3,000 Proton Wira taxis for Indonesia

PT Proton Edar Internasional Indonesia (PEII) has managed to secure orders for 3,000 Proton Wira cars to be used as taxis around Indonesia. These orders are from various major cities of the republic, and will be delivered in batches.

PEII director Dwi Sasetia said the Proton Wira was chosen by taxi companies because of it’s proven hardiness on Malaysian roads, as our weather conditions were similiar to theirs. The first batch Proton Wira cars from the year 1993 are also still in action, since it is pretty much unfeasible to purchase new cars over here due to the long loans we need to take. The 13 year old cars might be making strange noises here and there, but they are all still in running condition.

Proton has a 50,000 car per year capacity plant in the Cikarang Industrial Park, located 50 km east of Jakarta.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 4:25 pm

No comments yet?? haha, Doesnt concern us as we ar living in malaysia.

• pablopabla (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 4:41 pm

I wonder how much are we selling the wiras for.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 4:55 pm

I am driving a 13 years old wira…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:04 pm

is it pride to our national car? I don't think so.. wiras is proven in Malaysian soil for their 13 years in service? How about those old Datsun 120Y, Toyota LE or Honda Civic? They are still around after 20+ years, don't they more qualified to be a taxi.. ?

• Ralliace (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Oh no! I drive an Indonesian taxi! :)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:17 pm

in Msia we are using the Saga/iswara in Indonesia PROTON SELL wIRA FOR TAXI..

WHY?

All m'sian based indonesian send sms's/calls/emails do inform your siblings they want to clear stocks……

p/s Proton is not a car, it is just jointly cheap metal with wheels….selling at crazy price.

• whatsoever (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:17 pm

means indonesia better than us, we having saga as our taxi!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:25 pm

pity Msian..even though I'm not using taxi services very frequent but..an eyesore to watch few "ang mohs" squuezing into saga/iswara…and worst thing it is a MSIAN MADE CAR ON MSIAN SOIL.

PROTON useless..never help msian.

• raverus (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Wow, fantastic news, good car have good demand? LOL, cheap sale. cheap sale……..discounts for the over produce cars at proton. Well at least now some cars are cleared, i hope they learn to develop new automobiles!

• harsher (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:36 pm

what they dont know is… most of the new wira taxi has mivec engine inside… not the old 4G15P… and proton is going to supply the wira with 4G15P to indonesia…

• blunt (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:43 pm

There are even Benz taxis in lebanon, pelestine…so, what..are the benz owner in German feel downgraded..

if you think the car cheap in Indonesia, pls recheck again..it is not cheap, at least with their average income..

dun understand…jual pun salah, x jual pun salah..if you think the car price is escalated in Malaysia because of P1, think again..P2, NAZ.., INOKO also contribute..

as long as they can jual, up to them la..nak buat taxi ke, tukun ke..

blunt x kesah..

• handsfree (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 5:45 pm

Hi Proton…

well. this is a good starts…

notice some of our own fellow malaysian…

just like to comments negetively… never notice..if Proton closed shop..how many malasyian will out off job…

hope these group of ppl…. do think for others….

terima kasih…

• malayman (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 6:11 pm

haha..sometimes this senseless proton bashing makes me laugh….the things that ppl think sometimes surprise me. how narrow minded. fail to se the bigger picture besides their own pocket. thanks for the laugh….needed tat to start my day..of to work in my proton!

• rexis (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 6:20 pm

Guys, Thailand using vios as taxis.

• zerocool (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 7:34 pm

Thailand is actually using corolla altis as taxi, not vios. As for the Indonesian taxi, good choice taken for the Wira, as it's proven over the years to be a sturdy car, especially in our tropical climate, harsh road condition.

• catchcart (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Guys,

Proton Edar Indonesia has secured order Proton Wira for Taxis from various city in Indonesia. It is Indonesian people who ordered Wira to be used as a Taxis there. If guys think it is not a wise decision, then you guys please go there and meet all the Proton clients over there and tell them it is not worth to have Proton Wira as a Taxis.

Proton Edar Indonesia sells, and Indonesian people buy…..who make the decision to buy? Do they being forced to buy? Is there any NAP in Indonesia to protect Proton sales?

Indonesian people wanna buy it, it's their choice. It's weird you guys still bash Proton when Indonesian want to buy Wira. I don't know what wrong with it. It is Indonesians decision, that's all.

• foxtrotecho (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Whats up with the mentality with some of you jokers here ?

If you all wanna bitch and whine, you happen to be barking up the wrong tree.

Some of you are so clouded by your personal views that you fail to see the bigger picture here.

Any sale of which-ever model for Proton is a good thing and you tards here can find a way to bash it down.

Good luck in life losers.

• blunt (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 8:15 pm

catchcart, dia orang ni dengar je proton..terus histeria..cari lubang nak bantai je..

as i posted earlier , pelestine use merc taxis, even di iraq yg x habis perang pun also using merc taxis..so what is the problems actually..

• shaif (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 8:33 pm

Agree with that, sometime want to bash, at least come out with some facts. Wira is not that bad either in term of design even compared to Datsun 120Y, Toyota lE or old Honda Civic. Its proven car in our harsh codition either in tropical climate or the road condition itself.

Good news for proton. The Vios used as a taxi in Bali last time and it is cramp inside unlike the wider and airy Wira. But Thais Altis taxi is way to go. Indonesian people know what best for them.

• shaif (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 8:38 pm

I hope proton can market their new Satria Neo, Savvy and Gen 2 at Indonesia.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Proton is major problems for msian auto industry. Proton cheating on MSIAN FOR 22 years. even the "Oldman" admitted Proton is a failure.

p/s Proton is symbol of stupidity. no technology, no respect and no dignity.low class car for you know who…

• szw (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 9:32 pm

faster finish selling those wiras lar.

its ageing very badly

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 10:34 pm

Hahaha… i pity those taxi drivers and welcome them onto the anti-proton bandwagan in a few month to come.

• quest (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 10:46 pm

Farnie, if it's such a good deal, perhaps Proton should tell everyone how much they're selling these 3000 units of Wira.

Then again, that's 3000 unit Proton don't have to worry about being out in the Proton parking lot for the last 2 years.

• whatsoever (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 10:53 pm

bashing correctly or not is another question but one thing i know is most people hate proton,

• catchcart (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 10:55 pm

some say proton is a major problem in malaysian auto industry. what is an auto industry? rebadge and sell? import and sell? it makes me laugh.

don't tell me to look into oxford dictionary for the meaning of Auto and Industry. hahaha

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 11:22 pm

" The first batch Proton Wira cars from the year 1993 are also still in action, since it is pretty much unfeasible to purchase new cars over here due to the long loans we need to take. "

Why is it unfeasible? This is the farrrking BIG PICTURE!

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 11:53 pm

If you guys don't like Proton, then don't buy Proton cars laa. Go and buy a Japanese car laaaaa. What??? Too expensive?? Then, go buy Naza Sutera laaa.. Got Dual Airbags some more. What??? Body not strong…. China technology laa.. itu laa… ini laa…. Then, we don't have a choice. Lets buy Proton!!!! Merdeka!!!

Oppsss i forgot Perodua… Hah!!! they are not even a Malaysian company.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:38 am

I am not as selfish as PROTON people, but as a Msian I have lots of friend or relatives involve with Proton. worst thing is to travel in Proton taxi.it is not wether people able to Jap or CONTI CARS…IT IS ABOUT THE PROTON ABUSE.

they lead msian into unhealthy environment.

Local made,local brand,local factory,local vendor cost more than USD15K. Why is that?Is this car that you want to buy? I just hate to see Proton drivers open their door while paying tolls or collecting parking tickets.Eyesore…

Proton is a national embarassment..for those who works with MNC's or dealing a lot overseas will suffer most when "other peopel" talk about msian cars.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:46 am

It's the fact Proton unfairly kacau the entire local car market that we hate

• SamGan (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:18 am

Somebody said, "Look at the big picture". What's the big picture? Is it a few thousand paltry jobs created by proton or the much greater loss of jobs due to downsizing of our auto indusry? Is it the paltry investments proton has made to the auto industry compared to the huge foreign investments which have gone to our neighbours? Is it the feeble proton dependent vendor industry we have now compared to the much larger vibrant vendor industry in Thailand? And finally is it the minority who have gotten rich from proton compared to the millions of Malaysians forced to buy cars at artificially high prices?

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:25 am

Hi there people.

No.. i won't say that.

Hmm..stanleyshyeoh, u said inferior products eh. Well, it depends on what car you're driving. If u're driving a Proton Waja manufactured in year 2000, of course it stinks like our crap. I don't think i have to explain more. NEWER badges of Proton cars are getting better. And it just doesn't stop there. It will get better and better. Trust me.

Like i said earlier, if you guys really don't like Proton.. then PLEASE don't Buy!!!!! don't Buy!!!!!!! I repeat.. don't buy. If more and more people don't buy, and came 1 day that zero people are buying Proton, then Proton will surely close. Btw Paul, your forum rules. It wouldn't be fun if there are no Proton bashers here.