Nissan invests in Southeast Asian market

small_logo_nissan.jpgNissan is investing in auto parts export facilities in Indonesia and Thailand, with the Thai plant set to become Nissan’s largest parts export base outside of Japan. The Thai plant is expected to generated some US$300 million worth of exports per annum, while the Indonesian facility is expected to generate US$100 million worth of exports, procuring parts from about 90 Thai-based component manufacturers. That is about 16% of the parts exported by Japan. The 40,000 square-meter Thai plant will begin operations in January 2007 while the Indonesian facility will go operational in August 2007.

Nissan Asia Pacific Pte Ltd, it’s Singaporean office will be managing the export operations for the ASEAN region, and will handle complex, cross-border financial transactions. Basically the production centers will be Thailand and Indonesia and the financial, marketing and management center will be in Singapore. The Singaporean facility currently handles Southeast Asian transactions but there are plans to grow it into a global centre to handle financial transactions worldwide. Singapore’s Economic Development Board (EDB) has awarded Nissan Asia Pacific Pte Ltd “International Headquarters” (IHQ) status, allowing the company to enjoy a tax rate of 10% and below.

This is quite a major investment! Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore. Geographically, Malaysia is in the middle of all three countries. But so far our National Automotive Policy has not been able to attract any new major investments from Nissan. Sigh! :(

Stay tuned for reports on the latest talks of a GM-Renault-Nissan alliance!

Sources: Bernama, Channelnewsasia, Reuters, Dow Jones Marketwatch

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tariq (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:05 am

we lost to Thailand again! GM(Chevy) is there and doing really well.i bet Nissan will gain alot too.gosh..something needed to be done.

• gowin (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:08 am

Our G choice the different direction for our car policy…we build our own brand: PROTON. so the road to build the brand is not so easy n need to sacrifty more time, money, resources to make sure the we can reach the goal.

Hopefully our G can do something to it!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:15 pm

sadla…alwiz thai,singapore n indon…not us…our G had to do something…our policy is not attractive at all…

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:42 pm

FFFFFFFF our Govn. & thank you proton.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Sacrifice the whole rainforest to save a sprout.

Well done good job govt!

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Haizz…. Thailand got most support by automakers in southeast asia… even indon win… malaysia… crap…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:31 pm

our NAP can attract morons only.. masuk mulut buaya, siapa mau.. bodo betul… now people tired oredi.. i guess many of us boycot poton oredi.. yesterday news, they propose epf money for national cars, bcoz piles of car stock unsold.. hahaha, so desperate oredi.. biar mampusla.. i will keep driving my ex850 until our NAP fails!!!

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:47 pm

As long as Proton/Perodua/Naza exist, Malaysia will never be a top contender for foreign automotive investment.

In my opinion our national carmakers will never make it big. It's a vicious cycle, really. We don't have the the economies of scale to produce globally competitive cars, and without those globally competitive cars our sales won't increase to a globally competitive level. And we all know about Proton's parts vendors' quality (or lack of it).

So should we shut down Proton? From a personal view I'd say yeah, shut them down, reduce import tax/excise/duties so I can buy a new MX5 without having to sell my backside at Chow Kit every night. But the Government will never do that, partially because of national pride, partially because of the thousands of low social class people who would be laid off.

If that pisses you off, do remember that Malaysia is effectively a socialist country, with the middle class subsidising everything for the lower class (the rich just get richer and pay less tax, as in every other country in the world).

Let's put things in perspective, though. Hyundai is about 40 years old (i.e. twice Proton's age). They've sold their cars in the US for 20 years, and even after all that they haven't exactly got a stellar reputation as a car maker (if you watched Tokyo Drift, there's one scene where the chinese dude makes a jab at Hyundai being sucky).

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:50 pm

NAP screwed everybody, immagine having ur current car devalued 20-30% overnight b'cos the Gahmen wants "cheaper" (my @ss ler) cars for the rakyat. As of now P1 stocks (read: scrap) are pilling up to 50k units so how has this "helped" P1? The ppl who really suffered are current P1 owners (read: appx 50% of car owners), having dat much devaluation of ur car overnite, how can u afford to sell it to buy a new one? So lets just assume, 100% of potential new car buyers, 50% P1 owners, 25% still paying loan outstanding, 10% were really f@rked cos their car value dropped way below loan balance meaning u'd have to pay to get rid of your car. So there u have it, the industry shud be glad TIV (Total Industry Volume) is only lagging -4% compared to this period in 2005. It can and should be a lot worse. Cue the entry of recession.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:55 pm

back to the GM-Renault-Nissan. i read a news last nite, Toyota has pulled out from the alliance. So the already ask Toyota to join them. hmm….

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 7:09 pm

Hoyea notorpkcuf!!.. btw, difficult to pronounce ur nickname…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Forget about it lah. They go to Indonesia and Thailand coz labour is cheap. They go Singapore (sales and admin) coz its cost effective. We as a whole nation are not cheap or efficient. Don't blame on G if all of us a are lazy and all graduates want a cushy job.

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 7:33 pm

wut that tells us ? cars is getting cheaper and cheaper all around malaysia and it will get more and more expensive to bring it into malaysia.

Car made in thailand or indonesia, does it actually classfied with the status " FULLY IMPORTED" ? come on…

• szw (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 9:26 pm

r dey goin to create a brand specially 4 ASEAN , lolz !

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:11 pm

We r not cheap?.. who makes our living cost keep increasing? who makes cars r damn expensive?.. inefficient? who keeps producing crap cars? who r repsonsible for so many abundant projects?… we r lazy? grads too choosy?

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:44 am

Malaysia got a big slap in the face again & I don't think Malaysia authorities learn from this anyway. As most of us are too busy earn a living & don't give a damn about it. Thank you Paul for englightening us a lot & all the time.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:49 am

aiya… the politicians only think wats in their mind… they don care wat the people think n say…. selfish politicians for own pocket ma…

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:57 am

It is more important for Malaysia authorities to save some ex-cabinet member's face rather then open the market. So kept to the original NAP plan is their solution, bcos we can't admit it is a burden to Malaysian even if it cost us more financially & take more human life as well. Can all of you imagine what can you do with the money if NAP doesn't exist?

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 1:13 am

Enough have been said about the NAP & Proton Management but the govt. is not listening. Motorist is buden with high car price and complaining but they still voted in the Goverment with a biggggggggg majority. Hmmmmm, there seems to be a big contradiction here.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 1:34 am

yup…one of the factor is NAP..tired to talk abt this…

• kendo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:30 am

these Mak SALEHs

despice the way businesses

are done down here

since 1970…

PERIOD

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 3:49 am

did u say manufacture part? well look at proton lah… the parts are of inferior quality. do u think nissan/renault/other car makers want to set a base to export part here? our proton are not able to ensure that quality on proton cars firstly! to encourage investment/setting of plants we have to adhere to strict quality control. things are about to change and i hope the results will bear fruit soon. it takes time to acheive the target but iam sure if the local vendors put some effort we would make better cars hence other makers will take notice of the improvement and will make a change.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 3:56 am

just a reminder.. some malaysian still have the tidak apa attidute!! so u think we are gonna make an effort in making good parts for cars like nissan/renault/GM?? u know its so malaufied to drive around here in dubai and i have not seen even 1 waja . the model i saw was proton wira. well not only that i got a fren here telling me proton are like the cheapest mode of transport to get around. he mention about quality problem coz he had a fren who had a GTi who had so many problems with it. overheating problems are main concern!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 4:03 am

Another thing… iam in love with the nissan armada! its huge and it kills other 4 whellers like harrier/MB ML/BMW/volvo/. go check it out! !http://www.nissanusa.com/armada
    have fun!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 5:59 am

Who made the NAP anyway. I think we needa NAP ver 2 made by automotive journalist.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 6:10 am

I cannot understand who will fall for that P1 commercial which are shown on TV everyday.

Inferior NAP policy, and thats it. Even Mokhzani already complaning that 18 cancellations of bookings of the Caymen S to buy cheaper ones in Singapore.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 8:00 am

Lucky our G do not have national computer processor, national computer, national laptops, national handphone, national Operating System and etc. Else company like Intel.AMD,Dell.HP.Motorola won't even step a foot in Malaysia looking at all those low quality stubborn national pride product all around our lovely land.. national car enuf la…. w still want to use intel,AMD,Motorola,HP and etc brand …. those of the highest quality build in Malaysia in the open market. Not like national car build by the Old Man for his sickening ego pride and let us the rakyat suffer. We got National Automotive Policy enuf la, pls don have National Electronic Policy or even National Software Policy. Good luck la to those stupid Policy for one i know who to vote in the next coming election.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 8:01 am

We always say the G wrote the NAP… can someone tell me which G department or who specifically draw this Poilicy and how did it even get pass?

• tripvire (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 5:21 pm

malaysia cannot make it la, this is the 'wawasan 2020' vision tht we're loing out. to hell with national pride and arrogance la malaysia. sigh… i think if this going on we might lose our job as well. better go somewhere else looo….

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 5:39 pm

Izit ministry of trade which come out with NAP policy?

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 7:10 am

I've been told that it is the brain child of Rafidah Aziz and her "brain team" in MITI. Is this true?

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 10:37 am

————"rexis said,

July 21, 2006 @ 8:45 am

Sacrifice the whole rainforest to save a sprout.

Well done good job govt!

"————————–

nice wordings. that just about sums it up.

its enough that most msians are spending a quarter of thier lives and wages paying for expensive crap cars, now there's going to be less economic growth and even less money to go around. Time to change those stupid wawasan 2020 essays in pmr and spm to 'how the NEP and NAP screwed malaysia all over'.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:16 am

thanks for the poeple who give almost 100% seats for the current G so they can do anything, no check and balance..

p/s Msian very funny la, a hardcore fan of F1, haveing our own F1 tracks but rakyat drive car with zero tech(overpriced some more). proton+ msian national football team..are true msians.

• PGlang (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 7:15 am

Tired of talking oredi…no one would listen to our comments…anyway, the current G has done somehing and piss off the old Man…