2009 Chevrolet Camaro coming soon

chevrolet_camaro_1.jpg

Good news for fans of the Chevrolet Camaro Concept above, General Motors has given the green light for a production Chevrolet Camaro Sports Coupe based on the concept due for a 2009 release.

The Chevrolet Camaro Concept is a modern interpretation of the popular 1969 Chevrolet Camaro. The production model will be front engined, with driven wheels at the rear. Engine options will be V6 and V8 units, true to it’s muscle car form. The original concept car was powered by a Chevrolet small block 6.0 LS2 engine making over 400 horsepower. This engine had Chevy’s Active Fuel Managementâ„¢ system, which shut off 4 cylinders during low loads.

If you want to know how the original 1969 Chevrolet Camaro looks like, a photo is available after the jump.

chevrolet_camaro_1969.jpg

chevrolet_camaro_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 12:55 am

Chevrolet Camaro or Ford Mustang GT? Tough question…..

But anyway, can we really get a Camaro in Malaysia?

• my accord was gone.. (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 12:57 am

wah

history car..

no got engine details??

• J (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 12:59 am

Wow the look is very unique (and nice). A fresh feel after looking lots of Japanese sport car pictures. I can imagine the engine sound wave from the exhaust will be tundering :)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 1:03 am

This car very popular one..I remember once CAMARO appear in GNR video clip..cool..during my younger time use to have the double white stripe on my car..and later the whole group :-)

• Paul Tan on Aug 15, 2006 at 1:07 am

Tokyo Drift had a Chevrolet Monte Carlo.

• zarieq (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 1:09 am

if only……….

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 1:18 am

v8, 6.0L engine, although stuffed with active fuel management system, i dont think in malaysia people wanna use it with fuel price keeping on going up.

• KY (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 1:44 am

who can afford the road tax for this beast? hehe

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 1:58 am

I might get flagged for this but i think the new concept is hideous compared to the beautifully made classic 1969. The new one looks like a big, fat, brute bouncer, lacking in any beauty. The new Mustang is better looking retrocar than this. What does this say about car getting fatter and fatter these days?

• DtG (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 2:50 am

this car definitely looks good. so so pretty in fact… however, there's little resemblance to the original Camaro which means it doesn't have that aura of automotive passion which most cars with incredible history have. Chevy should have designed it to resemble the classic 1969 model more.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 3:02 am

this new chevy camaro looks futuristic, bold and muscular. in general, however i think american performance cars lack character and brand image unlike their rivals from europe.

• szw (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 4:35 am

i luv it .

finally americans felt about da raising petrol price d .

hahaha !

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 5:33 am

*DROOL* Now that is crackin', although I don't quite fancy the rear lights. "Highway Star" comes to mind…again… :D

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 6:23 am

Good design, like big cat prowing on the ground looking for prey! How about Proton, talking want to make RM 100K sport car but now diam-diam takda suara langsung!

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:00 am

I think i prefer the classic Camaro. The new concept looks good from the front but the back's kinda fat.

• retrofuturism (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 8:30 am

well, u guys can see this car featuring in Transformer-the movie, on next year summer if im not mistaken…hehehe..oh ya, paul, u can find camaro concept car videos in youtube, one of the video is about the camaro prototype tested by camaro design director with very loud engine sound thruout the video…hehehe

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Handsome, like a knight in shining armour….

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:47 pm

"Hikaru said,

I might get flagged for this but i think the new concept is hideous compared to the beautifully made classic 1969. The new one looks like a big, fat, brute bouncer, lacking in any beauty. The new Mustang is better looking retrocar than this. What does this say about car getting fatter and fatter these days?"

I agree. The original Mustang and Camaro look better than their modern day equivalents which are bigger, fatter and less sleek. They still look good though, just not as good as the original.

"DtG said,

this car definitely looks good. so so pretty in fact… however, there’s little resemblance to the original Camaro which means it doesn’t have that aura of automotive passion which most cars with incredible history have. Chevy should have designed it to resemble the classic 1969 model more."

Interestingly, Chrysler got a lot of flack for its Challenger concept which was basically a photocopy of the original Challenger. GM on the other hand was praised for putting in a modern design inspired by the old one.

"armandd said,

this new chevy camaro looks futuristic, bold and muscular. in general, however i think american performance cars lack character and brand image unlike their rivals from europe."

Which is the reason they are ressurecting cars like the Mustang and the Camaro. American cars that do have character and image.

• DtG (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:06 am

Silverfish, the Chrysler Challenger is SO SO photocopied. what i mean is since the Camaro is a car with such a heritage, every generation of the car should have resemblance and similar design cues to the original. we don't have to look far, just take the new Satria Neo for example. the Satria is Malaysia's own cult-car and the new model is clearly designed to look stylishly modern and similar to the original at the same time. Proton just couldn't kill the the 'satria look' we all know so well… This is something like preserving history.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 11:17 am

you mean mitsubishi mirage look. not satria look. i'd rather it stay as history.

lets hope this thing handles well like the new corvette. thought it looks like its gonna be a muscle car, so handling might be something they gonna forsake.

• gokibin (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 6:14 am

Me like…. if only they'd sell it here in msia. studied stateside for 4 years n really fell in love wit camaro. i've a diecast of camaro, closest i'll ever get to owning one. the old camaro sounds like 10 harley fatboys revving. damn good!

• you got to love it i can,t wait to see this on the street

• i am gettn my 2009 camaro when iturn 18 this year

• kapellan on Jul 03, 2009 at 10:00 am

2009 already…where's the Camaro Chevrolet????

• ini camaro sudah 2 bijik aku jumpa kat malaysia daahhh….satu kaler silver… yang terbaru smlam hari raya ke empat malam… lebuhraya duke arah kuantan… camaro kuning ( transformers bumble bee ) lalu sebelah beb… no plate J**** ( tak sempat catat..pasal laju nak mampos.. ) baru balik beraya kot…