Isuzu MU-7 SUV based on D-MAX

mu7.jpgMuch like the Toyota Fortuner was conceived through the IMV ladder frame of the Toyota Hilux, Isuzu has created an SUV based on the Isuzu D-MAX. Like it’s pick-up brother, the 7-seater Isuzu MU-7 is powered by a 3.0-litre DOHC 16-valve 4JJ1-TC common rail turbodiesel engine. It’s made in Thailand, but there’s no news of whether it will be coming to Malaysia anytime soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:22 am

If Isuzu is going to follow the pricing strategy of Toyota, then good luck to them. Personally, I feel that the Fortuner is an over priced piece of crap. A Hilux could be bought at below RM100k. A Fortuner cost above RM150k when it's basically a Hilux plus an extended roof and two more seats. It definitely not worth extra RM50k for it. However, if they were to price the SUV to say starting from RM120k, then it sounds reasonable.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:01 am

No, the fortuner pricing is mainly because of the rediculous tax structure of malaysian gov… It is not the difference of 2 more seats and extended roof, it is the difference of commercial vehicles and SUV.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:18 am

Looks quite ok from the front. any further details for this car??? will be competitive if price between RM110k – RM120k, thanks to our government..

• szw (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:03 am

Ford everest got a new challenger

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:35 am

Looks good from this angle… :D

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:41 am

ya..it actually looks nice fron the front..macho n purposeful..the fortuner is a bad buy man…with that price..mite as wel get a harrier 3.0v6 2nd hand…bt i dont tink its not gona be a good seller…fortuner and the ford amazon…oso are not really selling in good numbers..i tink at the moment…a manufacture wil do very wel if thy have a pick up and an mpv..now those two variants are selling very well…n its stil a new market segment..so the potential is stil thr…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:42 pm

Oooh…mind you, the Fortuner sells really well in Sarawak (or at least in Miri) despite being rather overpriced. On the contrary, the Everest is quite a rare sight on the roads. Perhaps the Everest looks too much like its pickup brother, the Ford Ranger…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:43 pm

And by that I mean a bit too utilitarian…

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Rexis is right it's the duty structure that screwed up the pricing of the fortuner

And Tracks can you pls find out a little about things b4 u bang blindly

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 2:03 am

seems like many who respond in here are a little ill informed about many things. anyway, what i'm really excited to wait for is the mitsubishi triton, also from thailand. what a magnificent design. i read in a motoring journal that it was designed by the thai mitsi subsidiary. not bad for work of an asian country. its also exported to uk where it has pretty good reviews.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 4:36 am

Just wondering why is our country mostly low & medium income population is always on the losing side when attaining new things, that became very2 expensive with a few click of a few men fingers….?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 1:22 am

sarawakguy,

The truth about this world is that the stronger ones will always tend to pick on the weaker ones. Try driving a Kancil in Miri and don't be surprised if a Hilux sneaks up just inches behind you for no apparent reason. And think twice before you overtake a tinted Civic with your Kancil, no matter how slow the Civic may be… :P

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 1:26 am

Oh, and I have a theory, which is yet to be proven. It goes like this:

"A driver's ego tends to be as big as the vehicle he/she is driving."

Another version:

"As the size of a car increases, the ego of its driver tends to increase as well."

• jazz (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:01 am

Hi, Is there anyone who is currently driving the Isuzu D-Max 3.0L 2×4 in Malaysia ? I wish to know how effective of the saving on diesel, hope I can get some information before I purchase the said model.

Thanks in advance.

terence

• floyd2006 (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 3:13 am

MU7 was launched in Thailand in Dec 2004, 7-seater, 3.0-liter DOHC 16-valve 4JJ1-TC common rail engine,maxoutput of 146 hp.

Perhaps in Msia will offer 2.5L like Fortuner. If offered in 3.0L and priced lower than the 2.5L Fortuner, think there would be good fight.

By the way, you'd see quite a lot of Fortuners in K.Kinabalu, just like in Miri, contrary to all the negative posting about it in Paul's and Chips Yap's threads.

• anyway, MU-7 look handsome and awesome. will it sell here :-) ?

• alanlee on Aug 03, 2010 at 1:00 pm

i still wait the MU7 to be lunching in malaysia…most people like the 7 seater for family…but when…?