their Group CEO, then only resolve within 48 hours.

Below is my complaint letter just to prove my point: –

RE: STREAMYX ACCOUNT LONG OVERDUE STREAMYX OFF-LINE (OUT OF SERVICE)

I refer to the long overdue outstanding issue pertaining to the above-mentioned account. Please take notes and action(s) on the following issues: –

1. Refer to the most recent called to person in-charge, “Ronny” dated 15th April 2006 to your interaction center 1 300 88 9515. “Ronny” informed me that the technical personal would call my hand phone on Monday (17th April 06) to fix appointment to come to my house to attend to the off-line problems, but until the date of this letter, the status is still NATO! – NO ACTION TALK ONLY!

2. I make a call on 13th April 06, and the person answered me was “Hafizi”. The 2nd Report Number given was 1356015. I requested and he informed me that my Streamyx service was off-line since 18th February 06. This is tantamount to breach of contract on your part for failing to provide “Service Availability” since 18th February 06 as required under Clause 6 of the terms and conditions for TMNet service.

3. Previously, I make so many calls to your 1 300 88 9515 and send messages to TM Net Customer Care Support through numerous Emails send to your good-self Customer Care Support were dated 10th April 06, 7th April 06, 13th March 06, 10th March 06 and 7th March 06, complaining on the above issues. The 1st Report Number was 1051483, unfortunately the above issues is still outstanding! Typical replied statement given was “we will give immediate attention and shall resolve your complaint as soon as possible”.

4. I take all reasonable actions to contact and inform your esteem organization pertaining to the long outstanding issue as mentioned above. I also already satisfied myself that the necessary basic equipments as stated in Clause 6.3 are in good condition and working order (e.g. computer, modem and telephone line). However, I am very disappointed on the low level of service rendered by your Customer Care Support to me, and at its best described as “utterly-pathetic”!

Therefore, kindly be informed that the non-provision of “Service Availability” under Clause 6 is already prolonging for more than sixty (60) days. Basically I have no objection to the re-connection of Streamyx service, and request that you as a leader of this esteem organization to take reasonable action(s) to remedy and make good the following: –

a. Instruct you personal to attend and remedy to the above long outstanding issue without further delay, and which may cause unnecessary inconvenience pertaining to your non provision of internet service.

Kindly send your technician or any representative by appointment to my house to check, remedy and make good the Streamyx service, all at your own cost and expenses. You shall absorb any other cost and expenses, which may arise as a result of, and in connection to the reactivation of Streamyx service under my account, as the case may be. You shall reactivate the same package as I subscribed before, any reactivation of service with different package of service or which is different substantially, you shall notify and get consent from me, otherwise, I will reject it without the need to notify you, either verbally or in written.

b. Instruct you Billing section DO NOT CHARGE me Fees as define under Clause 8 or compel me to make any payment under Clause 9 or other contractual provision(s) which required me to make such payment, the period affected shall be from 28th February 06 until the date of re-connection of Streamyx service (period of non-provision of “Service Availability”).

In other word, cancel all billing fees which may impose on me from 28th February 06 onward until the date of make good. Please take note that don’t ask me to pay and bear the cost of any defaults of contract by you!

Please make sure the Streamyx service is reconnect as soon as possible or as mentioned by your Customer Care Support shall be resolve within 48 hours. Also, subsequent bill send to me shall reflect item (b) as above-mentioned.

Failing to remedy or make good on the breach of contract by your good-self as above-mentioned, I reserve my rights not to make any payment and you have no right to bill/charge me service fees from 28th February 06 until the date of re-connection.

I write to you in good faith to resolve this long outstanding “tiny” issue amicably. However, in the event your good-self is not interested to continue with this contract for a reason(s) best known to you, you also have to bear all cost and expenses which may incur in connection with termination of Streamyx service under this contract. I demand that you shall refund me back all fees or deposit charge on me (excluding monthly service fees rendered up to 27th Feb 06). Please be informed that at all material time, I preferred to continue with this subscription, unless otherwise you decide the otherwise.

Please take notice that I reserve my rights to take any action(s) which in my opinion is deem necessary and appropriate.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:17 am

i dun like ur attitudela abgzam…hopeless attitude…very typical m'sian attitude…maybe its ok for u…but not for us…

if in oversea…they will saman2 thing if this happen…thank godla m'sian is still not like dat…jz complain…

baru complain sket…tu pon ko nak kcog abgzam….kalau one of us saman tm…mungkin ko lagi kecoh…

it is not coz of accessing of paultan only…some of us hv a business or work which internet is part of it…so…paham2 jela..kalau servis x bagus…payah ar nak buat keje or business…think of it…internet is not for fun only..but for business and work too…if the service is not good…susah ar…

plzla abgzam..think wisely..