LMG Trekker Details

lmg_trekker_3.jpg

Okay, so we know the LMG Trekker and the LMG Tourer SUV and pick-up trucks have the new Hydroxene technology, but what about the rest of the details?

The LMG Trekker is basically a reengineered Dadi pick-up truck of the same name, and comes with a petrol engine, which might seem out of the norm considering the pick-up market here is dominated by turbodiesels. The LMG Trekker which weighs 2,386kg is powered by a 2.4 litre SOHC engine which produces 124 horsepower at 5,250rpm and 190Nm of torque at 3,000rpm.

This engine comes with LMG’s Hydroxene technology which I explained briefly earlier. I don’t know at the moment whether the usage of Hydroxene will affect the horsepower and torque ratings. Technical details seems sketchy at the moment, but I will try my best to find out.

The pick-up truck comes with both 5-speed manual and 4-speed automatic transmissions. Suspension is double cross arm torsion bar spring at the front, and variable rigidity assymetric leaf spring at the rear. Brakes are discs at the front and drums at the rear. Wheels are 15 inch alloys wrapped with 215/70/R15 at the front and 225/75/R15 at the rear.

The pick-up truck comes with 3 years or 120,000km warranty, whichever comes first. The brochures also states free service and free engine oil (Petronas) for the warranty period. Apparently local content is 52%. Other features include leather seats, CD player, ABS and dual airbags.

The LMG Trekker retails for RM84,888. This price is for the manual version, as the automatic is not available yet – only likely to be launched in the next 2 months.

lmg_trekker_1.jpg

lmg_trekker_2.jpg

lmg_trekker_4.jpg

lmg_trekker_5.jpg

lmg_trekker_6.jpg

lmg_trekker_7.jpg

lmg_trekker_10.jpg

lmg_trekker_11.jpg

lmg_trekker_12.jpg

lmg_trekker_8.jpg

lmg_trekker_91.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:30 am

Any pix of the dash, Paul?

• xilusma (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:33 am

Hi Guys,

Did you see the AAM's logo? Did they tested it before? I think we should get their comment or view on this as it used their logo on the system.

-Approved by AAM?-

Cleaner the Better.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:33 am

Anyway it is good for us to have our very own local pickup…

• Long (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:36 am

Good. At last the technology is commercialised, and if successful then the masses can enjoy the huge benefits. Heard this since I was a kid, and also read somewhere in "conspiracy theory" forum that the "so called cheap" future fuel inventors were killed/mishap accidents by hydrocarbon stakeholders. Against all odds, its the Chinese that pioneered the production version.

• xilusma (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:38 am

By the way, how much it will cost? Anybody knows?

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:45 am

Looks macho on those wheels there. the rear wheels are broader than the front! it looks nice overall. well, its not only a rebadge afterall. it comes with Hydroxene technology. Wonder how will be the performance of this petrol + hydrogen engine. n really wanna know how much this monster cost…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:47 am

2.4L and yet produce only 124HP and 190Nm of torque? Mitsus engine from the 60s or what?

• stewpid (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:02 am

paul..

it it the Hydroxene technology is same as Hydrogen Fuel injection system?

i found this http://www.chechfi.ca/images/truckcutout.jpg

and this the site http://www.chechfi.ca/sohfitech.htm

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:14 am

Even perdana 2.0 engine also have much better power nia…

• Paul Tan on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:16 am

the engine runs on 9.5:1 compression, thats why the power is relatively low.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:19 am

"Paul Tan said,

the engine runs on 9.5:1 compression, thats why the power is relatively low."

Its way too low.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:27 am

Just estimating here but 190nm of torque from 3'000 RPM with a compression ratio of 9.5.1 should be quite torquey. The horsepower figures are a little low but then again even the X-Trail only has about 130+ horses. Real world figures on the road should always be lower than on spec sheets. On wheel horsepower.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 1:29 am

Wonder this engine has gone through stingent test???? is it reliable and proven technology???

• AbangZaL (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 2:03 am

Just some info…Toyota Hilux D4D Commonrail – 105 HP, Nissan Frontier 2.5 Turbo Diesel – 120 HP (claim as the most powerful pickup range in Malaysia currently).

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 2:10 am

AbangZaL,

Those are diesel engines.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 3:26 am

Thanks Paul for those great, first-on-the-scene pix of the dashboard.

Loved that cheesy looking audio headunit!

• pirate (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:05 am

At this rate, bottled distilled water will be the rage at petrol kiosk's convenience store, supermart and hypermarts in the future! :)

• szw (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:11 am

not very powerful though

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:12 am

AbangZal.

Pointless to look at HP numbers on a pickup (especially on those that have a diesel engine). What you need is torque.

For comparison the Diesel Frontier, you get 304Nm of torque@ 2000rpm.

2000rpm!!

The Mitsu engine wont work very well in it because it will feel underpowered and you probably have to rev all the way up to 3500-4000rpm for max torque, even then you are still 100Nm short.

Paul, As for comparisons with similar mitsu engines, our 1.8L 4G93 SOHC makes 115hp and 158NM@4000rpm with 9.5:1 compression pistons. 2.4L is a lot of extra CCs that make very small hp/torque numbers. A bit off, I would say.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:48 am

One look of this truck and it will remind me of the Cadillac Escalade.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:53 am

"4G63T DSM said,

As for comparisons with similar mitsu engines, our 1.8L 4G93 SOHC makes 115hp…"

If i'm not mistaken, the 1.8L 4G93 SOHC Mitsu engine makes 138hp, right? Please confirm.

• racelogic (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:06 am

It takes energy to split water into hydrogen and oxygen and that energy has to come from petrol. That is why the technology has been around but it is pointless since Hydrogen fuel cannot be produce cheaply to make it commercially viable. NGV is way to go as it is used in natural form without any refinement necessary.

• racelogic (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:10 am

H2 combines with O2 to produce energy.

It also takes energy to split H20 into O2 and H2. And that energy comes from the battery, and the energy from the battery comes from the petrol.

So what is the use?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:38 am

Uh…you get what you pay for…so I guess nobody should complain about quality if they buy one of these… :D

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:44 am

Is it just me or is there too little emphasis on this hydrogen technology? I mean, just as Paul outlined in his previous post about this, BMW, Merc, and other big OEMs have been dipping their hands in hydrogen technology, with very limited success. But, now we have a living and breathing vehicle with this technology, yet there is very limited information regarding this so called hydroxene. For example, look at Tesla, if you go to their website, because they know they are the pioneers of something really extraordinary, it is full of (sanitised) information regarding their technology. But this hydroxene technology seems to be very vague, they don't even have a website for it!!! What's that all about? Forgive my scepticism, it just sounds too good to be true.

Another thing, the pickup's technical spec is just abysmal. "The LMG Trekker which weighs 2,386kg is powered by a 2.4 liter SOHC engine which produces 124 horsepower at 5,250rpm and 190Nm of torque at 3,000rpm". A 2.4 tonne truck with a pathetic 124 horses and even worse 190NM of torque just doesn't make sense. Specific power output of only 51hp/litre and specific torque of 79Nm/litre might sound OK, but only if you live in the stone age! And to use that on a 2.4 tonne truck? Not to mention the extra weight it will be carrying around, it is a pickup truck after all. Come on, I'm sure they could do much better than that!!! Why didn't they put that in a normal car instead? A Myvi or Gen.2 would be much suitable candidates for the technology.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:16 am

Zongtwi,

Yes, its too good to be true. I believe it only when i see it. Underpower petrol engine put into heavy truck doesnt make sense. Truck should have a lot of torque thus makes diesel engine a more suitable candidate.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:14 am

I though mitsubishi 2.4L (4G64, 9:5:1. no MIVEC version) produces 147hp, maybe this truck uses very old 4G64 engine bah?

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:31 am

Old underpower cheap engine.

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:45 am

i think they've got their marketing strategy really wrong here…people in m'sia are not really bother to buy SUVs or pickup trucks, so what's the point of putting this so called brand new technology in them? the fact dat they are not going to sell well in m'sia is almost certain,not because of the new technology (assuming it actually works la) but simply because we arent really into some oversized (and underpowered as well) cars nowadays…some decent sedan cars'd be the perfect candidates to try this hydroxene tech…maybe they'r planning to sell these pickups to those who live in taman negara, where there r lots of rivers but no petronas stations nearby, who knows…

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:01 am

to syauki

i believe that any new car manufacturer would love to bring in small cars @ small sedans. but honestly, do you think that the govt will allow such action? it would put more presurre for Proton and Produa.

if the hydroxene works, maybe we could install it into our vehicle one day. My opinion, if they wanna try something inventive, let them. why being negative?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:03 am

Still no description on how it actually works? I believe cars or trucks like these had no selling point besides the technology it had, that helps us save fuel costs…. provided the maintenance offsets this…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:04 am

At least they should try it on a more practical platform. Passanger car would be more suitable.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:08 am

I think its maintainance will easily offset any saving you have made.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:09 am

errr . . . why hydroxene? m'sia should produce an engine that runs on minyak kelapa sawit or getah. now that's true genius :D

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:10 am

and i suspect everything related with this technology was done at a dizzying speed,so dat pak lah can officiate it right on time…the fact dat they even forgot to mention the most important aspect in selling things, which is the price explains everything…i wonder if they even forgot to place the fuel tank in place, upon the obsession of this hydroxene technology of course…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:10 am

Thats not genius. Many vehicle on the road around the world are using those fuel as we speak.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:12 am

syauqi,

I wonder why they rushing it out.

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:30 am

err they did mention the price

trekker – rm 58,888

tourer – 84,888

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:41 am

smrtozone

my bad, sorry :)

• asimo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:42 am

malaysia boleh…ok la tu….

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:42 am

syauki,

no prob. just having a condusive conversation with you guys!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:48 am

those two cars engine is roughly based on which toyotas/nissan/mitsu engine?any idea?

the storm does feel abit heavy wen driven…bt the frontier really got power…! kinda shocking how fast this car can accelerate! bt anyting above 4k rpm is noting..got noise but no go..i guess all diesels are like that…bt as far as i know..all those pick trucks we have here..all have one feature…thy all ride terribly…! way too bouncy…n stiff…its a real pain in the u know wat! wish p1 can come up with a truck…lotus hguys sure know how to sort the suspension out…

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:07 am

japs turbodiesel produce more power then this petrol dali and weight less,on the enviromental friendly side dun get the picture,euro3 diesel by japs definately more enviro friendly then this 50% petrol emission engine,even at 50% compair to new euro 3 diesel,it still pump out more harmful gas then japs turbodiesel,so they should cut off this selling point,with petrol 1.92/liter and diesel 1.58/liter,and all of us know that liter to liter,diesel can run more km then petrol,so with this in mind,they had to cancell the other selling point ,economical,which left them with what selling point,? china auto technology?if i am not wrong ,the so call discovery by our usm boys were not long ago,what long term test they had for this LMG dali,?are we the consumers the guinea pig for prove of long term trial,?by error?

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:18 am

Jap diesel is not that great u know. Euro diesel is the best.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:18 am

Especially BMWs diesel.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 10:41 am

this is just really a waste of technology

in brazil, ppl are using up to E90 petrol (90 percent ethanol, 10 percent petrol) from sugarcane extracts , even australia is using E10 from sugarcane extracts too. the government is spending money to benefit bigger corporations, so that us malaysians are generally ripped off. If there is a place where you could lodge unfair competition, there is ACCC in Australia, but in Malaysia, unfair competition exists everywhere.

It is also feasible to have palm oil powered diesel in Malaysia, where palm oil is abundant. It's sad that our government never puts money in investing them, but invests in all the wrong things! sad huh

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 10:59 am

Why do you say its a waste of technology? Here you are preaching unfair competition when you yourself restrict competition by denying Hydroxene the open market by saying its a waste of technology. Give it a chance and probably we could do emerge like what brazil are doing proabably better since you dont need to line up for water like you do for E90 or E10.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 11:02 am

oranglulu,

are we the consumers the guinea pig for prove of long term trial,?by error?

———————————————

you seem correct. only a deprived market such as msia will have a chance to fall into the trap of buying trash cars from startup companies based on some hyped up outdated technology. but luckily most of us are already aware enough to avoid these stuff. the specs on that are appaling. any modern 1.8 litre motor can achieve that type of specs while pulling only around 1300kg. that type of interior will have you vomiting everytime you get inside. reminds me of gen2 and savvy. anyway also notice the second pic down, where the truck is among the tall grass…..that's gota be one of the worse photoshops i've seen. cut cost until they had to hire a 10 year old boy to photoshop for them. you can be sure more cost cutting takes place.

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 3:17 pm

Hydroxene is a worthy and cheaper alternative to electric-gasoline hybrid even if it has to draw power from hydrocarbon fuels to work. I am quite certain the costs of producing a Hydroxene car is much lower than a Prius :)

Most importantly, it saves you 50% in fuel costs. And water is free. Biofuels such as E15 or E85 aren't.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:23 pm

Oooh…a life-size Tonka toy on the road…the kids are gonna love it! :P That is a shamelessly long rear overhang…and the truck has a big fat arse…hahaha… :D And just look at the shiny steering wheel, which is almost as shiny as the dashboard trim!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:40 pm

renyeo, water is NOT free, some countries suffer water shortages, water is calculated per gallon, IMHO. water, in most time is polutted and undrinkable. Unless this thing runs on sea water, then I say its better than bio-diesel

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 5:59 pm

Kevin Lee, althought I am not sure about Hydroxene, but there are water engine projects elsewhere in the world that uses seawater, snow water and any sources of water (clean or dirty) other than water from the water taps :)

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:05 pm

oh come on guys… hv u tried it out yet? we got plenty of water around… so can put some effort into this technology, maybe some day it'll be in all our cars… give it some time… n tis Trekker is cheap.. cheaper n looks better than the Tata Telcoline! n got more things inside there. just the engine's really underpower n strange to put a petrol engine in a pick-up. but u nv know till u try it out. but one thing, tis Trekker is definitely not for off-road usage. btw, some of u out there, if u wan pretty interior with tis n tat, go get a pricey pick-up like Hilux… thats more suitable for you.

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:07 pm

btw, if this pickup is not based on a chinese model but a Japanese, I bet all ppl are more positive bout it…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:13 pm

Of course. Let say if the pickup is based on Toyota Hilux, who wouldnt?

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:37 pm

The crash test look impressive. take a look

http://www.bddqc.com.cn/english/aqxn.asp?bid=2

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Far from impressive. They provide no detail on the test.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:07 pm

Just*wait*till*the*real*world*FC*comes*out

Who knows the engine got 5 km/L and with Hydroxxx you will get 10km/L…

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:14 pm

smartozone, what speed do you think they are using during crash test? 20 kmph? China makers always love to do crash test without telling you the crash speed.

"btw, if this pickup is not based on a chinese model but a Japanese, I bet all ppl are more positive bout it…"

Yes, a china model give really make us no confident, and the company refuse to disclose the technical details of the magic canister, making things even more fishy. It is not that we are very negative, it is just that they make themselves too fishy.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Still no further info on the Hydroxene system?

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:47 pm

yeah there is major doubt with their test, I have to say. But typical of Malaysian, until we see a mat saleh next to it, then we'll believe it's the real one.

same goes to the hydroxene tech, what if the technology was introduced by another mat saleh, would you condemn it badly, like what you guys are doing now.

seriously, I still have doubt with LMG's capability but let's give them a shot. After all, none of us have tried driving it!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:52 pm

I still say :- test them in Sarawak laaa… see if can stand our roads here or not..like someone recently tested the D-Maxs on fuel consumption from Kuching to KK with ONLY one full tank…then it is some thing to talk about maaa…

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:53 pm

and another thing, it's unfair for you to compare the LMG models with other carmakes. Example, Toyota Hilux is more expensive by rm30,000 plus minus. and both of the cars are under the same tax structure since LMG cars are imported too, by principle (CKD assembled in OA of course).

RM 30,000 is a lot. Comparison isn't apple to apple.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 7:58 pm

smartozone,

Even if matsaleh sitting in the crash test car (instead of hybrid III dummy: I doubt the chinese using this expensive dummy in that video) i still not going to change my stance. Matsaleh or no matsaleh.

And as for Hydroxene system, if matsaleh is the one who commercialize the system, surely they will proudly publish the "sanitize" detail.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:01 pm

smartozone,

I thought the lame "national car" status would lend them a better treatment in term of taxation and other.

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:04 pm

Humm

Wonder can we used paip water or not since the paip water got chlorine , ammonia residue and rust particle, all this will spoilt the hydrogen converter unit.

The last thing we need is to put sterlied water, cost more expensive then petrol

or same… my 2 cent :)

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:06 pm

I think we should worry about the system (whether it works as advertise) first before we worry about the water.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:11 pm

what worries me is that we have a sitting hydrogen bomb hazzard on the road. since malaysian road sucks and if some unlucky fella accidentally hits the truck, we all die fast in hydrogen bomb, think about it!

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:17 pm

Kevin Lee,

Stop worry about that, its not even a hydrogen tank let alone a hydrogen bomb.

• smartozone (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:19 pm

Newspaper Star and Bernama stated the car is given a national car status. but since then, no spokeperson from the company or media mentioned that they're given the national status.

will they be awarded with national car status car maker?

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Kevin Lee,

If im not mistaken the hydrogen is make only when it is used. There is no hydrogen tank involve. Just a water tank. So this remove the posibility it go KABOOM.

• hiuzi_eriena (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:50 pm

Good idea, sell bolt in and install to our national car. No more fossil fuel

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:54 pm

dav.kk,

I was also thinking along that same line….what "kind" of water can we use aaa?

Price of distilled water,R.O water or even mineral sure will go up one…Cutting cost ehh? The next time we know it,everybody will que up at supermarts & groceries…!!!! Aiiyaa…"water" shortage pulak..!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 9:26 pm

alah, may be this tech is not so great after all… really ka the canister can separate H2 & O?… if really hydrogen, why so underpower??… i think may be it just another same concept like 6 cycles Crower engine, remember??.. that is why the car cannot run on water alone… it still need fossil fuel.. but i am not a techno phat, this is my own opinion only…

• blunt (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 11:34 pm

hello..

too many opinions from the so called experts…wait la my friends a few days more, you can test then make decision whether the technology is good or not. do not draw the conclusion first..

• jeanloo (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 12:36 am

I think the power is enough lar, it's a truck mah. If not enought, why still so many 1.3 l lorry on the road? But i think the marketing concept is wrong here. With leather seat and auto transmission, I think they try to market it as a luxury vehicle. An SUV for leisure use. For 80 k i would rather buy a second hand SUV instead of this trucks. But if they make it a lorry, just imagine how much the cost of petrol can the owner save. Then it's a worthy buy. Then form the money they made , they can invest to produce a more powerful engine for luxury use at a later stage…

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 3:21 am

look at the site linked by smartozone.. Dadi also hav TYT Prado look alike , & Harrier look alike 4WD..OMG..

Now we rebadge from Dadi…OMG!!!

Do u think ppl will confident buying it??

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 4:31 am

"renyeo said,

Hydroxene is a worthy and cheaper alternative to electric-gasoline hybrid even if it has to draw power from hydrocarbon fuels to work. I am quite certain the costs of producing a Hydroxene car is much lower than a Prius :) "

How its going to be a worthy alternative? Please share your thought.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 3:42 pm

ok,I just had 2 more question,is water free?can we use tap water?or we had to buy battery distill water ,not cheap ooh,a ringgit something for a small bottle,or we collect rainwater like pulau ketam folks use to,from our roof.the hydroxene canister life spend, one for life? every 10000km service interval change like oil filter?how many service center had been assign to handle the after sales service? are they well train to handle LMG vehicle in all aspest,?spareparts available? cheap or expensive? or just like the korean cars,sell you cheap cheap,later sell spareparts to you very expensive.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 3:55 pm

automotive buisness had great social responsibility,not like kacang putih,sell to you,can eat or not ,not important,the most you throw away,you have to get ready sales and information,service center and welltrain staff,lot of spareparts available,as a consumer,for me,this are vitalissue i 1st consider,ofcos,the other issue is company pass track record on the product i interested,never be the 1st to jump into the boat,test whether it sails or sink.

• jonkk (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 5:02 pm

hi all. I no confident la this vehicle. looks good. techno wise…… not enough info at this moment. website oso still under construction. email enquiry oso cannot.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 8:29 pm

Pakai buang lor.. like chinese scooters.. COMEL… 2nd hand nobody wants… i think sini ada huge business strategy problem… dei didnt know what is auto industry all about… theres a big question for SUPPORT!… in very competitive world now, eventhough dei claim their car damn good, but no support service oso no point (such as parts availability etc).. thats why we see models such as myvi damn hot, although its not a damn good car.. biasa aje.. furthermore, market in msia is very small… klau the tech is damn good, launch la somewhere else, US ka, Thailand ka.. where the market is big… so they made a very wrong move here.. satu tindakan yg terburu-buru.. gopoh… and this model may end up in muzium oneday… although it may have good concept… so, wait and see….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 10:41 pm

aiyakk so so loh…

• ketekebal (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 12:04 am

huuh….typical of malaysian… always being sceptical about products developed by fellow malaysians…just give the lmg a try…we have nothing to lose. n we don't win anything juz by critisizing. btw, step back for now and wait for offical test drive results from motor journalist… who knows we ll be cheering happily later in the future….

• claxxion (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 7:28 am

Now im confused over the pricing..

I thought i read in the papers the trekker is retailing at rm58888

but in paul's blog it is 84888? Hmm…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 7:32 am

According to my common sense, the pickup will be the cheaper model.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 1:37 pm

even, if this was based on a benz model i wouldnt buy it as well. even if this is a feasible technology, you cannot expect beat companies like benz or toyota that spends miliions of dollars a day just on research. as long as they fail to patent the pioneering discovery (if it really is one), you will be surpassed even quicker than you thought.

they cannot launch the product in markets like US, UK or germany cause nobody will buy the product. alot of people in other countries already have products similar to those. just havent found mass production yet coz the tech isnt mature enough to sell. LMG watever it means will only market it to china itself, and countries like msia, indonesia, burma and phillipines. and im sure you can work out the reason why. the thai's should be smart enough, they have enough choices.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 5:21 pm

yea, topgunthang.. i agree with u about that… well said…

• rexis (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Toyota research 20 years n billions of USD and get a prius, HFT research 4 years and only 12 millions MYR and beat prius to bits. Not to say impossible, but logically, the hardwork they went thru just doesnt match the end products. It is not that I am not confident on malaysian scientist as well, i will be very proud if it is real, but this just sound too good to be true.

But if this is just a snake-oil-in-a-bottle-of-secret-recipe it have served their purpose, virtually the entire world know about LMG now, this is even faster and cheaper then sponcering a losing F1 team.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 9:58 pm

My boy,

"According to my common sense, the pickup will be the cheaper model." … i think that also but another thing is why the SUV is lighter?? should be 'terbalik' meh? wait till tomorrow loh to find out..

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 10:16 pm

osh_kosh,

Let me test drive your new LMG okay! After all, we are bro rite. I believe u can book the truck as early as end of this month.

• sipi the penyu (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 11:14 pm

it's cool because:

1- it save petrol usage up to 50%

2- so much better than Proton's old one

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 11:31 pm

Cool if its working as advertised. But what if it doesnt? :D

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 12:42 am

My boy,

haha i think i'll stick with that old landcruiser.. at least for this moment.. we'll wait & see rite bro?

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 12:56 am

You are absolutely right my bro.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 3:43 am

my boy… call me if u had test drive that vehicle kay…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 3:47 am

I dont even know where to go for the test drive. Anyone has any idea? :D

• burp (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 10:55 pm

why so much noisy lorrr? just wait and see laaa.. instead, the price is worthy 58k with the new technology and 52% of the vehicle parts are made by local. Can see the different between original car in dadi website and the launched car in Malaysia

• burp (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 11:30 pm

furthermore.. look at the cosmetic change, not bad loh

• Chineseman (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 1:22 am

If just by putting water can convert to hydrogen, why NASA not buying this technology? They can save fuel going to outer space… doesn't make sense!! Anyway, since the launch, still no car for sale??? why launch then??

• vent (Member) on Feb 06, 2007 at 5:37 am

hi there paul. can i know where i can have a look at this LMG trekker. me thinking of changing my 4 year old wira to a cheaper and spacious 4wd. any advance?

• rizman (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:59 pm

good day!

i just want to know whats’s the latest news regarding the selling of the HFT gadget , which can be installed in any vehicles, which will cost us RM 3000 ( please refer to utusan malaysia, dated 13th february 2006), and it is supposed to be introduced to local market on july 2006 ?(already a year, and nothing happened !)

anybody can tell the latest new?

thank you.

• hanspg on Aug 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Is there any showroom/dealer in penang

• geoff koay on Sep 23, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Paul,

it has been 3 years ++ so how is it on the malaysia road???? worth buyiny one now? cheers!!!

gk

• THE SEEKER on Oct 21, 2009 at 2:39 am

DONT EVER OPEN YR ASXY TO THE UL HOG,TO FUCK UU OFF.DONT BUY THAT CRAPP,IS A CON TECHNOLOGY,NO FUEL SAVING YET KIL MY WALLET..FILL UP ALLUMINIUM? N WATER.,,IS THAT MORE EXPENSIVE THAN FUEL,,??? IF THE DR.HALIM SAID USING >>>RF. TECH!!!! HE IS FUCKLING U,,ALL RAIDA TRANSMITTER GO BYE>BYE..WAKE UP ALL OF UU..!!!!!!!!

• atukulaifornia JB on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:52 am

Belive its, read its!!!!!

Since i'm using this hydraxene truck more than one year, they giving me lots of headache.

Tyre screw suddently broken during i'm driving at the plus highway ( front whell left and right ). All whell screw need to be tighten couse after 500km some nuts already loose.

Injection system not working properly and smoothly, sometime your car become SANGKUT-SANGKUT!!!!

Remember this thing!!! The air conditioning not funtion very well, the air flow are very low event we using the highspeed fan and the cooling system always chokes. Now my air conditioning system already repair and replace twice but not improvements. ( macam dalam oven la!! )

The most unsatisfaction thing is the fuel consumption. Every 1ltr petrol can drive only 7km that mean every RM50 petrol this vehicles only can go not more than 195km!!!!!!!event using this hydraxene technology.