2007 Toyota Camry coming soon?

new_camry_spy_1.jpg

The new 2007 Toyota Camry should be coming very very soon. These photos were sent in by reader Adam from Shah Alam. It looks like we are not getting the USDM version of the Camry, but another version similiar to the one found in Taiwan and Thailand.. I must say I really like this new Camry, it has the muscular more box-like shape that looks more upmarket than it really is, as compared to the previous model available on the roads now. More Lexus DNA. More photos after the jump.

new_camry_spy_2.jpg

Some of you might argue the design of this new Camry is boring, but if I think of myself as someone in the Camry’s target market, this is exactly how I would want my car to look like. I find that the higher-end Acura cars like the Acura RL carry the same general shape. Less svelte, more prestigious, more strong. My design lingo is horrible. Bears some resemblance to the Australian Toyota Aurion I posted about earlier this year.

new_camry_spy_3.jpg

The badge under the cover reads 2.0E, so this must be the base 2.0 litre model. This probably means our Camry will keep the 2.0 litre range.

new_camry_spy_4.jpg

Nice blue colour.

new_camry_spy_5.jpg

A shot of the interior.

new_camry_spy_8.jpg

Zoom in a little and you can have a look at the automatic gear shift positions. P-R-N-D3-2-L. It looks like it has a gated shift though, so the D3 position might actually be D on the left, and D3 on the right.

The Thais get a 4-speed Super-ECT automatic with the 2.0 litre model, while the 2.4 litre Thai Camry has a 5-speed sequential shift transmission which uses P-R-N-D shift positions. With the gear in D, you just pull the shift to the right, and from there you can push up to shift up and pull down to shift down. This might give us an insight into what gearbox options our Malaysian Toyota Camry will have.

So, 2007 Toyota Camry by year end? What do you think?

new_camry_spy_6.jpg

new_camry_spy_7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:02 am

Paul, where is this pic taken? I still like the Honda Accord.

• Paul Tan on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:07 am

I don't know where the pictures were taken.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 1:23 pm

A town car again aaa……aaiiyooo… kesianlah if bring 2 my place here…but anyway…I feel that the blue one is very attractive….wonder how much aaa..?

• exodust (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 1:31 pm

@sarawakguy: erm, hello? the Camry IS meant to be used in cities, what were you expecting? A hot hatch Camry? Plus what is wrong with driving it in Sarawak? We have a lot of empty roads on our side of Malaysia (Sabah & Sarawak), that way we can test out its performance. =P O course, practise safe driving everyone.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 2:29 pm

I think the 2.4 or 3.5 are better version, 2.0 must be really under power for big and heavy car, and auto 4 speeds, why not standard auto 5 speeds while a lot of cars like 2006 Honda Civic 1.8 has auto 5 speeds already.

• kai_grandmaster (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 3:11 pm

i guess the new camry has the same look like the new camry in australia. readers might want to have a look here.

http://camry.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/HomePag…

and by the way, australia's carmaker, holden, has come up with their new line of product. not new actually, but a wholly reconstructed model of their holden commodore. do drop by and have a look. u might want to write a post as well paul!

http://holden.com.au (search for holden commodore in the large cars section)
    http://hsv.com.au

• J (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 4:10 pm

The car most people waiting for !!

But the 4-speed thing is a bit disappointing, looking at this new generation Camry, which will stay with us for another 5 years (?)

Paul, I think this Camry is available on sale by next month (info from Toyota salesman). All old Camry is already out of showroom (clear stock) since 2 weeks ago.

Price guess anyone ? :)

RM3K more than Accord in the same class 2.0 ?

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:18 pm

Its the right design for the right market.. and the gearbox… don worry la… customers at that range won't mind those things at all. just luxury and easy enuf to operate will do. Space wise, big enough for the range, cc I think will be enough as Toyota engineers are smart enough that I trust them on their technology. And the steering wheels are modern enough and easy to operate I think… not bad overall. hope to see some on the road soon.

• ceteh (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:31 pm

I strongly think that even the base 2.0 litre model should use 5 speed auto transmission …

Other than that .. it's the best looking Camry I think …

• raverus (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:33 pm

Finaly i can say bye to accord, theres no complaints for CAM inside-out this time. Can't wait!

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:00 pm

Yea its confirmed to be out soon.

docket price oso out ready

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:06 pm

much much more better than previous camry..that one juz sucks…

• daze (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:07 pm

wow.. is it d one look like d lexus??

dunno which model..

same new camry which running in S'pore?

would said it look awesome.

i'll choose that over a Accord.

• waimak (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:08 pm

I like the design, very upmarket plus still maintain that 'camry' character. I dont want to comment about the performance until I test drive one. If it's out by year end then Toyota's making the right move to capture those getting the bonus and have a new car in mind!

• quest (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:22 pm

Actually, it looks like an Audi A6 replica, just with less aggressive front grill. Even the back look simillar. Don't you think?

• KickingDust (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:32 pm

Nicer looks !

The shape should appeal those in the business class, and aged group (45-55 years old)

I wonder if the Camry fo local market, getting push-start-ignition switch just like the ones released in Thailand.

One notable fact is that, there is no switches for VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) for the 2.4 version. Is it a hidden function now or just not there anymore ?

With 4AT system the car will driving at a higher rev while cruising, hence causing heavier fuel consumption…and as it said earlier…this model (2.0 segment) will be lasting till 2011 and will be certainlly outclassed by then.

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:43 pm

Hmmmm…finally a Camry that doesn't look dull and bland. This time the Camry has an aggressive front design, not sure about the rear though. I think the biggest dissapointments would be the plain interior dashboard design and the 4 speed automatic for the 2.0litre version. 4 speed automatics are quite outdated especially on a bigger engined cars already.

• alamak (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Toyota design has always been "safe". Especially with Camry. Copy what works. It's not meant to be cutting edge, new revolutionary design or technology. This 07 camry looks like a copy of A6.

Honda tries to be different sometimes good, sometimes bad because design is subjective. But when it comes to technology, Honda invest a lot more in a new model than Toyota.

Toyota is good at making money and making their car sell like hot cakes using creative advertising.

• KickingDust (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:05 pm

Good design,

The looks are elegant…and would appeal people from business class, howvere its not sporty in design…still maintaining the bulky outlook.

Btw, as said…a 4AT..for this model…it would be certainly outclassed by others in the segment. This model (2.0) has to last till 2011 and will certainly be heavy on fuel..since driving on higher rev..for same speed achieved by others in the 5AT.

One noticeable different is the VSC (Vehicle Stabilty Control)…i dont see the switches anymore…or is it a hidden feature now ?

The Thai version has push-start-ignation switch button equipped. I wonder if we will get similar ones.

I believe the Camry will have a slightly higher competitive edge now..since loosing out to the Accord the past years…

• audiBEG83 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:10 pm

quest said,

August 25, 2006 @ 10:22 am

Actually, it looks like an Audi A6 replica, just with less aggressive front grill. Even the back look simillar. Don’t you think?

————————————————————–

bro, the car look way different from Audi A6.

Audi rocks!

• dino (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:13 pm

WOW…lok like BMW 5 Series…it totally difference with the model in Australia…

Wanna get a true view u all can go to Thailand and Singapore's Toyota official website…but for 2.4V model got DVD+nevigator??

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:33 pm

What? Look like 5-series? R u retarded or what?

The new Camry looks much better than the badly proportioned one that we have on our roads today la…thats all.

Maybe Toyota decided to follow their European or American design studio to design their new Camry like the Avensis.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:39 pm

it does have an audi front i tink..with tthat buldging nose…probably NAZA wil bring it sooner than UMW!! those with who use current camrys beter sale now…ltr trade in value wil come doen alot..

• KY (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:41 pm

toyota needs some new designers…

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:56 pm

paul!!! buy me one!! i want one!!! im gonna cry if you dont get me one :'( whats the mosaic in one of the pictures for?

• szw (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:01 pm

looks like da foto taken in some secret place in m'sia.

• Kenneth Ngan (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:42 pm

Wow! The all new Camry really looks nice. Let's wait for the launching.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:09 pm

not as good as Infiniti M35.. what a pity!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:15 pm

bugger…. the USDM version is damn nice ler…

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:19 pm

kai grandmaster,

Camry Aussie take the USDM one, not Taiwan/HK version.

new Holden Commodore not new in the line-up. been decade old.

not really nice since shared same model as Chevvy Lumina.

better get Holden Astra or Vectra than that "classic" Commodore.

anyway, thanks for enlighten us with it.

• ak03 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:26 pm

north port ? the paper beside the gear lever seem to show the north port logo.

• eeheng (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:54 pm

it will come malaysia very very very soon, maybe is oct.

the toyota salesman already ready to take the taining of this camry when september.

but this camry already available in thailand a couple month ago.

malaysia…. 0.o

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 12:43 am

those with stong heart may only click on the below url.

notorpkcuf said,

August 25, 2006 @ 10:00 am

Yea its confirmed to be out soon.

docket price oso out ready

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 12:43 am

camry will be a top sale model for above 2000cc segment car in 2007. let's see what honda malaysia do in stimulating their accord sales.. :)

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:23 am

all camry not nice. .. souless.

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:51 am

Hmm i still prefer the US Camry. The headlamp is more sharp look and just like a Lexus. Anywhere i think this model will be cool also and will beat Accord hehe.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 2:31 am

this car looks better than the australian camry even though more or less the same. hopefully msia can also get the sportivo kit. reviews indicate the handling is improved over the older models. all of them also say the sportivo is more of a driver's car now. i think it will sell alot.

pretty hard case to compete if it goes against the big usdm accord as well as the accord euro even though euro is a medium sized car but the engine and looks more than make up for it.

does the accord euro in msia have the 140kw engine?

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 5:48 am

nice..nice i love TOYOTA.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:39 am

still looks like uncle's car compared to accord

• layman (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:54 am

Camry is an auntie's car. Realible and boring.

btw the front look like a Vios!!

• V8 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 7:08 am

these pictures were taken at section 15, shah alam i think..at umw toyota, beside nestle food factory.

• Magician (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:02 am

Honda Accord more beautiful lah

But usual ppl think toyota car more can trust on quality oh??

however i more like that company fight on market cause WE are the final winner!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:36 am

Toyota Camry – My Dream Car! But NAP/P1 turn it into my "nightmare" and deny my chances to own one. I like Camry since it 1st generation was launched in 90s.

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 9:50 am

the new camry is totally diferent than previous one new stylish , performance ,luxury and can be custom-made sportivo .i think this is not really look like uncle" car by the way .

• tkuan18 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 9:59 am

I want one…….

• JDMfreak (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 4:38 am

Hi all

Yea the new Camry actually looks not too bad after all. Just saw one behind a previous gen today, so managed to compare them side-by side for a while. Would have to say the new one looks a lot beefier, but less sleek. I still prefer the JDM model though, as they look more balanced on the sleek side. The headlamps and taillights make a world of difference from the thai ones.

And i realised that the whole slew of new toyota cars that are coming out nowadays for sg and m'sia markets are all very "avensis-looking'. I think toyota is pushing more of its deisgns to the European studios now.

• Sleepyhollow (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 12:27 am

Only US has the same version as Jap.

Countries in Asia like TW, MY, SG, TH share this design with large headlamps.

Difference btw Honda & Toyota cars,

Tumbs up for Honda coz the MY models are exactly the same as Jap.

For instance, Honda stream, Jazz, City are the same worldwide. The only difference maybe the names of the models. MY accord is called INSPIRE in USA. USA accord is MY Honda EURO.

However, Toyota sorta undercut the MY Toyota loyalities…the design may vary…specifications simplified…interior design always SUX big time!

One fine day, I'll probably switch side to HONDA!

Toyota is lettting the fans down…

• labuan_world (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 3:53 pm

…ya loo sleepyhollow….toyota salesperson not too mesra with customers….last 2 weeks i went to their showroom…want to try one of the latest cuty sporty yaris….but the car was not there…they want to sell…but they dont want the customer to see and try….and oso they really take your car with alow price for trade-in……….do they think they really good in quality ?……2 me honda still better choice with 3 years servicing with no need to pay even 1 cent…..waiting for new honda city….

• carcraze (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 9:15 am

in singapore, we have both the JDM and TDM model.

the JDM model was launched in February and TDM in August.

as of today, the TDM model has outsold the JDM model thou it was launched later. apparently, the TDM model looks better. Price difference is very minimal.