R3 Waja and R3 GEN2 Updates

small_r3_1.gifHere are more details on the upcoming R3 Limited Special Edition Vehicles (LSEV) based on the Proton Waja and Proton GEN2, due to be launched in August.

small_r3_waja.jpgFor one, the specifications posted in the previous thread do not reflect the specifications of the special edition vehicles. However, there are a few confirmed specifications which can be revealed for now. The cars will feature ultra grippy Continental SportContact-1 Tyres, which are similiar to the ones used on the Proton Satria Neo 1.6 and 1.6 HighLine. The in-car entertainment system features Bluetooth compatibility for hands-free usage with a Bluetooth phone. The ICE system is also complete with Apple iPod integration. And check this out, for you to fully utilise it’s Apple iPod integration each car will come with a bundled Apple iPod Nano!

The cars will also feature mild performance and handling upgrades such as R3 Performance Slotted Brake Discs. The Proton Waja R3 special edition might also feature Xenon headlamps as standard, a first for a national production vehicle, though this is not something confirmed.

These special edition vehicles are not completely souped up Limited Edition Vehicles like what the Proton Satria R3 was, but like the Satria R3 they will be available in a limited run only.

R3 Waja and R3 GEN2 Coming Up!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lance (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:23 pm

Thanks, Proton – but no thanks. : )

• drM (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:48 pm

this should be done ealier. but kudos to proton. open for bookings? price?

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:53 pm

Waja R3 just plain ugly.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:54 pm

Somehow, although I would like one (if it is anywhere near the Satria R3), I fear it'll just be a theft magnet (and jealous pricks with itchy hands).

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:57 pm

waaa, that waja r3 using the same bumper like waja supercharge..this is the real r3…

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:08 pm

No point doing this. Most consumers are not going for these special editions, all pathetic fancy gimmicks. No thanks again, Proton.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:34 pm

I want the iPod Nano!!!!! The car? No no no, I don't want it, thanks, but no, thanks. Proton should stop these gimmicks and focus on improving their cars, not just throwing in some nicer bits and then release it as some special edition, xclusive edition, limited edition or whatever edition car. If the cars are good and worth the moolah, people will buy it irregardless of it's exclusivity.

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:37 pm

Guys, let's be fair to R3. They're a tuner unit, not the manufacturer unit. They can only do so much to a car. As superman said in the other post, "R3 is the performance division not the fix-power-window-problem-division".

• szw (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:44 pm

r dey selling da performance part ?

if yes , im gonna get dem .

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:45 pm

yalorr u guys dont giv a chance…onli know to bash bash bash ,R3 is the performance division that they r not involve in power windows fix/tune

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:50 pm

aiyo y my last word missing T_T

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:56 pm

stanleyshyeoh said, "Most consumers are not going for these special editions"

funny thing is, last i checked, R3 built a satria R3, 150 units, at a very very high price, almost RM75,000 i think.

many people said its a stupid move, car is crap, no one will buy, who wants old satria, same as GTi… R3 didnt do anything to the car…etc. etc.

surprisingly, the local media loved the car, all 150 units sold out, and its one of the hottest cars for car thieves now…

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:59 pm

Ok, R3 is a performance division and in no way responsible for design and manufacturing. Fair enough. On the other hand, you can have R4, R5, AMG or Brabus tuning it for all I care. It's a Proton.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 12:00 am

yalor, cakap org bkn boleh percaya,………R3 make satria for limited..so onli who r really interested for the r3 edition lar…for who r interested they dun care spending RM75k for the limited edition satria R3..

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 12:01 am

stanleyshyeoh, fair comments from you. the car ain't for you. nothing wrong with that.

but there are other people out there who will buy these cars. Brand new, and for the extra boost in performance, at the price, there is no other competition. If you want more performance, and brand new, not many people can afford something over RM100,000 and above.

• penguin (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 12:58 am

waja R3 very ugly..Gen2 R3 hhmmmm….okeayyylaaa..more sporty…but I'll wait for the price….

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:09 am

the last R3 models only limited 150 units. so little numbers of production I believe not much probelms and the price also quite high and also the buyer factor.Some are selected buyer so all this overpriced SR3 will sold out.(BTW allProton also overpriced).

and the Gen R3 + Waja R3 how many units will be on sale?

Is it worth it for to wait for this models? is this special tune up Proton really up to their specs(on paper)? just dont want to see more frustrated buyers? hope hope and hope later regret like hell…interest so high so stuck with the car that you not really hoping for..and later all the bodykits..IS FREE :-) :-)

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:24 am

what do you mean by "selected buyer"? proton chooses the people who buy these cars? i think people buy these cars because they want them.. you make it sound like proton is forcing people to fork out RM75,000 for a car they don't want.

• siacw (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:25 am

Are they using the same 1.6 Campro for the R3?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:32 am

Well, Waja R3 doesn't look bad. It's an effort that R3 put into Proton's models. Lets hope the price will be fair with all the add-ons. cars with iPod are still difficult to find here… n hope R3 had tuned the engine to more powerful one n other performance parts. Even still using 1.6 Campro, I hope R3 tune it so all those who were disappoint by it can get some power…

• weili (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 2:14 am

R3 sound very interesting and powerful name. Although the car is so special and add on with technologies devices I-pod ,bluetooth……does the car come with air bags????ABS????the sam sickness appear nice to look from outside and lots of " junk" inside…Even Myvi also come with airbags and ABS, so does the junk from china….Nowaday ppl talk about safety ….Please improve in order to "survive" in the automotive world….Wake up.

• retrofuturism (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 2:19 am

hey i don see a spoiler on the car…err..how about the top gear wing? hehe, well, Im not sure if they gonna use CF hood and CF rear wing, but potential buyers would love to see it…

• nuzzary (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 2:25 am

sorry off topic.. MYVi Got ABS meh??? Brek drum at the back can ABS meh??

• ak03 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 3:48 am

how come u guys it's ugly if the real thing does not come out yet? i hate negative thinker..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 3:55 am

this car features are really interesting…but…dat car…gosh…better choose gen2….say no to waja

• rcv (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 4:09 am

if they come out with Perdana R3,, syok gila

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 4:36 am

retrofuturism,

aiya no need spoiler lahh.. AE86 oso no need spoiler n bodykit,but it fast wat??

hehehe……

• Isamu (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 4:53 am

A motorsports division was supposed to increase the worth of the mother-badge. Without R3, Proton would have been so much more soulless. Cars without special performance editions lack a bit of soul in them. All credits to R3 for injecting passion and soul into Proton. R3 has successfully weaved more magic on Proton's selling point; Ride and Handling. Proton's R&H philosophy is based on a strong chassis + firm (yet supple enough; Continetal styled) suspension settings. R3 takes the stock cars and give the chassis a minor but very significant upgrade; more weldings to strengthen it. The suspensions are then upgraded to give a sportier handling.

All these sound easy but you really need to know the exact spots to work on. When R3 keeps doing these, they are effectively pushing the cars nearer and nearer to the limits. I believe this wil undoubtedly stimulate the minds of Proton designers.

What would BMW be without M-Power? What would Mercedes-Benz be without AMG? What would Honda be without Mugen? What would Toyota be without TRD? What would Nissan be without Nismo? What would Volkswagen be without all the GTi versions? The answer is simple; there wouldn't be much to look forward to..!! Sounds very much like Korean cars to me.. :)

• ... (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:07 am

nuzzary said,

July 24, 2006 @ 6:25 pm

sorry off topic.. MYVi Got ABS meh??? Brek drum at the back can ABS meh??

>> YES, Myvi and even the NAZA Sutera got ABS! there is nothing special about a car with ABS nowadays. ABS can be installed on drum or disc brakes.

• Paul Tan on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:29 am

Isamu: It's true, R3 gives Proton a positive halo effect.

• J (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:39 am

Anyone know how many manpowers are there in R3 company ? Where is their work place ?

Thanks.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:27 am

I don't care the postive effect thing, but aren't R3's one way of saying "we have too much cars and we need to sell them off?"

Or is P1 finally ending waja, wira's existance with R3? Same like the R3 satria

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:06 am

Hey not a bad combo. while waiting for servicing the faulty power window, you can wait out by listenning to ipod nano. brilliant!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:10 am

personally i prefere the waja R3 than gen2 r3…Purly on performance basis..the waja is a sedan…therefore has a longer body n more wieght at the back…which does affect high speed stabiltiy….the gen2 r3 wd obviouslt look a million times beter…bt i tink the waja wd drive slightly beter….another ting is…i dont think that r3 need to play too much on the engin side..if the std 110bhp can be improved to 120 thn its more than enought..bt moe impostantly thy need to change the whole Campro torque map…if it can peak at less RPM…it wd be great to drive….if the price is AROUND

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:11 am

oops sorry!

meant if the price is around Rm6x,xxx…i dont tink thy wil limit it to 150 units only…theres always demand for performance protons…i tink bcos thy r easily tunable…jus dont put R3 sticker on a std car PLEASE!

• malayman (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:39 am

when will the rainless senseless proton bashing end?

guys if you want to complain so much then dont buy yhte car…go for your city and vios. i dont think we want to know what you think.

thanks but no thanks for your senseless comments.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:46 am

let see the price first and give sum comment later shall we??

:p

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 4:13 pm

Garnishes. That 's all it appears to be from the information given.

Probably only the brakes would be useful.

A car tuned by a sports division should be lighter, more powerful, better handler than the stock unit. It is a bit uncharacteristic for a specially performance "tuned" car to lack those but get topped off by only a special paint job and ICE.

But I hope there is more that R3 can do to a Waja (or Gen2) than topping it off with garnishes.

• Nemo (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Maybe Proton should form R4 to think of ways to clear their stock first. Rice bowl of proton's employee will be affected if the stock level keep increasing (no sales)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:24 pm

mystvearn said,

July 24, 2006 @ 11:27 pm

I don’t care the postive effect thing, but aren’t R3’s one way of saying “we have too much cars and we need to sell them off?”

Or is P1 finally ending waja, wira’s existance with R3? Same like the R3 satria

yes agree with you,

actually this is one of Proton "sandiwara" to clear their stocks, will they do something for the Malaysian drivers benefits….no no no NO WAY.

Everything is for the sake of their money only

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:33 pm

The 'lighter', 'more powerful', 'better handling' car (Gen.2) is coming out in 2 years time. This about-to-be-released-soon is something done by R3 to cover up the gap. That's why they won't do that much other than 'garnishes'.

Please check the website for the development of the 'real' and 'limited-units' performance Gen.2 before anyone starts to shoot R3 for nothing. A properly tuned car must be researched and developed carefully. Not simply come out with a tuned car every year. So pls:

1. R3 is NOT Proton

2. The upcoming R3 models are like the zerokit for Savvy or plus abit of extras

3. At least you have different variants of Proton models

4. Putting new life in existing Proton models is what R3 is doing

and yes, if you don't like so much, take over Proton and try la…like it's so easy.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:40 pm

malayman said: when will the rainless senseless proton bashing end?

guys if you want to complain so much then dont buy the car…go for your city and vios.

……………………………………………………

Well said Malayman, but thing is these ppl mostly cannot afford City or Vios so they need to find someone to blame…

*cabut b4 kena whack :P

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:43 pm

charleswkc said

and yes, if you don’t like so much, take over Proton and try la…like it’s so easy.

see you also it is not easy to have a car company.22 years still cannot sell "proper" cars?still cannot penetrate other market?This PROTON is not to produce and sell cars, it is only how to channel the money into someone pockets.CKD/CBU/EXISE/IMPORT/AP/NAP all for cover up…then the loyal Msians still drive Proton with fake smiles.

Thailand not even have their own brand but the whole nation benefited from this industry.last time economic crisis Thai people affected worst than Msians.but still…all the big industry player prefer Thai not Msia.all because of sick virus affected PROTON.

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:54 pm

I don't like the direction R3 is going.

Let's take BMW's M division for example. What are they best known for? Releasing fully-tuned and fully-upgraded, complete-package cars. When you see an Z4M and a regular Z4 side-by-side, you're supposed to go "oh, cool, a Z4" but then cream your pants at the M.

For a while it seemed R3 was doing the same thing. The Satria R3 is (for Malaysian standards) a work of art. When I see an SR3 on the roads it makes me think "now there's one lucky bastard who enjoys driving, everyone else who disagrees be damned." The SR3 was practically the Proton equivalent of the Z4M.

Obviously not much details been released yet, but if R3 is going to release this Waja/Gen2 with minimal performance mods (it seems like they're going for aesthetics/comfort … bluetooth stereo? Ermm …), they shouldn't slap the R3 badge on it – a "performance tuner" selling a self-branded car like that will only lessen its' brand value.

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:54 pm

Well at least Proton has got improvement coming out with Savvy and especially Neo. If you say that Proton channels money into somebody else's pocket, same goes with many other companies in MY. for me, i say "what to do"…I just focus on what are the cars and improvement done…other than that, politics aside and so on.. I just like to look at the positive side.

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:59 pm

Deodorant, referring to my previous post b4 urs, R3 is just filling the gap by releasing some nice bodykits to complement the car. So I applaud that, and whether got R3 emblem/sticker, it just makes the car look fiercer. A Honda with mugen bodykit and Mugen emblem/sticker doesn't mean it has performance parts by mugen.

• shaif (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:02 pm

R3 is sort of young blood who want to inject some funky into a mild manner, conservative looking cars. Some of the buyer take the safest way by buying an ordinary car. But the niche market is there with yuppies and mid-40s man who have sparks for alternative car which come with power and performance, different from the original one, but not really that expensive. That is the market Proton wants to tap on and with the help of R3, I think they can make it. At least if cannot buy Evo or Impreza, still they are Gen2 and Waja R3 to satisfy the need for speed.

Can't wait to see it in Proton Edar Glenmarie. Look first, comment later.

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Charles > Well taking "M" was a bad example.

I'll take Nismo instead. Nismo makes performance and bodykit mods. They also make "complete package cars."

So, consider the difference between a "Nissan 350Z with Nismo mods" and a "Nissan Nismo 350Z." I'm not saying R3 shouldn't release performance parts for Protons, I think that's a great thing they're doing. What I'm saying is, they shouldn't put their R3 brand on a half-assed "not-really-performance" upgraded car.

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:18 pm

ok ler Deodorant, let's not argue becoz of sticker…well that doesn't matter for me..no sticker or what…just that even ppl can simply get any R3/Mugen/Nismo whatever sticker/emblem/metal and simply taruh.

let's see how the bodykits look like. Cheers mate.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:21 pm

er…my Opinion…

BMW …M

Nissan Nismo…this are different car company/manufacturer compare to Proton. They are not protected and they dont have special pricing bla bla bla

I think this R3 thing just another desperate moves from Proton to clear their stocks.yes Desperate is it.it should be D3 instead of R3 desperate desperate desperate

p/s one time cheated shame on you twice cheated shame on me..

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:32 pm

where can compare Nismo and other performance/tuning brands to R3?

R3 local la…just recently started..as compared to the long history of other brands.

D3…hahahha not bad…sounds nice..

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:41 pm

Hmmmm..the WajaR3 looks no different than the standard Waja. What with this R3 fetish for black coloured cars. Why not use glossy Red or white. Whopper DONT LIKE. :-(

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:46 pm

becoz R3 side sticker got red and white/silver lining

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:02 pm

i think the idea of having a tuner like R3 is good. perhaps the idea of people (or politics around them) not yet as good as nismo, M, AMG, Kleeman etc, but i think they should be given time. if some people don't like the R3 version, it's better to leave it to someone who do. in the case of BMW and M version, it is similar dude. tuned version is for some person. for regular drive, buy a normal bmw. u like tuned, buy m version of bmw. it couldn't be simpler that that.

honestly, i think gen2 R3 version is good, but not for me. i prefer a normal car regardless of brand.

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:25 pm

I'm talking more about the "branding power." When you buy a Nismo-branded Nissan, you KNOW what you're getting. You're getting all the expertise and hours of work put into the entire car as a package. You know this, 100%, because Nismo only puts their brand name on Nissans that deserve the Nismo brand.

I want R3 to be like this. The R3-branded Satria was a great example – I haven't driven or been in any other 3rd-party-tuned Satria that comes close as a complete package.

But if R3 starts producing R3-brand Waja and Gen2 and the only performance mods are the brakes, then their brand power as a complete packaged performance Proton drops. That's what worries me. I want a big, noticeable difference between "R3-brand Proton" vs "Proton with R3 parts."

• Paul Tan on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Deodorant: Actually the new Nismo X-Trail being sold here is kind of just a cosmetic upgrade as well.

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:48 pm

yala..for sure..coz Nismo tuned Nissan is so expensive compared to our local R3. Unless I have the money to get Nissan…

And because no one is doing what R3 is doing… (don't compare to kedai abang)Thumbs up to R3.

About the well-tuned upcoming Gen.2 R3, it's gonna be released in 2 years time..so can't compare the current upcoming one with bodykit/brakes/tyres upgrade.

And to compare Nismo to R3, like comparing Superman to Batman ;)

• nmh (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:44 pm

i expect RWD one larr

• zass (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 12:43 am

Yeah you are right nmh …. RWD waja R3 participating in local drift circuit. I heard gen R3 is much awaited model by proton model ethuasist down under. I have seen a satria R3 demo at Shah Alam recently very impressive !

• zass (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 12:48 am

Yeah you are right nmh …… RWD Waja R3 in local drif scene. I heard Gen 2 R3 is very much awaited model Down Under. I have seen an time attack event organised by Satria R3 team in Shah Alam recently, very impressive car eventhough the car look doesn't that provocative at all.

• jonjwlee (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 12:58 am

Do remember the fact that BMW and Mercedes-Benz also releases cars with nothing more than bodykits, suspension, wheels and interior modifications designed by M and AMG respectively.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 2:25 am

This car is not a looker nor a performer. the satria gti to my book is the only p1 car worthy of the R3 as its fast, powerful and to the least looks mean as a hot hatch even though the car is fully mitsu colt. who would want to have a race rally research theme on a lame, slow and dumb-foundedly ugly cars? nismo mugen trd M power and all that shit is not just for looks only, but noticeably quicker as well.

we all expect something to go forward. ppl bought EKs then when the ES or EP3 is out ppl will want to upgrade. ppl rather go the extra mile to pay more coz they think its worth the money. goes the same for all brands. sell things that are new and different yet attractive. if i have the money and so happen than p1 is the only car in the world, i'd still buy the gti apart from the hordes of new p1 models. simple as that. this case i cant call it forwards, but backwards.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 2:46 am

I have to say that the Waja R3 has to be the ugliest R3 car ever!

I think it's quite unecessary to 'tune' a Waja since the market are mainly normal drivers and not enthusiasts like us. Although it's probably nice to have the option to trick out your Waja but the boxy shape is just too painfully ugly to work with. Reminds me of the Lada that Lotus kitted out for BBC's Top Gear.

I think R3 should just work on the Gen.2 onwards. The Waja to me is a rush job and it's time to replace the six year old car…

• malayman (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 4:13 am

i think these guys at R3 are making an effort.wether it is an evil polt by some evil guy to take away your money buy selling you cars or an sadistic plot to finish off the stock, whatever crazy paranoid plots you ppl think is againts you, these guys need support. yes 22 yrs and we cant really brag about proton. yes thailand is doing better then us even if they dont have their own car maker. so what?

is it so hard to just support your local product?

• mtay (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 5:20 am

Just out of curiosity, if I bought a normal Gen.2, how much do u think it would cost to add:

i. Continental SportContact-1 Tyres, plus

ii. Bluetooth compatibility ic-car, plus

iii. Apple iPod integration, plus

iv. an Apple iPod Nano, plus

v. those rims, plus

vi. that bodykit, and lastly

vii. R3 Performance Slotted Brake Discs

(with installation, of course)

???

RM5k? RM10k? Well… if I knew then I would be able to tell whether or not the R3 version is a good buy… when they announce the price that is…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 6:43 am

so much for the R3.. photo of a Savvy's rear I saw in net… anyone saw it? How's it? better than ori?

http://myblog.andresloft.com/images/proton_savvy_…

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 7:25 am

Doesn't sound like R3's work to me. More like Proton's Special Edition using R3's name.

• Isamu (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 8:16 am

To the best of my knowledge, that wasn't the official picture of the Waja R3. Let's wait until the official pictures come out before judging whether or not it looks good.

R3 is a profit centre within Proton. Proton only injected the initial capital and selected manpowers to R3 to get it started. From then on, R3 has to hit the ground running and survive by itself. In this kind of circumstances, it HAS to start slow. Can't expect R3 to throw all their money into developing one or two cars. It has to pay for it's own expenses, that includes even a piece of A4 paper! R3's facility is located within Proton's Shah Alam plant itself.

I'm not sure but I think you can get R3 treatment on any cars for you provided that you have deep pockets! Just like one of the R3 event hosts said "…janji poket cukup dalam..!!" Anybody wanna try call them up for real? :)

• Isamu (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 8:42 am

Driven2020,

"This car is not a looker nor a performer. the satria gti to my book is the only p1 car worthy of the R3 as its fast, powerful and to the least looks mean as a hot hatch even though the car is fully mitsu colt. who would want to have a race rally research theme on a lame, slow and dumb-foundedly ugly cars?"

Satria R3 has the same/similar bodykits as the Satria GTi. The only noticible difference is the interior and it's fetish black colour. Maybe black is not your fetish.. :)

In terms of performance, the Satria R3 is AT LEAST a couple of seconds faster than the Satria GTi on Sepang and Pasir Gudang circuits.

If you want something quicker than that, call up Tengku Djan and ask him if the Satria SSO or the Putra SSO is on the market. Those two machines are speed demons, the quickest NA Protons in the world, maybe.

Therefore, I think R3 is quite consistent with the world's best factory tuners in the sense that R3-badged cars are better than Proton-badged cars just like M-Power cars are better than normal BMWs.. :)

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 8:46 am

Some of you guys are wrong about R3.

They are a worthy part of Proton. Yes, they make existing stock appear more delicious to buy but they are not fooling you by saying that they are merely adding aftermarket bits and painting the car black with stripes.

So mtay, you're mistaken. It's not about going out shopping for add-ons and saying that you'd be at par or better than R3. R3 has some resources that you and I can't get access to, like car production processes and most of all R&D.

Drive the Satria R3 and you'll know that it's not about speed alone. Balance is all the car is about and no one outside a car company can formulate a car with the same kind of balance and sell it at less than RM100k.

Making a car drive better isn't just about improving its speed alone.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 8:49 am

other than RWD, i hope they put rear air diffuser for bodykit like ferrari F430 one

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 9:09 am

Malayman says:

" … these guys need support. yes 22 yrs and we cant really brag about proton … so what? is it so hard to just support your local product? "

I 'just' have to disagree with you. That's a question blindly put. Yes it's hard to support when you deserve much better products with the money you pay for a Proton.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 8:02 pm

stanleyshyeoh said,

July 26, 2006 @ 1:09 am

Malayman says:

” … these guys need support. yes 22 yrs and we cant really brag about proton … so what? is it so hard to just support your local product? ”

I ‘just’ have to disagree with you. That’s a question blindly put. Yes it’s hard to support when you deserve much better products with the money you pay for a Proton.

Yes agree with you, why you want to support local product that never concern the local itself.I'm not complaining about Proton just for fun just a brother to brother advice for all the younger people to look for other brands. We dont want you to be like us, forced to buy Proton and being insult all the time as the poor msian and also insult by the Proton people itself.(car rosak before engine start, and rosak rosak again) If you still want to support Proton then up to you it is your money. So many bad testimonies still want to buy…so pity la…

p/s SATRIA GTI R3 tune ok la..but WAJA AND GEN2 only to clear stock la.they should come with Gen2 gt/gti FIRST THEN CAME UP WITH r3. WHY THEY WANT TO R3 A CAR FOR FAMILY.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 8:35 pm

the M have m3 and m5, not sure if they have another M series, or if kleeman and amg have tuned e and s class. unless you said bmw 5 series is not for family, i think you should ask why m tune the 5 series bmw. they do tune for 5 series, aite?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 10:06 pm

lembagatanah hello boss,

BMW is not a desperate company they do have M3,M5 and M6.but e.g for 3 series they have lots of range including 2 doors version, cabriolet version then they come out with the M range.to satisfied their customers.same like AMG, Brabus, Kleemann because everybody can afford a Benz "there" so if you want different one buy the special version.M5 is totally different car compare to 520i.2.3 litre(last time 2.0)to 5.0 litre V8 some more .

BTW R3 "garnishing"(copy our friend word)same engine,some new bodykits,special body stripe…bla bla bluetooth..do WAJA R3/GEN2 R3 c/w momo s'wheels, recaro seat,special tune suspension….

I'm complaining for fun, Proton sale is in deep trouble I just dont want felow MSIAN BEING TRICKED AS THEY WANT TO CLEAR THEIR STOCK.Sorry I'm really not comfortable comparing BMW/Benz with our super duper P1.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 10:09 pm

sorry M5 come with V10 engine.

• superman (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 10:32 pm

mycarstolen,

I think you didn't read Paul's post clearly. On the last pharagraph it is clearly stated "…special edition vehicles are not completely souped up Limited Edition Vehicles like what the Proton Satria R3 …"

so it's a case of expecting too much..

Let's just wait and reserve judgement shall we. Bickering endlessly on something that is not out on the market speaks volumes of some post's immaturity.

And what's wrong with R3 coming out with a "family car" (quoting your words)?

BMW M Division, Audi's Quattro Division, MB's AMG, Nissan's NISMO, Toyota's TRD all have 4 door performance(family) car. Some are even Station Wagon.

Some from NISMO, TRD, AMG, M Dvision only have "go-faster" bodykits and not much else. But when R3 "tarts" a GEN2 and WAJA strange comments crop up.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 10:41 pm

aiyo aiyo..superman…

it is not me la..thats is why I said not comfortable comparing other brands with Proton.

other manufacturer the dont soup-up "family car" they are tuning the "sport sedan" version.

sorry sorry Paul..this is my last comments.

the first R3 is derived from SATRIA GTi not the 1.3/1.5/1.6.

now they have GEN2/WAJA suddenly come R3 versions…

come on lah you all know they want to clear their stocks why still want to highlight my not so perfect comments.cheers everybody

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 10:49 pm

what i tried to emphasis is your point on "WHY THEY WANT TO R3 A CAR FOR FAMILY". the 5 series is mostly for family aite? even if M tune the 5 series, they tune the family car. when R3 tune, albeit not-so-much-modification, your point on "WHY THEY WANT TO R3 A CAR FOR FAMILY" is disagreeable. perhaps the tune level of R3 is not up to the standard the M, Kleeman, AMG, Hamann, TRD, Nismo etc, but that's it. they are not yet so clever is doing that now i believe.

based on your statement above, u just think family car can be tuned (regardless the mod), but when R3 do that, it is questionable. but why they can't?

i think we both agree the R3 tuned car is not that so-called tuned car as compared as other tuner, and this might be the way for P1 to clear the stock. be comfortable with the comparison dude, i understand what you are tryin to say, but just the way u mentioned it was not proper.

i'm open for further factual discussion. lets talk cars.

and btw, i'm not your boss, not now to say the least ;-),

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 11:47 pm

Just because a car has front engine, four-doors and a boot doesn't necessarily mean it's a family car. A tuning outfit can tune any sort of car they like because 1) they can 2) they sell. Brabus even tune a Smart Fortwo for god's sake. So nothing wrong for R3 to do up a Waja or whatever, if there is business in it, they'll do it. But, some tuned cars are ridiculous or unecessary for us buyers. That's all.

And what is this about comparing M-Sport and AMG to R3? They are not in the same league. It's only the essence of what these companies are doing that is similar. That is, tuning standard cars. Resources-wise, they are a universe away.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:09 am

ok la lembagatanah machai…

typical Msian la you…so aggressive like you own the R3 team…life is a learning process why so arrogant

waja std then waja R3.stock standard then straightly introduce R3 version.can they something intermediate?if it is only "garnishing"a can do on your own.

no wonder la so many msian dies on the road….so many so arrogant. sorry Paul messing up your wonderful blog.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:33 am

arrogant? how did u judge me? by my nickname aaah? so funny la u.

i told you, lets talk cars, not personal attack. read in full what i've wrote. i never condemn you. all i touch was your point. i quote what u said, and if u think that i misunderstood ur point, u should explain in here rather than calling me arrogant and typical malaysian (what is typical malaysian? do you mean typical malaysian is arrogant?). life is a learning process why so arrogant, dude

• superman (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 1:37 am

SatriaGuy said,

July 26, 2006 @ 3:47 pm

Just because a car has front engine, four-doors and a boot doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a family car. A tuning outfit can tune any sort of car they like because 1) they can 2) they sell. So nothing wrong for R3 to do up a Waja or whatever, if there is business in it, they’ll do it.

And what is this about comparing M-Sport and AMG to R3? They are not in the same league. It’s only the essence of what these companies are doing that is similar. That is, tuning standard cars. Resources-wise, they are a universe away

—————————————————————-

You hit the nail on the "4 door not family car statement"

I wasn't comparing the R3 to the Germans, more a case of giving example of what a Manufacturer-owned Tuner does. And I believe R3 too wish they had resources like the Germans..haha.. like more powerful engines. And power windows that don't fail..

Just because Proton has abundant stock and R3 coming out with their version of LEV, Zerokit, or whatever it will be called , People put 2+2 and get 5 .. saying it' s just to get rid of old stock…. amazing power of deduction…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 1:55 am

"mycar_stolen said,

July 26, 2006 @ 2:06 pm

I’m complaining for fun, Proton sale is in deep trouble I just dont want felow MSIAN BEING TRICKED AS THEY WANT TO CLEAR THEIR STOCK"

dude, no offence meant la, but i think malaysians are a lot smarter than you think. if i have a budget of RM65,000, and i want a new largish sedan car, with some go-faster bits, but i'm not exactly a racer who will actually push the car to its limits, I might actually buy a "tarted" up waja with R3 bits. Why? coz that the market i'm in, something family, yet looks fast, and at my budget, theres not many other choices.

I'm not about to go out and buy a RM900,000 M5 right?

I don't own an R3 car, but i've driven them before, and the handling promises are kept. the cars are real drivers cars, and from what I've read in the magazines and newspapers, they all seem to think so too. Are we all being tricked somehow?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:31 am

superman…jz want to make a correction…audi is S line division…not the quattro…S line is the high end for audi version…

i think maybe sooner R3 will be a official proton tuner like the amg for merc…M for beemer…so…no need to fight…

• terencelhl (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 8:49 am

My point of views toward the R3 edition thingy with any car manufacturer is not a bad idea at all. R3 is not belonged to anyone but a performance tuning division in local by itself.

There is nothing to lose as R3 proves their ability in improving performance on low performance vehicles.

Who knows R3 is tuning for high end vehicles in future? I'm not siding anyone but would like to conclude that "Without experiments, nice product will never exists".

Please bear in mind that, larger size of products will always take times to improve.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 10:05 am

You are right they need time to develop and test. what better way to test out all the gimmicks on overstocks..that m'sian taxpayers money well well spent. we all are proud to fund u p1. keep up the good work and hope p1 will be the best in the universe in the future

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 3:58 pm

"You are right they need time to develop and test. what better way to test out all the gimmicks on overstocks"

very intelligent comment.

• superman (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 4:56 pm

raybrig85 said,

July 26, 2006 @ 10:31 pm

superman…jz want to make a correction…audi is S line division…not the quattro…S line is the high end for audi version…

i think maybe sooner R3 will be a official proton tuner like the amg for merc…M for beemer…

————————————————————–

S-Line is the Product Line. They are "spruced" up Audis for people who can't afford or don't want something as hardcore as the S4, S6 & RS4, RS6. Quattro GmBh is the motorsports/tuning division that come up with those cars. :-)

I believe R3 is already the official Proton Tuner. Being owned by Proton…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:56 pm

better than keeping under the sun while letting the scorching sun rip the living daylight out of the clear coat right?

si vous esprit est placé sur Saturne puis votre tête doit être dans l'uranus

désirent ardemment le proton de phase !

• sipi the penyu (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 12:46 am

I think that R3 had done a great job.it's a great work from PROTON and the bluetooth is amazing!I will wait for the SATRIA NEO R3!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 6:11 am

ya i know bout dat…bout all the list ure comparing toois correct…but for audis is the s-line…it is the sport division for audis like merc gt amg….sumting like datla…

• OtakOtak (Member) on Jul 30, 2006 at 5:02 am

Like "orang minyak"! I dare not to buy this kind of black car.

• superman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 5:55 pm

raybrig85 said,

ya i know bout dat…bout all the list ure comparing too is correct…but for audis is the s-line…it is the sport division for audis like merc gt amg….sumting like datla…

—————————————————————

No man, you got to research a bit more. Google it if you have to and you'll know. S Line is a product line ONLY, not a Division, Quattro GmbH is the Performance Division of Audi GmbH.

S Line "branded" cars are simply put "More Show than Go" cars.

Just like these upcoming cars by R3. Which is no bad thing as long as the styling is done tastefully. And looking at the Gen2 & Savvy they previously did I'd say R3 has beter taste than their parent company.

I for one having seen the Concept during the Neo Launch wouldn't mind a Satria NEO R3, if it ever comes out ………………

• terencelhl (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 5:46 am

Heard Proton Edar sales rep said the R3 Waja will be out some where around this week in Mutiara Damansara.

• sipi the penyu (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 1:00 am

Thanks Terencelhl,but it uses the Campro right?

• Ph4se_euro (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 12:53 pm

i'm eager to see R3 gen 2….hope it comes with supercharger…i don't see anything great with that campro…should swap B18 inside gen2…upmh!…

• morero on Mar 04, 2010 at 2:27 am

all the people who doesnt like local product,can out from malaysia la…