BMW unveils 2nd gen MINI Cooper

new_mini_1.jpg

When the new MINI Cooper by BMW was released, we had to refer to the old school model as the old MINI or old school MINI, and the new MINI Cooper as the new MINI or BMW MINI. BMW adds to our confusion with this 2nd generation new MINI Cooper, but nevertheless we petrol heads welcome it with open arms. So what’s new with the new new MINI Cooper? Check it out after the jump!

new_mini_2.jpg

The MINI Cooper has attained overwhelming success since it’s introduction in 2001, and over 800,000 units have been sold worldwide, with 25% in UK alone. Now, BMW reveals the details of it’s successor, the 2nd generation MINI Cooper and MINI Cooper S, with the MINI One to come later. Major highlights are a slightly larger body longer by 60mm, and a new turbocharged engine!

BMW has redesigned every body panel on the car, but it still retains the classic MINI shape that everyone has grown to love. To be honest, it’s the only cute car in the world which will not result in you being called a sissy. Nissan has a lot to learn from BMW in this case, look at the March! To maintain the MINI look, BMW has given the new longer car a stronger front end with a higher curvature as well as a shoulder line that’s higher by 18mm, and a rounder contour at the rear. The car remains as a front engined, front wheel drive unit.

To me, the highlight of the car is definitely the new engine. The previous MINI Cooper used a Tritec engine designed almost entirely by Chrysler (and used in the Chrysler/Dodge Neon as well as the Chery A160), and the MINI Cooper S used a supercharged version of the engine. The new MINI Cooper will use a new engine developed by BMW together with PSA Peugeot Citroen. The new BMW-PSA 1.6 litre engine features BMW’s fully variable valve control technology – VALVETRONIC. Intake lift and opening times are fully adjustable by the ECU, and this system also eliminates the need for a throttle butterfly. In addition to that, the outlet valves have variable valve opening timing.

How does these improvements on paper translate to real world improvements as compared to the previous engine? Horsepower is up to 120hp, fuel consumption is down by up to 20% depending on driver behaviour and emmissions have been reduced to 139g/km for the MINI Cooper and 164g/km on the MINI Cooper S – a drop of 43g/km.

For the MINI Cooper S, the power boost is provided via turbocharging instead of supercharging. The new engine makes 175hp with the help of it’s intercooled twin scroll turbocharger, up 5hp from the previous supercharged engine. The max power of 175hp peaks at 5,500rpm, with peak torque of 240Nm constant between 1,600rpm and 5,000rpm. This is a testament that engine technology especially with forced induction has advanced so much that torque curves are most of the time more appropriately called torque plateaus instead.

This new engine is paired to either a six-speed manual or six-speed Tiptronic automatic gearbox on both the MINI Cooper and the MINI Cooper S. Tiptronic functions are controllable through paddle shifts on the steering wheel.

new_mini_5.jpg

Speaking of steerings, the new MINI Cooper gains an EPAS system – Electric Power-Assisted Steering. The system offers low steering forces when parking and better feel at highway speeds. This is the standard setup, but there is a sports setup steering control map which is activated when the Sport button is pressed. This causes the steering to be more direct. Other than that, the Sports button also gives a more instant accelerator response.

The MINI Cooper is shod with with 15 inch alloy wheels wrapped with 175/65/R15 tyres while the MINI Cooper S takes it a level higher with 16 inch alloy wheels and 196/65/R16 tyres. The supplied tyres are run-flat tyres, much like the new BMW X5‘s. It allows journeys of up to 145km at speeds of up to 80 km/h.

Safety features include 6 airbags – front, side, and extra large curtain-head integrated in the roof lining of the car. Active safety features include ABS, EBD, CDC Cornering Brake Control on the MINI Cooper. The MINI Cooper S has everything plus additional ASC+T (Automatic Stability Control + Traction), and optional Dynamic Stability Control. ASC+T can be controlled via a switch that lets you turn it on and off. This improved DSC includes Hill Assist for cars equipped with manual transmission. This automatically applies brakes when setting off on a hill to prevent the car from sliding backwards.

With the introduction of the 2nd generation new MINI Cooper, this signifies that some of us not so wealthy people can begin dreaming of getting a used first generation new MINI Cooper. I have not driven one before, but I’ve heard it goes like a go kart.

new_mini_3.jpg
The MINI Cooper S

new_mini_4.jpg
Nice twin tailpipe exhausts on the MINI Cooper S

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 2:42 pm

In terms of the outer looks, I don't know…. I still prefer the 1st generation BMW MINI. Besides, there's no significant changes. The same with what they did to the X5. But I like the dash panels thou. It's a MINI alright. And they have kept it simple.

If I'm not mistaken, Hartge, one of the BMW tuner, has made a turbocharged Cooper a few years back just after Cooper S Work was released. I can't remember the details but the figure was over 220 horses! Or was it 300 horses?

But this is an entirely new engine, is it Paul? I guess have to wait and see until they get it on the roads to find out how it goes in the real world. Way to go BMW. Long live MINIs!

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 4:27 pm

Other than the new engine, the other improvements seems minor or rather insignificant. However, perhaps it's roomier due to the extra length. Howver, the new engine is a gem. Increase in power, better fuel consumption and more environmental friendly. It is just amazing what these guys could do. Great job to BMW. The Mini Cooper S is my favourite. Sadly, it cost over RM200k here and beyond the reach of most people.

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Hmmm……doesn't look new to me, but I guess the guys at BMW knows that 'if it aint broken, why fix it?'. I guess new MINI had an engine transplant i.e from Chryslar designed to a BMW-PSA designed engine. However I am perplexed as to why BMW didn't use the existing 4 cylinder 1.6 litre engine found in the BMW 1 series?

• KY (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 6:42 pm

6 spd manual u say? me like, me likey

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Erm…new Mini??? What's new? It looks the same.

• claxxion (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Well, you can see. Its rounder at the front part, new headlamps, new bumpers and a new grille. I like it. Especially the Cooper S. Nice car!

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 10:04 pm

twin scroll turbine on a mini… impresive…. wow…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 11:26 pm

Cool! The design looks much cleaner than the previous generation MINI, although personally I don't quite fancy the exterior chrome trimmings.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:30 am

Cool! BUT let down by our proud NAP

• szw (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 3:56 am

not much diff oso .

• pirate (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:19 am

Yawnnn!

• pirate (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:21 am

GOLF GTI Mk5 DSG anyday, anywhere…anytime! ;-)

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:21 am

cutelittlekelisa said,

August 15, 2006 @ 4:30 pm

————————————–

dont fret, im sure kelisa will come out with a minilook-alike color scheme for kelisa or kelisa replacement model whatever they want to call it. btw, the 'replacement model' naming scheme sounds stupid.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:47 am

ops…typo there. Peroduo instead of Kelisa.

by the way, i've just test driven the Mazda 3 MPS around a track. i am pretty sure Golf Gti is superseeded by the mazda3 mps. and its also cheaper and alot more powerful. was also taken for a drive by a race car driver. the thing grips like hell even in the wet. and thats just standard rubber. not to mention the power and control. phenomenal car. its the new benchmark.

• Isamu (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:25 am

Sounds like Porsche style to me.. Redesigned every body panel but it still looks the same.. haha.. Did they get the Porsche designer?

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:50 am

would luv 2 mod the car 4 drifting :)

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:53 am

Porsche designer….HAHAHA! Isamu, that'sa good one! Soon we can't easily differentiate the difference between the old one and the new one. Like the Carreras.

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:02 am

so cool…and sexy too

• superman (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:46 pm

BMW decides not to mess with the "Original" New Mini styling. if it works why mess with it. And a modern engine finally

Paul ,

Strange tyres sizes on the Cooper S though 195/65-16 equates to 660mm overall diameter. Bit large when the 175/65-15 is only 609mm diameter. Typo error?

• Paul Tan on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:50 pm

superman: thats what the bmw press release says. there are also optional 17 inch rims wrapped with 205/45/R17

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 10:41 pm

Subtle change visually.. but I don't like the tailpaipe position, which is now positioned under the rear bumper instead of being placed in the centre.

• redragon (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 11:08 pm

Golf Gti beaten by a mazda ? I don't think so. Power and grip alone doesn't nearly complete a car. To have both a cooper s and a MK 5 Golf Gti,now that's complete. It will mostly be Gti tho'.

• superman (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 11:42 pm

Paul,

the 17"s would be 616mm , which is a normal size. but 195/65 16 are like big saloon tyres….. oh well.

car looks good.

Any more details as to how much bigger that the current car apart from being longer by 60mm? Like how much heavier?

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:22 am

#

topgunthang said,

August 15, 2006 @ 9:21 pm

cutelittlekelisa said,

August 15, 2006 @ 4:30 pm

————————————–

dont fret, im sure kelisa will come out with a minilook-alike color scheme for kelisa or kelisa replacement model whatever they want to call it. btw, the ‘replacement model’ naming scheme sounds stupid.

————————

LOLZ…. there's already some aftermarket things to modify it into wanna-be-mini kelisa… looks quite ugly actually..LOLZ…hahaha….

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 11:28 am

cutelittlekelisa said,

LOLZ…. there’s already some aftermarket things to modify it into wanna-be-mini kelisa… looks quite ugly actually..LOLZ…hahaha….

—————————————-

save the money and get a real mini hehehe. i just remember seeing that yellow white black color scheme launch by peroduo after the mini debuted or something.

redragon,

value wise nothing can beat the mps at this point. cept for the xr5 turbo. this car is more fun than the gti. but youre right, as a complete driving package the gti is better no doubt. only problem is the 1.5 year waiting list.

• redragon (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:23 pm

Hi topgunthang,

The long wait list shows how hot the Gti is. Btw, which part of the world are you from to have to wait that long ? Heard it's a year's wait in Oz. you can get an immediate stock in m'sia . Would like to have a go in an mps to get a feel.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 2:17 am

im in oz. the salesperson told me 1-1.5 year wait for the Gti. demand is too strong. havent really tested/trashed the gti yet so dont know how it feels on the limit.

but the power delivery of mps is very sudden if not brutal esp on low gears in the lower rev range. sometimes on the straights you dont get smooth torque delivery, might be due to electronics cutting in limit the torque then release. while the grip levels are high, i think need to make sure you in the correct rev range if u want to power on in the corners. just in case it unsettles the car and the traction control or stability program has to cut in. was only able to unsettle the car twice though on purpose. in the hands of skilled drivers with the electronics off i think the car should be faster than the gti. for unskilled normal people like us the gti is a safer bet. but of course, the extra 50kw and 100nm of torque is always welcome. and the muscular looks as well. not sure if mazda can correct this using the computer tuning software updates u get from them.

• NYB (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 11:38 pm

I heard that the new , new mini is nice. But the price !!! Tax asides, I think the local distrubutor is profiteering !! Check the German prices on BMW, MINI and Mercedes ( the imported version ) and see what I mean.

Great cars, shame about the prices.

The old, original MINI is really nice !! You all should try one and think: This is 50 years old technology " .I have 2 minis , Mk 2 cooper and Mk3 mini 1000 (with air-cond for city rides ). Can't afford the new MINI. Anyway, I think the Proton Neo will be better buy, after some engine and body tweeks ?

• Chern (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 11:54 pm

The facelift is too minor that for those who isn't quite familiar with MINI, it's like the same.