Proton Waja MME and Proton GEN.2 MME

Race Rally Research has unveiled their Proton Waja and Proton GEN.2 Merdeka Millenium Endurance Edition, to commemorate their 2005 victory in the Merdeka Millenium Endurance race.

The MME is a 12-hour endurance race, and Proton’s R3 Amprex team emerged victorious as Overall champions and Class O champions completing 279 laps in a specially-built Lotus Exige 300RR.

mme_waja_1.jpg

The Proton Waja MME Edition comes in one colour – Deep Burgundy – and comes with a 5-piece bodykit. Other than the usual bumper, grille, skirts and rear apron fittings, you also get R3 Dark Titanium headlamps. The Proton Waja MME Edition also gets Xenon HID headlamps, the first on a national production car. The Proton GEN.2 MME Edition has the new headlamps but not the HID lights. Performance upgrades include an R3 Cat-Back Performance Exhaust System for the Campro engine to exhale more freely. The exhaust system comes with a stylish oval tip. R3 Performance Spark Plug Cables give your spark plugs extra juice to fire.

As usual, R3’s performance upgrades are all dyno proven and not just for show. The JPJ-certified, EURO 2 compliant exhaust system optimally an 8bhp increase to engine horsepower, while the spark plugs provide 3bhp. This should mean a total 12bhp increase over the stock Campro 1.6, which brings it up to 122bhp, but R3 has rated the Waja MME and GEN.2 MME at 118bhp.

The car also comes with a new set of 7-spoke wheels with 16 inch size, and these are wrapped with grilly Continental SportContact-1 tyres, similiar to the ones found on the Proton Satria Neo 1.6 litre. Peer into the space behind the wheel spokes and you will find the car has been fitted with R3 Performance Slotted Brake Discs.

As for handling, both the Waja MME and the GEN.2 MME also comes with a performance spring kit, lowering the car by 25mm on average. There is also a front strut bar made from aluminium, helping with suspension strut deflection. Other than the strut bar and the spark plugs, the other addition to the engine bay is purely aesthetic – an alloy CamPro engine cover that comes finished in red.

Interior aesthetics are enhanced with a red R3 gearknob and R3 floor mats. The sound system comes with Bluetooth and iPod support. If you’re thinking you don’t need iPod support because you don’t have an iPod, you’ll be delighted to find the car also comes with an iPod Nano 1GB ready to be connected to the car audio system.

Both the Proton Waja MME and Proton GEN.2 MME comes in manual transmission only, and the Proton Waja MME 1.6 manual costs RM66,671.03 while the Proton GEN.2 MME 1.6 manual costs RM59,789.81. Only 200 units of each car available, and each car will have a serial number due to it’s limited edition run.

mme_waja_2.jpg

mme_gen2_1.jpg

mme_gen2_2.jpg

mme_waja_gen2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• alamak (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 10:50 pm

will they race these in mme?

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 10:52 pm

holly shit!! f****^%&*$..!!!

(O.o)''

*spechless..

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 10:54 pm

super duper holly cOOL!!!!!

*rating – 9/10 (waja)

-8.7/10(gen2)

• kody (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 10:58 pm

wahlaueh…

really cool!! Deep Burgundy… imagine…waxing with Meguir wax…. brilliant shining machine. i like the WAJA more than the gen2

• Siva (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:02 pm

Those rims look too small for the Waja's body, but I suppose any bigger and it would hurt performance.

• zack dragster on Apr 10, 2010 at 8:32 pm

for race car its useless if we use big size sport rim…..
      top speed will come late and burden the engine.

• motberg (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:12 pm

last sunday i went to the proton showroom to look-see a waja. was damn dissapointed with the 'facelift' plus thermometer tail lights… then today i see the waja MME here… drool… can i place a booking at proton showrooms already? but the added price tag is not so nice… haha

• motberg (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:14 pm

alamak… forgot… any views of the back? i hope it's not the 'thermometer' design! somebody please shoot the designer at Proton who came up with that design!! sigh

• kody (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:24 pm

mothberg, just go to proton website… check contact & email them for feedback… i bang them before on the problems with my cars & opinions. may be it can reach the management…

• retrofuturism (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:30 pm

paul..do u have bigger pictures coz i hardly see their designs especially waja MME edition..the gen2 one is same as the KLIMS one right?..the cars looks pretty clean and subtle, well done, but i think they should offer bigger rims…or am i too greedy!??hehe

• Paul Tan on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:30 pm

retrofuturism: I will be back with real life photos tonight, so stay tuned.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:38 pm

What happened to the Kleeman Waja?

• AVEOZONE (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:49 pm

Will the rear R3 edition avaible?

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Woah, it comes with an iPod Nano too! So alluring but I'm still waiting for the real deal – full souped up spec Gen.2 R3.

I consider the MME LE versions are just R3 "lite" version :p

• KY (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:56 pm

the black waja looks sleek, but the rear lights.. ugh..

• infinity (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 11:59 pm

the waja's front bumper looks very gen2-ish…the rear lights not to my liking la…the rest are very good…the gen2 is the 1 at klims..

• i'm run (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 12:00 am

What.. limited edition? I though it was Special Edition.

The Waja is very nice.. but the tail lights…. But it's not a big problem, just change it. I'm sure there is a lot at acc shop. No problem.

Does the gen. 2 have a Xenon HID headlamps?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 12:17 am

are the actual ones units having black tints as standard as well? is this black tint JPJ approved or not?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 12:53 am

the waja look more mafia type..bt gen2 look like race ready!

paul how about the seats??are thy the same?any momo or sparco?…for the gen2,,lowering springs by 25mm is NOT a good idea…highway drive probably great..bt in my area with horribly hight road bumps wil definalty scratch the body kit..the std springs already low specialy the front…bt i luv the front bumper…see anybody is seling or not! btw….this edition only a std type or have highline oso??..the gen2 with 16 looks small…17 wd have been great bt probably doesnt complement the springs..i guess r3 kno beter than me!…as far as i know paul..the exhaust is exaclty the one hotbits selling..any confirmation?izzit only the exhaust that gives additional 8hp increase or exhaust plus extractor plus piping?

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 1:06 am

Anyone can confirm this special edition cars do not belong to 2005 stock!

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 1:14 am

holy cow! thats a pretty waja. but ive seen a better looking gen2 than that…

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 1:45 am

Aisey….why all R3 cars are always black in colour ? Why can't it be RED or White.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 2:01 am

Looks hot. Especially the Waja.

The backlights are still FUGLY as hell. The man who designed that should be made to lick the office toilets clean for the rest of his life.

The Gen 2 in red doesn't work. Should choose some darker tones but not black. Black is officially boring with so many black cars on the road.

• Fairman (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 2:15 am

How about interior ?? any improve duration of power window, dont look at exterior lah and dont' be so silly, proton is trying to launch some special edition lah, limited edition lah and else edition to extended model life…

• freeze (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 2:23 am

Waja front is very very nice but back is very very ugly.

Gen2 looks almost the same

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 2:44 am

goodness! whats proton thinking!! now the roads in malaysia are generally bad. now here comes a car which is lowered and expecting plp to enjoy their ride? if they were to market this models in dubai i would understand. the highways are awesome! its smooth and the best so far i have driven on!

i bet the cars absorbers need replacement every 6 months! good luck!

back to the cars…The gen2 look good with the R3 bodykit. but said and done! u think proton is gonna produce only..200 unit each … iam rolling and cracking up now..look what they did to the wira SE. yeah right limited edition konon! .now they have produce millions of them with everybody complaning about the comfort and bad fuel consumption. then what happen to the original SE..no value! iam sure they will have those basic MME version but maybe without the extra stuff inside like the lowered sport spring and bla bla bla. just wait and see!!!

just wait for the bodykit from the local shops. iam sure u get it done.

• shaif (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 3:39 am

I read in the R3 web that Gen 2 colour is Midnight blue, not red actually-

Anyway, only Wira SE Auto which come with lower interior quality compared to Manual which have premium interior fitting.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 3:40 am

#

V_NoZ said,

August 4, 2006 @ 6:44 pm

goodness! whats proton thinking!! now the roads in malaysia are generally bad. now here comes a car which is lowered and expecting plp to enjoy their ride? if they were to market this models in dubai i would understand. the highways are awesome! its smooth and the best so far i have driven on!

i bet the cars absorbers need replacement every 6 months! good luck!

back to the cars…The gen2 look good with the R3 bodykit. but said and done! u think proton is gonna produce only..200 unit each … iam rolling and cracking up now..look what they did to the wira SE. yeah right limited edition konon! .now they have produce millions of them with everybody complaning about the comfort and bad fuel consumption. then what happen to the original SE..no value! iam sure they will have those basic MME version but maybe without the extra stuff inside like the lowered sport spring and bla bla bla. just wait and see!!!

just wait for the bodykit from the local shops. iam sure u get it done.

—————————————————————–

can you come out with an alternative marketing strategy plan for them?? :)

everyone knows old habits are difficult to change but truth is there will be people vying for it… juz look at how many wira SE are on the road, it actually sells… and with the claims of hp increased, hid, sports exhaust, lowered spring, enhanced exterior and interior, aahhh…. bluetooth support and ipod nano (lots of suckers will fall for this) :)… i believe will also be the same, it will sell… proton have got no choice for the matter of fact for coming out with these SE series…

the new design on the waja rear light looks like a thermometer huh… :)

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 3:43 am

COOL!!!!!!! I like both fronts… but rear I like Gen-2 more… I think the price is not bad due to its special edition… why R3 not build twin exhaust? or quad pipes? aiks… think too much…

btw, isn't HID not approved by JPJ? only Proton can use it? just like Iswara's muffler… sounds so bad…

Anyway, good work for R3…

• malayman (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 4:01 am

whoaaaaaa…*drooling*

but i have to say the waja back light spoils the show…

urrr…V_NoZ i dun think they will do that la..the satria r3 they did that ar?

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 4:33 am

I would rather like R3 do something else than just put the usual stuff. How about Carbon Fibre roof, hood, etc. It will be a lot lower. Forget the strut bars, and lowering the car 25mm. try driving this thru uniten you will surely have a new design on the skirting of the car.

• szw (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 6:08 am

i luv dem….

but wat happen to da waja's signal n fog lamp ?

if i get all those lights seperately would it come wif HID ?

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 6:17 am

OOOO KILLER. More designs and love the head lights, Gonna spray my myvi's light :D

• little_momo (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 6:26 am

waa , proton now aim for ''LA-LA'' and '' Ah-BENG'' market , so ugly la, cannot tahan

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:00 am

Everything is ok, but I don't like the rims of both the Waja and Gen2.

• HMMaster (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:07 am

waja > gen2

for just RM7000+ more (than gen2), i think the waja really worth it (and is a better choice)

• jules (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:36 am

I'll buy the waja but must CHANGE the back lamp and at least with the older one!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:40 am

Dear cosmohybrid…

Well as u said old habits are hard to change.. its true. but when a kid grows to be a man.. Do his maturity/habits change? Why must marketing ideas have to always be the same/monotonous? Its becoz we are supporting it and not expecting more from it. What aim saying here is the level of creativity and passion that proton has is just not there. I don’t see it any on proton cars or the people at proton. All they want to do is sell cars and make more money!

plp are vying for it coz the SE is cheap and looks good compared to other national car makers in its category. OppS i don’t think there is any! SE is for those wanted cheap and flashy car to move around. well car looks good but does not perform like it should. Sadly in protons case, all it wants to target at plp which would like to see things nice from the outside and not inside. For me that’s not passion, just being a sucker. the initial SE limited editions has some problem with the engine and was quoted by my friends in proton telling me this some time back.

But the biggest joke is just because Nissan launched the Nissan sentra nismo body kit version during the Japan GT race. So now proton also wants to follow suit with their MME event with this car. Now how dumb can that be?

hi malayman…. R3 was limited edition because it had already the satria GTI which in a way fuised the Malaysian desire to have a 2 door sportscar. with its old design and features, proton had to think smart not to do more damage to this scene. Furthermore plp are anticipating the new NEO and later NEO R3.

mmmm.. why didn’t VW come out with a 1.6 GTI bodykit ah?? well Deutschland plp are just to smart.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:44 am

jules said,

I’ll buy the waja but must CHANGE the back lamp and at least with the older one

——————————————————

TOTALLY AGREE WITH THAT! if u show that backlights design to chris bangle he would shove a termometer into ur brains!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:48 am

i forgot.. u guys notice the savvy/gen2/neo cant be open from the boot. u have to get inside the car to open. protons superb reason: Safety! so that thiefs cannot open the boot.DUH! wow should ask BMW/merc about this. agian i think they will shove the thermometer down my throat!

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 9:25 am

Aduh duh……. This R3 punya kerja tak da kerja ah – produce "black spider" or "orang minyak".

• Jay (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 10:57 am

GUYS ! THIS IS NOT THE ACTUAL WAJA OR GEN 2 R3 I GUESS. WE HAVE SEEN SO MANY TIMES ON THE NET & MAGAZINES HOW DOES THE ACTUAL GEN 2 LOOKS LIKE…I MEAN THE RIMS ARE SO DIFFERENT…DOESN'T LOOK SPORTY AND WHAT I COULD THINK ABOUT IS BASICALLY THIS ARE JUST MME MODELS (MERDEKA MILLENNIUM EDITION). I THINK LIMITED TO 200 UNITS EACH. MORE DETAILS GO TO RACERALLYRESEARCH ….. YOU GET MORE PICTURES THERE…!

I'M STILL WAITING FOR THAT GEN 2 R3…NOT MME EDITION MAN !

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 11:20 am

V_NoZ said,

forgot.. u guys notice the savvy/gen2/neo cant be open from the boot. u have to get inside the car to open. protons superb reason: Safety! so that thiefs cannot open the boot.DUH! wow should ask BMW/merc about this. agian i think they will shove the thermometer down my throat!

——————————

cost savings.

• malayman (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 4:32 pm

aiyoyoyoooo…..if like this means how la?

u ppl want good stuff from proton..but kutuk kau kau..then say their sales pitch is lame…fren..think la?

no money how to progress?

wanna compare with long established giants that have been in the business for many many more years then proton for what? would it be fair to compare the brains of a small boy with that of a wise old man?

if you keep calling the little boy stupid, how is he going to grow to be a wise old man?

aiyoooo malaysians still got lots of problems with themselves la i think….sad sad

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 5:36 pm

u oso cannot think!!.. keep la ur tiara crap.. jual besi buruk for RM2K, bagi sy free pun x mau.. u see, they all marah not only bcoz of p1 sucks, but it is the reason gov come out stupid NAP for p1 sake, & make other cars over price.. ok la, then let p1 be , but abolish crazy ED tax for CKD & CBU and then see whether anyone want to buy p1…

ps: make sure u buy proton's for the rest of ur life, since u r very happy with it…

• jules (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Actually.. the car is not much lower.. lowered spring by 25mm = 1 inch. Since rim increased by 1 inch .. cancel each other out. Only lowered by the lower profile of the tyre and the skirtings. In fact overall diameter of the wheel is smaller than the 195/55 R 15 spec. The gap between tyre and wheel arch would be…. more???. Won't it look more horrible? Should go for 195/55 R16 – lah if still want to maintain the 195 width.

• jules (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:08 pm

This applies especially for Waja.Producers/Importers should bring in more of this size. Difficult to find in Malaysia, except europe.

• jules (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:21 pm

Sorry. Actually the 195/50 R16 has a longer overall diameter than the 195/55 R15. But the 195/55 R16 would fill up the wheel arch better.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 7:48 pm

malayman: "aiyoyoyoooo…..if like this means how la?

u ppl want good stuff from proton..but kutuk kau kau..then say their sales pitch is lame…fren..think la?"

Can't agree. Sorry. I speak for myself when I critisize hoping to get better quality and value in a car, or anything else a matter of fact. ( I admit, Proton took away all that the day it was born and I am a biased bitter anti-Proton bigot eversince)

malayman: " …no money how to progress? wanna compare with long established giants that have been in the business for many many more years then proton for what? would it be fair to compare the brains of a small boy with that of a wise old man? "

I agree. To a certain extent. Then again, can we compare Proton to Hyundai?

malayman: "aiyoooo malaysians still got lots of problems with themselves la i think….sad sad"

Talk about it! I certainly wouldn't want the added burden of expensive but lousy cars.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 8:22 pm

malayman : "if you keep calling the little boy stupid, how is he going to grow to be a wise old man?" = stupid thinking

so if we call proton very clever and smart for 22 years, is he going to growe to be a wise old man?

The rakyat have given everything they can for Proton for the last 22 years and now.. we still got the stupid quality problem. ok la… proton very smart la.. taking NAP. senang lenang…

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 8:39 pm

the sports rim rocks man,i must find that kind of sports rim

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 8:44 pm

Haha, Proton is at it again, pulling the limited edition, special edition, exclusive edition n now MME trick on it's cars and hoping buyers will bite the bait. They will bite, no doubt about it. I actually like how the MME Gen.2 looks but the thought of quality is just a great turn-off.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 9:14 pm

malayman said,

August 5, 2006 @ 8:32 am

wanna compare with long established giants that have been in the business for many many more years then proton for what? would it be fair to compare the brains of a small boy with that of a wise old man?

——————————————————————-

its been more than 20 yrs my fren, with all the technologies, informations, equipments and infrastuctures easily made available around us, times are changing, we must learn how to innovate fast to become competitive… kids as young as 5 years old are fluent with using the computers nowadays…

like i said before, old habits are difficult to change especially with all the privilege they have been getting all this while, and its dwindling them faster than ever…

in order to get the biz goin, well, that is why all these SE, MME, R3 series is coming out for the sake of clearing off their parking lot… and everytime these series sells well they will come out with another version… the irony is, there is a certain huge market for it…

with this kind of mindset, how far they can go….? :)

• asimo (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 9:34 pm

pi mai pi mai mcm tu jugak……

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 11:57 pm

Malayman – would it be fair to compare the brains of a small boy with that of a wise old man? ”

OtakOtak – Huh …….., P1 at damn 22 year still small boy? The sad naked truth is this grown up P1 BIG boy can't think and behave like a wise old man!

Talk about "limited edition". All P1, P2 and P3 do "nonsense" work to clear stock or increase sales rather than offer something "distinct product" based on existing products. "LIMITED EDITIONS" were used by them discriminately and arbitarily.

In truth "limited addition spirit", it is normally apply to luxury and niche products like watches (Rado), Car (Rollroyce, Beemer, Mercs, Ferrari, etc), cloth (WSL), Shoes (Jimmy Choo), Coins (Bank Negara), etc. They normally launch "limited edition" to commemorate significant events in their company/nation or given recognition to some one contribute immersely to the soiety. Example gold coin issued by Bank Negara, Selangor Pewter launch limited endition products to celebrate CNY, etc. Do this R3 junk can link to such events or on what basis? Can it really be limited edition with merely "Ah Beng work" with certain cosmetic change/upgrade! What so special about this R3 junk compare to original product or in the car industry as a whole?

This statement is not bashing on P1, P2 and P3 but look at the way they executed the so call "limited edition", give an impression want to clear stock/improve sales, or worst do something for the sake of doing it to show they do something, rather than geniously come out with something "special". Back to R3, with 1.6L engine, do they able to RACE at worldclass RALLY out of their junk RESEARCH? Can this black "orang minyak/black spider" Waja achieve same quality and technical performance with current benchmark, Mit EVO? If R3 can really do it, don't talk about selling RM66,671.03, they sell it at RM 166,671.03 (compare to top range EVO around RM 280K in Bolehland), then likely there are still takers out there?

If really this "limited edition" is good, then send one unit for "American Idol" style of audition for "Fast & Furious, Tokyo Drift", then it will become subject of laughing! Really damn 22 year Big boy but small boy mentality! Performance – R3 – Really Ridiculous Ride!

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:04 am

I kind of liked the Waja MME. This Waja MME is based on the recent facelifted Waja, right guys? What i don't like is, the "W A J A" lettering at the rear boot which took the position of the Proton logo. I think, Proton should have kept the old position of the logo. Look at what they have done now: the Waja is missing the thundercat logo at the rear bonnet!!!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:06 am

topgunthang … u said it was COST SAVINGS! have u ever thought what i just wrote below?

Here is the scenario!…Assume that i got big stuff to carry and ur alone. Then suddenly u have no access to the both to place ur stuff. u have to open from inside before that u have to place ur stuff on the ground. u have to open the door and reach for the lever which is postion at the bottom of the seat placing urself in danger. At this time ur most likely get someone eyeing on u becoz its the best postion to attack. The driver maynot be able to notice any movement at the back which in turn the driver will most likely get robbed/raped/sodomised/molested.

so my point here is since proton is gonna scrap a bloddy lock to RISK ur pricess life?? things happen in split second! would u risk ur life for it? 20 years and they dont have anyone there to think? its is not innovate .. this BS.

well then ask those guy not to use a door lock, just use the tri-cycle lock and a latch to close their house doors and see what happens? save cost lah! BS

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:09 am

malayman: ” …no money how to progress? wanna compare with long established giants that have been in the business for many many more years then proton for what? would it be fair to compare the brains of a small boy with that of a wise old man? ”

—————————————

yea i think malayman has got it all wrong. if proton wants to survive in the local car market and penetrate international car markets….to compete with established giants is exactly what it has to do. proton talks about exporting cars and not relying on gman and local 'support' and all the crap. what export is there actually. a few thousands economy cars around the world isnt anything. truth is, if you cant compete with even hyundai then there no point competing anymore.

im sorry, but proton truelly cannot make a dent in hyundai's sales. and the news gets worse for proton with chinese cars on the rise. let alone every other jap and euro car company moving forward alot faster than proton. to catch up is virtually impossible.

and somehow these MME special editions certainly dont stir the blood. but i agree they are definetly part of the old stock sitting for months in the grounds. special edition….you bet.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:29 am

malayman… tech/ expertise is available now… if proton can pay millions just to keep agusta alive… whats wrong then? cant they use the cash to buy it?

if proton can fool us into thinking campro so call Cam Profile timing A.K.A VTEC/VVTI when actually is not.. what more u want them to con us? i guess u know about it. so wise up man! ur not a kid anymorE!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:36 am

hi malayman!

for ur reference i have attached a site u have to check out…
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine
    cheers

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:45 am

another thing.. i hope u notice that during the KLIMS.. perodua manage to show part of thier technology and design. the DVVT engine was on display for guest to see the working of the REAL valve timing engine.. where was proton's so call CAMPRO? they were busy showing nonsense car with thermometer light and NOT proton ( lotus) cars!.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:45 am

I kind of like the Waja MME. This Waja MME is based on the recent facelifted Waja, right guys? What i don't like is the "W A J A" lettering on the rear boot which took the position of the Proton logo. Look wat u have done Proton: the Waja is missing the thundercat logo at the rear!

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 2:58 am

Proton , tak tahu buat business. Haih, give proton a break man. 101 ppl already ketuk them. Anyway the overall concept of the waja facial upgrade is okay but failed on the butt :)

I dont know why perodua showcased their DVVT, Its not even produced by them. They ar mearly showing what other company i.e toyota can do but we cant. >.

• stewpid (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 5:32 pm

hehe.. campro eh? actually the real campro still in their labs, still in research. yea lor, the campro (with cps) still can be tapau by modified exhaust and intake by current engine in gen2. they still pening to settle this issue…

agree with v_noz, they applies this to cut cost and for car security reason (car thief can steal the boot lock and make a duplicate key in less than 10 minutes). so for owner security, they should make a remote boot lock, so can open car boot using alarm remote.

the butt lamps of new waja should using the LED, then it will actually chun….

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 6:08 pm

this new Proton so called MME Edition.will guarantee future driver to open the door everytime they need to pay tolls, if they do used tags..still the power window will not working for no reason. it is Proton it will never change. buy Proton free 1000 problems.

power window failure, water leaking, super wind noise, exhaust tip get rusty and fall off, doors cant open from outside, doors cant open from inside, cant engage into D from N, boot "hydraulic" arm faulty,inside roof fall off, door panel compartment fall off, auto cruise not functioning, aircond vents ruined because touch by small kids, suddent stall at traffic lights…and some mentality problems such like will never allow to drive thru hotel lobby because you are a Proton.not even in the list for tokyo drift casting, your friend ask you to park outside during their wedding, if go balik kampung your friend ask you to drive one day earlier then will arrive together, your kids prefer to take bus/lrt, your kids prefer school bus as going to school in Porotn better not to go to school.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 9:38 pm

Ooo.. so we call it waja / gen2 Many Problems Edition, ke yi ma?… the specs oso different ma.. donno if Ah Chong workshop can service or not.. prepare to spare more money for maintenance i guess… u oso forgot to add, campro timing selalu lari punya… better my old ex850 carburetor engine, goin for 6th year without any problem.. next year in march if still no problem, still use the same clutch plate, drive shaft, power windows, aircond etc, i will celebrate with u all here.. teh tarik sorang satu.. hehehe..

• gabanpolis (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 11:16 pm

V_Noz; wikipedia is a free encyclopedia that can be modified by everybody, don't take everything there as the truth. the cam profile switching in the campro engine was rumoured to be debuted with the upcoming satria neo gti or whatever they want to call it. rather than resembling the vtec or vvti, the system that proton will use is more similar to the system used by porsche, known as variocam. go check it out. know your facts first.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 7:10 am

MME – Mesti Masalah Edisi

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 7:12 am

mycar_stolen – "I like your comments as much as Proton don't like"

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:02 pm

If Proton management is reading these, could you please step out and clarify once and for all that you have rectified the power window problem and door handle problem in the Waja. Keeping quiet doesn't help. Stand up and face the music and owned up to mistakes. Only then you could possibly earned the respect of us malaysian.

The MME cars looks great but what happen to ABS and airbags. Safety first mah.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Tracks said,

August 8, 2006 @ 9:02 am

The MME cars looks great but what happen to ABS and airbags. Safety first mah.

Dear Mr Tracks…

This is Proton we are talking about, do you thing they do care about something so call "customer satisfaction" they wont arent they….Msia is one of the highest no of road accodent this safety never put into concern..

as the ad says…ANDA MAMPU MENGUBAHNYA…dont buy la, remember what happen to savvy r3/zerokit/whatever kit 1st time 2500 later buy savvy free of those kit..

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 7:07 pm

So if the Savvy R3 kit is any indication, then it is not surprising this MME Special Edition will become "Standard Edition" to clear 2005 stock! So don't buy now, in future and forever………..

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 11:52 pm

+Gabanpolis …u mention that the CAMPRO has a system similar to the variocam in the porsche. the syetem improves torque delivery at low / medium speed; Variable lift and duration lift during high rev power.it improves power, torque and fuel consumption across the entire engine speed range.but in the case of campro engine, this is not what its doing! i know there are still fine tuning the engine.The basic concept of the CPS(cam profile shift ) is from the Lotus and the system is currently used in The Porsche's VarioCam Plus. one of the plus on this CPS system is it's simplicity compared to japanese design. The CPS engaging mechanism is just a additional ring with tappet to lock the ring into the valve when the high cam lobe is needed. and The profile is switched at between 4000rpm to 5000rpm whenever the ECU seems fit. it still cant perform like a valve timing engine and i dont understand why proton resort to this system. might as well keep to the basic DOHC engine.. !

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 3:47 am

amazing…

• Aril (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:44 am

cun!!!!!

• wow!!!!! so beutiful ge2.my favourite car.how much ????special addition for new gen2 can u tell me…………..