UMW Toyota launches TopMark

topmark_logo.gifDespite the used car market facing difficulties due to loss of stock value due to the NAP as well as difficulties in getting second hand car loans, UMW Toyota is confident of it’s used car division TopMark contributing at least 5% towards total revenue this year. TopMark mainly handles used Toyotas as well as cars which are traded in when buyers purchase a new Toyota.

UMW Toyota plans to invest close to RM110 million over the next 4 years to open 17 new TopMark centers, with 4 of them expected to open this year. UMW Toyota currently has 3 TopMark centers, in Petaling Jaya, Butterworth and Johor Bahru. The 4 new centers this year will be based in Cheras, Selayang, Seberang Prai, and Sungai Petani.

TopMark handled 9,000 trade-in cars last year, and 5,000 cars to date this year. This figure is expected to hit 12,000 by year end, and 40,000 by 2010 with a total of 20 TopMark centers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tracks (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 11:05 pm

They are making money because of their good business practice and service to the customer. Each car comes a with an assurance that it's inspected by Puspakom and free of summons.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 11:10 pm

good news for msians..and also for the VSS offered EON staff.now opportunity for all you to blend with "real" car make.better what working with MNC than pretending to be global brand.If working with Topmark/toyota you may go to Sepang without any hesitation.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 11:22 pm

I wonder how is their pricing like compared to cars sold by other used-car dealers / private sale.

• Paul Tan on Jul 26, 2006 at 11:50 pm

you can check our their virtual car yard here for pricing

http://www.topmark.com.my/index.cfm?fa=virtual.ma…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 11:54 pm

Thanks Paul! That was fast! :)

• KY (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:36 am

it's fast because paul is always in front of his PC. :P

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:39 am

So are you KY! … and me to a certain extent :O

• december (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:44 am

Apparently the government is pushing the sales of new cars due to the dough they ought to earn through taxes. And i have got real issues with second hand car loans, im in the midst of purchasing a Satria ( i have the car already though, since the seller is my friend) and trouble came after i applied in 2 banks, both got rejected, and the idiots had no apparent reason. My uncle who earns 7- 8 grands a month, his loan was declined by 4 major banks. What the fork are we suppose to do? I detest the system, its disgustingly pathetic.

Bolehland, righto.

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 2:04 am

Banks don't have to give u any reason for rejecting your loan. Roughly u know where u stand lah!!!!. financially. Probably ur uncle has bad repayment records, over-committed fincially or black listed. Why not ask ur uncle first b4 u post your comment.

• moby (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 2:10 am

Hope Toyota is really serious in resurrecting TopMark! For those who have used and have tried to use Topmark's service will understand what I am trying to say here.

May things eventually change for the better!

• WIRA (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 4:54 am

i was at this topmark before…. just like any other 2nd hand car shop…. the price is also higher….. never trust the webpage ….saw one altis 1.6 on webpage selling at 55K but when I am there ….no such deal ….everything is above 75K there,….. where does that 20K go huh?… they say that they provide 70 checkpoint before selling their car but…. to me …maybe those unnessary points

• szw (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:25 am

weird stuff !

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:05 am

They sell honda too!

Kind of disappointed they do not have Celica, Wish, Lexus

• i looking for user manual for toyota wish 1.8 . i already got the Japanese edition but i don`t understand sepatah haram can you help me ?