EON closes down branches

eon_logo.gifEdaran Otomobil Nasional Bhd (EON) will be closing down 10 sales branches and 4 service centers from September 1 onwards, as part of its rationalisation exercise for greater efficiency.

The sales branches to be closed are:

Jalan Templer
Old Klang Road
SS2
Bukit Mertajam
Jalan Makloom, Penang
Jalan Kampar, Ipoh
Kangar
Johor Jaya
Bentong
Labuan

Service branches to be closed:

Kangar
Bentong
Labuan
Lahad Datu

This brings EON’s outlets down to 42 sales branches and 33 service branches, which is about the right size for it’s current operations according to their management.

EON previously engaged in a Voluntary Separation Scheme exercise to trim it’s workforce.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 12:04 am

finish !

• DAN (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 12:20 am

never bother just close all of it n late other who better to do it .

sale it high price but quality is like there own face!.

the longer there sustained the more worst we r gone b for Malaysians.

there r eating there own self.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 1:07 am

Die la. So happy. :D

• asimo (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 2:04 am

good job..bravo

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 2:19 am

if u want them to die faster you would be hoping they open more outlets. and display more savvys.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 2:46 am

Good job, close more!

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 2:50 am

Proton Edar also can do the same!

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 3:33 am

Heard that EON at my place will be close next month also… all the workers received letters already… but only applicable to Proton sales branch… Mitsubishi sales branch not affected…

• SamGan (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 5:13 am

Get out of our lives! Podah!

• Paul Tan on Aug 13, 2006 at 5:15 am

I'm curious, why all the hatred towards EON ?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 6:36 am

its a good move financially…so many companies are doing that now…close down unprofitable branches n SCs….i tink from personaly experience…EON SC dont really have a reputable person wer he knows everything abt wat thy doing…not like PE..thers always someone who knows abt the problem n always knowledgable…EON sc i tink have no training at all..not from wat i see anyway…i heard Nissan tan chong oso are having very bad sales…i tink its the norm nowadays..no more record sales and profits

• armandd (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 6:51 am

eon people sucks. it's a good thing that the management closes down ineffective branches.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 8:54 am

Not ineffective biz but market shrinkage for P1 car! So understood lah. At the same time, it is no surprising if P2 announce more branches and SC due to increase of market share as a result of MyVi selling like goreng pisang panas.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 9:06 am

I stay in Bukit Mertajam…… :-(

But nevermind, closing EON is non of my business. Will be replace by Proton Edar or some other service centre?

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 9:18 am

Just my opinion, after warranty period, go to Ah Beng workshop best known to you. They normally replace component only if not function anymore and don't simply charge. Unlike EON/PE SC, they have "standard menu" to change anything and everything so as the final bill is maximum. Ask about power window failure, normal answer given by them is "LIKE THAT ONE MAH………."

• swarty (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 5:27 am

more reason not to buy proton.. sight! I got my self a trouble now. First the quality need to improve or else people own proton going to be in long queue just to complete normal fixes….. normal fixes, nah fixing their quality issue after sales!!! Just imagine what proton buyers going to face next. There is always more car to fix and closing shops means less car get fixed. More pressure to buyer.

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 4:46 pm

i think paul, the hatred towards eon is because the majority of people only associate EON with proton. they forget EON is suffering in part due to very poor sales of cars they were bringing in for sale, ie. mitsubishi, VW, Audi..etc.

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 2:32 am

Hmmm…well it is inevitable that a closure of sales and service closes down due to poor sales of Proton cars by EON. But given EON's large network of sales centres, I wonder why EON didn't convert them to EON Mart Sales centres selling Mitsubishi cars.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:22 am

bravo!! well done proton… when they going bankcrupt?

• dean76 (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 2:17 am

do have data about gen 2 crash test. I'm interesred to get the car…..but…..is it safe enough?